We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Airlies Gastehuis

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Airlies Gastehuis
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

320 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Airlies Gastehuis
See the most recent reviews
Showing 282: English reviews
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Reviewed 2 February 2015

It was nice place, the people people are friendly. The rooms are well equipped, spacious, very clean. With everything you need. You have privacy. Will stay there again. The place is central. It is quiet.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Celestine D
Tielman_at_Airlies, Owner at Airlies Gastehuis, responded to this review

Thank you for the kind review, It has been a pleasure to have you here and we would love to see you back, anytime.

Gothenburg, Sweden
Reviewed 17 January 2015

It was a very nice stay at a small family guest-house. We can recommend this place to anyone that will find a nice small hotel in the Monterey area. Our grandchildren loved the dogs that were a part of the hotel

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank 767christers
Copenhagen, Denmark
Reviewed 7 January 2015

This is a old beautiful house on the main street, but don´t worry it´s a quite little town. The room we stayed in was clean and spacious with the bathtub in the room and toilet in the closet. The room is furnished with beautiful old furniture. The room have free wifi. Restaurants are only few minutes walk away.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Per F
Sapporo
Reviewed 29 December 2014

We absolutely loved our stay at the guesthouse! It was just beautiful - the room, the setting, the service, the food. We would stay there again for sure! We particularly enjoyed the bath in our room, as well as the spacious room. The breakfast was also delicious!

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank NKH25
Tielman_at_Airlies, Owner at Airlies Gastehuis, responded to this review

Thank you, we are glad to hear that you have enjoyed your stay at Airlies and would like to see you again.

Sedgefield, South Africa
Reviewed 24 December 2014

This was our second visit to Airlies, It's location is ideal for getting around Montague's shops and Restaurants. The owners are very friendly and obliging, and the breakfast had everything we required. Very clean and comfortable accommodation we hope to stay again soon.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank michaelpamh
Tielman_at_Airlies, Owner at Airlies Gastehuis, responded to this review

Thank you, we are glad to hear that you have enjoyed your visit to Airlies and would like to see you again.

Cape Town, South Africa
Reviewed 15 December 2014

Peaceful old style house with great hosts. Comfortable room with all that we needed and relaxing garden with pool. Ideal for a quick break and wouldn't choose any other place in Montegue. Lovely fresh and tasty breakfast.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank timmonikaw
Tielman_at_Airlies, Owner at Airlies Gastehuis, responded to this review

Thank you, it has been a pleasure to meet you.

San Francisco, California
Reviewed 12 December 2014

On our roadtrip to Cape Town we decided to take Route 62 and didn't have where we were going to stay mapped out in advance. So, we ended up rolling into Montagu not knowing where we were staying and none of the places we tried to call from the car answered the phone. After making our way over to the...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
1Thank jsylvan
Tielman_at_Airlies, Owner at Airlies Gastehuis, responded to this review

Thank you for the kind and detailed review. We hope to see you again.

Cape Town, SA
Reviewed 9 December 2014

I decided at the last minute to go away to Montagu for my birthday in October this year and thanks to a special offer landed up going to Airlies Gastehuis. We had been to Montagu many times before and had walked past the thatched roofed house many times, so I was eager to stay there. We stayed in one of...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ER0310
Greater Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewed 5 December 2014

We stayed at the Airlies Guesthouse. The setting was idyllic, the owners were very courteous, obliging and pleasant. I would recommend this establishment anytime. If ever we return to Montagu, we will stay in the same place.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank 499scullyl
Suva, Fiji
Reviewed 2 December 2014

Lovely place, all very comfortable. Nice to have a long soak in the bath with the supplied bubble bath! Lovely old house and understandable that maybe the wooden floors may squeak a bit. But I thought it was a bit excessive, didn't want to go to the bathroom in the middle of the night in case I disturbed my husband...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Hwei-Ying H

84 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (54)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (9)
Viewed
Room/Suite (10)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
View from Room (5)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (4)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Other (19)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (30)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (11)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (8)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Montagu hotels
0.1 km away
Montagu Country Hotel
Montagu Country Hotel
#1 of 2 in Montagu
511 reviews
0.2 km away
Vineyard Country House
Vineyard Country House
#3 of 28 in Montagu
421 reviews
0.6 km away
Montagu Vines Guesthouse
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
7 Church Street Guest House
0.5 km away
In Abundance Guest House
0.3 km away
Four Oaks Guest House
Four Oaks Guest House
#12 of 28 in Montagu
109 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Things to do
  • Pool
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Experience the stateliness of a bygone era, when this elegant home welcomes you with charm and style. Your friendly hosts, Tielman and Corrie will spoil you with warm, South African hospitality. Enjoy the comforts of spacious elegant bedrooms where high ceilings and wooden floors offset crisp linen. Sparkling pool for summer, log fires in winter. Within safe walking distance from excellent restaurants and many attractions. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Airlies Gastehuis

Address: 36 Bath Street | 36 Badstraat, Montagu 6720, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Montagu
Price Range: $73 - $121 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Airlies Gastehuis 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity and Booking.com so you can book your Airlies Gastehuis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Airlies Gastehuis staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Garden rooms are spacious and quiet”
 of 5 bubbles 752janei, 6 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Check out is 10am, I don't like checking out so early, ask for a 11am check out.”
 of 5 bubbles faiek, 30 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Self catering for more privacy or in the house for historic charm”
 of 5 bubbles sheffieldsouth, 21 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Every room at Airlies is special but, the garden rooms are amazing.”
 of 5 bubbles PhilipUnsworth, 28 Mar 2016 | Read review
“the rooms 5 and 6 are in the garden, far from the main house, and hidden behind all the rose trees and other plants.”
 of 5 bubbles 937alecs, 12 Nov 2015 | Read review
5 of 5