We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Adventure Lodge & Motel

Expedia.comUSD 107*
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
11/06/2017 12/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
USD 110*
USD 107*
USD 110*
USD 107*
USD 110*
USD 107*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Professional photos
Adventure Lodge & Motel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

494 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Adventure Lodge & Motel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 461: English reviews
London
Reviewed 28 February 2016 via mobile

It is hard to review this one as it has some definite positives but the motel was pretty basic. The lady running it does an extremely good job. They organise tongario crossing drop offs and pick ups. The price included breakfast which can be a cooked breakfast or cereal. All you need to start the day. The room was pretty...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank vjhandley
AdventureLodge, Owner at Adventure Lodge & Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback, I am pleased you had a great day on the crossing.

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 28 February 2016 via mobile

The variability of reviews is bizarre. We had a fantastic stay. Ron & Lorraine were great. The organisation for the crossing itself was excellent and the packed lunch was just what was needed. The Spa and dinner afterwards were the perfect end to a fabulous day. Thank you

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Bradley M
AdventureLodge, Manager at Adventure Lodge & Motel, responded to this review

Thanks Bradley for your feedback and pleased you enjoyed our Tongariro Freedom Package.

Kiel, Germany
Reviewed 27 February 2016

Unfortunately I cannot ally to the positive ratings of this accomondation. We stayed at Adventure Lodge & Motel for one night and already had a very bad start. During check-in, we asked if we could get a refund of the money for the shuttlebus to Tongariro Alpine Crossing (which we planned to do the next day) if the weather is...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Mareiselust
AdventureLodge, Owner at Adventure Lodge & Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback, we had a large private New Zealand group in the budget lodge for the weekend and had a last minute cancelation as one member of the party had their father rushed to hospital. We cancelled this booking and we were not expecting this room to be occupied the next day. We reduced the rate for...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 25 February 2016 via mobile

I guess we had been spoilt by the superb accommodation and super friendly 'hosts' we experienced during our NZ holiday, so this was a little disappointing. Room was ok, but very basic. Wi-Fi didn't work so bought from nearby hotel and hosts were helpful but really not very friendly at all (maybe a bad week I don't know!). Anyway, very...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank oldtrackie1
AdventureLodge, Owner at Adventure Lodge & Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback and you enjoyed the crossing and breakfast. I am sorry we were not super friendly, this is a hard one as some people want to have a good chat and we do really enjoy this part of the business, meeting people from all over the world. Other people like to be left on their own....

Vienna, Austria
Reviewed 18 February 2016 via mobile

The lodge is in the Tongariro National Park just 15min from the Tongariro crossing start point. During my stay I had 2 diffrent kind of rooms and both good. First I had a big one incl. bathroom and TV (I don't need in holiday) and second just a room with shared bathroom. Both rooms clean and ok. You get what...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Frank L
AdventureLodge, Owner at Adventure Lodge & Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback and it is great you had experienced both types of accommodation. Our budget lodge rooms with shared bathrooms and our studio units. I hope you enjoyed the rest of your trip in New Zealand

Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 15 February 2016

Had a 2 night stay in a simple 2 bed lodge room here either side of completing the Tongariro Alpine Crossing. Ron and Lorraine were so welcoming (even though we checked in late!) and it was super simple to organise shuttle transfers to and from the hike. I recommend getting the cooked breakfast for a warm meal before heading out...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Justin R
AdventureLodge, Owner at Adventure Lodge & Motel, responded to this review

Thank you Justin for your feedback on our budget lodge room, I am pleased you enjoyed the Tongariro Crossing and shuttle service. We liked to give our customers a cooked breakfast before heading out for the day so they can enjoy the great the great outdoors here in Tongariro National Park

Mountain View, California
Reviewed 13 February 2016 via mobile

We took the Tongariro Alpine Crossing Freedom Package. Lodge was very comfortable and we enjoyed our stay. The meals cooked for breakfast and dinner were very delicious and home made. We got good tips for the climb too. We didn't do the Tongariro Summit or top of Mt Doom. My husband and I haven't done long hikes and we just...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Kavita_ML
AdventureLodge, Owner at Adventure Lodge & Motel, responded to this review

Hi Kavita, thank you for your feedback and really pleased you enjoyed your stay with us in National Park.

Sherrard, Illinois, United States
Reviewed 12 February 2016

We booked the Tongariro crossing package, which is a great deal with your transportation and meals, plus a tshirt. Unfortunately we arrived in the spring and the weather just would not cooperate. Snow and high winds caused the hosts to cancel the crossing, and our travel plans could not accommodate changes to let us stay longer. No one's fault, that's...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Janice L
AdventureLodge, Owner at Adventure Lodge & Motel, responded to this review

Hi Janice thank you for your feedback and sorry you did not get to do the Tongariro Alpine Crossing, we look forward to meeting you another time, we have a cold wet day here today end of summer 29th February, so catching up on paperwork. The weather in New Zealand can change quite quickly so you do need to be...

Putaruru
Reviewed 8 February 2016

we stay at the lodge as part of a package to do the Tongario Crossing. the package is fantastic valve as it includes meals, breakfasts packed lunch and dinner 5 stars for all of them.and the shuttle to and from the crossing. they are excellent hosts and couldn't be more helpful and knowledgeable. very good value suzanne & daryl.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank DADANZ1
Reviewed 5 February 2016

5 of us did the Tongariro Alpine Crossing hike. We did many hikes in New Zealand (including the Milford Track) and this was my favorite one. It is like hiking on a different planet. The owners of the Adventure Lodge are very friendly and well organized. For our Alpine Crossing hike they covered our transportation to & from the hike....

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Leroy F

105 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (83)
Viewed
Room/Suite (11)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (10)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Other (51)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (22)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (3)
Viewed
Other (2)
11/06/2017 12/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tongariro National Park
12.5 km away
Chateau Tongariro Hotel
Chateau Tongariro Hotel
#1 of 2 in Whakapapa
1,522 reviews
12.8 km away
Skotel Alpine Resort
Skotel Alpine Resort
#2 of 2 in Whakapapa
424 reviews
25.6 km away
Powderhorn Chateau Mount Ruapehu
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.1 km away
The Crossing Backpackers
The Crossing Backpackers
#1 of 9 in Tongariro National Park
113 reviews
0.0 km away
Plateau Lodge
Plateau Lodge
#1 of 9 in National Park Village
246 reviews
0.3 km away
Howards Mountain Lodge
Howards Mountain Lodge
#3 of 9 in National Park Village
403 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Microwave
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Laundry Service
  • Room Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Hi and Welcome to Adventure National Park. Gillian and John welcome you to their lodge and motel in National Park Village. We cater for families, groups, and the independent traveler. Your choice of deluxe one bedroom units with King size beds, standard studio motel units with Queen Size Beds and private facilities. Our budget lodge rooms with double beds or Twin share, shared bathrooms, lounge and kitchen. Bed and Breakfast options available. Comfortable warm beds, electric blankets, Sky TV in lodge and all units, drying room, Internet and wireless access available, large open fire, Dinner, Breakfast and a packed lunch available. Department of Conservation authorized shuttle to and from the Tongariro Crossing departing daily weather dependent, let us take care of you with our Tongariro Freedom Package. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Adventure Lodge & Motel

Address: 21 Carroll Street, Tongariro National Park 3948, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Manawatu-Wanganui Region > Tongariro National Park
Price Range: $95 - $145 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Adventure Lodge & Motel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Adventure Lodge & Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Adventure Lodge And Motel
Adventure Hotel Tongariro National Park
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Adventure Lodge & Motel staff and other travellers.
4 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (4)

Questions? Get answers from Adventure Lodge & Motel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“We had a rooom with an ensuite and I recommend breakfast”
jamiegtmba, 5 May 2017 | Read review
“we had room with own facilities as opposed to staying in lodge”
dijohn2015, 12 Apr 2017 | Read review
“If doing the Tongariro Crossing book the freedom package”
susanmB5274NF, 15 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Some lodge rooms upstairs, but facilities downstairs. Request ground floor room or self-contained motel rooms for young kids or elderly.”
, 10 Mar 2017 | Read review
“This is a Motel / Hostel with ( in our booking) shared facilities there may be rooms with individual bathrooms”
AlanP943, 5 Mar 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Expedia.com
USD 107* /night
View Deal
Hotwire.comUSD 107
TravelocityUSD 107
TripAdvisorUSD 107
View all 9 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates