We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

Adventure Lodge and Motels and Tongariro Crossing Track Transport

21 Carroll Street, Tongariro National Park 3989 New Zealand
avatar-imageavatar-imageavatar-image
Traveller (143)
Room & Suite (47)
Dining (15)

View prices for your travel dates

Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.

About

#1 of 1 motel in Tongariro National Park
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Hi and Welcome to Adventure National Park. Gillian and John (ex army) are a small family run business and welcome you to their lodge and motels in National Park Village. We cater for families, family reunions, schools, groups, and the independent traveler. Your choice of deluxe one bedroom units with King size beds, standard studio motel units with Queen Size Beds and private facilities which now include over 52 sky channels with MY SKY GUEST SELECT in every unit. Our budget lodge rooms with double beds, Twin share, and family rooms, shared bathrooms, lounge and kitchen. Bed and Breakfast options available. Comfortable warm beds, Sky TV in lodge also has MY SKY GUEST SELECT , a drying room, Internet and free wireless access available, large open fire, Breakfast and a packed lunch available. Department of Conservation authorized shuttle to and from the Tongariro Crossing departing daily weather dependent, let us take care of you with our Tongariro Freedom Package.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Hot bath
Breakfast available
Canoeing
Hiking
Books, DVDs, music for children
Shuttle bus service
Secured parking
Wifi
Breakfast in the room
Snack bar
Special diet menus
Horseback riding
Skiing
Fishing
Board games / puzzles
Spa
BBQ facilities
Baggage storage
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
Picnic area
Shared kitchen
Shared lounge / TV area
Express check-in / check-out
Private check-in / check-out
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Housekeeping
Kitchenette
Microwave
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
3.0 of 5 stars
Languages Spoken
English, German

Location

21 Carroll Street, Tongariro National Park 3989 New Zealand
Adventure Lodge and Motels and Tongariro Crossing Track Transport
834Reviews8Q+A98Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 552
  • 214
  • 40
  • 16
  • 12
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
avatar-image
Andrea wrote a review Yesterday
8 contributions1 helpful vote
Highly recommended, very pleasant stay, very clean and with good service, for a competitive price. We would definetely repeat!
Read more
Date of stay: April 2024
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Gillian Visser, Owner at Adventure Lodge and Motels and Tongariro Crossing Track Transport
Responded yesterday
thankyou from us we are happy you were happy!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Getaway29253213200 wrote a review 20 Apr
1 contribution
Great stay. With an amazing, very friendly staff, great lodges with everything you need, and really good location, 15 minutes drive from Whakapapa village, just at the foot of the montain. All shared areas are tidy and well maintained. Super recommend!
Read more
Date of stay: April 2024
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Gillian Visser, Owner at Adventure Lodge and Motels and Tongariro Crossing Track Transport
Responded yesterday
thankyou you have just made our day! best wishes from Team Adventure
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Frederik G wrote a review 19 Apr
Olomouc Region, Czech Republic2 contributions
2 nights Amazing experience with the Freedom package! Easily accesible hotel with lots of parking space and amazing staff, loved them! Freedom package incuded everything as offered with better quality than expected! On day of hike we had a bagel which was super delicious and got us going for the hike. Lunch to go for the hike was packed very nicely with sandwich, chocolates, protein and muesli bars and fruits - everything you may need! Evening after the hike we had complimentary jacuzzi which was an amazing relaxation after the hike. English breakfast the next day(before leaving) was also freshly cooked and super delicious! Overall an amazing experience with nothing wrong to say about this accommodation, value better for the price! If you plan to stay in National Park for the Tongariro hike, stay here with the Freedom package, believe me, it's worth it!
Read more
Date of stay: February 2024
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: If you plan a stay in National Park for the Tongariro Alpine Crossinf, do it here with Freedom...
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Gillian Visser, Owner at Adventure Lodge and Motels and Tongariro Crossing Track Transport
Responded yesterday
Wow!! thanks from Team Adventure - we are thrilled with your wonderful review of us - we try very hard to make sure guests get the best experience they can - we are not a flash place but make up for it with great service and clean rooms and of course fantastic food!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Rosie H wrote a review 14 Apr
London, United Kingdom23 contributions7 helpful votes
Gill was a wonderful host going out of her way to help us find an alternative hike when the crossing was closed. She was also so accommodating and helpful in providing toys and equipment for our 8-month-old. AND the food was fantastic. Thank you! I would thoroughly recommend.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2024
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Gillian Visser, Owner at Adventure Lodge and Motels and Tongariro Crossing Track Transport
Responded 1 week ago
thankyou so much for your great review - we are thrilled your 8 month old enjoyed his stay...best wishes from the Team Adventure
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Happiness08965880397 wrote a review 14 Apr
1 contribution
The rooms were clean, comfortable, and thoughtfully designed, with all the amenities I could ask for. I especially appreciated the little touches like fresh towels daily and complimentary toiletries. One of the highlights of my stay was the excellent service. The staff went above and beyond to ensure I had everything I needed, from recommending local restaurants to arranging transportation. I also enjoyed the motel's facilities, including self-cooking kitchen, dinning outdoor and Spa pool. Fantastic experiences, friendly staff, with comprehensive amenities, all topped off with an unexpected upgrade. Highly recommended!
Read more
Date of stay: March 2024Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Gillian Visser, Owner at Adventure Lodge and Motels and Tongariro Crossing Track Transport
Responded 1 week ago
thankyou so much this has made our day reading your wonderful review - we try really hard to make your stay as enjoyable as possible - we are not the Ritz but we try to make up for this with our service and yes good food!! best wishes from Team Adventure
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
RedheadBeer wrote a review 14 Apr
Dublin, Ireland4 contributions
I don't understand how this accomodation have such good reviews on Tripadvisor. The lodge is old and lacks maintenance. The rooms are dusty and the bathroom was dirty. The lodge is too noisy and the wifi is bad. And this mediocre service for a high price. Finally, the icing on the cake, the owners of the lodge are rude, non-friendly and non-welcoming. A shame for lodge owners, in contact with customers innit. In short, don't bother, I'm sure there are other accommodations in the area, which can only be better than this one.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2023
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Gillian Visser, Owner at Adventure Lodge and Motels and Tongariro Crossing Track Transport
Responded yesterday
Hi there after much research we realise you have stayed when we were away for a couple of weeks having a much needed break - we made a mistake and put in managers that we now realise were not doing anything to help maintain the cleaning and also helping the guests - english was a second language and there may have been a problem with communication also. we are so sorry this has happened to you at your time to stay - I can assure you as you mentioned our great reviews this was only a short period - please reconsider this very bad review of us as its very damning to our business as it was a short period which is not a true indication of what and who we are - they were not the owners and you say "the owners" were very rude - this is incorrect was in fact libelious .
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Dreamer31453403901 wrote a review 9 Apr
3 contributions
I am only reviewing the transport for the Tongariro alpine crossing. The ride was okay, I was just disappointed with the return shuttle. I finished the hike at 4.04pm precisely (I was at the parking lot at that time) but the 4pm shuttle was already gone. I had to wait for 1 hour and 30 minutes for the next (the 5.30pm shuttle). I didn't understand why the shuttle was already gone at 4.04pm, it is not a city bus. Plus I rushed the end of my hike to get it, for nothing. Furthermore, with the last shuttle at 5.30pm, we waited 10 minutes for everybody to get in, so it is possible to wait 5-10minutes for people. I was a bit disappointed.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2024Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Gillian Visser, Owner at Adventure Lodge and Motels and Tongariro Crossing Track Transport
Responded yesterday
PLEASE TAKE THIS DOWN THIS IS THE WRONG PLACE TO PUT A SHUTTLE REVIEW - WHEN IT WAS NOT EVEN OUR SHUTTLE THAT TOOK YOU.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
DayTrip50404625460 wrote a review 6 Apr
1 contribution
Wonderful hospitality from Gill and John! Very clean and comfortable old school lodge. Had the Adventure 2 night package- lunch and breakfasts delicious. Hot spa just what we needed when we returned from our 4 day Tongariro northern circuit hike. Highly recommend for budget accomodation.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2024
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Gillian Visser, Owner at Adventure Lodge and Motels and Tongariro Crossing Track Transport
Responded 2 weeks ago
Hi there thankyou so much for your review - hope you enjoyed the train - best wishes for the rest of your journey to the South Island The team at Adventure Lodge
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Kaavya D wrote a review Mar 2024
2 contributions2 helpful votes
Such a warm and cozy place to stay! Felt like a pop and moms lodge. Duchie and Gilian are amazing hosts. They are fun to have a conversation with and so kind! The rooms are very clean with provisions for towels, blankets and pillows. Really appreciated the complementary coffee in the communal kitchen. The toilets and showers are very clean with great hot water pressure. Duchie was so entertaining on the shuttle to the crossing. Thank you for an amazing experience!
Read more
Date of stay: February 2024
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Gillian Visser, Owner at Adventure Lodge and Motels and Tongariro Crossing Track Transport
Responded 3 weeks ago
thankyou for this review - you just made our week!!! best wishes and have happy trekking
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Fred S wrote a review Mar 2024
4 contributions1 helpful vote
A pleasant place to stay that has a shuttle service for the Tongariro Crossing. Four of us stayed in the lodge which has shared bathrooms/showers. For shared accommodation it was satisfactory. One possible issue is that the walls are rather thin - we could hear the packing discussion in the next room. No issues sleeping etc, however no other room was noisy. Others in the group stayed in the motel portion - saw the rooms and they looked adequate, those that stayed there had no issues. Staff were friendly and helpful. Dutchie was quite entertaining on the shuttle. We stayed 2 nights so there was a prepacked breakfast and lunch for day 1 and then a full breakfast on day 2. Food was good and a number of dietary requirements for some in our group were met. Overall would recommend.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2024
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Room Tip: Motel rooms better lodge rooms if you are not comfortable with shared facilities.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Gillian Visser, Owner at Adventure Lodge and Motels and Tongariro Crossing Track Transport
Responded 4 weeks ago
Hi yes the shared accommodation is and can be noisy depending on numbers and guests the motel side is quiet and they have own facilities. best wishes and thanks for taking the time to review us
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Tongariro National Park area.
PRICE RANGE
AU$93 - AU$126 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
adventure hotel tongariro national park, adventure lodge and motel
LOCATION
New ZealandNorth IslandManawatu-Wanganui RegionTongariro National Park
NUMBER OF ROOMS
21
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

ADVENTURE LODGE AND MOTELS AND TONGARIRO CROSSING TRACK TRANSPORT (AU$93): 2024 Prices & Reviews (Tongariro National Park, New Zealand) - Photos of Motel - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Adventure Lodge and Motels and Tongariro Crossing Track Transport
Which popular attractions are close to Adventure Lodge and Motels and Tongariro Crossing Track Transport?
Nearby attractions include Schnapps Mini Golf (0.3 km), Raurimu Gravel Piles (5.6 km), and Roy Turner Memorial Playground (0.2 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Adventure Lodge and Motels and Tongariro Crossing Track Transport?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, a spa, and free parking.
Which room amenities are available at Adventure Lodge and Motels and Tongariro Crossing Track Transport?
Top room amenities include a kitchenette, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at Adventure Lodge and Motels and Tongariro Crossing Track Transport?
Guests can enjoy breakfast, barbeque facilities, and a snack bar during their stay.
Is parking available at Adventure Lodge and Motels and Tongariro Crossing Track Transport?
Yes, free parking, secured parking, and street parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Adventure Lodge and Motels and Tongariro Crossing Track Transport?
Conveniently located restaurants include The Station Cafe and Restaurant, Schnapps Bar, and The Spiral Restaurant & Bar.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Adventure Lodge and Motels and Tongariro Crossing Track Transport?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and German.
Are there any historical sites close to Adventure Lodge and Motels and Tongariro Crossing Track Transport?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Raurimu Gravel Piles (5.6 km).
Is Adventure Lodge and Motels and Tongariro Crossing Track Transport accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.