We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Adventure Lodge & Motel

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Adventure Lodge & Motel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

484 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 451: English reviews
Start your review of Adventure Lodge & Motel
 Click to rate
Reviewed yesterday NEW

The good - we were checked in by a very friendly and helpful young woman who gave us good tips on restaurants and hikes. The facility was OK - cleanish but not notably and everything worked well. However, my wife, who has a sensitive nose, was bothered by a chemical smell - maybe a cleaning product or insect killer. In...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Steven C
Nelson
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Room was fine - breakfast was good Cannot say enough about how disappointed we were about being lured up the crossing under very poor information. We had decided not to do the crossing due to the poor weather, raining and clouds. We had spoken to another couple at breakfast and shared the weather forecast which was not good. So instead...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MarcianoNelson
Auckland, New Zealand
Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed on the package which was ideal as everything arranged. Everything was explained on arrival . Meals were good, shuttled to start and finish. Given tips on the way. Very convenient and we would recommend

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank dijohn2015
AdventureLodge, Owner at Adventure Lodge & Motel, responded to this review

thanks for your review on the package - and the information on the shuttle from start to finish - we are a family run business so we pride ourselves in excellent service. happy travels!

Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

This motel provided us with a very comfortable stay. The reception staff were genuinely friendly and helpful and the addition of breakfast was a nice touch. The room itself is nothing to rave about but it is a decent size, clean and has a comfortable bed. The motel offers transfers for the alpine crossing making it the perfect base

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sarah C
AdventureLodge, Owner at Adventure Lodge & Motel, responded to this review

thanks for taking the time to review your stay with us - we pride ourselves on friendly service at all times - and as you said the room was nothing to rave about but we think we make up for not having a perfect room with our service and cleanliness!

Australia
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We booked only a lodge room with breakfast for two. Cost about NZD 85. So can't comment on tramping transport or any other activities. This review is for what we actually booked. Good points * fair value for money * warm free spa * free good wifi * cooked or continental breakfast available * breakfast has good choice of bread...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank SYDHIKER
AdventureLodge, Front Office Manager at Adventure Lodge & Motel, responded to this review

Thankyou for your review.However there seems to be some confusion. When you checked in you were advised that the motel booking printout we had on hand did not show breakfast included so you were asked to help with confirmation, you advised you didn't think it was. We were more than happy to include it and did just that. At the...

Perth, Australia
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We arrived at National Park by the Northern Explorer train but unfortunately there was a mix up in communication about our pick up from the station by Adventure Lodge. Fortunately another shuttle driver gave us a lift to the lodge as we had a lot of luggage and it was raining. The Lodge owners John and Gillian were very apologetic,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Heather0664
AdventureLodge, Owner at Adventure Lodge & Motel, responded to this review

Hi there and thanks for taking the time to do a review for us! unfortunately you arrived in the storm that came from Australia and the whole country was under it! We try hard when the weather is bad to make sure your stay is the best we can make it in the conditions. Best wishes for your future travels...

Leeds, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

The staff were all really friendly. The bed is superbly comfortable, best night's sleep I have had in 2 weeks traveling around New Zealand. The living room is so cosy and there is a pretty big range of DVDs to choose from. The shower is really hot and there are free hot drinks, a wood fire, as well as a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jada m
AdventureLodge, Owner at Adventure Lodge & Motel, responded to this review

Hi there, thanks for your lovely comments - the water on top of the stove was a leak that had come in from all the rain and we didnt know about it until it had stopped raining! This has been fixed now - someone must have just cooked on that stove and not cleaned up after themselves - we have...

Liebefeld, Switzerland
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Stayed here in one of the motel units for 3 nights to have some flexibility with the weather for the Tongariro Alpine Crossing. We did not book any package but still enjoyed the good shuttle service to and from the Crossing - Gillian and John are very friendly and really care about their guests. Absolutey recommend them if you want...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Christian N
AdventureLodge, Owner at Adventure Lodge & Motel, responded to this review

Hi there, and thanks for taking the time to do a review for us - most people only stay with us 2-3 nights so the cooked breakfast isn't a problem usually. The continental is $12 each and includes as much orange juice, tea, coffee, toast, 2 x different cereals, Gluten free cereal, peaches, bananas, apples or seasonal fruits like watermelon...

Auckland, New Zealand
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We booked this trip very last minute as was depending on weather. We rang on the morning and asked if there was some room for us (2people) Gill was amazing. So accommodating. Confirmed the weather was lovely and we could stay and get the shuttle. The lodge itself is lovely. Cute and cosy with nice homey touches. Our room was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank sjbutts
AdventureLodge, Owner at Adventure Lodge & Motel, responded to this review

thanks so much for all your lovely comments - we must admit we like to treat people staying with us the way we would like to be treated when we are on holiday! We have only owned this place just less than a year and really enjoying meeting new people every couple of days and hearing about their adventures! Best...

Surrey
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We booked a full package of 2 nights accommodation with en-suite facilities, breakfasts, 1 dinner, packed lunch and trips to and from the Crossing plus extras. The room was clean, everything worked and the bed was comfortable. John, his wife and the team worked hard to ensure everyone enjoyed their stay and for us, the crossing was a most memorable...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Iantravelsalot
AdventureLodge, Owner at Adventure Lodge & Motel, responded to this review

thanks for your review - I agree the Station restaurant in town is very popular and people get surprised at the quality of food in such an isolated place -we are very lucky to have the freedom package available to guests and do try 100% to make the stay here with us memorable - safe travels and best wishes Gillian...

103 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (81)
Viewed
Room/Suite (9)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (10)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Other (51)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (22)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (3)
Viewed
Other (2)

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Microwave
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Laundry Service
  • Room Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Hi and Welcome to Adventure National Park. Gillian and John welcome you to their lodge and motel in National Park Village. We cater for families, groups, and the independent traveler. Your choice of deluxe one bedroom units with King size beds, standard studio motel units with Queen Size Beds and private facilities. Our budget lodge rooms with double beds or Twin share, shared bathrooms, lounge and kitchen. Bed and Breakfast options available. Comfortable warm beds, electric blankets, Sky TV in lodge and all units, drying room, Internet and wireless access available, large open fire, Dinner, Breakfast and a packed lunch available. Department of Conservation authorized shuttle to and from the Tongariro Crossing departing daily weather dependent, let us take care of you with our Tongariro Freedom Package. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Adventure Lodge & Motel

Address: 21 Carroll Street, Tongariro National Park 3948, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Manawatu-Wanganui Region > Tongariro National Park
Price Range: $80 - $148 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Adventure Lodge & Motel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz and HotelQuickly so you can book your Adventure Lodge & Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Adventure Hotel Tongariro National Park
Adventure Lodge And Motel
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Adventure Lodge & Motel staff and other travellers.
4 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (4)

Questions? Get answers from Adventure Lodge & Motel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“we had room with own facilities as opposed to staying in lodge”
dijohn2015, 12 Apr 2017 | Read review
“If doing the Tongariro Crossing book the freedom package”
susanmB5274NF, 15 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Some lodge rooms upstairs, but facilities downstairs. Request ground floor room or self-contained motel rooms for young kids or elderly.”
, 10 Mar 2017 | Read review
“This is a Motel / Hostel with ( in our booking) shared facilities there may be rooms with individual bathrooms”
AlanP943, 5 Mar 2017 | Read review
“choose a unit with your own facilities”
, 22 Feb 2017 | Read review
5 of 5