We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Hunter Hideaway Cottages

11/06/2017 12/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Professional photos
Hunter Hideaway Cottages
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

67 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
There are newer reviews for Hunter Hideaway Cottages
See the most recent reviews
Showing 67: English reviews
Reviewed 10 July 2015 via mobile

My family and I booked the hunter hideaway for a weekend (Chardonnay cabin), and when we arrived I took one look at the milk crate (that I believe may be doubling as a table) and started to worry. After scanning the cabin, the ripped furniture and the shockingly small shower, we decided to leave. We didn't even get a refund.....

Thank kuwtk
Hunter Hideaway C, Owner at Hunter Hideaway Cottages, responded to this review

Hello Kuwtk, Please contact me if you would like to discuss your concerns in the review. As the review is dated early July and also informs you stayed early July I am not aware of any customer who booked Chardonnay cottage or any other cottage that did not stay or requested a refund during this time. There is a table...

Barcelona, Spain
Reviewed 23 February 2015

I enjoyed our stay a lot. Accommodations are basic. But you have tons of space. There are kangaroos around a lot (which was great for the kids). Plus, i made a mistake with dates. The owner, Paul, was good about it and didn't make me pay more. I really appreciated that. I would recommend to anyone.

Thank Trivialpursuits
Brisbane, Australia
Reviewed 16 February 2015

Two weeks ago we stayed here in a Chardonnay Cabin for three days ex Brisbane en route to Port Macquarrie. We found the cabin to be very clean, comfortable and homely and had everything req. for a lenghty stay. The bushland setting for the cabins was very peaceful and tranquil with afternoon visits by mob of lovely kangaroos, ducks and...

Thank ian253
Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 12 February 2015

We stayed at the Chardonnay and the cottage was in pretty good and clean condition, furnished and equipped for the basic needs for a weekend away and great if you desire to cook your own meals and have some time away from the city. The cottage is pretty tucked away and secluded from all other cottages, there are no street...

Thank retheell
Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 4 February 2015

Nice little cottage, clean, tidy, near to things in the Wine Area. Pet friendly and great for kids with open areas right outside and far enough away from other cottages to still be very private. A super couple ofdays in peace and quiet.

Thank jiggser
Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 11 January 2015

Truly enjoyed our short stay in Chardonnay cottege. Nice inside, comfy beds, everything was clean, tidy and of a good quality. Fantactic forest view from the porch, basically we spent the evening sitting on a porch and looking on fire. We brought our own charcoal BBQ however there is also big gas BBQ on site and an outdoor table to...

Thank Elena A
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Reviewed 9 January 2015

This is a great spot for couples or families. The cabins are basic, but have air con and all other essential facilities and the price is pretty reasonable. Very secluded,but easily accessible. Plenty of space for the kids to play cricket or football etc and you can can have an open fire.

Thank Mark C
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Reviewed 8 January 2015

I stayed with my partner in the Merlot cabin for three nights. It was a really great experience, exactly what we were looking for. The place was simple, quiet, clean, and peaceful. Considering how affordable it was, the place was kept in good working order with a washing machine in the bathroom, a functioning kitchen with all the necessary appliances...

Thank Eliza R
Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 9 December 2014

Great little spot, very quiet and tucked away. Older but extremely clean and comfortable wooden cottages. Nice beds and bed linen, nice porches to sit on to watch kangaroos at dawn and dusk. Simple accommodation without pretensions and without the over-pricing that is endemic in the Hunter Valley wine region. We would definitely go again. Owner Paul is very friendly...

Thank Sheryle B
Reviewed 3 December 2014

Stayed here for a weekend in October, place was dirty, broken old chairs left outside our Semillion cabin. Barbecue has rusty and filthy. Fully equipped kitchen is dated and has no washing machine or dishwasher and not enough cutlery provided for 4 people in a cabin for 6. Bunk beds were too low. Bathroom was shabby and cold. When we...

1Thank Lest G

29 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

All Traveller Photos (22)
Room/Suite (1)
Hotel & Grounds (2)
View from Room (3)
Other (16)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

All Management Photos (7)
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Bathroom (1)
Room/Suite (1)
Dining (1)
11/06/2017 12/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rothbury
10.3 km away
Crowne Plaza Hunter Valley
6.8 km away
Chateau Elan Hunter Valley
7.0 km away
Grand Mercure The Vintage Hunter Valley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.5 km away
The Sebel Kirkton Park Hunter Valley
12.5 km away
Oaks Cypress Lakes Resort
20.9 km away
Eaglereach Wilderness Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices


  • Free Parking
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Free Parking

Additional Information about Hunter Hideaway Cottages

Address: 234 Tuckers Lane | North Rothbury, Rothbury, Cessnock, New South Wales, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Newcastle > Cessnock > Rothbury
Price Range: $122 - $312 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hunter Hideaway Cottages 3.5*
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hotwire, Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hunter Hideaway Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hunter Hideaway Cottages Greater Newcastle/Rothbury
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Hunter Hideaway Cottages staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Hunter Hideaway Cottages staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“All the cabins appear to be similar, the one we stayed in was " CHARDONNAY"”
ian253, 15 Feb 2015 | Read review
“Tips - bring your own shampoo and conditioner, dishes should be cleaned othervise surcharge might apply.”
858elenaa, 10 Jan 2015 | Read review
“Chardonnay for group of 4-6 all day”
H5216JKjamesa, 3 Aug 2014 | Read review
“Use the Information center for best deals on accommodation.”
  • Kangaroos within 25 meters of the cottage.
j_geb, 18 Apr 2013 | Read review
“The Chardonnay cabin has two bedrooms and one bath (shower only).”
TravellingTex, 10 Jan 2013 | Read review
5 of 5
No availability for your dates from these sites
* /night
View Deal
View all 6 deals
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates