We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Canalta Hotel Provost

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Professional photos
Canalta Hotel Provost
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel"},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

51 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 51: English reviews
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 September 2016 via mobile

Stayed just about everywhere else in town before and always try to stay here. Rooms are clean and well appointed with all the typical amenities. A&W next door and another local eatery just a block away

Helpful?
Thank VRBjr
Edmonton, Canada
1 review
Reviewed 1 September 2016

Worst experience through trip advisor and Tingo travel. I had to change a reservation because we had a crew coming to work in Provost. They charged one night's stay for every room we booked because we had to change our arrival time to the next day. They said it was because we passed the cancellation period. TOTAL RIP OFF. Will... More 

Helpful?
Thank infoQ3461WI
GMProvost, General Manager at Canalta Hotel Provost, responded to this review

I regret your company was charged for the original booking, however it is out-of-our-hands when you defer your reservation once you have booked with an outside reservation company, as it would be that company who charged for the initial booking, not our hotel. Is it possible for you to contact me directly at the hotel, as I like follow-up and... More 

Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 17 August 2016

Very nice hotel. We were there with several family members and the lobby had a great sitting area with couches, tables and chairs and a TV. It was a perfect meeting place, especially in the evenings when the popcorn was hot! We had a ground floor room with an entrance from outside and a door to the hall to the... More 

Helpful?
Thank David P
GMProvost, General Manager at Canalta Hotel Provost, responded to this review

We do so appreciate your positive comments re your recent stay at Canalta Provost. It was wonderful to hear how much your family enjoyed their time. We shall confer with our Maintenance Department as to whether or not we can de-activate the motion sensor thermostat or ensure it is set at an appropriate temperature so guests rooms remain cooler throughout... More 

Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2016 via mobile

This is our second visit here. We love this place! The staff is always so very friendly, the hotel is so clean, beds are comfortable, and one of the best comp breakfasts ever. The prices are also really reasonable. We like their three bed room.

Helpful?
Thank BradandVal
GMProvost, General Manager at Canalta Hotel Provost, responded to this review

We so appreciate your wonderful comments re our hotel, guest service and breakfast. Thank you for choosing Canalta Hotels! More 

Edmonton
Level Contributor
243 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2016

This is the third time we stopped here and the level of service has been the same, top notch. The room was clean and fresh, we had a great sleep. The hotel is just off the highway on the east side of the town.

Helpful?
Thank princesscruisers
GMProvost, General Manager at Canalta Hotel Provost, responded to this review

We so appreciate your positive comments re our hotel`s level of service. It is our goal to provide the very best guest service possible. Thank you for choosing Canalta Hotels! More 

Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2016

The general experience was very good. Rooms were very clean, comfortable, and pretty quiet. The staff were very friendly and did their best to please. Areas for improvement were staffing of the breakfast service and getting the internet service to actually work. It was working on Thursday and then something was done to the system and the guest side of... More 

Helpful?
Thank TrickyRick1
GMProvost, General Manager at Canalta Hotel Provost, responded to this review

Thank you for your review of our property. We recognize staffing of our breakfast area can be an issue when we are busy at the Front Desk, particularlyif we have a large crew or wedding party in. Whenever possible we now book two team members to work at these times. Unfortunately our internet service is provided by an independent supplier... More 

Beaumont, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 June 2016 via mobile

Stayed with family of 5 had room with 3 double beds. Checked in no tv,microwave,shower curtain front desk lady tried to bring us us another Tv it did not work. Ended up giving us an additional room with 1 bed Inconvenient for family. Breakfast underwhelming 1 staff to look after kitchen and front desk. Staff tried but overwhelmed. Asked for... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank jbondrock
GMProvost, General Manager at Canalta Hotel Provost, responded to this review

I am so sorry your recent stay with Canalta Provost was not all it should have been. You should never have been put in the room you were as it was temporarily out-of-order due to the missing amenties you refer to. Our Guest Servie Agent also should have moved your family to another room that would have accommodated your needs.... More 

Lloydminster, Canada
Level Contributor
142 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 May 2016

Friendly staff , good location ( A&W next door , gas station and Subway ) , good breakfast variety , new looking on the outside , very clean and modern inside . Rooms are great , modern and clean ! Bottom floor has outside entries on the rooms for easy access . Laundry facilities work well and there is a... More 

Helpful?
Thank Ron S
GMProvost, General Manager at Canalta Hotel Provost, responded to this review

Thank you Ron for your kind comments re Canalta Provost. It is always nice to hear when our hotel meets our guests' expectations. We are pleased you noticed the recent exterior face lift to our property. Other guests may find your referecne to local amenities helpful also. More 

Red Deer
Level Contributor
29 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 October 2015

We had intended on staying at this hotel for about 2 to 3 months however we cut our stay short after about 10 days. The rooms were dirty; chips and M&M's on the floor when I checked in, not to mention the mud. Everything in the room was dusty. Pulled the seat cushion off the chair....pretty gross! Most of the... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank Bob S
GMProvost, General Manager at Canalta Hotel Provost, responded to this review

We sincerely appreciate your feedback. Our guests' comments let us know how very important it is to understand where we need to improve. My sincerest apologies for your experience during your recent stay. I immediately addressed all of your concerns with my team and have made the necessary corrections. Again, my apologies and I hope that if you are in... More 

Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2015 via mobile

We stayed in this hotel for 2 nights. The rooms were big and the beds comfortable. The continental breakfast was huge and very good. The people at reception were always helpful and quick to serve. I would highly recommend this place if you are staying in provost.

Helpful?
Thank BradandVal
GMProvost, General Manager at Canalta Hotel Provost, responded to this review

It is with regret I must confess to the unnecessary delay in responding to your incredible comments re Canalta Provost. It is always heartwarming to know someone enjoyed their stay and to learn they appreciated the service received. Thank you for recommending the Canalta Hotel Provost to others! More 

15 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (3)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (9)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Provost hotels
1.8 km away
Provost Motor Inn
Provost Motor Inn
#3 of 4 in Provost
18 reviews
1.3 km away
Greenhead Motel
Greenhead Motel
#2 of 4 in Provost
9 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Breakfast
  • Free Parking
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Hot Tub
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Breakfast
  • Free Parking
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Your home away from home when traveling! The convenience of comfort and service - complimentary WI-FI. We are the only hotel in Provost with a gym and a hot tub. Your comfort is our #1 job. Alberta Hotel and Lodging Association Housekeeping Awards: 2007, 2008, 2009, 2010, 2013 & 2015, 2016. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Canalta Hotel Provost

Address: 3611 - 57 Ave, Provost, Alberta T0B 3S0, Canada (Formerly Super 8 Provost)
Region: Canada > Alberta > Provost
Price Range: $155 - $196 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Canalta Hotel Provost 2.5*
Number of rooms: 79
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Canalta Hotel Provost reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Provost Super 8
Provost Super Eight
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Canalta Hotel Provost staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“King Bed was very comfortable, bring your suit to enjoy the Spa.”
 of 5 bubbles TrickyRick1, 27 Jun 2016 | Read review
“room 208 is above the entrance and you can hear the sliding door. It is not loud (did not disrupt us) but could be a bother to some”
 of 5 bubbles Sasktraveller97, 8 Jul 2015 | Read review
“HAve stayed a few different times in variety of room styles. All were comfy”
 of 5 bubbles EckvilleBruce, 12 Feb 2015 | Read review
“The second floor was very quiet. Ask for a room on the south side(opposite) from the highway. The first floor has and interior hallway and also direct access to your vehicle if you get a spot right out your door. Our travelling companions were going to be travelling for longer so had more "stuff" to bring in and out so they prefer the first floor and direct access.”
 of 5 bubbles pattypotato1, 26 Oct 2014 | Read review
“Book well ahead as it is usually booked with all the construction and oil and gas people staying there.”
 of 5 bubbles pank, 30 Jul 2014 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay