We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

La Heliconia

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
La Heliconia
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

133 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for La Heliconia
See the most recent reviews
Showing 122: English reviews
New York City, New York
Reviewed 29 September 2016 via mobile

La Heliconia is more like a motel, but it is great value, esp if you need a night before or after dep/arr from Maurice Bishop Airport (GND). It's quite basic but you get everything you need; hot shower w good pressure, fast wifi, tv, a/c, comfy clean bed plus a kitchen, tho there is a restaurant on the premises. The...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MyrVan
Lima, Ohio
Reviewed 28 September 2016

Stayed here overnight before going to Sandals. Since the flight we arrived on came in late we opted to come a day early and then go to Sandals in the am. The manager picked us up at the airport($10 US). The room was an apt. one king bed with kitchen, clean with a large shower ac worked well(bedroom is only...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Frank J
LaHeliconia, Owner at La Heliconia, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your comments, and glad that you enjoyed your stay.

Reviewed 9 September 2016

We stayed here for one night before our early flight out of St. Georges. The staff was very friendly, and the room was clean, with AC. It's a good value if you're looking for a cool, clean place to lay your head.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Nataliejoy
LaHeliconia, Owner at La Heliconia, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind comments. It was a pleasure having you with us.

Las Vegas, Nevada
Reviewed 22 August 2016

We showed up early and had to wait for the room but the staff was very friendly. The room was large, almost a suite and there was a full kitchen. We couldn’t find any market nearby but only stayed one night. The room was very clean and the air conditioning was quiet and worked well. It is very close to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank rosieox
Columbus, Ohio
Reviewed 18 July 2016 via mobile

This visit was last minute but surpringly very pleasant. Bishop and his wife were very gracious hosts. Transportation was provided to Grand anse beach and later that evening to get dinner. They also provided airport transfers for free during decent hours. The big surprise is that they are within walking distance of the airport! I plan to go back in...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank rednbald1
LaHeliconia, Owner at La Heliconia, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your kind response. We do try our best to make our guest stay enjoyable. Hope to see you again soon. Regards Debbie

Reviewed 24 June 2016 via mobile

The apartment we stayed in was very comfortable and included a full kitchen, airconditioning and television. A small balcony as well. It's a 15 min walk from the airport and buses(number 1) to St.George run frequently($2.5,- local currency p.p.) Personnel was lovely and really friendly and super helpful in booking a Seafari trip for us. Great recommendation.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Martinios S
LaHeliconia, Owner at La Heliconia, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your kind response. we are glad that you enjoyed your stay here with us. Looking forward to seeing you soon again. Regards Debbie

Winston-Salem
Reviewed 23 June 2016

Whether you are just passing through, need a convenient airport accommodation, or a home base while in Grenada this is a wonderful place. It is not on the beach but the location serves one well for many reasons. You can walk to the airport when you have an early flight so stressing about transport arrangements is not a worry. Busses...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank UltraStar175
LaHeliconia, Owner at La Heliconia, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your kind review. Yes you are right, we are placed very conveniently to airport, beaches and local buses. This makes getting around very easy and quick. Looking forward to seeing you again real soon. Regards Debbie

Toronto, Ontario
Reviewed 19 June 2016

Located near the airport. What a surprise when booked just a room, I received a spacious one bedroom apartment with furniture, kitchen(fridge, microwave, gas stove, cutlery, pots and pans), and a little balcony. In the morning there is a choice of continental (10$) or full (15$)breakfast.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank KiMAGIC
LaHeliconia, Owner at La Heliconia, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your kind review. Yes, all our apartments are very spacious with all that you will need for a self catering holiday. Glad that you enjoyed your stay here with us. Kind Regards Debbie

St. George's, Grenada
Reviewed 18 May 2016

Large gaps under door and neighbor. You can hear detailed conversations of your neighbor. The owners husband wouldn't fix a banging screen upstairs in the night but told us to. He was drunk. The bed was horrible! All other staff was very nice. We left our stay early because of the bed, the noise, and the owner's husband. There are...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Kristi S
LaHeliconia, Owner at La Heliconia, responded to this review

Sorry you had a bed experience here with us. We have sorted out the problems you had that day. Regards Debbie

Brentwood
Reviewed 27 April 2016

This place is awesome if you are going to Sandals. We came in from the West coast so it is a long trip to get to Granada. We arrived around 8:00 pm so I did not want to stay at Sandals and have to pay for a full days stay only to go to bed. The accommodations were very nice...

 Report
Helpful?
5Thank ToddMe
LaHeliconia, Owner at La Heliconia, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your kind comments. Yes, it makes a lot of sense to book cheep the night before going to Sandals. Regards Debbie

72 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (35)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (13)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (37)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (29)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Saint George Parish hotels
1.8 km away
Siesta Hotel
Siesta Hotel
#7 of 11 in Grand Anse
190 reviews
1.5 km away
True Blue Bay Boutique Resort
1.3 km away
Gem Holiday Beach Resort
Gem Holiday Beach Resort
#3 of 8 in St. George's
133 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 km away
Radisson Grenada Beach Resort
0.2 km away
Grooms Beach Villas and Resort
1.2 km away
Kalinago Beach Resort
Kalinago Beach Resort
#2 of 19 in St. George's
245 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Restaurant
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Airport Transportation
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Room Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Family run Holiday apartments, at competitive prices,with spa, bar and restaurant ,free high speed wifi connection,located on the beautiful island of Grenada in the West Indies.Situated close to the airport and walking distance to fine golden sand beaches, we are ideally placed for self-catering holidays,over nights or visiting your friends and relations in Grenada and at St. George’s University.La Heliconia is on the local bus route, which takes you into the town of St. George. We provide a free pick up service from the airport between the hours of 9am to 5pm. We also provide an early check inn service from 7am, and late check out service to 4pm.There is also an in house taxi service, which we provide for our guest. ... more   less 

Additional Information about La Heliconia

Address: Point Salines, Maurice Bishop Highway, 1115, Grenada
Region: Caribbean > Grenada > Saint George Parish
Price Range: $104 - $172 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — La Heliconia 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your La Heliconia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from La Heliconia staff and other travellers.
9 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (9)

Questions? Get answers from La Heliconia staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“If possible, ask for a room on the upper floors for the views and a nice breeze.”
 of 5 bubbles A377AHpaulc, 24 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Our room had a balcony that was shared with the next room”
 of 5 bubbles 982sheilab, 9 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Smile. It is infectious.”
 of 5 bubbles UltraStar175, 22 Jun 2016 | Read review
“The spa is also offering services for men face up.”
 of 5 bubbles KiMAGIC, 18 Jun 2016 | Read review
“Rooms facing south / west probably have better view of Caribbean Sea.”
 of 5 bubbles WilliamJ244, 1 Mar 2016 | Read review
5 of 5