L'Oree des Cimes
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

L'Oree des Cimes

Traveller (120)
Suite familiale
Room & Suite (19)
Terasse solarium
Pool & Beach (18)

View prices for your travel dates

Prices are provided by our partners for one room, with variable occupancy rules as provided by the property, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.

About

4.0
#1 of 3 apartments in Landry
4.4 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.4 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Service
3.8 of 5 bubbles
Value
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
4.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Modern
Mountain View
Languages Spoken
English, French
Property amenities
Paid private parking on-site
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Hiking
Skiing
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Spa
Wifi
Hot bath
Indoor pool
Heated pool
Sauna
Billiards
Hammam
Massage
Ski In / Ski Out
Baggage storage
Concierge
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
Self-serve laundry
Room features
Soundproof rooms
Telephone
Dishwasher
Microwave
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
Bath / shower
Complimentary toiletries
Kitchenware
Hair dryer
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms

Location

route des Espagnols, 73210 Landry France
Name/address in local language
Getting there
Somewhat walkable
Places to stay are graded on a 0-100 scale. The higher the grade, the easier it is for travellers to find restaurants and things to do within walking distance.
Grade: 68 out of 100
68
Chambery Airport
69.2 km
See all flights
Citta Di Torino Airport
79.5 km
See all flights
189Reviews6Q+A12Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 62
  • 84
  • 28
  • 11
  • 4
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Alan L wrote a review Mar 2024
12 contributions5 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
The room that we were allocated this time (we've stayed there four years on the trot) which was A9, was small . One bedroom had NO WARDROBE at all, less than ideal but tolerable. But the main gripe (again) is that this 'hotel' has no wifi connectivity.

In the room - None! Tried in the middle of the night just in case it was busier during the day. Still nothing. Went to reception area where there was also NO WIFI. They tried to palm me off at reception with some nonsense about 'being up a mountain' but I kept complaining, refused to accept the situation and, after a while, they eventually gave me a portable router/wifi gadget. This provided some wifi connectivity but still very poor level. Enough for my phone (barely) but our PCs (3 of them) couldnt find the signal. Very poor in this day and age.

The facilities are good otherwise. Staff pleasant enough etc.

There is no bar or restaurant in the 'hotel' so I guess this is the Frech playing fast and loose with the term 'hotel'. As a suggestion I would say use some of that enormous, empty, unused space in the Foyer and first floor and PUT IN A BAR!
Read more
Date of stay: March 2024
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
2.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: dont expect WiFi.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Adrian T wrote a review Jan 2020
Scotland209 contributions87 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Chose this place for access to piste and the spa. Also because it's close to Bourg St Maurice station, as we arrived on the Snow Train.

It's well situated, although you have to take the adjacent Grizzly lift to get to the pistes proper. Probably not ideal for beginners.

The only annoying thing about the residence is that it's on the side of a hill, which means lots of clomping around in ski boots or to go to the pool, there being no lift between the main block and the apartment blocks.

The apartment was small but adequate for a two bedroom.

We would have liked a "welcome pack" of food basics, as we arrived after the shops closed and after the last order for breakfast croissants.

A ski rental next door was useful. The supermarket is a short walk down the hill.

We used the pool and sauna/steam every day. It didn't generally get too busy.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Gregory B wrote a review Feb 2020
Brussels, Région De Bruxelles-Capitale, Belgium270 contributions107 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
We were 16 people, 8 kids and 8 adults in 2 4 bed apartments. The skiing and weather were both perfect but so too was the accommodation.
The pool and spa were clean and very good.
Almost ski in ski out.
The only thing I'd change would be the boot room as there were no boot warmers and it was very small and busy in the morning.
We'll be back.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Richard Lesuisse, Directeur général at L'Oree des Cimes
Responded 17 Apr 2020
Madam, Sir, We thank for your confidence and for the time it takes to write your opinion. We have well noticed it and hope that the owners will decide to install boot dryer in every ski lockers as soon as possible. . We expect to see you again next seasons for your enjoyment. Best regards
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
andrewclinton wrote a review Feb 2022
Brighton, United Kingdom4 contributions1 helpful vote
2.0 of 5 bubbles
We experienced a number of problems:
1. Lack of proper cleaning: When we opened the sofa bed we found the sheets had not been changed and there was hair and food (one of the previous guests had clearly been eating pretzels) in the bed and a wrapper under the bed.
2. The coffee machine still had a filter with coffee grounds in it.
3. There were no pillow cases, quilt covers or towels for the guests using the sofa bed.
4. The sleeping arrangements: We were told, in response to an email enquiry made in advance, that there were two single beds in the living room. In fact, it is one sofa bed so in effect a double bed with two mattresses.
5. It is advertised as an apartment for eight people but one of the bedrooms is very small, has bunk beds in and no exterior windows so gets very stuffy. There were only six chairs for eight people.
6. Perhaps most concerning of all (as we accept things can sometimes go wrong) was our experience of the reaction from the manager and reception staff when we complained. There was an attempt to avoid responsibility by suggesting (i) we should have checked the sofa bed on arrival, (ii) that the email about the beds did not come from the residence but was from the head office and (iii) it was the fault of the previous guests that the coffee machine was dirty.
We have stayed in a different CGH residence in another location and were very impressed by the set-up and service on that occasion. Sadly, our experience at L’Oree des Cimes was very different and, in my view, unacceptable.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2022
2.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
2.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
2.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from RICHARD LESUISSE, Directeur général at L'Oree des Cimes
Responded 11 Apr 2022
Dear Mr Clinton, In first we want to apologize for the number of problems encoutered during your stay and we want to thank you for your understanding. For points 1 / 2 / 3, we are sorry and we want to ensure you that it is exceptional and probably due to the hurry that we face on saturday because all our guests want their apartments as quick as possible. For points 4 / 5, you really have to know that all the apartments of our CGH residences are all the same. So you always will find one sofa bed for two people with two matress and when you book a 4C8 apartments it's cheaper and smaller that a 4P8. Please, next time you book in our CGH residences call the reception and tell us about your wishes. For points 6, like i do today, il will be nice to tell that i was in your apartment at midnight because it was important for me to fix your complaints as quick as possible. Once again we want to apologize about your bad experience but be sure that it was an accident and that you will enjoy your next stay in CGH. Best regards.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
nse wrote a review Jan 2023
2 contributions
2.0 of 5 bubbles
We have been regulars at this resort but our December 2022 stay will be the last one. When we arrived on 17 December, the place was not ready: Internet was down, the parking gates were not working, the Jacuzzi and the area where to put your ski material smelt like the worst public toilets, etc. Whilst some problem got sorted by the time we left (the following Saturday), this is not satisfactory especially when you pay 4,000 Euros per week (just for accommodation). At that price you get much better options in Peisey. Moreover, the apartments are outdated and duplex apartments not very functional. We were 6 people and had booked a duplex apartment for 8 people which were told were bigger than what we had last year but, with only one sofa and an individual chair, 5 people (at most) could seat in front of the TV. The 2 bedrooms upstairs were under the roof so little space to move around without hitting your heads. We will not come back especially since the personel did not care about making things better (dishwahsher not working etc.)
Read more
Date of stay: December 2022
2.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helen1979 wrote a review Mar 2006
London14 contributions32 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Fantastic apartments. Look brand new this season. We stayed in an apartment for 6/8 people, there was 6 of us and would say that it would have been very cramped had there been 8 of us. The apartment had three bedrooms, and two bathrooms plus a toilet which was great. The pool area looked really nice (although we didn't actually end up using it) Lots of underground parking for a small charge of EUR 10 per day, which was more than worth it especially as the parking is very restricted around the apartments.

Brilliantly located next to the Grizly chair lift. Only slight downside is that it is a bit of walk to the centre of the village (probably 15 - 20 minutes)

Would definitely recommend these apartments. Everything is provided for you (unlike many other apartments we've stayed in before) with beds made up for you on arrival and lovely huge white fluffy towels. Great value for money, great location and beautiful decorated apartments.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2006
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
ChezzaChezza wrote a review Mar 2011
Netherlands8 contributions16 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
We have just returned from a week at L'Oree Des Cimes. The location was excellent. The small friendly village of Vallandry is a 5-10 min walk down a steep path (watch out how much food you buy at the supermarket at the bottom as you have to carry it all the way back!). The village has a small amount of nice local restaurants - we particularly loved La Fontana. The prices aren't as high as other ski resorts we have been to (Lasagna 13 euros for example). There is also a few bars. The Mont Blanc is right next to the apartments and has good food - but it gets very crowded with Apres Ski - its not really a great eating location in the evening (but is open during the day and also for take away).

The staff in the apartments were not the most helpful - some were better than others, one particular woman was quite unfriendly and didn't want to speak English - which is fair enough as we are in France...When we arrived we got very vague directlons to our apartment and a map that wasn't very helpful. We were in block B which turned out to be up about 7 flights of stairs, across a small road, up more stairs, in a lift then finally there - it wasn't great with all the luggage and skis and I've no idea how the families with kids were coping. It would have been helpful to get a bit of warning/guideance from reception.

They also didn't give us much info about the spa or treatments/location etc. We found it all out for ourselves no problem but it would have been nice to get a bit of info. It was also impossible to get a spa treatment as it was always fully booked - so if you want a spa treatment, book before your holiday.

The bakery service is excellent - make sure you ask about it when you arrive as they won't tell you.

The apartment itself was great. We were in a 3 bedroom/2 bathroom. Its meant to sleep 8 but I wouldn't recommend that, I don't even think there would be enough seats to sit round the dining table or watching TV/in the lounge and the bathrooms would become a nightmare. For 6 it was just right. They don't give out bath robes or slippers which we've had in other apartments before so that was a shame, and bare in mind if you want to use the spa you have to walk into the open - so you will probably need your coat etc. There are lockers and changing rooms in the spa.

The apartment came with ton's of kitchen stuff and we ate most meals for 6 adults there and had no problem. There is a dishwasher and plenty of plates/bowls etc etc. There is a lovely outside terrace too - perfect for lunches.

The Grizzly lift is located near the upper buildings of the apartment - so we were lucky it was right by our ski locker room. Skiing back is a bit tricky if you want to come right to the door but its doable if you just take your time.

The ski area right by the apartments was great, lovely wide runs that weren't too crowded. The rest of the Les Arcs area was not as lovely and much more crowded. We also took a day trip to La Plagne for an extra 28 euros each on the lift pass and that was brilliant - would highly recommend it!

Overall good apartments - but I do think the ones at Flaine Montsoleil we stayed at last year were perhaps slightly better, but it didn't have the characterisitic town - so its always varying pros and cons!
Read more
Date of stay: March 2011
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
2.0 of 5 bubblesService
4.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
louise108 wrote a review Mar 2006
Belgium58 contributions37 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
We have just spent a really nice week at the "orée des Cîmes" in Vallandry. We had a appartment for 6/8 people : 3 bedrooms, 1 shower room, 1 bathroom, 2 toilets. The appartment was very spacious with lots of storage in all the different rooms, the kitchen is very well equipped and there is lots of fresh towels.

There is a big swimming pool with a jacuzzy (well needed after a whole day on ski) and a spa centre. it is important to book on arrival as the whole week was booked in the first day.

Just one thing : if your children go to the ESF school, dont forget to ask your children's teacher to drop them at the grizzly lift or you will have to walk back up!! and with tired children, it is not fun!

There is a nice bar just next to the complex, called "le mont blanc", an english place with lots of youngsters. We used it at the meeting place for lunch.

All in all, a very nice place in a lovely friendly family resort.
Read more
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
wwrt wrote a review Feb 2011
London, United Kingdom2 contributions5 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Thought it might be useful to post a map of where the appartment blocks are. The Grizzly chair lift is marked by (9). Block C is the closest to it. The others will require a very short walk along/accross the residence's access road to get to the slopes.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2011
3.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
4.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
JeremySG wrote a review Apr 2015
London, United Kingdom115 contributions94 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
This was our second trip to L'Oree des Cimes: we first visited in 2010. We booked through Erna Low and got a free upgrade to Flexi+ on the Shuttle (well worth it for the convenience).

The apartment complex consists of a main building (with spa/swimming pool as well as reception) plus 5 or so chalet style blocks. These are up the hill a little (66 steps) - but you are in the mountains! Bakery service. Pol table. Free wifi (2 connections - not devices - per apartment so we swapped around). Ski rental on site. UNderground garage is extra

For the four of us we booked (as we always do in France) an apartment for six: that way you get two bedrooms. The apartments are clean, spacious enough, and well appointed (multi-function oven, toaster and kettle - things that are not always available in France but essential to the English traveller!) Our apartment had a shower/loo off the main bedroom plus a bathroom (tiniest bath ever) and separate loo. Ski locker is plenty big enough for six sets of skis and boots.

The great thing about L'Oree des Cimes is the location - 20 yards from the Grizzly lift which connects well to the Les Arcs area AND gives you easy access to the Grande Vanoise lift across to La Plagne (you could in fact walk or get the bus to the Grande vanoise but we preferred to ski). The ParadisSki area (Les Arcs plus La Plagne) is one of the biggest in Europe: tree lined slopes in Les Arcs and big motorways in La Plagne (better mountain restaurants this side although there are a couple of nice reatsurants near the Les Arcs side of the Grande Vanoise). If you want access to the whole area you need to buy the ParadisSki ticket not just the Les Arcs ticket although there is a half-way house that offers you a single day in La Plagne.

The Villandry village has a little Sherpa grocery shop which has everything you need, a patisserie, a delicatessen (rotisserie chicken), a couple of restaurants, a newsagent, and a few ski shops, as well as the lift company shop where you can buy (or pick up if you ordered them online) your ski tickets. It's 5 minutes from L'Oree des Cimes but 10 minutes back up the hill!

There are some other shops and restaurants in Peisey which is also down the hill and also about a 5 minute walk.

This year the ParadiSki area had a special on lift tickets - a family of four get charged for four child tickets - a fairly big saving on buying 2 adult and 2 child tickets.

ParadisSki is a really great area and much recommended for families (its a bit cheaper than some as a few of the villages are a bit brutal in architectural style). L'Oree des Cimes is a really good option for making the most of the area. I'll be back I hope.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2015
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Thomas T, Directeur at L'Oree des Cimes
Responded 18 Apr 2015
Dear Jeremy SG, On behalf of all the team of CGH L'Orée des Cimes, I thank you very much for your kind review. Your time taken to write your comments has been highly appreciated and we will share same with all the team members. We all look forward to welcoming you back to Vallandry! Best regards,
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Inna A asked a question Feb 2020
Newton, Massachusetts2 contributions
Are there any laundry facilities at this property?
Peisey-Vallandry, France2 contributions
We thanks you for your interest and inform you that you will find all the laundry facilities in ours two residences of Vallandry.
Julie P asked a question Jan 2019
Emersons Green, United Kingdom193 contributions64 helpful votes
Can anyone tell me if the 3 bedroom apartments have a proper separate oven not a microwave/grill ? Thanks Julie
Answer from wybe h
Best, The Netherlands170 contributions62 helpful votes
The ovens I saw in 2 of those appartements were multi-function combi ovens: microwave, grill, and plain heat (don't think it was a hot air oven). Anyway, I managed to bake tartiflette in it :-)
Answer from sylvie34260
Vallandry, France1 contribution
Dans tous les chalets se trouvent des appartements 3 pièces situés dans les étages supérieurs
Alan L wrote a tip Mar 2024
12 contributions5 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
"dont expect WiFi."
Read full review
CatherineTr71 wrote a tip Mar 2019
25 contributions4 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"Block A has spacious locker room area."
Read full review
Sam M wrote a tip Apr 2017
High Wycombe, United Kingdom73 contributions19 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"Ask for a valley view room in block A or B as they are closer to reception and the lifts."
Read full review
Colca_12 wrote a tip Apr 2015
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom75 contributions43 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"All the rooms are good, b block is nearer the covered parking but nothing is far away."
Read full review
Sharondub68 wrote a tip Mar 2015
16 contributions8 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
"Block C is a walk from reception but nearest to the ski slopes. Note that there are lots of stairs and walking in and out of blocks to get around."
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Landry area.
PRICE RANGE
AU$149 - AU$251 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
l`oree des cimes hotel nancroix
LOCATION
FranceAuvergne-Rhône-AlpesSavoiePeisey-VallandryLandry
NUMBER OF ROOMS
120
Prices are provided by our partners for one room, with variable occupancy rules as provided by the property, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

L'OREE DES CIMES (AU$149): 2024 Prices & Reviews (Landry, France) - Photos of Apartment - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about L'Oree des Cimes
Which popular attractions are close to L'Oree des Cimes?
Nearby attractions include Mojo Bar (0.2 km), Greg's bar (1.1 km), and Paradis Sport - Sport 2000 (0.2 km).
What are some of the property amenities at L'Oree des Cimes?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include an indoor pool, free wifi, and a fitness centre.
Which room amenities are available at L'Oree des Cimes?
Top room amenities include a flat screen TV, a refrigerator, and a dishwasher.
Is parking available at L'Oree des Cimes?
Yes, paid private parking on-site is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to L'Oree des Cimes?
Conveniently located restaurants include L'Adress Vallandry, Restaurant Brasserie Bar Le Solan d'Aniathazze, and Le Coeur de Vall.
Are there opportunities to exercise at L'Oree des Cimes?
Yes, guests have access to an indoor pool, a fitness centre, and a sauna during their stay.
Are pets allowed at L'Oree des Cimes?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at L'Oree des Cimes?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and French.
Are there any historical sites close to L'Oree des Cimes?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Tour de Rochefort (7.6 km).
Does L'Oree des Cimes have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the mountain view available here.
Is L'Oree des Cimes accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsHoliday RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesRental Cars