Chalet Solneige
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

Chalet Solneige

Pourchery Parking address: 188, Route du Col du Sabot, 38114 Vaujany France
Traveller (38)
Dining (12)
One of our comfortable rooms
Room & Suite (5)

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Did you already book this hotel?

About

5.0
#1 of 5 hotels in Vaujany
4.7 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.8 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.9 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.7 of 5 bubbles
Value
Chalet Solneige is a stylish catered chalet situated in the picturesque alpine village of Vaujany in the heart of the French Alps, close to Alpe d'Huez. Enjoy our beautiful chalet and fully equipped apartments during your ski break or summer holidays.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Sauna
Hot bath
Free breakfast
Game room
Hiking
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Wifi
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Kids' meals
Special diet menus
Skiing
Baggage storage
Non-smoking hotel
Private check-in / check-out
Room features
Fireplace
Bath / shower
Hair dryer
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Great View
Romantic
Languages Spoken
English, French, Dutch, German
140Reviews0Q+A8Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 120
  • 17
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Michiel wrote a review Sept 2020
Leuven, Belgium
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We spent 6 nights with our family at Chalet Solneige and enjoyed every single moment during our stay. Pieter and Therese are great hosts that want to provide the best stay for their guests, the chalet is very clean and cosy, the food is delicious,... Pieters's advice on hiking and cycling trips was the final touch for an unforgettable holiday!
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Therese Gasser, Owner at Chalet Solneige
Responded 9 Nov 2020
Thank you very much for your kind review. Easy to be great hosts for such great guests :) Stay safe, warm regards from the mountains.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
natgvp wrote a review Feb 2022
London, United Kingdom
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We stayed at Chalet Solneige for February half-term week. Pieter and Therese were great hosts - welcoming, knowledgeable and efficient. The food was delicious and included local dishes as well as inventive twists on old classics. Chalet Solneige itself is comfortable and spacious with magnificent views of the mountains and valley. Highly recommended.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
TaylorSheah wrote a review Feb 2024
Old Lyme, Connecticut
5.0 of 5 bubbles
If you’re lucky enough to find yourself walking through the doors of this hidden gem in the this beautiful mountainside region , you’ll not be disappointed. This lovely couple bring their guests
on a culinary adventure from their morning breakfast to an ever changing three course evening dinner , second only to the incredible landscape that envelops you . They bring not only interesting conversations with many years of travel and hospitality service but a sophisticated sense of style and culture that will most certainly have you thinking of when you can come and stay with them again .

Tracey
Read more
Date of stay: February 2024
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Martin K wrote a review July 2023
5.0 of 5 bubbles
If you want to feel at home from the moment you open the door then visit Chalet Solneige. Therese and Peter are the most wonderful people and they welcome you with open arms. The Chalet is so beautiful with stunning views. You feel like you are part of one big family. The breakfast and dinner is amazing. You sit and talk with people and just enjoy your holiday. We brought are own road bikes. The best climbes start right outside the door.
We are for sure coming back. Infact we cant wait. We higly recomend you to visit Chalet Solneige.
Best regards
Lene and Martin from Denmark
Read more
Date of stay: July 2023
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Vinety wrote a review Jan 2015
London, United Kingdom
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Stayed at the chalet over Xmas 2014 with my grownup kids with a very good last minute half board offer including drinks and we were even given one of the unoccupied rooms for my son at no extra cost. The chalet is run by Therese and Peter with some help from their three charming daughters who contribute greatly to the overall welcome feeling about the accommodation.

Positives: very clean, very warm throughout, comfortable beds, excellent 4 course meal prepared by the owners, very large and cosy living area, lovely Xmas decoration and even small gifts from the owners for the occasion (very nice touch), tasty homemade jams especially the ones made from damsons and plums.

Drawbacks:

1. Poor connection to Vaujany unless you have a car.
I guess if you don't have a car, you should not go there during the winter for skiing as you are stuck!

Please note that the chalet is not at Vaiujany. It is in a little village called Pourchery, 4km from the centre of Vaujany where the cable car is located to take you skiing in Alpe d'Huez.
The chalet offers a free shuttle service to the ski lifts from Pourchery however we find this a little misleading.
It is from the local public bus and not from the owners. That should not have been a problem providing the buses were frequent enough and with a convenient time for skiers. They are not, and the owners do not provide you with a ride to/from the cable car.
The owners have one day off in the week. Therefore one has to consider how they are going to go/come back to Vaujany, especially in the evening. Luckily we had a lift from some guests who kindly offered to help us out.

With the second bus in the morning you can be on time for the opening of the main lift, however if you have small children and you wish to go slightly later, you have no chance.
Same on the way back. There is a bus at 16:15 and next one and the last one is at 17:20. Miss the first one, you are stuck with an hour waiting, miss the second and you have to either pay 25EUR for a 4 km taxi ride or walk back for 45 minutes.
In fact, the owners could provide you with a lift (in our case on the day of our departure) with a price tag 15EUR for the that 4km.

Walking should not be a problem when days are longer i.e. in the summer but it is certainly not recommended after a whole day of skiing! In fact you are cutting your skiing slightly short in order to catch the first bus.

Of course all of the above is not a negative if you have a car!

2. Poor breakfast unless you eat just cornflakes and/or muesli
We like and expected continental breakfast with cold meats, cheese, fresh croissants and fruit as it is written on their website
The salamis and cheese were always so little and so thinly sliced that you wonder if the platter was a portion for one person only. In fact it was for one, you just have to share it with whoever comes for breakfast, in our case between 5 adults and a little girl. Not enough at all to be precise and a little mean.
Very few fruit as well so it makes you feel uncomfortable to have even one as you want the other guest to have some too.
It seems a bit of a bother if you ask for an espresso despite of an espresso machine in the kitchen, or another tea apart from the English tea which was served in the morning and during the afternoon. In fact, I asked once for a proper espresso coffee, but I was told by Peter that I could serve myself from the already made filtered coffee instead. Any coffee lover will agree, that they are not at all the same!

If you order scrambled eggs, you would get one mouthful of egg and that's your minuscule portion done for the day! Very disappointing!

Breakfast was listed form 7:30 in the morning, however it was always late and never ready at that time! If you have to catch the only available bus like us for skiing which was at 8:20, you have to really rush your meal. When it is finally served at around 8:00, bits and pieces will be still arriving while you really have to leave to take the kids to ski school/make it on time for the first bus.

3. Unsatisfactory afternoon tea.
Three times we had the same buttery biscuits which although rather nice, have them too often and you feel uninterested and giving them a miss! And twice we had the same cake which admittedly was rather delicious but come on, we are in France! The patisseries are paradise there, it's not difficult or expensive to mix it up a little every day, there is so much choice!

4. Poor WiFi
Only accessible on the ground floor, no signal in the rooms at least in ours and we were on the first floor.

5. Hot Tub
In the offer and on the website it states that the chalet has an outdoor hot tub.
We never had the chance to use it as it was never prepared. Not sure if you have to place a request in advance. I suppose as it is not cheap to run it, it's better if the owners know beforehand to have it prepared rather than getting it ready and then no one using it.
However, we felt it would have been a nice touch if we were asked whether we would like to benefit form the extra facility. Otherwise it is all just pictures and a pretty website!
Read more
Date of stay: December 2014
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Therese G, Owner at Chalet Solneige
Responded 19 Mar 2015
Thank you very much for your review. We'll take in account your recommandations for improvements. Such a pity you did not tel us when you were here, because we could have solved many of them. Happy you liked the personal touch, that's what we aim for :)
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Nikki K wrote a review May 2013
Geleen
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Solneige a very cozy chalet in a beautiful setting in the French Alps. The owners Therese and Pieter are very friendly, provide you with everything you need and make delicious meals! The rooms are perfect and very comfortable. The surrounding is the dream of every cyclist. This chalet is definitely a must. Next year we will go back for sure!!
Read more
Date of stay: May 2013
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Therese G, Owner at Chalet Solneige
Responded 30 Sept 2013
Thank you very much!
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
YoxallTraveller wrote a review June 2016
UK
5.0 of 5 bubbles
If you are looking for somewhere to stay that has great accommodation , food beyond expectation and views , then you are looking in the right place . As a group of 10 cyclist this was our second visit to the area and we where a little concerned that the chalet sits 1.2miles up from the valley floor , we over came this by running a car shuttle up for those whose legs had run out of puff at the end of the day,this worked fine, the benefit of staying a little higher was cooler evenings and an ability to sit outside having dinner , what a treat .
Peter and Therese are impeccable host ,nothing was to much trouble and they where always around to help with route guidance and recommendations on where to go for those unexpected bike repairs .
And finally it was just a Fab place to stay so relaxing and quite what more could you ask for after a long day out riding .
Read more
Date of stay: June 2016
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Therese G, Owner at Chalet Solneige
Responded 29 June 2016
Thank you so much for your review. It was a great pleasure to have you here as guests, it was a wonderful week!
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Hkgessex wrote a review Apr 2016
Colchester, United Kingdom
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We booked a last minute end of season weekend at Chalet Solneige to celebrate a birthday. The chalet came recommended but we were not sure what to expect. Therese and Pieter are the most superb hosts; nothing was too much trouble and the food was absolutely delicious. Locally sourced produce, excellent wines available, dinners were a real treat as was breakfast as was post skiing cake........!!!
The Chalet is in a delightful location, our room looked down the valley towards the lake. You do really need a car but it was less than a 5 minute drive to the ski lifts. We had a fabulous weekend at Chalet Solneige which surpassed all of our expectations. We will definitely visit again and can not recommend Therese and Pieter's hospitality highly enough.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2016Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Therese G, Owner at Chalet Solneige
Responded 7 July 2016
Merci beaucoup! It was a great pleasure to have you as our guests.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Charlie_Cosh wrote a review Sept 2013
Asuncion, Paraguay
3.0 of 5 bubbles
First all the location is wonderful. The views from the Chalet are breathtaking and is a great part of the world to visitor in summer. The owners are as well very friendly and probably the B&B is very good judging by the comments from other visitors. Our problems was we stayed in the self catered accommodation at the top of the chalet. They have tried to squeeze too much in and frankly the accommodation wasn't great. For six people the bathroom was tiny and with no aeration its was damp and unpleasant. The bedrooms are under the roof so apart from a little strip of space you have no headroom and their are no wardrobes in the bedrooms. The kitchen as well was tiny and poorly equipped. So great location and friendly owners were let down by poor accommodation though this may not be the case for the B&B.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2013
3.0 of 5 bubblesValue
3.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
3.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
3.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Therese G, Owner at Chalet Solneige
Responded 14 Sept 2013
Thank you very much for your review. Such a pity you did not tell us during your stay in Chalet Solneige. We're planning to do some renovations in the apartments, and will use your comments. We hope you will come back once to see it.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
dundeepenguin wrote a review Jan 2020
Horsforth, United Kingdom
5.0 of 5 bubbles
This is our third stay with Pieter and Theresa and our first with our daughter
It was a perfect stay, lovely spacious room with plenty of space for a cot, excellent meals, cake and of course skiing
Our daughter was very welcome, and enjoyed borrowing a sledge and talking to Yara and the cats.
Excellent hosts and very enjoyable discussions over dinner
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Therese G, Eigenaar at Chalet Solneige
Responded 13 Feb 2020
Thank you very much, it was a great pleasure as usual, with the super bonus of your lovely daughter staying for the first time!
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
No results found.Try changing or clearing your search to read questions and answers.
bennynorling wrote a tip Feb 2017
Stockholm, Sweden1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"There are double rooms, a family room and apartments with kitchen and double bathrooms available."
Read full review
Ian C wrote a tip June 2015
2 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"All rooms are comfortable and quiet."
Read full review
Renger van Nieuwkoop wrote a tip Feb 2015
9 contributions8 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"all rooms are quiet"
Read full review
Jane L wrote a tip Jan 2015
London, United Kingdom3 contributions1 helpful vote
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"For a family of four ask for the room at the top of the stairs with the bath. (It is the only one with a bath I think) It is actually 2 rooms, one with a double bed and the other with a bunk bed."
Read full review
Ralph F wrote a tip Dec 2014
Retford, United Kingdom2 contributions1 helpful vote
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"First floor rooms are en-suite, light and airy (with a nice balcony)."
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Vaujany area.
PRICE RANGE
AU$193 - AU$211 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
solneige hotel vaujany
LOCATION
FranceAuvergne-Rhône-AlpesIsereVaujany
NUMBER OF ROOMS
6
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

CHALET SOLNEIGE (AU$193) - 2024 Prices & Reviews (Vaujany, France) - Photos of Hotel - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Chalet Solneige
Which popular attractions are close to Chalet Solneige?
Nearby attractions include Eglise Notre-Dame-des-Neiges (6.6 km), Grotte De Glace (4.9 km), and ESF Alpe D'Huez (6.5 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Chalet Solneige?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and an on-site restaurant.
What food & drink options are available at Chalet Solneige?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Chalet Solneige?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Chalet Solneige?
Conveniently located restaurants include La Crémaillère L'Alpe d'Huez, L'empreinte, and Le Génépi L’alpe D'huez.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Chalet Solneige?
Yes, guests have access to a sauna during their stay.
Are pets allowed at Chalet Solneige?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Chalet Solneige?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, French, German, and Dutch.
Does Chalet Solneige have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the mountain view available here.
All Vaujany HotelsVaujany Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in VaujanyHotels near Chalet Solneige
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsHoliday RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesRental Cars