We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

Morning Dew Hotel

avatar-imageavatar-imageavatar-image
Traveller (483)
Room & Suite (98)
Pool & Beach (34)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.

View prices for your travel dates

Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.

About

#2 of 31 small hotels in Ella
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travellers' Choice
Savour the splendour and tranquility of Sri Lanka’s picturesque hill country within the lavish comforts of a nature-friendly Boutique hotel in Ella. Located amidst a fairy tale atmosphere comprising lush greenery, gorgeous tea plantations, chilly misty climate, crystal clear waterfalls and hillside hideaways; Morning Dew Boutique Hotel ,is the perfect getaway from the hustle and bustle in your busy life. A relaxing poolside bar with signature cocktails and savory snacks Settle into a sun lounger or chill out at our poolside bar located in the heart of the Ella.. Try our signature Cocktails and tasty bar food between lounging, swimming, or simply doing nothing. This Restaurant & Pool bar surrounded by 360 view and also this restaurant located on rooftop, Location overview Set among hills a 7-minute walk from Ella Railway Station, this relaxed hotel is 3 km from Nine Arches Bridge and 7 km from Ravana Water Falls.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Infinity pool
Restaurant
Hiking
Walking tours
Kids stay free
Children's television networks
Valet parking
Wifi
Rooftop pool
Outdoor pool
Breakfast available
Breakfast in the room
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Complimentary tea
Complimentary welcome drink
Outdoor dining area
Snack bar
Special diet menus
Highchairs available
Taxi service
Rooftop terrace
Baggage storage
Currency exchange
Non-smoking hotel
Sun deck
Sun terrace
Sun umbrellas
Express check-in / check-out
Laundry service
Ironing service
Show more
Room features
Soundproof rooms
Housekeeping
Private balcony
Room service
Safe
Sofa
Cable / satellite TV
Flatscreen TV
VIP room facilities
Bottled water
Iron
Tile / marble floor
Show more
Room types
Mountain view
City view
Landmark view
Bridal suite
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Modern
Mountain View
Languages Spoken
English
404Reviews1Q+A38Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 228
  • 113
  • 29
  • 10
  • 24
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
avatar-image
Mandy P wrote a review Feb 2024
2 contributions3 helpful votes
We made a non refundable booking through booking.com 6 months before our trip. At 12.30pm on the day of our arrival the hotel cancelled our booking. We were already in Ella so went to the hotel. They had a problem with the water supply to 3 rooms but none were the class of room we had reserved. When I pointed this out they told is that we had been reallocated to one of the rooms that could not be used. When pressed both the General Manager and the Reservations Manager stated that other guests were paying more. I did try to get the police to come to the hotel but of course they were not interested. I have never known any hotel to act in this way so for a 4 star hotel to do this is appalling.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2024Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Morning Dew Hotel, Guest Services / Front Office at Morning Dew Hotel
Responded 6 days ago
Thanking you for your comments about our property. We would like to draw your kind attention of respond, actually sorry for the inconvenient which you have faced by our hotel on the day. We were agreed with your certain facts not in all. As you know very well we had faced sudden very big pathetic problems about Water supply breakdown and Power supply issue of whole hotel. However, we managed to rectify few issues with few rooms, but not all the rooms. As a result of that our reservation team immediately informed you that we could not able to make room booking in any category, but you visited to our property and checked the situation even though we took you to the room and explained it, but you did not agree and asked us to give room as soon as possible. We explained to you again we could not but you called to tourist police and made a complained, and they were inquired with us. Tourist police officer agreed and advice you to go for another option. Finally we informed you that we could give a room and take few hours delayed, but you were not interested and you say No Need. We could not sell few rooms due to this maintenance issue and we lost for the day. Thanking you. Manager.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Shirish Vijayendra wrote a review Feb 2024
Bengaluru, India284 contributions126 helpful votes
We stayed one night @ Morning Dew Boutique Hotel. The drive to the hotel is accessible only by tuk tuk or the hotel van for which they have timings....very very steep & narrow. It is walkable distance to the restaurants & shopping street. The view from the terrace & swimming pool is stunning...overlooking Little Adam's Peak & the mountains. The breakfast was delicious...lovely spread of Continental & Sri Lankan fare. The room & bathing area was very nice. Good choice in Ella.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2024Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Take a tuk tuk or ask for the hotel van. Road to the hotel is very steep & narrow.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Morning Dew Hotel, Guest Services / Front Office at Morning Dew Hotel
Responded 3 weeks ago
Dear Valued Guest, Thank you very much for leaving such a wonderful feedback for us. We pleased that you have utilized and enjoyed the services & facilities of our hotel. We do appreciate the kind sentiments expressed and look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back on your future visits. Ayubowan (May you live long) Yours Sincerely Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Angus G wrote a review Jan 2024
4 contributions
Very happy with our stay. Lovely staff, fantastic views from the room. AC worked nicely & hot shower. Reason for not giving the 5/5, few small ants in the bathroom and breakfast was good, but not brilliant. Loud music from cafe chill was a bit irritating…but you would get that anywhere in Ella I guess. Would absolutely recommend. Also the hill was not that bad at all!
Read more
Date of stay: January 2024Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Morning Dew Hotel, Guest Services / Front Office at Morning Dew Hotel
Responded 3 weeks ago
Dear Valued Guest, Thank you very much for leaving such a wonderful feedback for us. We pleased that you have utilized and enjoyed the services & facilities of our hotel. We have noted your points and we promise you not to happen for your next visit and future guest as well. We do appreciate the kind sentiments expressed and look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back on your future visits. Ayubowan (May you live long) Yours Sincerely Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Ewan wrote a review Jan 2024
25 contributions15 helpful votes
Stayed recently 2 nights as a couple and left feeling disappointed. Nothing massively wrong and we had decent sleeps but the hotel just felt a bit tired and lacking anything. - lots of flies in around the room and reception with no citronella or incense to stop them - small spiders/ants on furniture and kettle area including in cups and on cutlery in room. - the hotel constantly lost power and whilst majority of times it came back on within a minute it also did take longer sometimes and you were left with no power or lights - loud music until late at night. After midnight. Not sure if from rooftop or neighbouring property - no staff in reception overnight with front door wide open. We would get up for sunrise hikes etc and security felt slightly lacking around entrance area. - the reviews mention steep hill to the hotel but it really is very steep. Need to be careful walking down if it has been raining and some drivers won’t be able to make it up. - nice rooftop pool but towels are old and dirty - great views from rooftop bar and seating area. The bar itself felt tired though with loud club music playing in middle of the day. - good laundry service although had to chase multiple times for it to be delivered - rooms just felt a little tired overall but bed pretty comfortable. Nothing dramatically wrong but came away not overly impressed and nothing memorable.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2024
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Oamaruvian wrote a review Jan 2024
Oamaru, New Zealand345 contributions243 helpful votes
Wow, what a view from this lovely hotel perched above Ella. However, the access road is also somthing else. Very steep and narrow but worth the effort. The hotel has 5 floors, the 5th being the amazing pool on a roof top with stunning views. Staff are lovely and very enthusistic about their job. It is obvious they have pride in their hotel. Our room had two balconies, one at each end to get views from both sides. The rooms are well appointed with room to spare. Strongly recommend you get up for the sunrise, viewed from the 4th and 5th floors. The breakfast was nicely thought out. Not large but the choices were varied. Ella town is within easy walking distance, although of course, you do need to walk up and down the steep access road. We recommend this hotel.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2024Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Dont try to pull your luggage to the hotel, get a tuk tuk or taxi.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Morning Dew Hotel, Guest Services / Front Office at Morning Dew Hotel
Responded 1 week ago
Dear Valued Guest, Thank you very much for leaving such a wonderful feedback for us. We pleased that you have utilized and enjoyed the services & facilities of our hotel. We do appreciate the kind sentiments expressed and look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back on your future visits. Ayubowan (May you live long) Yours Sincerely Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Rocman2 wrote a review Dec 2023
Dublin, Ireland137 contributions164 helpful votes
+1
A new hotel with a lot of effort put into wellbeing of residents. WiFi was being upgraded the day I arrived and was excellent throughout. Stunning views from the bar/ pool area. Food and staff were top notch. Only downside was Ella is a town with late bar licenses, so if you’re looking for a relaxing sleep I would suggest to bring ear plugs as music from town below finished at 3.30 am!
Read more
Date of stay: December 2023Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Morning Dew Hotel, Guest Services / Front Office at Morning Dew Hotel
Responded 28 Dec 2023
Dear Valued Guest, Thank you very much for leaving such a wonderful feedback for us. We pleased that you have utilized and enjoyed the services & facilities of our hotel. We do appreciate the kind sentiments expressed and look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back on your future visits. Ayubowan (May you live long) Yours Sincerely Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Mangala J wrote a review Dec 2023
Los Angeles, California3 contributions
+1
We really liked Morning Dew. Excellent breakfast, so many different varieties, everything was delicious. Friendly staff, clean rooms, nice shower, beautiful atmosphere, conveniently located. Shehan and Gayan was very nice. We enjoyed our stay.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Room Tip: Excellent breakfast. Friendly staff. Very peaceful. Conveniently located. Nice shower. Clean...
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Morning Dew Hotel, Guest Services / Front Office at Morning Dew Hotel
Responded 28 Dec 2023
Dear Valued Guest, Thank you very much for leaving such a wonderful feedback for us. We pleased that you have utilized and enjoyed the services & facilities of our hotel. We do appreciate the kind sentiments expressed Shehan & Gayan. We look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back on your future visits. Ayubowan (May you live long) Yours Sincerely Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Erin C wrote a review Dec 2023
Manchester, United Kingdom3 contributions
It was beautifully set in the mountains. Everyone was wonderful. We had a great welcoming experience. Ella is a very sweet town with loads to do. Breakfast at the hotel was very nice and had many items to choose from. All servers were so attentive to your needs.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2023Trip type: Travelled with friends
Room Tip: Make sure you stay here 😃
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Morning Dew Hotel, Guest Services / Front Office at Morning Dew Hotel
Responded 28 Dec 2023
Dear Valued Guest, Thank you very much for leaving such a wonderful feedback for us. We pleased that you have utilized and enjoyed the services & facilities of our hotel. We do appreciate the kind sentiments expressed and look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back on your future visits. Ayubowan (May you live long) Yours Sincerely Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
chilnguyen wrote a review Dec 2023
59 contributions41 helpful votes
Worth your stay! One of the best hotels in Ella. The room was clean and staff were friendly. Interior was made of high quality woods so I really enjoy the feeling of luxury here. What I liked best about the room was: they have gigantic full body mirror. . The hotel is big enough even good for groups. Rooftop swimming pool ==> amazing for a lazy morning. They have reasonable spa price (I attached menu for your reference).
Read more
Date of stay: December 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Morning Dew Hotel, Guest Services / Front Office at Morning Dew Hotel
Responded 28 Dec 2023
Dear Valued Guest, Thank you very much for leaving such a wonderful feedback for us. We pleased that you have utilized and enjoyed the services & facilities of our hotel. We do appreciate the kind sentiments expressed and look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back on your future visits. Ayubowan (May you live long) Yours Sincerely Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Bianca wrote a review Dec 2023
Αθήνα13 contributions3 helpful votes
The hotel is far from a 4star hotel. It is situated on a very steep hill. It provides a transfer, but we were 4 people with suitcases and it was raining.The transfer could not go upwards, so the driver told 3 of us to get out of the car, so that the car could move on! He let us out in the rain, having to climb the steep hill on foot! When we reached the hotel, they did not even apologise. The rooms are ok, but the windows have not been cleaned for ages, and the curtains are dirty. The premises were under construction.. Overall, not a nice experience.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2023Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Morning Dew Hotel, Guest Services / Front Office at Morning Dew Hotel
Responded 28 Dec 2023
Dear Valued Guest, Thank you very much for leaving such a wonderful feedback for us. We really apologies for the inconveniences that you have faced in our premises, We did take serious action about your complaint and rectify for your future arrival and for our future guest as well. We pleased that you have utilized and enjoyed the services & facilities of our hotel. We do appreciate the kind sentiments expressed and look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back on your future visits. Ayubowan (May you live long) Yours Sincerely Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Ella area.
PRICE RANGE
AU$163 - AU$351 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
Sri LankaUva ProvinceElla
NUMBER OF ROOMS
26
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

MORNING DEW HOTEL (AU$163): 2024 Prices & Reviews (Ella, Sri Lanka) - Photos of Hotel - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Morning Dew Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to Morning Dew Hotel?
Nearby attractions include R. M. S Antique And Brassware (0.3 km), Ella Spice Garden (0.3 km), and dee tattoo studio ella (0.3 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Morning Dew Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, an on-site restaurant, and free parking.
Which room amenities are available at Morning Dew Hotel?
Top room amenities include a flat screen TV, a view of a nearby landmark, and a view of the mountains.
What food & drink options are available at Morning Dew Hotel?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, breakfast, and complimentary tea during their stay.
Is parking available at Morning Dew Hotel?
Yes, free parking and valet parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Morning Dew Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include Cafe Chill, Cafe One Love, and The Barn by Starbeans.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Morning Dew Hotel?
Yes, guests have access to an infinity pool during their stay.
Is Morning Dew Hotel located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.7 km away from the centre of Ella.
Are there any historical sites close to Morning Dew Hotel?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Fun Drive Ella (0.5 km) and Ella tuk tuk (1.9 km).
Does Morning Dew Hotel have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the city view available here.