Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

Hotel Onrock

Traveller (202)
Dining (24)
Room & Suite (15)

View prices for your travel dates

Breakfast included
AU$208
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.

About

4.5
#3 of 31 small hotels in Ella
4.6 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.4 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.1 of 5 bubbles
Value
Hotel Onrock is the newest addition to the chains of hotels in Ella. It's heaven on earth at Hotel Onrock and it's all you've been waiting to see....Our scenic views include "The Ella Rock," "The Little Adams Peak" and "The Ella Gap".... These views can not only be seen from one room... but these iconic landmarks can be seen the same way from every single room in the hotel.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Free breakfast
Bicycle rental
Hiking
Kids stay free
Car hire
Photo copier / fax In business centre
Parking
Wifi
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast in the room
Kids' meals
Wine / champagne
Taxi service
Concierge
Mosquito net
Newspaper
Outdoor fireplace
Outdoor furniture
Shared lounge / TV area
Butler service
Doorperson
First aid kit
Umbrella
24-hour check-in
24-hour front desk
Clothes dryer
Laundry service
Washing machine
Ironing service
Show more
Room features
Blackout curtains
Soundproof rooms
Desk
Housekeeping
Private balcony
Coffee / tea maker
Flatscreen TV
Bath / shower
Safe
Seating area
Telephone
Bottled water
Clothes rack
Iron
Private bathrooms
Tile / marble floor
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Minibar
Electric kettle
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Mountain view
City view
Landmark view
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
3.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Mid-range
Mountain View
Languages Spoken
English, French, Sinhala, Tamil

Location

Waterfall Road, Ella 90090 Sri Lanka
299Reviews3Q+A31Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 160
  • 97
  • 26
  • 12
  • 4
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Davef151 wrote a review Feb 2020
Newport, United Kingdom12 contributions14 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
A lovely place to stay. Ella can be noisy but on rock is just out of reach of the mania. Try the Sri Lankan breakfast and dinner, very tasty and authentic, we were looked after by the staff who arranged our visit to cookery class and breakfast to take on train to Kandy. The rooms are well within the price range and I would not hesitate in recommending Onrock.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from hotelonrock, Manager at Hotel Onrock
Responded 3 Mar 2020
Hello to you Mr. Dave and Many Thanks for the reviews you have conveyed, for the memories you had experienced with a difference where we the Management and staff salute you with a standing ovation fr being with us. We wish you both best of Health and good luck. ROHAN PERERA MANAGER
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
leanneb311 wrote a review Jan 2020
Brisbane, Australia32 contributions2 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
This hotel was perfectly located only one street back from the main street of Ella with a stunning view of Adam's Peak. The side street is a little steep but our car and tuk tuks easily manage it and we often walked the road. The accommodation is clean and comfortable, large rooms, though WIFI in the rooms was intermittent. Manager/Concierge was very nice and helpful but sadly told us that about 80% of bookings don't show up. So please if you can't keep your booking at least let them know in advance. Such kind generous and warm people - they deserve our respect.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from hotelonrock, Manager at Hotel Onrock
Responded 16 Jan 2020
THANK YOU MR. LEANNE AND FAMILY, We the Management appreciate for your reviews and for what you have experienced. The history goes on with our honored guests commenting concerning the staying with us. Good luck and all the very best to you and to your family.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
mk_croatia wrote a review Jan 2020
Zagreb, Croatia24 contributions4 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
The manager of the hotel is coolest guy we met in Ella!
Cooperative and willing to help in any way.
Hotel has beautiful view of Ella Rock and all other mountains in near area.
Rooms are spacy with wonderful balconys and cooles baldhains over the beds so no worry about musqitos during the night.
Would recommend to anyone planning to stay couple of nights in Ella!!!
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from hotelonrock, Manager at Hotel Onrock
Responded 13 Jan 2020
Dear Family from CROATIA, A family with golden memories, as the first ever visitors to the Hotel the Gateway to Ella. We the Management and staff really appreciates for the review you have conveyed of the golden memories of your stay with us. We wish you Good Luck and happy Holidays.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
MandMtoday wrote a review Mar 2020
10 contributions4 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
This property failed to meet standards set by other reviews. We were extremely disappointed with our overall experience. The view is spectacular... and from that point onwards things went downhill. The shower, fan, bed were all broken, there was a lack of electric points and the WiFi was weak and intermittent. The property is aging and unfortunately the owner is not investing in simple maintenance let alone upgrades. If the price had matched the standard I’d be more accepting... but the price is too high for the standard. Overall disappointing other than the view.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2020Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from hotelonrock, Manager at Hotel Onrock
Responded 15 Mar 2020
Hello Ms.Margarete, Thank you once again for this review too. All these comments would have being excellent as you have mentioned in the last paragraph concerning the price reduction, if was waved off for the 4th day where you did not stay. It is hard to believe such a reaction from our valued customer as nothing was brought to our notice other than at the last moment, which was also concerning the price reduction unto which we rendered a good reduction. Good luck to you
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Karen B wrote a review Feb 2020
45 contributions9 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
The guy at the front desk could run any 5 star hotel anywhere in the world!!! The ultimate professional whilst also giving a very personal service. He’s actually what makes this place so brilliant. Very friendly and gave great directions for us to walk to little Adams and nine arch bridge. The rooms themselves are spotless and there’s a lovely little balcony to watch the sunrise. There’s also a nice little common patio area with tables and hammocks.
I traveled with an addicted to her phone 21 year old. The internet in our room wasn’t quite good enough for her to mange several social media accounts at once.... so they actually set up a router by her hammock just so she could “gram” to her fans 😂
Breakfast was absolutely delicious and again fantastic service by the manager who seems to work non stop and do almost absolutely everything. 100 % recommend this place.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from hotelonrock, Owner at Hotel Onrock
Responded 19 Feb 2020
Dear Ms. Karen I do not know how to convey my SINCERE THANKS for your excellent comments you have given which is one of the GOLDEN AWARDS that you have granted, with the 5 star experience I gained and which you really recognized. Your recognition of our property will long last for decades with token of appreciation and Many thanks from the Management and staff. May we wish you good luck and a Happy and a memorable.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Ashan Athapathu wrote a review Jan 2024
Colombo, Sri Lanka2 contributions4 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Traveled with my family to Ella in January 2024. This hotel looks alright from the outside but not impressive, just a plain building. View of Ella rock is obstructed by half done construction sites.

We were shown to our room which didn’t looked dated and did not have air conditioning (just had 2 old fans). It can get a bit hot and sweaty inside sometimes. But the room was clean.

Room balcony door was not lockable as it seems they’ve purposely misaligned the locks, (image attached below. So it seemed quite unsafe to sleep at night with an unlocked door and even leaving our belongings when going out was stressful. We mentioned this to the management but they just responded by acknowledging the fact that the room lock wasn’t working but they didn’t make an effort to change our room despite our concerns.

Breakfast was horrible, they rationed everything to the point that It felt as if we were eating for free.

The butter was stale and tasted rotten, which I realized only after biting into a piece of bread that I spread it on. Butter was replaced with fresh butter, which means they obviously tried to pass on their rotten products to customers. They replaced the butter didn’t replace the bread that we spread the rotten butter on. (We asked and they swiftly avoided it)

The English breakfast was supposed to have “sausages” but they gave us just one tiny sausage, which is a first in my life of hotel breakfasts. Food doesn’t taste that good either. The Sri Lankan milkrice was bland.
I could go on and on but overall the food was disappointing.

The staff was friendly which was the only positive here.

Overall I would NOT recommend this hotel to anyone, especially for the price they quote. I stayed the previous day in a proper resort hotel in Beragala Sri Lanka, which charged just a bit more for proper resort facilities including a swimming pool, good quality buffet meals and beautiful gardens and amazing views.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2024
1.0 of 5 bubblesValue
1.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: Even to just spend the night, this hotel would disappoint you largely.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Amit R wrote a review Jan 2024
3 contributions1 helpful vote
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Most travellers go to Ella for 1-2 days and need a comfortable place to stay.
Hotel Onrock was clean, comfortable and had a great view. Brilliant customer service including breakfast, and special mention to Kavindhu who was always helpful, cheerful and made our stay even more pleasant. Thank you
Read more
Date of stay: January 2024
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
geraldine164 wrote a review Jan 2020
1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Our stay at Hotel Onrock was perfect. The location was great with amazing views of Little Adam’s Peak and Ella Rock. The rooms were lovely and clean and Rohan was so welcoming and helpful. I would highly recommend staying here.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: January 2020Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from hotelonrock, Manager at Hotel Onrock
Responded 5 Jan 2020
Hello Ms Geraldine Many Thanks for the excellent reviews that you have convey true this valuable channel it proves your memorable stay with us and wish you both happiness and a successful life. Management of Hotel ONROCK
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Sal wrote a review Jan 2020
London, United Kingdom13 contributions25 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
The hotel has a spectacular view from our room balcony of little Adam’s peak, Ella’s rock and Ella’s gap. Not far from the Main Street of restaurants, train station and the Nine Arch bridge.
The room was clean and had the essentials, it wasn’t luxury but you don’t need it there.
The hotel is on a very steep street, be prepared to wrk those leg muscles.
The staff were great and were always on hand if we needed anything, the manager Roshan was exceptional, he was so welcoming and couldn’t do enough for you, he greeted me by my name every time he saw me.
Breakfast was fresh and cooked to order.
Lovely place
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from hotelonrock, Manager at Hotel Onrock
Responded 24 Jan 2020
Thank you for the reviews that you have conveyed & wish you all the very best for a fruitful future. Thank you, Management of Hotel ONROCK
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
albertjfaber wrote a review Mar 2020
The Netherlands7 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
De manager of the hotel makes you feel very welcome and the view. View from the room is breathtaking. For those who don't like to eat in the backpakkers restaurants in Ella, we highly recomemend the kitchen from Onrock. Simply delicious!!
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from hotelonrock, Manager at Hotel Onrock
Responded 10 Mar 2020
Dear Mr. Faber it is with much appreciation we the Management and staff wishes to convey our Sincere THANK YOU for conveying the true hospitality gestures you gained from us. It is an experience of a lifetime with services of culinary meant according to your taste that had made your stay a reality in all angles of your stay with us. Good luck to both of you. ROHAN PERERA MANAGER
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Answer from Karl P
Melbourne, Australia23 contributions25 helpful votes
Yes they certainly do :)
Show all answers
emd75 asked a question Dec 2018
London, United Kingdom30 contributions14 helpful votes
Hi, are there many steps in the hotel, and if so is there a lift for accessibility?
Answer from Dave and Rikke B
Perth, Australia39 contributions36 helpful votes
It's only one storey (pictures are deceiving). There is No elevator.
Show all answers
Answer from Sally A
Melbourne, Australia6 contributions2 helpful votes
This hotel is removed from others - away from the township up a hill - quiet!
Show all answers
David S wrote a tip Feb 2024
1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"All rooms have balconys and mountain views, top floor rooms have magnificent views of ella mountains, "
Read full review
Ashan Athapathu wrote a tip Jan 2024
Colombo, Sri Lanka2 contributions4 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
"Even to just spend the night, this hotel would disappoint you largely."
Read full review
cathy S wrote a tip Oct 2023
5 contributions
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"Need to be able bodied to walk up very steep hill. "
Read full review
mark wrote a tip Sept 2023
Rome, Italy1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Everything is perfect, close to the city centre, delicious foods"
Read full review
Kevin B wrote a tip July 2023
New York City, New York2 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Walking distance to the Ella town "
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Ella area.
PRICE RANGE
AU$135 - AU$224 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
Sri LankaUva ProvinceElla
NUMBER OF ROOMS
14
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

HOTEL ONROCK (AU$135): 2024 Prices & Reviews (Ella, Sri Lanka) - Photos of Hotel - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Hotel Onrock
Which popular attractions are close to Hotel Onrock?
Nearby attractions include R. M. S Antique And Brassware (0.3 km), Ella Spice Garden (0.3 km), and dee tattoo studio ella (0.3 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Hotel Onrock?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and an on-site restaurant.
Which room amenities are available at Hotel Onrock?
Top room amenities include a minibar, a flat screen TV, and blackout curtains.
What food & drink options are available at Hotel Onrock?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Hotel Onrock?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Hotel Onrock?
Conveniently located restaurants include Cafe Chill, Cafe One Love, and The Barn by Starbeans.
Is Hotel Onrock located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.6 km away from the centre of Ella.
Are any cleaning services offered at Hotel Onrock?
Yes, laundry service and a clothes dryer are offered to guests.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Hotel Onrock?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, French, Tamil, and Sinhala.
Are there any historical sites close to Hotel Onrock?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Fun Drive Ella (0.5 km) and Ella tuk tuk (1.9 km).
Does Hotel Onrock have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the city view available here.