We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

Green Hill

Passara road Sapumalthanna, Ella 90090 Sri Lanka
avatar-imageavatar-imageavatar-image
Traveller (281)
Room & Suite (137)
Dining (29)

View prices for your travel dates

Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.

About

#17 of 126 guest houses in Ella
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
we're happy to say that our ongoing constructions already finished and our restaurant is now available for you. specially quiet, friendly nature to spend your holiday in a serene location with the fabulous views ever. And also with a treat of delicious sri lankan cuisine. Enjoy every moment while setting your eyes on both the sun rise and sun set..
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Free breakfast
Strollers
Baggage storage
Currency exchange
24-hour front desk
Express check-in / check-out
Wifi
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast in the room
Kids' meals
Snack bar
Mosquito net
Newspaper
Outdoor furniture
Shared kitchen
Shared lounge / TV area
Private check-in / check-out
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Seating area
Clothes rack
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Extra long beds
Bath / shower
Complimentary toiletries
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Mountain View
Romantic
Languages Spoken
English

Location

Passara road Sapumalthanna, Ella 90090 Sri Lanka
Green Hill
405Reviews0Q+A36Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 234
  • 103
  • 28
  • 19
  • 21
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
avatar-image
Alexander P wrote a review Feb 2024
Hamburg, Germany11 contributions1 helpful vote
An indescribably beautiful view from one of the highest mountains in Ella. Very nice team with a special breakfast high up in the mountains. The team also organizes great excursions such as a visit to the tea plantations without any problems. We can highly recommend it.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2024Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Mohamed Aalif wrote a review Nov 2023
Kaafu Atoll2 contributions
The room i stayed was very well maintained, clean, comfortable bed, great toilet and a balcony with the most amazing view. The hotel can be a real fun and more enjoyable place if you come with your friends. They got a nice living area space to enjoy. The manager (Sunny) was very helpful. Even opened the restaurant at the hotel 2 hours before actually breakfast time early in the morning because of my departure. 🙏🏼 Overall, one of the best place you can be. Without breaking your bank. Nice, affordable and worth your money. 🙏🏼
Read more
Date of stay: November 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled solo
Room Tip: A little far from the main street but still reachable, 10 min walk.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Amy W wrote a review Nov 2023
6 contributions3 helpful votes
Green Hill was definitely the best view in all of Ella. The owner is so lovely and friendly too. I adored having breakfast whilst watching the sun come up over little adam's peak. That said, if you're a female solo traveler, this isn't the place to stay unless you're willing to get tuk tuks to and from the centre of Ella at night. Walking up to this location at night was a bit scary!
Read more
Date of stay: November 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Dilip123 wrote a review Nov 2023
Bengaluru, India91 contributions81 helpful votes
This was the worst experience we had in Sri Lanka. 1. The hotel is far from the main road in Ella and not at a convenient location. The only thing is that it has a good view from the room balcony. 2. Rooms were musty and the bath room had a constant stench. 3. Badly designed sink which had a long tap that splashed water on use. 4. The glass window of the bath room did not have a screen. 5. The kettle and glasses kept in the room weren't even washed. The mugs had lipstick stains. 6. There is no front desk or manager or anyone of authority in the hotel. We were received by an unprofessional help who vanished after a while. 7. The scariest part was that we were left all alone throughout the night in the property unattended! 8. The hotel did not have a power generator and we were left without electricity during a power cut in Ella. Overall a bad experience for the price we paid. The price does not justify the facility.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: Avoid this place
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Fallon T wrote a review Oct 2023
Sri Lanka65 contributions4 helpful votes
+1
Staying at Green hill for 2 nights. The Hotel is located in a great spot where the Ella rock can be seen from the room as well as the restaurant. The rooms are average with the required amenities the bathroom is spotless and hot water is available. The Hotel is situated close to many restaurants and attractions which is walking distance. Tuk Tuks are available if you need one. The hotel staff are kind and helpful who is willing to go and extra mile to ensure their guests are comfortable. Thank you Green Hill
Read more
Date of stay: September 2023Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Adam R wrote a review Apr 2023
5 contributions
+1
The view is beautiful The location in perfect The rooms are very nice and clean and the toilet too The food is delicious I will recommend this place The staff’s are very friendly and kind Keep it up guys
Read more
Date of stay: April 2023Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Nalaka F wrote a review Jan 2023
2 contributions
Worst experience. Actual location is terrible and different from photos in web sites. It's owner's family house rather hotel. Rooms we received can view garbage in outside. We wanted to change place but they charged us total without negotiations. Also hygiene at worst and not good for children.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2023
Value
Location
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Green Hill Ella, Owner at Green Hill
Responded 5 May 2023
1.we have Best place with Best view in ella.we have publish our actual photos in our rooms and view on to websites and social media.there is apartment owners family is not leaving with property they are Indian family, that day rent out our apartment, you have miss understanding.our border is reserves (rawana ella) we didn’t have permission for clean it.we are maintain our property under the rules and regulations health guidelines .we can give guarantees for hygiene.specially our place have recommended for childrens on worlds famous Lonly planet book.I think this is miss understanding they want to stay super Delax rooms but that have booked delux rooms .on same time they have call to the on other resort and they was left rom our place. Thanks Green hill team
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
942awesome wrote a review Jan 2023
27 contributions6 helpful votes
+1
We visited as a group of 6 adults and 2 kids over new year. The rooms at Green Hill were amazing, we had a deluxe double and superior triple and they were huge rooms with big beds, sofas and amazing views over Ella rock, with hot water and very clean. We also had one of the more budget double rooms with an amazing view which was lovely. The rooms were great, but the trip was really made by the friendly staff with special mention to Sunny and Podi. They were so helpful as well as being great with the kids, giving them treats and playing with them-the kids loved them! We had excellent Sri Lankan and continental breakfasts. The bar and restaurant had the best views, and they hosted a NYE bbq for us which was the BEST fun. They easily arranged taxis and tuk tuks when needed, it was also walkable with the kids straight into Ella which has some great bars and restaurants and easy to access little Adams peak from there. Would highly recommend staying here, we didn’t want to leave and we will be back next time we come to Ella-thank you for a great stay!
Read more
Date of stay: December 2022
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
RedKingstn wrote a review Apr 2022
Kingston upon Thames4 contributions2 helpful votes
We had a 2 night stay as a family - I had requested when I booked (2 months before our trip) that the rooms be close together as our children are young. Sadly they weren't and they hadn't informed me before arrival (as I had requested). We then had to renegotiate the rate to get rooms close together. No goodwill shown by the Team, really felt like they were taking advantage of us arriving late with tired kids. Also the hotel is something of a construction site currently, so building work started early in the morning and went on all day. Not great. I felt disappointed given all the reviews here and in the Lonely Planet.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: If travelling with children be careful which rooms you reserve.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Green Hill, Owner at Green Hill
Responded 24 Aug 2022
We're really sorry about the experience you had with us. That renovation you have mentioned is already done and it went for couple of days. And the issue with the room arrangement is totally because of a misunderstanding from our end and we believe that we did our best to get things arranged for you as requested. Apologies for the inconvenience and we'll make sure that no other guests will experience the same.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
marco l wrote a review Apr 2022
Munich, Germany3 contributions3 helpful votes
Wonderful hotel in the mountains of Ella. Great rooms, fantastic breakfast terrace with fantastic views of mountains and valleys with super nice staff. A real feel-good place. Only a few minutes walk to the village. Very quiet and away from the hustle and bustle of the town. We would love to come back anytime.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2022
Value
Cleanliness
Service
Room Tip: Just also ask for big rooms. They are great.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Previous
123456
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Ella area.
PRICE RANGE
AU$77 - AU$109 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
Sri LankaUva ProvinceElla
NUMBER OF ROOMS
6
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

GREEN HILL (AU$77): 2024 Prices & Reviews (Ella, Sri Lanka) - Photos of Guesthouse - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Green Hill
Which popular attractions are close to Green Hill?
Nearby attractions include Ella Gem & Jewelry (0.4 km), VIBE store (0.4 km), and T-Sips Tealicious (0.3 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Green Hill?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and an on-site restaurant.
Which room amenities are available at Green Hill?
Top room amenities include extra long beds, a mosquito net, and a seating area.
What food & drink options are available at Green Hill?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a snack bar during their stay.
Is parking available at Green Hill?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Green Hill?
Conveniently located restaurants include AK Ristoro, 360 Ella, and Center Point Cafe & Lounge.
Is Green Hill located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.7 km away from the centre of Ella.
Are there any historical sites close to Green Hill?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Fun Drive Ella (0.9 km) and Ella tuk tuk (1.8 km).
Does Green Hill have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the mountain view available here.