We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Azanzi Beach Hotel

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Azanzi Beach Hotel
Azanzi Beach Hotel
Panoramas (12)
View Map
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}}}
Add Photo Write a Review

314 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Azanzi Beach Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 282: English reviews
Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewed 23 September 2014

My family and I looked forward to our very first trip to Zanzibar and we definitely got the experience we were all hoping for. The views at the Hotel are stunning and you completely relax the minute you arrive. When we checked in Roman (hope we got this right), upgraded my parents room and with all the other minor incidents...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank tarynmil
GM A, General Manager at Azanzi Beach Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Taryn, Thank you so much for taking the time to review your stay at Azanzi on Trip Advisor. All of the Azanzi team will be more motivated by reviews like yours. I will definitely pass on the message to Jessica and her team. We hope to welcome you and your family back to Azanzi Beach Hotel in the near...

Durban, South Africa
Reviewed 22 September 2014

It's a bit of a drive from the airport but that shouldn't worry you because when you get there WOW...This hotel is totally amazing...easy check-in, the rooms were great, food was great, the drinks flowed (YESSSS), staff were friendly and the beach is right at your doorstep...enough said!!Thanks to everybody at Azanzi for a wonderful stay...oh and there's a live...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
1Thank BuyiakaBee
GM A, General Manager at Azanzi Beach Hotel, responded to this review

Dear BuyiakaBee, Thank you so much for taking the time to post a review on Trip Advisor. It’s great to hear that you, and your friends, had a great time in Azanzi Beach Hotel. We do hope to welcome you back to Azanzi, so you can sing the night away… I have to say I was impressed! Jan Luyckx General...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 18 September 2014

Agreed price was $100 a night, charged price was $200 a night. Bed was damp, room not cleaned unless requested, same for fresh towels and soaps. Food was hit and miss but acceptable. Resort is otherwise really really nice, staff are friendly (mostly) and place is beautiful. Just let down in certain areas.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
3Thank James J
GM A, General Manager at Azanzi Beach Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Mr Jackson, Thank you for your reply. Unfortunately, I believe the whole incident is caused by miscommunication/misunderstanding by both parties. Again we do apologies for all inconvenience caused by this. I sincerely hope that we can welcome you back at Azanzi Beach Hotel one day. Jan Luyckx General Manager Azanzi Beach Hotel

Reviewed 16 September 2014

We Stayed at Azanzi for 4 nights of the 8 that we were supposed to. This is in short what we experienced before changing hotels The room was dirty. Bedding was dirty and had marks on. It was also not changed in our entire stay. Bath was also dirty and rusty Jacuzzi was dirty and could not be used from...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Raphael G
GM A, General Manager at Azanzi Beach Hotel, responded to this review

Good Day Sir Thank you for taking the time to complete the Trip Advisor. We rely on guest feedback to determine both the positive and negative aspects of our hotel and to improve wherever possible. However, please accept my sincere apologies for the inconvenience you experienced with your room & hotel facilities. . I want to assure you that I...

Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewed 11 September 2014

Thanks to my awesome travel agent for organising everything so wonderfully, we were taxied from the airport to a warm welcome at Azanzi Beach hotel. What a beautiful place and stunning beach. I am not going to lie but i did put on some weight over the stay due to the amazing food that was in abundance at the hotel....

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank KatyVlaming
GM A, General Manager at Azanzi Beach Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Katy, Thank you so much for your wonderful review. Reviews like these motivate us to keep up the good work. I will share your review with the rest of the Azanzi team, and I have no doubt that this put an even a bigger smile on their faces. We hope to welcome you back to Azanzi Beach Hotel in...

Johannesburg
Reviewed 4 September 2014

Our fourth stay at Azanzi and we had a full week (using the Mango Air package). My daughter learnt to scuba dive with the very professional Jesse and Diane. All the staff were pleased to see us again and we had a great stay. Dewald and Ramon looked after us very well and made sure we had every comfort. The...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank pegasus_lady_10
GM A, Manager at Azanzi Beach Hotel, responded to this review

Dear, Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review in Trip Advisor about Azanzi Beach Hotel. It’s good to hear that repeating guests still enjoy the hotel, the dive center and the tranquility of Matemwe beach. We look forward to welcoming you back to Azanzi Beach Hotel for the fifth time in the not too distant...

Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewed 27 August 2014

We stayed at this hotel for a period of eight days, from the 19th until the 26th of August 2014. The food was impeccable and despite it being a Beachfront hotel catered for non-seafood lovers by providing excellent meat dishes at every meal. Each day had a wide assortment of meals and never once were we bored or had anything...

 Report
Helpful?
5Thank Ruan P
GM A, General Manager at Azanzi Beach Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Ruan P Thank you very much for your posting on Tripadvisor. We are proud to receive such positive feedback from our valued guests. It is always a great pleasure to have guests enjoying their time at Azanzi Beach Hotel. I am happy that you chose to spend your Honeymoon at Azanzi Beach Hotel and that myself and the Azanzi...

Johannesburg
Reviewed 26 August 2014

Amazing friendly staff and management.Lovely resort which suited our need for a quieter type resort. The food quality was fantastic and the variety met our every need. The excursions especially with Scuba fish was fantastic. We will be back at some point.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Coen S
GM A, General Manager at Azanzi Beach Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Coen S Thank you very much for your posting on Tripadvisor. We are proud to receive such positive feedback from our valued guests. It is always a great pleasure to have guests enjoying their time at Azanzi Beach Hotel. We looking forward to welcoming you back at Azanzi Beach Hotel. Thank you sincerely for your compliments, which I will...

Cape Town, South Africa
Reviewed 26 August 2014

The staff are very friendly & helpful. They will go out of their way to make your stay enjoyable. Especially if its a special occasion like birthday or Anniversary. The food was varied & well prepared, very good quality. The location is fabulous, clean white beaches, clear ocean water perfect for snorkelling & diving in the protected reef area a...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Kim G
GM A, General Manager at Azanzi Beach Hotel, responded to this review

Dear ObmikMouse Thank you very much for your posting on Tripadvisor. We are proud to receive such positive feedback from our valued guests. It is always a great pleasure to have guests enjoying their time at Azanzi Beach Hotel. We looking forward to welcoming you back at Azanzi Beach Hotel for the next Birthday or Anniversary perhaps. Thank you sincerely...

Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewed 20 August 2014

We had a great week at Azanzi. If you really want to experience an African-Caribbean island, you need to visit Zanzibar. Friendly staff, delicious food - GREAT VALUE for MONEY! Management is interested in how to improve - only minor things to be changed, as this is an idyllic place already Also another great fact - North east is not...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank miracolimuc
GM A, General Manager at Azanzi Beach Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Miracolimuc Thank you very much for your posting on Tripadvisor. We are proud to receive such positive feedback from our valued guests. It is always a great pleasure to have guests enjoying their time at Azanzi Beach Hotel. We looking forward to welcoming you back at Azanzi Beach Hotel for another ‘’African-Caribbean island’’ experience. Thank you sincerely for your...

728 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (423)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (94)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (104)
Viewed
Dining (34)
Viewed
View from Room (19)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (44)
Viewed
Bathroom (18)
Viewed
Other (106)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (276)
Viewed
Amenities (23)
Viewed
Beach (37)
Viewed
Lux Villa (71)
Viewed
Pool (12)
Viewed
Dining (42)
Viewed
Superior Suite (35)
Viewed
The Hotel (56)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (29)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (21)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Matemwe
18.0 km away
DoubleTree by Hilton Resort Zanzibar - Nungwi
8.9 km away
Melia Zanzibar
Melia Zanzibar
#1 of 13 in Kiwengwa
1,432 reviews
0.3 km away
Zanzibar Retreat Hotel
Zanzibar Retreat Hotel
#1 of 6 in Matemwe
408 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.8 km away
Ras Nungwi Beach Hotel
Ras Nungwi Beach Hotel
#3 of 17 in Nungwi
616 reviews
7.1 km away
Dream of Zanzibar
Dream of Zanzibar
#2 of 3 in Mahonda
1,393 reviews
0.4 km away
Villa Kiva Resort and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Beachfront
  • Breakfast included
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Spa
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Airport Transportation
  • Breakfast included
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The hotel is situated on the North Eastern coast of Zanzibar, and approximately 45 minutes from the airport in Stone Town. Azanzi is a boutique beach hotel which boasts 35 rooms comprising of 8 Standard rooms, 12 Superior rooms, 9 deluxe rooms and 6 deluxe suites The central guest entertainment areas offer guests multi level viewing decks, well stocked curio shop, azure swimming pool, bar and dining area - maximising the sublime view of the majestic and tranquil Indian Ocean, and powder-white beach's scattered with palm trees. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Azanzi Beach Hotel

Address: Matemwe 0000, Tanzania
Region: Tanzania > Zanzibar Archipelago > Zanzibar Island > Matemwe
Price Range: $185 - $412 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Azanzi Beach Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 35
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Azanzi Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Azanzi Beach Hotel Matemwe, Zanzibar Island
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Azanzi Beach Hotel staff and other travellers.
14 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (14)

Questions? Get answers from Azanzi Beach Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Get the room with the jakuzi!”
 of 5 bubbles DavidStaude, 7 Feb 2017 | Read review
“The rooms we saw were all great, but our upstairs room and wonderful beach views.”
  • Sea views from our balcony
 of 5 bubbles Copperbottom27, 28 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Avoid the rooms closest to the pool area, in busy times the foot traffic could be intrusive”
 of 5 bubbles thedumahs, 17 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Rooms with an outside shower is awesome. Choose full board as you wouldn't want to eat anywhere else as Azanzi's food is great”
 of 5 bubbles , 16 Oct 2016 | Read review
“There are no good rooms - stay somewhere else”
 of 5 bubbles charl_miles, 7 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5