Nungwi Beach Resort By Turaco
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

Nungwi Beach Resort By Turaco

Traveller (4484)
Panorama at the Doubletree by Hilton Resort Zanzibar - Nungwi
360
Panoramas (7)
DoubleTree Resort by Hilton Zanzibar - Nungwi
Videos (1)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.

View prices for your travel dates

Marriott Bonvoy member rate available
No prepayment needed
Book Now with Marriott Bonvoy
AU$360
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.

About

4.5
#4 of 54 hotels in Nungwi
4.4 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.4 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.4 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.1 of 5 bubbles
Value
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
Nungwi Beach Resort by Turaco welcomes you to experience authentic hospitality from the heart, nestled directly on Nungwi beach, on the northern tip of Zanzibar island in Tanzania. Offering spacious guest rooms with a balcony or terrace, with the views of the pool, exotic tropical gardens or Indian ocean. Relax on the sandy beach with sun beds, shade umbrellas, take a walk along the beach to admire unforgettable sunsets or explore the tropical blue waters. Plunge into our outdoor, freshwater pool, sip on cocktails and freshly squeezed fruit juices from our swim up pool bar, or try various activities prepared by our team ready to keep you busy, healthy, entertained and happy. Pamper yourself in our wellness center or take a walk into Nungwi village, visit fish market boasting of several decades of fisherman’s skills and spoil yourself with traditional art and culture!
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Public wifi
Outdoor pool
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Beach
Bicycle rental
Children's playground
Pool / beach towels
Shallow end in pool
Restaurant
Breakfast buffet
Complimentary welcome drink
Happy hour
Outdoor dining area
Snack bar
Swimup bar
Bicycle tours
Billiards
Darts
Evening entertainment
Walking tours
Board games / puzzles
Kids pool
Highchairs available
Airport transportation
Car hire
Taxi service
Meeting rooms
Couples massage
Facial treatments
Foot massage
Full body massage
Manicure
Massage
Neck massage
Pedicure
Salon
24-hour security
Baggage storage
Gift shop
Mosquito net
Sun loungers / beach chairs
Sun umbrellas
24-hour front desk
Laundry service
Ironing service
Room features
Blackout curtains
Bathrobes
Air conditioning
Desk
Housekeeping
Minibar
Flatscreen TV
Walk-in shower
Interconnected rooms available
Private balcony
Room service
Safe
Telephone
Wardrobe / wardrobe
Bottled water
Clothes rack
Iron
Private bathrooms
Refrigerator
Electric kettle
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Room types
Ocean view
Pool view
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
4.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Hidden Gem
Great View
Languages Spoken
English, Russian, Arabic, Afrikaans and 1 more
Hotel links
Special Offer:Earn points toward free nights.

Location

Nungwi Village, Nungwi 73107 Tanzania
Getting there
Good for walkers
Places to stay are graded on a 0-100 scale. The higher the grade, the easier it is for travellers to find restaurants and things to do within walking distance.
Grade: 86 out of 100
86
Kisauni Airport
55.7 km
See all flights
Tanga Airport
74.9 km
See all flights
3,040Reviews193Q+A100Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 1,720
  • 833
  • 273
  • 128
  • 86
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Kinga and Benedikt wrote a review Sept 2020
Wiesbaden, Germany228 contributions144 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We booked one week all inclusive in March of this year and really enjoyed our stay. The room was very spacious, with a balcony overlooking the pool and the sea. The rooms were clean and well equipped. The room service came twice a day, once in the morning to clean and again in the evening to stretch the mosquito net around the bed and to spray the room with mosquito repellent.

The hotel itself has a nice pool with a bar and is located directly on the Indian Ocean. Crystal clear turquoise water and fine, white sand. Really a dream. There are enough loungers, both by the pool and on the hotel's own beach section. From this a small staircase goes directly down to the water. You cannot lie directly down by the water as the tides can make the water level quite high. At low tide you can even walk several hundred meters into the ocean.

The entire area, both the rooms, as well as the pool and dining areas are clean and well maintained. Unfortunately, I can't say anything about the sports and spa area, we never used them.

From morning to evening there is very tasty, varied, high-quality and rich food, some of which is prepared in front of your eyes. In addition, there is sometimes live music at dinner, which I really liked. At lunchtime and in the afternoon, food is also prepared at the pool bar, which you can enjoy with delicious drinks right by the pool or on the beach. Because we booked all inclusive we only used the buffet, but there is also a second restaurant, where you can get food a la carte.

Now we come to the highlight of the stay, the staff. The employees are incredibly friendly and courteous, always having a smile on their faces and always greet you in a friendly manner, but are not too intrusive. A big praise also goes out to the pool bar staff, especially Alex. It was really very pleasant to have a relaxed chat with them while enjoying a delicious cocktail. They also always had good recommendations and their own creations that they made for us.

A really great facility, in the very north of Zanzibar! I can only recommend a stay there to everyone.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Sherif Afifi, General Manager at Nungwi Beach Resort By Turaco
Responded 28 Oct 2020
Dear valued guest, thank you for taking the time to review your holiday experience at DoubleTree by Hilton Nungwi, we are delighted to hear that you have enjoyed your overall stay with us. I have shared your excellent review with the team and we all look forward to welcoming you back again on future stays.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Ekaterina A wrote a review Apr 2021
Moscow, Russia14 contributions9 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
The hotel provides high quality accommodation to its visitors. Staff are helpful to the guests demands and are working hard to make this a pleasant experience.
the pros:
The location of the hotel is very comfortable: it is first line to the ocean, near the village where one can shop for local curiosities, it is on the ramp preventing unwanted guests to come to the hotel territory;
The food selection is diverse, one can choose healthy options to pleasant vacation desserts, fresh fruit cut by staff just for you, selection of meat/fish, grill. All visitors are asked to use gloves to take food.
the rooms are comfortable, well air-conditioned, the bathrooms are huge and we comfortably accommodated three people in a twin room.
towels and bedding are super clean, fresh water is sufficiently supplied.
there is a pool swim-in bar where you can order drinks and soft beverages, including healthy sugar-free options
the hotel has a tiny gym too with basic equipment, allowing to stay in shape during the stay.
In addition, if you are leaving for a day trip the hotel provides you with food package (maybe this one should have more healthy options, but overall it is a god thing they think of people who cannot benefit the food while they are out)
areas for doing better:
very few beds on the beach, it is very hard for the guests to find 2/3 beds for the family at the hotel's own beach, they are all taken from 7 to 18, you need to ask staff to bring more.
staff are helpful and friendly, but only within their operating hours. If the breakfast begins at 7:30 people in the restaurant will not even say hi before 7.30. Same applies to the bar open till 23. 23:01 they will not even talk to you.
we had most of our day trip tours begin 7:50 and given the breakfast start at 7:30 we had to grab food and eat very quickly. the omelet station started being prepared for cooking (e.g cleaning and brining ingredients) often close to 7:40 thus significantly limiting the opportunity to have omelet that my family loves. I would recommend breakfast to be fully ready by the restaurant opening time.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2021
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Anna Wyre, Other at Nungwi Beach Resort By Turaco
Responded 6 June 2021
Dear valued guest, thank you for taking the time to review your holiday experience at DoubleTree by Hilton Nungwi, we are delighted to hear that you have enjoyed your overall stay with us. I have shared your excellent review with the team and we all look forward to welcoming you back again on future stays.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Vitoria wrote a review Jan 2021
Dar es Salaam, Tanzania44 contributions36 helpful votes
+1
5.0 of 5 bubbles
As always the Double tree never fails to impress its guests. The staff have gone out of their way to take extra measures to ensure the health safety of every guest, from fully sanitizing guests’ rooms to ensuring a safe and sanitized environment for the guests. (For those of us who are still in worry of the covid situation) double tree will put your worries to rest. The hotel is located along the beach, where one can walk along the long sandy beach and explore the many other places along the way, the hotel is also close to various water sport activities like jet skiing, diving and parasailing,
I had a great experience during my one week stay, amazing service, great hospitality, and very friendly staff.who take it upon themselves to celebrate their guests’ birthdays. The New Years gala was the best dinner setting on the beach, live band, and acrobat performance. And of course the New Years gala dinner! Delicious food, and beautiful setting.Will surely be coming back for Easter holidays!
Read more
Date of stay: December 2020Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Sherif Afifi, General Manager at Nungwi Beach Resort By Turaco
Responded 17 Jan 2021
Dear valued guest, thank you for taking the time to review your holiday experience at DoubleTree by Hilton Nungwi, we are delighted to hear that you have enjoyed your overall stay with us. I have shared your excellent review with the team and we all look forward to welcoming you back again on future stays.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Guide383105 wrote a review Dec 2021
1 contribution1 helpful vote
3.0 of 5 bubbles
I stayed at Double Tree by Hilton Zanzibar - Nungwi for 2 weeks in November 2021. Myself & my friend had half board (breakfast & dinner) and arrived at the Hotel in the morning prior to check in. We had breakfast in the Hotel and was charged $20 dollar each for this. I spoke to management and staff at reception, however they refused to waiver the fee, which they could have done if there were being reasonable. The room had one double bed and on arrival requested two beds, however there were no rooms with two beds available. We were offered a single bed in the room which would cost $200, however a week into the holiday we were given the bed for free which I was grateful for. Food was not up to scratch 70% of the time, and would describe it as being edible. Cocktails weren’t that nice either so best to stick to wine or beer. The room was not cleaned properly, on two occasions the cleaners removed the clean towels and forgot to replace them. What is of more concerning is that fact that on these occasions the cleaner left our room door open x 2. Thankfully nothing was taken. I complained to reception and all I was told was ‘sorry’, I doubt they did any investigation to see what cleaner was responsible or take any action. The swimming pool had a thick ring of grease around it, and if you touched it your hands get sticky. Another guest complained about it and this was cleaned by staff. Most of the staff were helpful and friendly especially James (restaurant in the evening) and Halima. The Hotel in a good location and is on the beach front, there are local shops, restaurants, bars, clubs etc within walking distance. At the Hotel and beach you can wear what you want, however due to local customs and traditions you will be expected to wear moderate clothing especially if you are going into town. Zanzibar is a lovely island and would definitely visit again.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2021
3.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
2.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Anna Wyre, Owner at Nungwi Beach Resort By Turaco
Responded 10 Dec 2021
Dear valued guest, thank you for taking to review your experience with us, we always try to accommodate requests of our guests to the best of our ability and when we do face requests beyond our ability to assist we advise accordingly. 1. Your booking was made for a room with queen bed and you were advised that twin will be given if available and it was not available on your arrival, extra beds are charged on normal basis, we advise travelers to contact directly property in advance for any assistance for better experience. 2. In regards to breakfast, we found out that you enquired of price and decided to have it first then asked reception to waive it from your bill, if you would have asked for available options to you, they would have given you. 3. We understand that everyone’s’ taste buds are different, hence we have guest relation team and restaurant staff that is always available to assist in such cases, our chefs are flexible to guests need, if food was not to your liking they would have assisted happily, if you would have mentioned it. 4. Management investigated your claim for open room doors and found that nothing was wrong, room attendants are not allowed to lock the doors until they are done cleaning, if it was open it is because the room attendant was still cleaning at the time and was present inside. We hope this information will be helpful in planning your future trips. Kind Regards.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
janine m wrote a review Feb 2020
Birmingham, United Kingdom17 contributions10 helpful votes
+1
5.0 of 5 bubbles
This holiday was undoubtably the most relaxing we have had. The staff from were fantastic and nothing was too much trouble I was poorly on my holiday and I just did not fancy any food one evening and the waitress got me some toast something simple but made me feel so much better. Also whilst here it was both mine and partner birthday. The celebration that was given for him was out of this world we have had some many compliments about how this was done. The food was lovely and plenty of choices sometimes I forgot to check outside and missed out some nights.. the drinks were also well made gin fizz and passion fruit mojitos are not to be missed. Some evenings were set up outside and was such a great experience. The waitresses were amazing they knew us by name and our drinks Hamida breakfast/ lunch and Halida at night times both these ladies looked after us well. Also in the morning the female chef who had the most amazing smile always got me poached whenever requested delivered with a smile too. During the day we found ourselves round the pool that was warm, so lovely. Our lazy days round the pool where made better by the fantastic service from Given she treated us amazingly. She made sure we always had drinks and got to know what we liked and just offered exceptional service.
The beach offered lovely white sands and beautiful crystal clear water that was lovely and warm too. There were lots of sellers at the beach they were polite not to pushy but if said just having a walk they would leave you alone.
On the whole we had a lovely time a few hiccups along the way which were meet with a smile and can do attitude and were resolved. Thank you for a lovely holiday. Thank you to all the staff who made sure we where looked after at all times!
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Sherif-M-Afifi, General Manager at Nungwi Beach Resort By Turaco
Responded 17 Feb 2020
Dear Janine, thank you for taking the time to review your holiday experience at DoubleTree by Hilton Nungwi, we are delighted to hear that you have enjoyed your overall stay with us. I have shared your excellent review with the team and we all look forward to welcoming you back again on future stays.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
OliviaR101 wrote a review Jan 2020
Sittingbourne, United Kingdom3 contributions1 helpful vote
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Lovely hotel with absolutely amazing staff - particularly Samuel, Paul and Ali! The three of them made us feel so relaxed and were extremely attentive. All the other staff were lovely too. The buffet food was nice, although occasionally quite limited for a vegetarian eater. Free village tour every Friday afternoon which was great. The room was great and perfect for what we were after - much cheaper to have no sea view but could overlook the pool instead which worked for us. Would recommend this hotel to others and would definitely go back myself.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2019
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Sherif-M-Afifi, General Manager at Nungwi Beach Resort By Turaco
Responded 31 Jan 2020
Dear valued guest, thank you for taking the time to review your holiday experience at DoubleTree by Hilton Nungwi, we are delighted to hear that you have enjoyed your overall stay with us. I have shared your excellent review with the team and we all look forward to welcoming you back again on future stays.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
T8068DAjackl wrote a review Aug 2022
Nairobi, Kenya3 contributions
3.0 of 5 bubbles
We had a five night stay in a very average room with good housekeeping but generally the service was below average and in our entire stay we never saw a senior member of management and nobody approached us at any point and said anything about enjoying our stay or what can we do for you or whatever. Very disappointing indeed, the food in the main restaurant is average there is a second restaurant in which you get a 20% discount if you are on the full board packages which I wouldn’t recommend at all. I would rather buy a bed and breakfast package and then walk down the beach for just a few meters or a kilometer or two and you will find the most amazing restaurants available.
The hotel is overpriced and overhyped and that wasn’t just our opinion it was the opinion of several guests that we spoke to. My choice next time would be the Z Hotel which also has an excellent restaurant attached to it called the Sexy Fish where we had dinner one evening and it was outstanding - we also had beautiful sea food cooked on an open fire at another restaurant nearby on another evening and it was also fabulous. The Z Hotel would be very competitively priced against the Hilton product and in our view way superior.
One hotel to stay far away from would be The Royal Zanzibar resort, it is absolutely atrocious and the way in which we were treated as a casual visitor to the hotel was a palling if that’s a taster of what a stay over would be then please don’t go anywhere near it.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022
2.0 of 5 bubblesValue
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
3.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Anna Wyre, Other at Nungwi Beach Resort By Turaco
Responded 29 Aug 2022
Dear T8068DAjackl, Thankyou for taking time to review your experience in our resort! We apologize that your stay was not up to your expectations, our managers and guest relations are on the ground and meet many guests assisting them with any challenges encounter, it is possible you did not notice them because it was not who you expected. All inclusive is not everybody's choice, buffet meals are not ala carte and we advise guests to research property and it's offers before booking to avoid disappointments. While it is fun to experience different properties while vacationing, but if it is done to compare them against each other not keeping in mind that each property has own specific offers, one might miss the most important aspect of vacation which is to enjoy it. We hope above will help you in planning your next vacation more successfully. Kind Regards, DoubleTree Resort Nungwi- Team
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
jignavpatel2016 wrote a review Jan 2022
Atlanta, Georgia53 contributions21 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
The road to get here is not easy. It is located in a small village, but the road is mostly dirt/rocks/potholes so expect it to be quite bumpy and loud for the last 20 minutes or so. Not a big deal though. The property itself is really pretty, airy, open and spread out. Though it was full, it never felt too crowded anywhere except the dining area where the buffet was. Definitely recommend a face mask here. The staff was good about making sure guests wore gloves at the buffet. The dining hall is open and tables are spaced apart. There is hand sanitizer stations everywhere. Some staff wore masks and others didnt. Most guest did not (we did when in the buffet area).

Recommend getting the upgraded all-inclusive option as the drinks alone will drive up your bill. Or at least the breakfast and dinner included option. Wish there had been another pool for adults only but we knew this coming in. It was just very loud all the time at the pool area and filled with kids (small pool) so not as enjoyable. The beach is clean and has plenty of seating/beds set up. During low tide which was most of the day, you couldn't swim in the ocean. But the water was wonderful, perfect temperature, and very clean. We enjoyed swimming in the ocean. It is not wheelchair accessible. There are huge concrete steps you have to climb down to get onto the beach/water.

The rooms are decent. A bit aged but fine for what it is needed for. One of our rooms (large group) had to be changed due to a moldy odor. The staff was helpful and really great overall. Halima was our favorite server. She really went out of her way to make sure my parents had everything they needed. The 2 chefs on site were also wonderful and accommodated our vegetarian requests. They even made very tasty and flavorful indian food, which was wonderful! Don't recommend purchasing a spa service unless you get an excellent deal/price as the massages were just okay. The rooms are small and got quite warm. Overall, I recommend this hotel for those who want some R&R at the end of their safari trip.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2021
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
4.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Mary Njoroge, Owner at Nungwi Beach Resort By Turaco
Responded 5 Jan 2022
Dear Jigna, Thank you for taking the time to review your holiday experience at DoubleTree Resort by Hilton - Nungwi, we are delighted to hear that you have enjoyed your overall stay with us. We have shared your warm comments our team and we all look forward to welcoming you back again on future stays. Happy New year and many thanks and best regards from Nungwi!
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Brendan B wrote a review Mar 2021
Fujairah, United Arab Emirates13 contributions3 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
As a Holton Honers member I was so surprised at how this hotel is managed compare to the rest of the Hilton chain. Clearly higher management is trying to enforce covid rules but not being followed by staff. All staff wear a face mask around their chin. What is the point?!
We paid for the all-inclusive package which was stupid expensive. Not worth it by far. All the spirts are low end/no name and all the beer is local (which is fine). If you walk 20m down the beach, you can buy a drink for US$2!. Extremely slow service for cocktails.
The meals were a buffet. Not much that we liked at all. All the hot meals were cold. There were gloves but not everyone was wearing them. People were talking all over the food as its self-serve.
We ordered beers before 12pm on the last day. They didn’t come out. We asked where they were at 1pm then they charged us 47k shillings for 4 beers! They Insisted the beers came out which is not true. 
Beautiful beach, nice pool bar, majority of staff are nice but I won't be staying there again
Read more
Date of stay: March 2021Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Anna Wyre, Other at Nungwi Beach Resort By Turaco
Responded 17 Apr 2022
Dear valued guest, Thank you for your rating. We are sorry to hear that we have fallen short on your expectations and have noted your comments for needful improvement. Kind Regards.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Dallen Thomas wrote a review May 2021
3 contributions2 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We only stayed for two days, but we had an absolute blast! Not only is this a stunning place to stay, but the staff were incredibly helpful and kind. We always felt taken care of, and all staff made us feel welcome from upper management to pool boys and cleaning staff. One member even made us a local bouquet of flowers for our birthday! The pool is fantastic, the beach and ocean even better. The food is tasty, and we highly recommend doing some sort of all-inclusive package. We had one hiccup but it wasn't all that bad. The hotel takes American Express, but the stores and services within the hotel do not, so massages, souvenirs, or drinks will need to be paid with cash or visa cards. It was a lovely stay, we wish we had more time. We told all the staff to plan on us next year (yes, during rainy season) only with our friends and family!
Read more
Date of stay: April 2021
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Anna Wyre, Other at Nungwi Beach Resort By Turaco
Responded 6 June 2021
Dear Dallen, thank you for taking the time to review your holiday experience at DoubleTree by Hilton Nungwi, we are delighted to hear that you have enjoyed your overall stay with us. I have shared your excellent review with the team and we all look forward to welcoming you back again on future stays.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Answer from Anna E. G. W.
Zanzibar Island, Tanzania32 contributions3 helpful votes
Dear valued guest, we have only dive center on the property.
Answer from Christine M
Stratford upon Avon, United Kingdom3 contributions2 helpful votes
The sea was safe and very clear but the tide does go out quite far. We did a boat trip and swam with the dolphins as well as snorkelling and seeing a range of coloured star fish.
Answer from Christine M
Stratford upon Avon, United Kingdom3 contributions2 helpful votes
Drinks wise wine was reasonable. There are other places nearby but they didn’t have live music or the variety of food. People we spoke to stayed in every evening. I would not recommend going elsewhere at night but plenty of places to try at lunchtime if you want especially when you go on trips.
Answer from Troosters
Cairo, Egypt104 contributions44 helpful votes
Yes! You will have a chance to half board or all inclusive.
Imran A wrote a tip 13 May
11 contributions1 helpful vote
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"Just relax"
Read full review
Christine J wrote a tip Apr 2024
St Helens, United Kingdom64 contributions1 helpful vote
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"The road to the hotel is quite rugged so make sure you do t bring your white trainers like my partner did"
Read full review
Kaleab B wrote a tip Apr 2024
1 contribution
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"I came on April 2024, kind of low season. For a solo traveler especially; better months (high season) are june-Aug and Dec-Feb"
Read full review
phillybust3r wrote a tip Mar 2024
Boston, Massachusetts6 contributions9 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Internet is awful in Tanzania, but the one in the lobby worked fine. It also helps that the generator kicks in right away during blackouts."
Read full review
Tspela wrote a tip Feb 2024
Ptuj, Slovenia46 contributions9 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"The shower is old and unclean, the pressure in it is bad. There are too many deckchairs for all the hotel guests. You have to be quick in the morning to reserve your own. "
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Nungwi area.
PRICE RANGE
AU$285 - AU$397 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
doubletree by hilton resort zanzibar - nungwi hotel nungwi
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
DoubleTree Resort by Hilton Zanzibar - Nungwi
LOCATION
TanzaniaZanzibar ArchipelagoZanzibar IslandNungwi
NUMBER OF ROOMS
98
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

NUNGWI BEACH RESORT BY TURACO (AU$285): 2024 Prices & Reviews (Zanzibar Island) - Photos of Hotel - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Nungwi Beach Resort By Turaco
Which popular attractions are close to Nungwi Beach Resort By Turaco?
Nearby attractions include Dr Bulugu Gallery (0.4 km), 1001 Organic Spicery (Nungwi) (0.5 km), and blacklulu (0.07 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Nungwi Beach Resort By Turaco?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include a swimup bar, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
Which room amenities are available at Nungwi Beach Resort By Turaco?
Top room amenities include a minibar, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at Nungwi Beach Resort By Turaco?
Guests can enjoy a swimup bar, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Nungwi Beach Resort By Turaco?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Nungwi Beach Resort By Turaco?
Conveniently located restaurants include Zee-Bar, Fisherman's Seafood & Grill, and Badolina Tokyo, Sushi & Noodles.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Nungwi Beach Resort By Turaco?
Yes, guests have access to a fitness centre and an outdoor pool during their stay.
Does Nungwi Beach Resort By Turaco have airport transportation?
Yes, Nungwi Beach Resort By Turaco offers airport transportation for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Nungwi Beach Resort By Turaco?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, Italian, Russian, Arabic, and Afrikaans.
Are there any historical sites close to Nungwi Beach Resort By Turaco?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Fukuchani Ruins (5.6 km).
Does Nungwi Beach Resort By Turaco have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the ocean view available here.
All Nungwi HotelsNungwi Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in NungwiHotels near Nungwi Beach Resort By Turaco
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsHoliday RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesRental Cars