We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

My Blue Hotel

TripAdvisorUSD 162*
View Deal
#10 of 17 Hotels in Nungwi
Certificate of Excellence
11/06/2017 12/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
USD 434*
USD 162*
Great Deal
USD 168*
USD 168*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Professional photos
My Blue Hotel
My Blue Hotel
Panoramas (10)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,012 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 143: English reviews
Start your review of My Blue Hotel
 Click to rate
Reviewed 1 week ago

Absolutely brilliant, upon arrival we were greeted with cocktails and some friendly Masai warriors in full traditional attire carried our luggage to our room. The place itself is something to behold, beautiful, neat, clean and very well laid out. The beach is stunning and you can do some great snorkeling right there in front of the hotel. The beach bar...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Zane Z
Durban, South Africa
Reviewed 1 week ago

This is a very basic hotel. The beds were extremely hard and uncomfortable and the food was not enjoyable at all. The grounds were kept neat and the staff were very pleasant, especially a waiter by the name of Hassan who was in training. The rooms were kept clean and everything worked, but I would not stay there again. Found...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank L3047XTsusanh
Cape Town
Reviewed 10 April 2017 via mobile

Wow. Outstanding friendly service from the beach bar to the main restaurant. Rooms are modern and clean with Aircon and TV. Beautiful well kept garden and plenty of modern comfortable beach beds on a private beach section. 24 hour swimming at low and high tide. The buffet lunch was outstanding with many different dishes to choose from. I really was...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Andrea D
Verona, Italy
Reviewed 2 April 2017 via mobile

We went to Zanzibar for our holiday in March and it was a perfect choice. The weather was warm and nice and the resort was a good compromise for relax on the beach. The room was simple but clean with all amenities. The swimming pool not too big, facing the bar. Small beach but with umbrellas and sun beds for...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Giacomo C
Reviewed 24 March 2017 via mobile

I have read quite a bit on the hotel , and must say that there was some stupid remarks and complaints about the Hotel! Was not sure if we should visit the hotel! But now after 6nights and tomorow is our last night abd we dont want to leave!! The staff are super helpfull , friendly and always looking for...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Lohan G
Alessandro T, Manager at My Blue Hotel, responded to this review

Dear guest Lohan G, thank you for choosing Mybluehotel for your holdiday and and for taking your time to leave your positive feedback. We wish to see you again in the future. Best regards

Dublin, Ireland
Reviewed 20 March 2017

I thought this hotel was very good value for money compared to other options in Nungwi. Great location, nice layout and super relaxing vibe. Rooms were clean and well spec'd. I thought the food was good (although dining room less so). V nice beach area

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Joseph H
Alessandro T, Manager at My Blue Hotel, responded to this review

Dear guest Joseph H, thank you for choosing Mybluehotel for your holdiday and and for taking your time to leave your positive feedback. We wish to see you again in the future. Best regards

Reviewed 17 March 2017 via mobile

Veeeery lovely and helpful staff, wonderful area, clean beach and sea,we will come back!!! 1 hour from Stone Town, possibility for diving and water sports.Clean rooms, clean pool. Free wifi availability even on the beach.Thanks for having us.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 798katarinam
Alessandro T, Manager at My Blue Hotel, responded to this review

Dear guest 798katarinam, thank you for choosing Mybluehotel for your holdiday and and for taking your time to leave your positive feedback. We wish to see you again in the future. regards

Reviewed 16 March 2017

What a beautiful experience. Apart from the rude lady at reception that couldn't explain why I can't change my room, everything else was excellent. If you want a relaxing holiday, this is the hotel to go to. The staff go out of their way to make your stay comfortable. We were in room 238, and It was well kept, clean...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lebohang M
Alessandro T, Manager at My Blue Hotel, responded to this review

Dear guest Lebohang M, thank you for choosing Mybluehotel for your holdiday and and for taking your time to leave your positive feedback. When you asked to change rooms the hotel was full, the only option we had was empty ocean view and we have proposed to you but had to pay the difference. We wish to see you again...

Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewed 12 March 2017 via mobile

Wow an amazing hotel. Excellent food and staff extremely helpfull. Rooms are great. Wifi not so good but who wants wifi when you are in paradise. Bar open till midnight and did I mention the food. Just an awesome experience

 Report
Helpful?
Thank nicove
Alessandro T, Manager at My Blue Hotel, responded to this review

Dear guest nicove, thank you for choosing the Mybluehotel for your holidays in Zanzibar and for taking your time to will write your very positive feedback. All staff thanked. We wish to have you back again as our guest in the future. Best regards

Catania, Italy
Reviewed 7 March 2017

+ Location, the beach, beach facilities, restaurant, staff friendliness. - The all-inclusive package is very limited and it applies to the meal hours only. The management is too strict and is used to deal with tour-package travelers only. Entertainment activities are too poor.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank TheHumbleTraveler
Alessandro T, Manager at My Blue Hotel, responded to this review

Dear TheHumbleTraveler, thank you for choosing Mybluehotel for your holidays in Zanzibar and for taking time to leave your feedback. Our all inclusive package that includes from 8 to 23, our guests can drink water, fruit juice carton, soda drinks, local wine and local beer, american coffe and tea in addition of course to meals.Probably your holiday package had not...

1,988 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (1606)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (405)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (265)
Viewed
Dining (70)
Viewed
Room/Suite (82)
Viewed
View from Room (43)
Viewed
Bathroom (16)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (3)
Viewed
Other (722)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (331)
Viewed
Amenities (36)
Viewed
Beach (29)
Viewed
Deluxe Room (61)
Viewed
Outdoor Jacuzzi (7)
Viewed
Pool (10)
Viewed
Dining (43)
Viewed
Standard Room (56)
Viewed
Suite Room (46)
Viewed
The Hotel (43)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (51)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (45)
11/06/2017 12/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nungwi
1.3 km away
DoubleTree by Hilton Resort Zanzibar - Nungwi
0.5 km away
The Z Hotel Zanzibar
The Z Hotel Zanzibar
#1 of 17 in Nungwi
1,061 reviews
0.9 km away
Diamonds La Gemma dell' Est
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 km away
Essque Zalu Zanzibar
Essque Zalu Zanzibar
#2 of 17 in Nungwi
594 reviews
25.8 km away
Melia Zanzibar
Melia Zanzibar
#1 of 11 in Kiwengwa
1,495 reviews
2.5 km away
Ras Nungwi Beach Hotel
Ras Nungwi Beach Hotel
#7 of 17 in Nungwi
620 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Breakfast included
  • Free Internet
About the property
  • Beachfront
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
Room types
  • Family Rooms
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Room Service
  • Airport Transportation
  • Breakfast included
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Conference Facilities
  • Multilingual Staff
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
My Blue Hotel is situated in a splendid scenario in one of the Island's most beautiful spots, Nungwi, famous for sunsets and for the sea. It is about 50 km from the Stone Town airport. My Blue is developed in longitudinal manner and is characterized by an elegant and original tone to allow a relaxing and peaceful vacation. As you get closer and closer to the beach you are overwhelmingly stunned by the many enchanting different shades of blues of the Indian Ocean and of the splendid white, very fine sand. At only 200 km from the Hotel you can find Nungwi's fisherman's village, where you can admire the local craftsmenship and see the many local characteristic bars along the seaside in the vivid Nunwi area famous for nightlife. My Blue Hotel has 97 rooms divided in 5 different categories: Standard rooms, located on the ground floor Deluxe rooms, on the first floor with balcony Mini suite, on the ground floor and first floor with 1 extra bed Ocean View rooms, located on the ground and first floor, sea facing, with 2 extra beds. Every room is furnished in a boutique like decor and has one or more beds with: mosquito net, wardrobe, mirror, desk, luggage holder, air conditioning, internal telephone, digital safe, LCD Television with international channels, mini fridge, hair dryer and make-up mirror. My Blue Hotel offer a lounge area to relax, billiard, darts, equipped open gym and a little Spa with 2 cabins massage. There are different restaurants available for the Clients: MAIN BUFFET RESTAURANT that includes selection of Italian and international cousine with 7 evening themed dinners "MWEZI" BEACH RESTAURANT at extra charge: open from 10am to 10pm offers snack menù , menù light and pizza. Seafood menu, lobster, sushi and sashimi are also available upon reservation. "ALI BABA" RESTAURANT at extra charge: sophisticated Indian, Arabic, Zanzibarian food served in a typical atmosphere comfortable seated on cushions, pool view surrounded by candlelight with opportunity to smoke traditional Shisha pipe. Open for dinner, reservation is required. Moreover it is possible to arrange all kind of excursions and we have a Diving Center where you can go diving, snorkeling, organize sunset cruise and other water activities. External medical service is available. Mastercard and Visa Credit Cards are accepted, 5% surcharge will be applied. Currency exchange is available. ... more   less 

Additional Information about My Blue Hotel

Address: Nungwi, Tanzania
Region: Tanzania > Zanzibar Archipelago > Zanzibar Island > Nungwi
Price Range: $198 - $1,006 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — My Blue Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 97
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Jovago.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your My Blue Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Myblue Zanzibar Boutique Nungwi
My Blue Hotel Zanzibar Island/Nungwi
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Nungwi
#8 Luxury Hotel in Nungwi
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Nungwi
#12 Romantic Hotel in Nungwi
#12 Family Hotel in Nungwi
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from My Blue Hotel staff and other travellers.
152 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (152)

Questions? Get answers from My Blue Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Do try and get an ocean facing unit, but the other units are laid out quite well too.”
, 17 May 2017 | Read review
“Ask for a room close to the front of the hotel and preferably downstairs”
L3047XTsusanh, 16 May 2017 | Read review
“Only a few room have an ocean view, but it doesn't make much a of difference as all the room are all close to the beach.”
, 16 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Choose a room closer to the bar and pool.”
, 6 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Ask for a room on the ground floor with direct access to the grounds.”
Edith-and-Arie, 2 Mar 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
TripAdvisor
USD 162* /night
View Deal
Hotels.comUSD 168
TravelocityUSD 168
AMOMAUSD 434
View all 12 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates