We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Waterberg Cottages

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Waterberg Cottages
Add a photo
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_baseline_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_baseline_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_baseline_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_baseline_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

31 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 27: English reviews
North Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

This was my first trip to South Africa and upon arrival at the Waterberg Cottages we were greeted with the most fantastic reception, The following three days were filled with breathtaking scenery and many adventures, we felt so relaxed in the stunning lodges and gardens. The hospitality we received was above and beyond any expectation, I thoroughly enjoyed my stay...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank infoH2958GB
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 January 2017

We returned to Bushwillow with our two adult sons to spend Christmas 2016 in the bush and had a wonderful, happy time. After a Christmas Day service nearby at the little thatched church of St John the Baptist at 24 Rivers, we were taken on a bush walk up to a specially constructed viewing platform and heard the fascinating history...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank SophieN685
Belfast, Northern Ireland
Reviewed 5 December 2015

Stayed in Kudu for four nights - loved everything about the place. Hope to be back very soon. The very things that other people complain about - we loved! No TV - bliss/rich insect life, hands off management presence - excellent. This is a farm stay - not a bush lodge - and all the better for that. The isolation...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank stephiemac
Reviewed 9 November 2015

Having arived at Waterberg Cottages late on a Friday night after a stressful week at work, we couldn't have asked for anything more pleasant than a warm welcome by Philip and Solly into a "home-away-from-home" cottage. On arival the pleasantness of these two gentlemen put all stress behind us and we were able to kick back and enjoy the serenity...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Nethin M
Hampshire, United Kingdom
Reviewed 29 July 2015

Some may knock this place but they miss the point. It is not new/flash or modern it is a range of cottages set in a lovely garden away from it all. We (family of 4) were very well looked after, saw Hippos, Kudu, Giraffe, Warthogs and many other animals and birds. For those who like a walk there are marked...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank jami mike
Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewed 27 July 2015

As parents to an active toddler finding accommodation that is really child friendly can b difficult but we were very happy with Waterberg Cottages. Not only did our son enjoy playing on the trampoline and vast jungle gym, he loved that the farm dogs were so friendly. The accommodation had everything we needed and we thoroughly enjoyed relaxing over the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank nats_singer
Pretoria, South Africa
Reviewed 7 July 2015

I enjoyed the peaceful surroundings at the Waterberg Cottages. It is a real break away from busy city life. I recommend the walking trails, stargazing and hippo watching. A stronger management presence would however be much appreciated.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank CatherineFromSA
Pretoria, South Africa
Reviewed 7 April 2015

We had a relaxing weekend and really enjoyed the cosy atmosphere of Bushwillow cottage. We felt well looked after by Mpho and her son Pule who guided us on our bush walk. The on site facilities added value but could use some attention, especially the tennis court. We were a bit disappointed by the lack of bird and other wildlife...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank biene2015
Pretoria, South Africa
Reviewed 30 March 2015

We (11 family members) booked for 2 nights at the Waterberg Cottages. Our stay was confirmed for the nights of the 20th and 21st March 2015, at the Kudu Lodge. On the 20th March, Phil was advised that we would not be able to make it on the same day, but would still arrive for 1 night on the 21st...

 Report
Helpful?
10Thank mohamed_keeka
WaterbergCottages, Manager at Waterberg Cottages, responded to this review

Dear Mohamed, Thank you for your feedback and we are very sorry you did not enjoy your stay with us. The water problem was due to a rather unusual event - we had a lightning strike on the bore hole pump that supplies Kudu Lodge. This meant we were now reliant on our reserve tank, which emptied rather rapidly. As...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 17 February 2015

I have just taken a group of seven experienced English travelers to stay at Windsong Cottage and we all loved it. We made a fully-catered booking and were treated to a superb braai, fabulous breakfast with freshly baked muffins and Sunday lunch spread out for us under the Jacaranda trees in the lolvey garden. Everyone appreciated the historic aspects of...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank SophieN685

11 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (11)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (6)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Vaalwater
0.0 km away
Matingwe Lodge
Matingwe Lodge
#13 of 36 in Vaalwater
11 reviews
0.0 km away
Ama Amanzi Bush Lodge
Ama Amanzi Bush Lodge
#6 of 36 in Vaalwater
49 reviews
0.0 km away
Kololo Game Reserve
Kololo Game Reserve
#2 of 36 in Vaalwater
353 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 km away
Legend Golf and Safari Resort
Legend Golf and Safari Resort
#1 of 1 in Entabeni Game Reserve
228 reviews
0.0 km away
Dinkweng Safari Camp
Dinkweng Safari Camp
#5 of 36 in Vaalwater
45 reviews
0.0 km away
Olievenhoutsrus Guest & Game Farm
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
Things to do
  • Pool
Room types
  • Kitchenette
Services
  • Free Parking

Additional Information about Waterberg Cottages

Address: Vaalwater, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Limpopo Province > Waterberg > Vaalwater
Price Range: $59 - $91 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Waterberg Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Waterberg Cottages South Africa/Vaalwater
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Waterberg Cottages staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Johannesburg, Gauteng, South Africa

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Waterberg Cottages staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Bushwillow Cottage is the most modern, Butterfly Cottage is near the pool and the others have an old fashioned charm of their own.”
 of 5 bubbles SophieN685, 4 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Bedrooms facing the dam give wonderful early morning views”
 of 5 bubbles stephiemac, 4 Dec 2015 | Read review
“The bushwillow cottage really gives you a sense of being alone in nature”
 of 5 bubbles nethinm2015, 9 Nov 2015 | Read review
“Bushwillow Cottage was very nice, don't know any others though.”
 of 5 bubbles biene2015, 7 Apr 2015 | Read review
“Do say if you want a modern or traditional thatched cottage.”
 of 5 bubbles SophieN685, 17 Feb 2015 | Read review
5 of 5