We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Mercure Oakridge Resort Lake Wanaka

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Mercure Oakridge Resort Lake Wanaka
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

906 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Mercure Oakridge Resort Lake Wanaka
See the most recent reviews
Showing 862: English reviews
Whakatane
Reviewed 12 February 2017

I was worried about this place when I read reviews but work had booked us in. I told reception my concerns and they warned me about possible noisy wedding guests. But it was all quiet, the rooms aren't gigantic but big enough to not feel too tight. Big balcony, nice shower no bathtub. My son and I enjoyed the pools...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank BoPtraveller
Reviewed 12 February 2017

Stunning resort with amazing hot pools and facilities. My boyfriend and I stayed two nights in a one-bedroom apartment, the staff are very professional and friendly upon arrival and check-out. The resort is located just before you get to Wanaka township, so is close enough but just out of the way so you get some peace and privacy. The restaurant...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Georgia M
Stockholm, Sweden
Reviewed 11 February 2017 via mobile

Well past its days of glory. Need proper facelift. Cleaning service was very bad. Had to ask in reception to get the room cleaned. Vacuum only every fourth day which was a disaster for us with a baby. Lots of cigarette butts in the lawn outside our room which meant our baby couldn't play there. Asked several times to get...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Hobnox
Jacob W, Guest Relations Manager at Mercure Oakridge Resort Lake Wanaka, responded to this review

Dear Hobnox, We regret that we did not meet your expectations during your stay with us and take your comments on board in our strive to provide the best possible service to our guests. We will be speaking with our housekeeping team to go over your comments to ensure our high standards of room cleanliness are well maintained. We will...

Reviewed 7 February 2017 via mobile

Probably my third visit here. Disappointed to be honest. I had a room/apartment and the noise from apartments on either side was terrible. The walls are literally paper thin. People coughing/talking like they are in the room with you. I also found the bedding to be really poor for such a high grade resort. Terrible cheap pillows. Like bullets to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Chris G
Jacob W, Guest Relations Manager at Mercure Oakridge Resort Lake Wanaka, responded to this review

Dear Chris G, We regret that you did not enjoy your stay with us and take your comments on board in our strive to provide the best possible service to our guests. We are currently underway with implementing measures to improve on sound travelling between rooms. We do understand we can not appeal to all guests regarding one particular mattress...

Canton, Ohio
Reviewed 7 February 2017 via mobile

This place needs lots of help. Our room has no screens and was filled with all kinds of bugs. Also the sink faucet moves in its place. The shower is walk in and floods the bathroom. The staff isn't all that nice. They put us in a room with twin beds when we arrived and wouldn't switch us. They instead...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ester94
Jacob W, Guest Relations Manager at Mercure Oakridge Resort Lake Wanaka, responded to this review

Dear ester94, We regret that you did not enjoy your stay with us and take your comments on board in our strive to provide the best possible service to our guests. All of our rooms are provided with net curtains, we recommend keeping these drawn during the day and at night closing the drapes. We do not usually experience flooding...

Salisbury, United Kingdom
Reviewed 7 February 2017 via mobile

We booked into this Hotel after enjoying a pleasant lunch in town. We didn't want the Spa or the Pools, just a quiet room. What a disappointment ! The room behind us had a Washing Machine in it so most of the night we heard the lady washing her families washing through the wafer thin walls. Sadly we also heard...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ross B
Jacob W, Guest Relations Manager at Mercure Oakridge Resort Lake Wanaka, responded to this review

Dear Ross B, We regret that you did not enjoy your stay with us and take your comments on board in our strive to provide the best possible service to our guests. We are currently underway with implementing measures to improve on sound travelling between rooms. In our guest rooms we do have alternative plugs available than the ones described...

Reviewed 3 February 2017 via mobile

Stayed here on the way from Queenstown to Fox Glacier. Staff polite and helpful. Hotel has a heated swimming and hot tubs which is a great plus if you want to relax from driving around the South Island. Wanaka is much quieter than Queenstown, but there are a few walks we unfortunately did not have time to try out. A...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Rosekrzyz
Invercargill, New Zealand
Reviewed 29 January 2017

Loved being away for the weekend. A very quiet hotel for us. A very comfortable bed and very friendly staff. We did not have assess to sky tv in the part we were staying. The pools and spas were a great treat and being able to order straight to your hot pool or pool chairs was a great bonus. Loved...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank KimHartley2016
Bowral
Reviewed 28 January 2017

I can only review the room as we did not try the bistro. The menu we saw was very ordinary and so we dined in town. The room was clean if a little dated. The king size bed was a king mattress on two single bases and the join between the bases could be felt through the mattress. There was...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank HCouchman
Reviewed 27 January 2017

The rooms were well laid out, but a bit old, with signs of obvious wear. The apartment looked out towards the mountains behind the lake, but there was a large scale road construction being done directly behind the resort, meaning a lot of noise during the day. The resort itself seemed to be undergoing renovations, and once completed (and the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Daniel T

226 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (220)
Viewed
View from Room (23)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (30)
Viewed
Room/Suite (42)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (25)
Viewed
Bathroom (12)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Other (82)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (6)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wanaka hotels
2.8 km away
Edgewater
Edgewater
#4 of 20 in Wanaka
726 reviews
2.3 km away
Lakeside Apartments
Lakeside Apartments
#1 of 20 in Wanaka
479 reviews
2.3 km away
The Moorings
The Moorings
#2 of 20 in Wanaka
405 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 km away
Wyndham Vacation Resorts Wanaka
2.6 km away
Lakeview Motel
Lakeview Motel
#7 of 20 in Wanaka
254 reviews
2.1 km away
Bella Vista Wanaka
Bella Vista Wanaka
#12 of 20 in Wanaka
352 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Free Parking
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Room Service
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Suites
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Paid Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Paid Internet
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Conference Facilities
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Room Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Mercure Oakridge Resort is 100 kilometres from Queenstown and 2 kilometres from Lake Wanaka, the fourth largest lake in New Zealand. The resort features 173 hotel rooms and fully equipped apartments, a superb restaurant with indoor and outdoor dining, heated swimming pool with poolside bar and a day spa. During the warmer months, local activities include bushwalking, mountain climbing and fishing, while in winter the snowfields of Treble Cone and Cardrona are within easy reach. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Mercure Oakridge Resort Lake Wanaka

Address: 20 Studholme Rds, Wanaka 9381, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Wanaka
Price Range: $139 - $297 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Oakridge Resort Lake Wanaka 4*
Number of rooms: 173
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda and Travelocity so you can book your Mercure Oakridge Resort Lake Wanaka reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Mercure Oakridge Resort Lake Wanaka Hotel Wanaka
Mercure Wanaka
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in Wanaka
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Mercure Oakridge Resort Lake Wanaka staff and other travellers.
6 questions
Ask a question
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
over a year ago
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Coolangatta, Australia
over a year ago
Singapore

See all questions (6)

Questions? Get answers from Mercure Oakridge Resort Lake Wanaka staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Request appt that isn't overlooked”
 of 5 bubbles littleuggie, 14 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Just ask if you can have a look at the room when you arrive. I would probably have upgraded had I been staying longer.”
 of 5 bubbles , 11 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Upstairs apartments have better view.”
 of 5 bubbles Joet6192, 4 Mar 2017 | Read review
“See the room before saying yes”
 of 5 bubbles algieHighbridge, 23 Feb 2017 | Read review
“All rooms were quiet”
 of 5 bubbles LizMontereo, 15 Feb 2017 | Read review
5 of 5