We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Moorings

Expedia.comUSD 143*
View Deal
#2 of 20 Hotels in Wanaka
Certificate of Excellence
11/06/2017 12/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Lock in the lowest price from our partners
View Deal
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Professional photos
The Moorings
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

424 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 410: English reviews
Start your review of The Moorings
 Click to rate
Hobart, Australia
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

We had booked a studio apartment but found when we got there they had received our booking late and were fully booked in that accommodation however we were offered a 2 bed apartment at the same price. Sadly we didn't have the views of the studios but we had a nice deck to enjoy the late afternoon sun. We also...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tina M
Kerikeri, New Zealand
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

With great views over the Wanaka lakes, this place is a good pick if you want views and you don't care too much about the host interaction. It's basically a two storey, well run, maintained and roomy motel. Pleasant check-in; disinterested check-out. Views upstairs are probably better than down. We stayed a few nights and were delighted with the sunrise...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Rocky_and_Biglegs
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

My partner and I travelled from Perth, Australia and stayed at The Moorings for one night. I cannot fault this place at all! The room was perfect, so nice and clean, and the view was just amazing! The man running the place was so great as well, so friendly and helpful - super nice. I would highly recommend this place...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Chloe D
Australia
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We stayed at The Moorings for a one night stopover. We had a front room looking over to the beautiful Wanaka Lake. Room was clean. Bed not the most comfortable I have slept in. Bathroom tidy. Everything was provided for with the kitchenette. Sat out on the patio and enjoyed the view. A mere two minute walk into the main...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank tyndo1
TheMooringsWanaka, Owner at The Moorings, responded to this review

Thanks for your review and good to see you enjoyed your time in Wanaka. Beds are a bit of a tricky thing in Motels - not everyone has the same preferences. We have chosen quality mattresses which seem to suit the majority of guests. It certainly is nice out on the patio watching the sun go down with a glass...

Lihue, Hawaii
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We had only a one-night stay in Wanaka but the accommodations at The Moorings made me wish we could stay longer. The room was spacious, clean and well-appointed. The private balcony gave us a beautiful view of Wanaka Lake, for both sunset and sunrise. Amazing. The location of The Moorings was close enough to the downtown area that we were...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Carol V
TheMooringsWanaka, Owner at The Moorings, responded to this review

Thanks for your great review. It certainly is good to be able to walk everywhere. Cheers.

Alexandria, Virginia
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Pros: Friendly staff, good location. We loved the dog artwork throughout the motel. Negatives: I don't believe there is an elevator and we had lots of baggage. After 3+ weeks on the road, we look forward to someone helping us with our bags (and tipping them of course). This was not an option here, so plan accordingly. When we were...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Darryl C
TheMooringsWanaka, Owner at The Moorings, responded to this review

Thanks for your review. Yes you are correct we do not have a lift. My apologies for not offering to assist with your bags. We will always offer assistance to anyone who appears as though they could use some help - my apologies for not making you that offer. We do not expect to be tipped for assisting and are...

Hobart, Australia
Reviewed 22 April 2017

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at The Moorings. The room was comfortable and views just wonderful. Very friendly hosts made us feel welcome and the location was very handy as well, with just a short walk to the main shopping area.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Vaudeb
TheMooringsWanaka, Owner at The Moorings, responded to this review

Your positive review is much appreciated. We are pleased you felt welcome and enjoyed our close location to the town centre . Thankyou

Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 17 April 2017

We stayed here for one night - booked two rooms - and found the welcome to be very friendly and the rooms to be spotlessly clean. As this is a motel we can't comment on service, food or other amenities but it ticked all the boxes for us in every other way. Plenty of on site parking, 2 minutes walk...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank DAVID H
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 17 April 2017

A nice spot with great views, rooms are basic but what was most disappointing was that our room was not made up whilst we were there. Also, found the rooms to be very noisy as you could hear chairs moving upstairs, and you could also hear conversations outside the room (pretty much word for word). Enjoyed the sun on the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ladyoflux
TheMooringsWanaka, Owner at The Moorings, responded to this review

Thanks for your review. I apologise for the failure to make up your room. Our policy is to always make up rooms unless we are requested not to - it could have been the door card was around the wrong way? It is unfortunate you did not bring it to my attention so we could put things right. Our internet...

Auckland
Reviewed 17 April 2017 via mobile

We stayed in a two bedroom apartment as a family. The apartments are up the hill from the units and do not have views of the lake except from a small view shaft from the outdoor table. There is a spacious living and dining area, bedroom and bathroom on the ground floor and a separate bedroom with two beds and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jwjg
TheMooringsWanaka, Owner at The Moorings, responded to this review

Thanks for the very comprehensive review. We are pleased you enjoyed our close location to the town centre. The DVD player has been fixed - thanks for bringing it to our attention. We would love to have you come to stay again.

145 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (133)
Viewed
View from Room (48)
Viewed
Room/Suite (19)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (13)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (4)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (43)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (12)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Other (8)
11/06/2017 12/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wanaka hotels
0.0 km away
Lakeside Apartments
Lakeside Apartments
#1 of 20 in Wanaka
500 reviews
1.9 km away
Edgewater
Edgewater
#4 of 20 in Wanaka
761 reviews
2.4 km away
Mercure Oakridge Resort Lake Wanaka
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 km away
Ramada Resort Wanaka
Ramada Resort Wanaka
#6 of 20 in Wanaka
328 reviews
0.3 km away
Lakeview Motel
Lakeview Motel
#8 of 20 in Wanaka
261 reviews
0.5 km away
Clearbrook Motel Wanaka
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Laundry Service
  • Breakfast Available
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Moorings Motel and Apartments offers stylish accommodation for the discerning traveller. We offer lakefront studio units with outstanding un-interrupted views of Lake Wanaka and the mountains and our family apartments are ideal for larger groups. Our complex is just one minutes walk to the nearest cafes and shops and the lakes edge or just a two minute stroll to town. Complimentary wifi available ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Moorings

Address: 17 Lakeside Road | PO Box 368, Wanaka 9343, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Wanaka
Price Range: $173 - $320 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Moorings 4.5*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your The Moorings reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Moorings Hotel Wanaka
Moorings Hotel Wanaka
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Wanaka
#2 Family Hotel in Wanaka
#3 Romantic Hotel in Wanaka
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Moorings staff and other travellers.
4 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (4)

Questions? Get answers from The Moorings staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“You'll probably get a slightly better view on the second level.”
Rocky_and_Biglegs, 25 May 2017 | Read review
“Good size two bedroom apartment”
annehL8831JZ, 14 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Ensure you get one of the units at the front with unobstructed views.”
LindaNZ, 13 Apr 2017 | Read review
“ground floor facing the lake.”
petercB8069JU, 21 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Most rooms have balconies overlooking the lake. Lovely, but there is some road noise if you have the balcony door open.”
jdesmond1217, 20 Mar 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Expedia.com
USD 143* /night
View Deal
Hotels.comUSD 143
TravelocityUSD 143
CheapTicketsUSD 143
View all 6 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates