We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
05/11/2017 06/11/2017
    There are no pins in your viewport. Try moving the map or changing your filters.
    • {providername} {price}
    {providername} {price}
      {listitems}
    {sold_out_text}
    We can't find prices for this accommodation
    From {rate_price} {rate_periodicity}

    Wanaka Bakpaka

    117 Lakeside Road | Otago, Wanaka 9305, New Zealand
    Save
    Lowest prices for your stay
    05/11/2017 06/11/2017
    Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in WanakaSee available hotels in Wanaka
    Traveller (106)
    Room & Suite (46)
    Dining (10)
    You may also like:
    Alpine Motel Wanaka and Apartments
    155 reviews
    #8 of 20 hotels in Wanaka
     
    Manuka Crescent Motel
    185 reviews
    #10 of 20 hotels in Wanaka
     
    Fairway Motel
    168 reviews
    #13 of 20 hotels in Wanaka
     
    Archway Motels
    137 reviews
    #16 of 20 hotels in Wanaka
     
    Overview
    • Excellent68%
    • Very good26%
    • Average4%
    • Poor1%
    • Terrible1%
    Travellers talk about
    “double room” (21 reviews)
    “the kitchen” (66 reviews)
    “great hostel” (15 reviews)
    Free Wifi
    Free Parking
    Non-Smoking Rooms
    Family Rooms
    Kitchenette
    Laundry Service
    Self-Serve Laundry
    All hotel details
    {"containerClass":null,"containerAttributes":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null}
    You may also like:
    Alpine Motel Wanaka and Apartments
    155 reviews
    #8 of 20 hotels in Wanaka
     
    Manuka Crescent Motel
    185 reviews
    #10 of 20 hotels in Wanaka
     
    Fairway Motel
    168 reviews
    #13 of 20 hotels in Wanaka
     
    Archway Motels
    137 reviews
    #16 of 20 hotels in Wanaka
     
    Write a Review
    Reviews (306)
    There are newer reviews for Wanaka Bakpaka
    See the most recent reviews
    Traveller rating
    Traveller type
    Time of year
    Language
    • More languages

    81 - 85 of 263 reviews

    Reviewed 30 August 2015 via mobile

    I was recommended this backpackers by Aspiring Guides, it was my first multi night stay in wanaka. The first thing you notice when walking in is the warm fireplace, and the stunning view across the lake. The check-in was nice and easy, with Krista giving...More

    Thank ajychau
    Response from WanakaBakpaka, Owner at Wanaka BakpakaResponded 2 September 2015

    Hi there Thanks for reviewing your recent stay here with us at Wanaka Bakpaka. We love the view from our living room to and still have the fire cranking today with fresh snow last night! It's great to hear that you enjoyed both stays with...More

    Reviewed 29 August 2015 via mobile

    This hostel is great! The kitchen is really large & spacious with plenty of cooking areas. The lounge room is inviting & the best place to meet people. The hostel has a fantastic view of Lake Wanaka! We stayed in a private room which was...More

    Thank SophieCaruana
    Response from WanakaBakpaka, Owner at Wanaka BakpakaResponded 2 September 2015

    Hi Sophie Thanks for taking the time to review your stay with us last month. It's great to hear that you enjoyed your stay hear with us and that you found your room and all common areas inviting, clean and tidy. Hopefully you had some...More

    Reviewed 28 August 2015

    I was recommended this hostel from the Owner of AQ Hostel in Queenstown (the best) and it was everything he promised. Clean, organised and beds/rooms were pretty decently sized. Two minute walk into town!More

    Thank Alistair C
    Response from WanakaBakpaka, Owner at Wanaka BakpakaResponded 2 September 2015

    Hi Alistair It's great to hear that another hostel recommended us to you and that you weren't disappointed! We stoked to hear that you found the hostel, rooms and location to your liking. We hope you had a great trip around New Zealand! Wanaka Bakpaka...More

    Reviewed 18 August 2015

    We stayed in this backpackare for coule of nights and i have to say everything was absolutelly amazing. All staff was friendly and helpfull and let our friend, which couldn´t get bed in here because of no vacancy, with us in lounge and enjoy our...More

    Thank VeraKrizova
    Response from WanakaBakpaka, Owner at Wanaka BakpakaResponded 2 September 2015

    Hi Vera Thanks for taking the time to review your stay here with us last month. We are so pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and that you would recommend us to fellow travellers. We hope you had some great days up...More

    Reviewed 25 July 2015

    I'd be very hard-pressed to have anything negative to stay about this hostel. It is very well maintained, clean, and has a great atmosphere. Our 4-person room was exactly what we looked for in a hostel, clean and fairly comfortable. The kitchen was great, well...More

    Thank Brent A
    Response from WanakaBakpaka, Owner at Wanaka BakpakaResponded 25 July 2015

    Hi Brent Thanks for taking the time to review your stay with us last year in August. We're so pleased to hear that your room was exactly what you were looking for and you found all common areas, clean and tidy. We love the atmosphere...More

    You may also like:
    Alpine Motel Wanaka and Apartments
    155 reviews
    #8 of 20 hotels in Wanaka
     
    Manuka Crescent Motel
    185 reviews
    #10 of 20 hotels in Wanaka
     
    Fairway Motel
    168 reviews
    #13 of 20 hotels in Wanaka
     
    Archway Motels
    137 reviews
    #16 of 20 hotels in Wanaka
     
    About
    Awards & Recognition
    Certificate of Excellence
    Amenities
    • Top amenities
    • Free Parking
    • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
    • Hotel Amenities
    • Free Parking
    • Self-Serve Laundry
    • Laundry Service
    Details
    • Price range
    • USD 16 - USD 48 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
    • Room types
    • Kitchenette ,
    • Non-Smoking Rooms ,
    • Family Rooms
    • Number of rooms
    • 21
    • Location
    • New Zealand >
    • South Island >
    • Otago Region >
    • Wanaka
    • Also Known As
    • Wanaka Bakpaka Hotel Wanaka
    Add Photo Photos
    Traveller (106)
    Room & Suite (46)
    Dining (10)
    Pool & Beach (1)
    Hotel & Grounds (69)
    Bathroom (1)
    Family and Play Areas (1)
    Nearby
    Fairway Motel
    168 reviews
    1.09 km away
     
    Manuka Crescent Motel
    185 reviews
    .84 km away
     
    Archway Motels
    137 reviews
    .87 km away
     
    Alpine Motel Wanaka and Apartments
    155 reviews
    .89 km away
     
    Nearby Restaurants
    Wanaka Gourmet Kitchen
    443 reviews
    .69 km away
    Big Fig Wanaka
    347 reviews
    .65 km away
    Francesca's Kitchen
    1,118 reviews
    .66 km away
    Kai Whakapai Cafe and Bar
    737 reviews
    .66 km away
    Nearby Attractions
    Deep Canyon
    175 reviews
    .58 km away
    Wanaka i-SITE Visitor Information Centre
    181 reviews
    .62 km away
    Wanaka Fine Art Gallery
    8 reviews
    .65 km away
    Wildwire Wanaka
    174 reviews
    .64 km away
    Questions & Answers
    Get quick answers from Wanaka Bakpaka staff and past guests.
    Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
    Posting guidelines
    Submit
    Room Tips
    "Great kitchen facilities, Great view, Comfortable common areas."
    Read review
    "4 bed dorm nr. 1"
    Read review
    "Try to get a room with a view."
    Read review
    "Well located, nice views"
    Read review
    Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
    Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing