We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Wanaka Bakpaka

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Wanaka
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Management photos
Wanaka Bakpaka
View Map
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}}}
Add Photo Write a Review

275 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 240: English reviews
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW via mobile

We are staying in king room with private ensuite and love the cozy little cabin. Staff are great and check in was a breeze. 10 minute walk into town along the lake. Great views from every angle. WiFi is free for limited use then very reasonable price to purchase more. Ample bathrooms around the place and well equipped kitchen and... More 

Helpful?
Thank Minmon
Campbell, California
Level Contributor
23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We had a double room upstairs. Nice room, shared bathroom (but only with 2 other rooms), huge kitchen and common room downstairs. Extremely clean. Best view in Wanaka! Right on the lake and an easy walk to town. Easy parking.

Helpful?
Thank rahill01
Reunion Island
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

I've been in this hostel 2 times (4 or 5 nights and 1 night). Very clean. Good kitchen. Great atmosphere. The managers are very nice and helpful. And beautiful view of the lake (from the lounge and the outside area). Wi-Fi is very good but not illimited. Free off street parking.

Helpful?
Thank TiGreg974
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
131 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 October 2016

Wanaka Bakpaka is one of those hostels where you can get stuck for weeks without even realizing it. The facilities are a spot on, the kitchen is huge, the view over the lake is stunning and the staff in awesome and always around to lend a helping hand. This is the perfect place to stay in Wanaka!

Helpful?
Thank Robin_Laura
WanakaBakpaka, Owner at Wanaka Bakpaka, responded to this review

Hi Robin and Laura Thanks so much for your kind review. We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us recently, good luck for the future ! Wanaka Bakpaka : ) More 

Hamburg, Germany
Level Contributor
114 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2016 via mobile

Following another hostel's recommendation me and my friend ended up here. Great place, especially when comparing to having stayed in Wanaka before which by far was not as great. Clean and friendly, well equipped kitchen, hot shower w good water pressure and a view you won't forget. Prices are fairly cheap compared to other accomodation around here, stayed in a... More 

Helpful?
Thank Betty V
WanakaBakpaka, Owner at Wanaka Bakpaka, responded to this review

Hi Betty Thanks for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. It's great to hear when other backpackers or guests recommend us! We appreciate your kind words and look forward to seeing you in the future. Wanaka Bakpaka : ) More 

Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviewed 31 July 2016 via mobile

The moment we arrived we instantly felt at home. My husband and I stayed in the double lake view room with an ensuite. The room was very comfortable and suited our needs. The staff were so friendly and we instantly felt like friends. We enjoyed the comfortable lounge and free wifi (for a small price we brought extra). We loved... More 

Helpful?
Thank Aleisha K
WanakaBakpaka, Owner at Wanaka Bakpaka, responded to this review

Hi Aleisha Thanks so much for taking the time to review your stay with us in July. It's so lovely to hear that you felt at home and enjoyed your stay. We appreciate your feedback and comments. It's so nice when guests extend their stay, there is so much to do in Wanaka whether it be Summer or Winter. We... More 

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
158 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2016 via mobile

I thought this hostel was very decent, however we were assumed to be 2 females and were given a female dorm (I am a male). I happily stayed in the 4 share dorm but obviously there was one occupant who was not happy about this and made sure we were aware. The room and bathroom were pretty dated and require... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Mitul L
WanakaBakpaka, Owner at Wanaka Bakpaka, responded to this review

Hi there Thanks for taking the time to review your recent stay here with us. I would like to take the time to address your comments and feedback regarding your two night stay with us. You had booked online and selected female only- so this is why your booking was put into a female only dorm. You were the last... More 

Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2016 via mobile

Just love the lake view from the hostel..awesome! Close walking distance with bus stop, and shops..pretty easy to walk around here. I stayed at 4 bededd room with attached bathroom. The hostel is kind enough to leave the key and notes for us, since we checked in a lil bit late that night (was on a bus trip frm FJ-Wanaka).... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Sha R
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 May 2016 via mobile

Just amazing. It cannot be better. Top kitchen, top dining room, top lounge, top showers, top double room, top stuff. Clean, quiet. The best backpacker ever!!!!!! Perfekt view in the see. We were there for one night and enjoyed our stay there really.

Helpful?
Thank chrisos71
Level Contributor
61 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 May 2016 via mobile

+ great communal facilities + cheap laundry + friendly staff + beautiful lake view and close to town + very clean and well decorated + good value + board games - very soft mattresses which we found uncomfortable but we like firm mattresses so maybe that is just our preference - only 100mb free wifi per day Highly recommended, especially... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Becki S
WanakaBakpaka, Owner at Wanaka Bakpaka, responded to this review

Hi Becki Thanks for taking the time to review your recent stays with us. We love to hear that guests return because they have enjoyed a previous stay. It's great to hear you found the hostel clean, tidy and staff helpful. Wanaka Bakpaka : ) More 

121 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (98)
Viewed
Room/Suite (21)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (11)
Viewed
View from Room (11)
Viewed
Dining (10)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (42)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (23)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (11)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Other (6)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wanaka hotels
1.7 km away
Edgewater
Edgewater
#4 of 20 in Wanaka
656 reviews
0.6 km away
Lakeside Apartments
Lakeside Apartments
#1 of 20 in Wanaka
439 reviews
0.5 km away
The Moorings
The Moorings
#2 of 20 in Wanaka
371 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 km away
Wyndham Vacation Resorts Wanaka
1.0 km away
YHA Wanaka
YHA Wanaka
#2 of 48 in Wanaka
292 reviews
1.6 km away
Wanaka Luxury Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Paid Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Fantastic quiet lakeside location. Only 5 minute walk to the centre of town. "Bus and Group" free ambience allowing you to enjoy our garden courtyard. Our comfy, spacious and TV free lounge overlooks Lake Wanaka with it huge floor to ceiling windows. Its these views which are our biggest clincher, followed by the NEW kitchen, vareity of room types and outside areas. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Wanaka Bakpaka

Address: 117 Lakeside Road | Otago, Wanaka 9305, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Wanaka
Price Range: $22 - $66 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 21
Also Known As:
Wanaka Bakpaka Hotel Wanaka
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Wanaka Bakpaka staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from Wanaka Bakpaka staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Try to get a room with a view.”
 of 5 bubbles Malotte, 25 Apr 2016 | Read review
“Well located, nice views”
 of 5 bubbles V2C, 28 Mar 2016 | Read review
“Queen room has a huge bed and nearly private bathroom.”
 of 5 bubbles JoeN254, 27 Feb 2016 | Read review
“Book early!! They fill up quickly.”
 of 5 bubbles Sarah12co, 16 Jan 2016 | Read review
“Just book in, you wont be disappointed.”
 of 5 bubbles 555melissam, 12 Jan 2016 | Read review
5 of 5