We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Riverview Terrace

Travellers' Choice award winner
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Professional photos
Riverview Terrace
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

234 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Riverview Terrace
See the most recent reviews
Showing 223: English reviews
Christchurch, Canterbury, New Zealand
Reviewed 17 November 2013

I have never gone to the trouble of writing a review for anything before however I felt that I had to say something about Riverview Terrace. I recently stayed here with my wife for a night and can safely say it is the best place I have ever stayed. Peter and Pam are so welcoming and the house and gardens...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sam J
Pam H, Owner at Riverview Terrace, responded to this review

Thank you so much Sam for taking the time to write a review for us, Peter & I really do appreciate your review. We really enjoyed having you both stay for your "moon baby" What an exciting time for you, your baby will be due any day. Our every best wishes to you both.

Christchurch, New Zealand
Reviewed 22 October 2013

No review could really do Riverview Terrace justice. Pam and Peter are 2 of the nicest, most welcoming people you will ever meet. Nothing is an issue, and you leave feeling like you've spent the weekend with long lost friends. The property is exceptional. Gorgeous rooms and some of the best views you could ask for in Wanaka. It's just...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank alicenmac
Pam H, Owner at Riverview Terrace, responded to this review

We are so pleased you enjoyed your holiday in Wanaka & many thanks for taking the time to write a review for us. Peter & I enjoyed meeting & talking with you both.

London
Reviewed 21 October 2013

We stayed at Riverview Terrace for one night whilst in Wanaka for the weekend and I just wish that we could have stayed for longer. I cannot even begin to describe how fantastic this place is or how welcoming the hosts Pam and Peter are. The house is just stunning with unbelievable panoramic views out across the mountains from nearly...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank cafra23
Pam H, Owner at Riverview Terrace, responded to this review

Thank you so much for taking the time to write this very extensive review we really appreciate it. We were delighted to hear your friends had referred us to you, we did enjoy meeting you and having you to stay.

Beijing, China
Reviewed 9 October 2013

you can't expect more for a high-end luxury B&B from here. the View, facilities, high tea, breakfast, spa tubs, beds...... and most importantly, the hospitality! Pam and Peter are such great hosts that can provide EVERYTHING you need from restaurant booking to traffic condition check! We the whole family has received warm welcome and we just want to give our...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Ryan R
Dunedin, New Zealand
Reviewed 14 August 2013

My partner and I escaped to Riverview Terrace for a two night escape following the burglary of our house in Dunedin. We arrived stressed and with so much on our minds - but within minutes were immersed in the luxury and relaxation Riverview Terrace exudes. Pam and Peter seamlessly took care of our every need, down to the smallest touches,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Alia1986
Pam H, Owner at Riverview Terrace, responded to this review

Thank you so much for taking the time to write your super review we really appreciate your kind words. We are also so pleased to hear the police & public responsed to your plea for the return of your computers, we hope your writings could be recovered successfully. Our very best wishes for your future happiness.

Singapore
Reviewed 28 July 2013

Sequels often disappoint. Even if the quality is the same, the fact that the novelty is gone often leads to disappointment. There are, of course, rare exceptions where the experience improves the second time round (e.g. the Empire Strikes Back, the Godfather 2). In our view, Riverview Terrace is one of those rare things that simply get better. We first...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank RissieD
Pam H, Owner at Riverview Terrace, responded to this review

Yes, it was just super to have you both return to stay at Riverview Terrace. We do really enjoy hosting & spoiling our guests making their time in Wanaka & NZ extra special. Many thanks for your kind words, we will look forward to meeting up with you when we next travel to Singapore.

Reviewed 24 July 2013

My partner and I stayed at Riverview Terrace for three nights and we were blown away by the level of hospitality we received from Pam and Peter. Their beautiful house is very modern and has a fantastic view. Pam was able to cater to our very particular dietary requirements; nothing was too much trouble for our wonderful hosts. We had...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Siu-may T
Pam H, Owner at Riverview Terrace, responded to this review

Thank you for choosing to stay with us & for your super review, we are so pleased you were able to relax & enjoy your weekend away. Peter & I really enjoyed chatting with you both. I enjoy the challenge to cater for all our guests & you were both delightful & so appreciative.

Wellington, New Zealand
Reviewed 21 July 2013

Pam and Peter are simply the best hosts! They are warm, welcoming, and did everything to make sure my husband and I enjoy our stay. It was very pleasant chatting with them, while drinking red wine and eating Pam's canapés. When we told them that we might try skydiving, Pam said she did that two years ago in Wanaka and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank BKY C
Pam H, Owner at Riverview Terrace, responded to this review

Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a fantastic in depth review of your stay at Riverview Terrace. Peter & I were delighted to host you both on your honeymoon, we both really enjoyed meeting & chatting with you. Our best wishes for a long & very happy marriage.

Dunedin, Otago, New Zealand
Reviewed 3 July 2013

We had a really enjoyable night at Riverview Terrace. Pam and Peter are supremely hospitable and really interesting. We enjoyed delicious canapes and a gorgeous breakfast. The house is presented beautifully with amazing attention to detail. It was lovely that Peter took us into Wanaka for dinner - gave us a chance to relax and have a glass of wine...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Nina P
Pam H, Owner at Riverview Terrace, responded to this review

Many thanks for taking the time to write your review, we really enjoyed meeting you both and sharing our similar interests and experiences.

Wanaka, New Zealand
Reviewed 9 June 2013

My husband and I live locally in Wanaka & we wanted somewhere private and luxurious to escape to after our wedding (as our home was filled with family & friends). Riverview exceeded all of our expectations ! Pam and Peter were excellent hosts who made us feel very welcome, we especially enjoyed the outdoor spa - it was a perfect...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Chelsea J

127 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (102)
Viewed
Dining (16)
Viewed
Room/Suite (13)
Viewed
View from Room (19)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (19)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (33)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (25)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Other (10)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wanaka hotels
5.5 km away
Edgewater
Edgewater
#4 of 20 in Wanaka
656 reviews
3.7 km away
Lakeside Apartments
Lakeside Apartments
#1 of 20 in Wanaka
440 reviews
3.7 km away
The Moorings
The Moorings
#2 of 20 in Wanaka
371 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.9 km away
Wyndham Vacation Resorts Wanaka
25.2 km away
Waiorau Homestead
Waiorau Homestead
#1 of 57 in Wanaka
315 reviews
5.0 km away
Wanaka Luxury Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Spa
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Hot Tub
  • Spa
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Laundry Service
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Riverview Terrace is a NZ Qualmark rated 5 Star luxury accommodation with stunning 360* mountain and river views offering 3 luxuriously appointed bedroom suites with en-suites, heated floors and mirrors, hairdryers, disabled facilities, spa bath and patios. Guests can enjoy the private lounge with library, TV, DVD, and internet,or relax in our 8 seater spa under the stars. Generous 3 course breakfast of your choice. Join James and Nicky for complimentary pre-dinner drinks or afternoon tea. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Riverview Terrace

Address: 31 Matheson Crescent | Albert Town, Wanaka 9305, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Wanaka
Price Range: $306 - $349 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Riverview Terrace 5*
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Riverview Terrace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Riverview Terrace staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Two of the three rooms have patio access”
 of 5 bubbles NYweatherman, 27 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Ask for mountain view, if booking early.”
 of 5 bubbles Kochay, 25 Nov 2016 | Read review
“There are only 3 rooms here, and all of them look excellent!”
  • This was the sunrise photo I took from our porch in the morning. So lovely.
 of 5 bubbles 997allisons, 2 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Splurge on the Grandview room, well worth the price!!!!”
 of 5 bubbles AlyZoratti, 24 Apr 2016 | Read review
“two rooms in the "back" of the B&B have views of the mountains/garden”
 of 5 bubbles MooseMom10, 27 Mar 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay