We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Base Backpackers Wanaka

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Professional photos
Base Backpackers Wanaka
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel_streamline","template":"ibex_photo_carousel_streamline__widget","dust":{},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel_streamline","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

321 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 287: English reviews
Singapore, Singapore
Reviewed 1 week ago

I stayed for one night in the four-bed female sanctuary ensuite on Jan 4. The ensuite toilet was not working and I felt the reception staff should have advised me of it before checking me in. I got a discount upon request, after my dorm mates who were there one night  before me said they were given so. The kitchen...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank kellynsq
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Great value for money. We stayed in a private double room. View of the mountains. Bathroom was not cleaned properly though. Beds are OK, as you would expect from a backpackers. The usual noise at night, but nothing too bad. Fantastic location in the heart of Wanaka. Also next door to the supermarket. Understaffed on the front desk. Of lying...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank S1im
Darwin
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

I have never stayed at a backpacker's before so I was a little apprehensive about what the room would be like. We were pleasantly surprised. We booked a private double room with an ensuite. The room was basic, but the bed was comfortable and the bathroom modern and clean, albeit very small. The price was pretty expensive for a backpacker's,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Leighbee27
Adelaide, Australia
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

This was the first and only backpackers we've stayed at on our holiday, but we were very impressed with what it offered! We had a private room, which contained a king bed and ensuite, kettle, tea and coffee, cups, plates, heating, iron, ironing board and amazing views! We chose to pay the $4 for 24 hours unlimited wifi in our...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank yebbanire
Bendigo, Australia
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We stayed 3 nights in a mixed 6 bed dorm over new year period, we respect this is a busy time of year however cleanliness can hardly be excused for 3 days. Positives; great location, limited free wifi, friendly staff and mostly helpful, good water pressure in showers and never had to wait for bathrooms. Less than ideal; kitchen was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jess C
Wanaka
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Very central. Seems clean enough. Has friendly staff. Beds are comfy and rooms are spacious with carpet. Nice slate floor in shower. However, the water pressure wasn't great and drainage was poor so by the time you finish your shower you're standing in 1or 2 inches of water. Also not the best place of you are looking for a quiet...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Valerie B
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Staff very rude and unwelcoming. Then we end up in the room next to the bar where they blast obnoxious karoake until 2am on a Monday night. Booked two days left after 1, without refund. Dont stay here

 Report
Helpful?
Thank TheTranscendent F
Quebec City, Canada
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Staff was not welcoming at all, took forever before I could be check-in, they seem to be taking their time on purpose... Kitchen is too small for a big hostel like this (about 12 places to be seated) and always dirty. Room and bathrooms were ok .

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ElodyMoreau
London, England, United Kingdom
Reviewed 13 December 2016 via mobile

The hostel is clean, well staffed and in a good location. Overall it was pretty good. The beds are fairly typically squeaky and move lots, and the bother issue was the bathroom door slamming throughout the night. My room was opposite and the noise was really irritating, although I'm told that was favorable to being above the bar.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Hayley P
BaseWanaka, General Manager at Base Backpackers Wanaka, responded to this review

Hi Thank you for taking your time to leave a review I do appreciate your feedback. I apologise about the bathroom door this is the 1st time it has come to my attention and I will make sure I get someone out to have a look at it. We have maintenance on site that could have helped with the squeaky...

Europe
Reviewed 9 December 2016 via mobile

Not a bad hostel but the rooms are small and the kitchen is also fairly tiny. The wifi also didn't work while I was there. The staff we helpful and friendly and the location is good, only a minutes walk to the lake.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mr_Slyman
BaseWanaka, General Manager at Base Backpackers Wanaka, responded to this review

Hi Thank you for leaving a review we do appreciate your feedback. I apologise about the Free Wi-Fi we had a few issue with it over the last couple of weeks but which have now been fixed but we do have high speed Wi-Fi available for $4. Its great to hear that my staff could help with all your needs...

27 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (26)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (13)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wanaka hotels
2.0 km away
Wyndham Vacation Resorts Wanaka
0.1 km away
Matterhorn South Lodge and Backpackers
0.1 km away
YHA Wanaka
YHA Wanaka
#2 of 47 in Wanaka
303 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Bella Vista Wanaka
Bella Vista Wanaka
#9 of 20 in Wanaka
348 reviews
0.1 km away
Aspiring Lodge Motel
Aspiring Lodge Motel
#14 of 20 in Wanaka
185 reviews
0.9 km away
Fairway Motel
Fairway Motel
#13 of 20 in Wanaka
141 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
Services
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Multilingual Staff

Additional Information about Base Backpackers Wanaka

Address: 73 Brownston Street, Wanaka 9305, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Wanaka
Price Range: $53 - $118 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Base Backpackers Wanaka 2*
Number of rooms: 49
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda and Expedia so you can book your Base Backpackers Wanaka reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Base Backpackers Wanaka Hotel Wanaka
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Base Backpackers Wanaka staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“The location was excellent as it was close to all of Wanaka and there parking was off street but reasonably close on the surrounding streets. ”
 of 5 bubbles rodneyp797, 4 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Fresh bathroom floor towel Turn on heater whenever you want Thicker pillow Window didn't shut properly ”
 of 5 bubbles 553jakec, 31 Jul 2016 | Read review
“Room over reception had great views and were quiet”
 of 5 bubbles Lizridge, 28 Mar 2016 | Read review
“ASK FOR A QUIET ROOM (not sure if any of them are though - Terrible noise!)”
 of 5 bubbles nicolacQ6972YB, 8 Mar 2016 | Read review
“Bring ear plugs”
 of 5 bubbles williaml21, 29 Feb 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay