We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa

Show Prices
#25 of 84 Hotels in Honolulu
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

4,903 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa
See the most recent reviews
Showing 3,676: English reviews
Odenton, Maryland
Reviewed 14 December 2013 via mobile

By far one of the best hotels to stay at in the world. I have stayed here 4 times over the last 3 years and each time gets even better. A great combination of hotel and resort combined into the best downtown location in Waikiki . Your close to every major attraction and still have the best view of the...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Ddb2422
Moana S, Guest Experience Team at Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Aloha, Thank you for your kind review. The ideal location of the Moana Surfrider is walking distance to many shopping outlets, dining venues and, of course, Waikiki Beach. The Honolulu Zoo and the Aquarium are also popular attractions guests can enjoy with a quick 15 minute walk. Thank you for choosing to stay with us and we look forward to...

California
Reviewed 13 December 2013

My partner and I chose the Moana Surfrider, as we love Honolulu, have stayed at the Halekulani before but have always loved the Westin. I booked the five night stay months ahead using 90,000 points for a 5 night stay. We could not have been more disappointed and checked out about two hours after check in. The "partial ocean view...

 Report
Helpful?
6Thank Scott B
Moana S, Guest Experience Team at Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Aloha, Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. We sincerely apologize that your booked category did not meet your expectations. We do try to accommodate our guests wishing to upgrade based on our availability. Our front desk agents are diligent when following-up with guests on upgrades so am surprised to hear this was not the...

New Castle, Delaware
Reviewed 12 December 2013

I've stayed at this Hotel March of 2008, this was the best hotel I stayed in that year . the service was great , the room was clean but small also ok when your in Hawaii you don't stay in your room all day. I also liked the beach out back of the hotel who needs a pool when you...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank franksgogetter
Moana S, Guest Experience Team at Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Aloha, Thank you for sharing your experience with us. Many of our guests love the fact that they have Waikiki Beach as their backyard. It is a pleasant surprise to wake up in your guestroom to a view of the astounding Diamond Head and the Pacific Ocean. Also, the honu's (sea turtles) have made Waikiki their home, so our guests...

HAWTHORNWOODS, Il
Reviewed 9 December 2013 via mobile

I have nothing but praise for this resort. My wife and I stayed in an ocean front suite and found it much more comfortable then the comparable suite we had at the Halekulani last year. The Beach is great and you are central to all of the fun spots. Service was top notch and I would like to give a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Travelalot17
Moana S, Guest Experience Team at Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Aloha, Thank you for sharing such wonderful comments! Our Tower Ocean Suites provides a setting of perfection at its finest with breathtaking views of Waikiki Beach and the turquoise blue of the Pacific Ocean. With terrific reviews like yours, we are hoping to improve our ranking on TripAdvisor. Please continue leaving reviews for each of your stays, we love hearing...

Lahaina, Hawaii
Reviewed 7 December 2013

My wife and I love the location of this property plus the old Hawaii ambiance and charm: hula lessons under the banyan tree, watching catamarans & surfers in the distance. Collin & Gloria are great pool / beachside attendants...smiling even at 7 am. We love staying in the old section (even though rooms are smaller) for the sheer history of...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kim B
Moana S, Guest Experience Team at Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Aloha, Thank you for sharing your review. Waikiki Beach has become one of the most popular surfing spots on Oahu so am happy to hear you decided to stay at the Moana Surfrider. With Waikiki Beach as your backyard, the Moana offers guests the ideal location. Also, if surfboards are longer than 9ft, guests are welcome to use our service...

Portland, Oregon
Reviewed 7 December 2013

My wife and recently flew to Oahu to celebrate a friends 50th. Our friends live on the Island and after four days with them I surprised my wife with a night in Honolulu. Having visited the Moana Surfrider in the past I knew it was the only hotel that could support a great afternoon and evening in the chaos they...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Grantman66
Moana S, Guest Experience Team at Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Aloha, Mahalo for your review and for staying at the Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa. We would like to sincerely apologize for the concerns mentioned regarding your assigned suite. Cleanliness is one of our top priorities for our guests and am disappointed to hear this was not the case during your stay. Your review has been shared with...

Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 7 December 2013

Smack- bang in the heart of Waikik's maelstrom of gaudy,tacky and conventional hotel choices, sits this elegant old-world,'first lady of Waikiki'. The westin group have diligently kept the uniqueness of this grand icon with superb contemporary feel that in full measure contributes to a memorable and enjoyable stay. We chose the Banyan wing with its sweeping views of the shoreline...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Eli B
Moana S, Guest Experience Team at Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Aloha, Mahalo nui loa for your very kind comments. We are so happy to hear you enjoyed our historical banyan guestrooms which is like taking a step back into yesteryear. We hope you also had a chance to join one of our historical tours which is offered every Monday, Wednesday and Friday at 11am. Learning the history of this 112...

COCOA
Reviewed 7 December 2013

We didn't stay at the resort, but from all appearances, it's a first class place. We had drinks and appetizers under their signature banyan tree on the beach. Awesome scenery of Diamond Head and the beach of Waikiki. Very good food, but we went for the scenery. Valet park and validate at the Banyan Tree Bar.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MICHAEL A
Moana S, Guest Experience Team at Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Aloha, Mahalo for your kind comments. We are happy to hear you were able to enjoy our oceanfront beach bar under our iconic Banyan Tree. Yes, the view is breathtaking with the turquoise blue of the ocean and Diamond Head. Also, we recommend enjoying a mai tai from our Beach Bar while watching the sunset, it's absolutely breathtaking. We hope...

Zurich, Switzerland
Reviewed 6 December 2013

We recently stayed at the Moana Surfrider for a vacation with some friends friends. The staff is super friendly and the property is well taken care of. The rooms are a bit on the smaller side but we didn't spend much time in the room anyway. I was hoping for an upgrade given the SPG gold status but apparently they...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank licertune
Moana S, Guest Experience Team at Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Aloha, Thank you for your wonderful comments. The title of your review "Aloha feeling all over" is a great way to describe an experience with us and am delighted to know you felt the Aloha Spirit. Here at the Moana Surfrider, the Aloha Spirit is more than just a saying, its a connection between a guest and our associates, so...

england
Reviewed 5 December 2013

Impressive entrance, sweeping staircase, rather colonial feel in the main areas. Pleasant reception staff. Our room in the Tower was supposed to have an endless city view, in fact we also got a partial ocean view, which was a nice bonus. Room very clean and well maintained. The only thing we felt was unusual was the hanging rail for clothes...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank travelcaro
Moana S, Guest Experience Team at Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Aloha, Mahalo for sharing your experience with us. The historical ambiance of the "First Lady of Waikiki" has been admired by many of our guests, so am happy to hear you were "impressed". It seems that many attributes of the Moana Surfrider like our spacious Tower Wing guestrooms, Tour desk, location and our staff reflected on your "enjoyable stay". We...

3,962 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (3402)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (774)
Viewed
View from Room (312)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (288)
Viewed
Room/Suite (452)
Viewed
Dining (123)
Viewed
Bathroom (93)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (4)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
0:15
Videos (3)
Viewed
Other (1352)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (508)
Viewed
Amenities (48)
Viewed
Banyan Classic City Room (109)
Viewed
Beach (38)
Viewed
Pool (22)
Viewed
Dining (93)
Viewed
Suite (19)
Viewed
The Hotel (161)
Viewed
Tower Premier Ocean Room (18)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (52)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (17)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (12)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (3)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (14)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Waikiki
Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort
Waikiki
Halekulani Hotel
Halekulani Hotel
#7 of 84 in Honolulu
2,455 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Waikiki
The Modern Honolulu
The Modern Honolulu
#4 of 84 in Honolulu
3,784 reviews
Waikiki
Aston Waikiki Circle Hotel
Hilton Waikiki Beach
#27 of 84 in Honolulu
4,181 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Beachfront
  • Spa
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
GreenLeadersSilver level
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Restaurant
  • Spa
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Welcome to the Moana Surfrider, a Westin Resort & Spa, in Waikiki Beach on Oahu, HI. Visit Moana Lani Spa; or host a wedding on our rooftop terrace, or a meeting in our 10,000sq ft of event space. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa

Address: 2365 Kalakaua Avenue, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-5041
Region: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu > Waikiki
Price Range: $429 - $739 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 791
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Starwood, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Moana Surfrider, a Westin Resort And Spa
Moana Surfrider, a Westin Hotel Honolulu
Westin Moana Surfrider
Moana Surfrider Westin Resort
Westin Honolulu
Honolulu Westin
Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa Hawaii/Honolulu
Hotel Style:
#9 Top resorts Hotel in Honolulu
#10 Spa Hotel in Honolulu
#13 Luxury Hotel in Honolulu
#15 On the Beach Hotel in Honolulu
#18 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
#22 Business Hotel in Honolulu
#31 Family Hotel in Honolulu
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa staff and other travellers.
89 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (89)

Questions? Get answers from Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“We LOVED the ocean view room!”
Sulleysgirl58, 25 Apr 2017 | Read review
“If you can afford it, pay for an ocean view.”
traveler222Irvine, 24 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Ocean View Suite!”
HarryAlanV, 24 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Ask for the original building. The extensions are nothing like the old charm over looking and listening to the surf with the windows opened.”
217joshb, 19 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Diamond wing is old”
foxak, 15 Apr 2017 | Read review
5 of 5