We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa

Show Prices
#25 of 84 Hotels in Honolulu
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

4,908 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa
See the most recent reviews
Showing 3,680: English reviews
Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 26 December 2013

We stayed here May 2012 for my birthday. We had an amazing experience at this hotel - it is just beautiful and in a prime location. We would definitely return. There are plenty of restaurants nearby. It is quite low key in Waikiki and I think Dukes bar (which was next to the Westin) was about the only lively place...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank sarahannspain
Moana S, Guest Experience Team at Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Aloha, Mahalo for your kind review. We feel so honored to have been a part of your birthday. We hope the moana memories created during your stay with us will last you a lifetime. We look forward to welcoming you back to the "First Lady of Waikiki" soon. Mahalo!

Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 26 December 2013

15 of us travelled to Hawaii for my in-laws 50th wedding anniversary. The Moana Surfrider is one of the most welcoming,friendly hotels I have ever had the pleasure of staying at. It's a really large hotel but you would never know it as everything is so well mapped out and easy to get to. We stayed on the 14th floor...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank funkyfamilyof5
Moana S, Guest Experience Team at Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Aloha, Mahalo for sharing your experience with us. We'd first like to thank you and your family for choosing to celebrate your in-laws 50th wedding anniversary at the Moana Surfrider. The central location allows guests to enjoy shopping outlets, restaurants and popular attractions all within a short walking distance. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Moana soon....

Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 26 December 2013

This is the second time I've stayed at the Moana Surfrider, Westin in Waikiki Hawaii and it was great once again. We stayed in the Diamond Wing facing the water and the views and access are excellent. With 2 interconnecting it was a great way to stay and relax. The rooms were a good size and recently renovated, although there...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank MichaelG959
Moana S, Guest Experience Team at Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Aloha Michael, Thank you for choosing to stay with the "First Lady of Waikiki". We are delighted to hear you have enjoyed our newly renovated Diamond Deluxe Ocean guestrooms which offer both sweeping views of Waikiki and modernized amenities. An additional feature of these rooms also include two rocking chairs to enjoy the pristine ocean views. Also, we are happy...

Honolulu, Hawaii
Reviewed 25 December 2013

This was my second time staying at this hotel. The first time, we were upgraded to ocean view room that was spacious and I could hear the sound of waves. This time, we booked last minute, so the room was small, with absolutely no view. But, the furniture in the room looked clean and impeccably arranged. The bathroom was tidy....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank dkim3
Moana S, Guest Experience Team at Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Aloha, Mahalo for your review. We are thrilled to hear that you had the opportunity to dine at our beachhouse restaurant and the Beach Bar. Being able to enjoy island-inspired cuisine under the canopy of the Banyan Tree while overlooking Waikiki Beach is an experience many of our guests have come to love. We look forward to welcoming you back...

Vancouver, Canada
Reviewed 21 December 2013

Stayed there during the busy weekend of the Marathon and was very impressed to say the least! The location is very central, the staff was very busy but friendly and the property itself is historic and stunning. This was one of the nicest Westin's I've stayed at given its unique personality. There were only 2 downsides to this property: 1...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank FaizalVancouver
Moana S, Guest Experience Team at Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Aloha, Mahalo for your review. We are delighted to hear you have enjoyed our Westin resort. We try to incorporate the rich history and the Hawaiian culture into our Westin brand which many of our guests find "unique" about our Westin property. We do apologize for your concern in regards to our Beach umbrellas, I have forwarded your comment to...

Minneapolis, Minnesota
Reviewed 20 December 2013

After being disappointed at other brand-name Waikiki hotels, the Westin was lovely - just what you would expect a Westin to be. The hotel was well located, clean, had nice amenities, a good work-out room and nice water views. The staff was very helpful and the restaurant (Bar 19) was very good. If there was a downside, the pool is...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank ESMSP
Moana S, Guest Experience Team at Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Aloha, Thank you for your wonderful comments. We are happy to hear you had enjoyed our amenities, location and accommodations. We have been receiving raving reviews from our guests about our newly renovated Westin WorkOut facility so am delighted to hear you had a chance to experience the facility. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Moana for...

Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewed 19 December 2013

This was our third visit to the Moana and again it didn't disappoint. Check-in staff were very welcoming and when we requested the same room we had on previous visits they were very accommodating.Breakfast on the verandah was first class with very friendly waiting staff. Our room in the historic Banyan Wing was very comfortable and kept very clean by...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank James W
Moana S, Guest Experience Team at Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Aloha James, Mahalo for your sharing your experience with us. Your review has been forwarded to our management team to recognize the individuals mentioned for their outstanding performance. Our associates are filled with the Aloha Spirit and will go out of their way to ensure our guests are well-taken care of. Please let us know if we can do anything...

Cairns, Australia
Reviewed 18 December 2013

We have really enjoyed our stay here. From the check in, food and beverages to the Spa, evverything has been wonderful. I would like to say that Tomoko at thee Spa is amazing. This lady really knows how to give a fabulous massage and she generally cares about your well beening. I had two massages in two days.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Topbabe
Moana S, Guest Experience Team at Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Aloha, Thank you for your kind review. Tomoko is one of our star associates so am glad to hear your acknowledgement of her. We will forward your review to the Spa Director so he may recognize her for her excellent customer service. Our oceanfront Moana Lani Spa allows our guests to rejuvenate their mind, body and spirit through tailored massages...

Denver, Colorado
Reviewed 17 December 2013

After researching many hotels in the Waikiki area my girlfriend and I decided on the Moana Surfrider...what a great choice! We stayed on the 17th floor in the Tower facing Diamond Head...there is nothing like waking up and going to bed with a terrific view of the ocean and Diamond Head...the room was clean and bed was comfy...the hotel is...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mays H
Moana S, Guest Experience Team at Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Aloha, Thank you for choosing to stay at the "First Lady of Waikiki" to celebrate your anniversary. We are delighted to hear you had enjoyed our gifts to help celebrate both your anniversary and your girlfriend's birthday. We always try to surprise and delight our guests. We hope you both have created Moana Memories of your visit with us and...

Balboa Island, California
Reviewed 16 December 2013

Went just before sunset to sit under the Banyan tree and listen to the Hawaiian music and watch the hula dancer. The mai tais did not seem to be as good as at the Halekulani. It seemed a bit more crowded than the Halekulani and, overall I would rate the experience at the Moana Surfrider not quite up to the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank WorldTraveler422
Moana S, Guest Experience Team at Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Aloha, Mahalo for your review. We do apologize for the delay in retrieving your vehicle. We do ask our guests to allow 20-30 minutes when using our valet since the parking garage is located across the street. During this time, guests tend to enjoy our rocking chairs fronting the hotel. Its allows you to enjoy a lazy afternoon watching Waikiki...

3,969 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (3407)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (290)
Viewed
View from Room (313)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (776)
Viewed
Room/Suite (452)
Viewed
Dining (123)
Viewed
Bathroom (93)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (4)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
0:15
Videos (3)
Viewed
Other (1352)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (508)
Viewed
Amenities (48)
Viewed
Banyan Classic City Room (109)
Viewed
Beach (38)
Viewed
Pool (22)
Viewed
Dining (93)
Viewed
Suite (19)
Viewed
The Hotel (161)
Viewed
Tower Premier Ocean Room (18)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (54)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (18)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (13)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (3)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (14)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Waikiki
Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort
Waikiki
Halekulani Hotel
Halekulani Hotel
#7 of 84 in Honolulu
2,459 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Waikiki
The Modern Honolulu
The Modern Honolulu
#4 of 84 in Honolulu
3,790 reviews
Waikiki
Aston Waikiki Circle Hotel
Hilton Waikiki Beach
#27 of 84 in Honolulu
4,189 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Beachfront
  • Spa
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
GreenLeadersSilver level
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Restaurant
  • Spa
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Welcome to the Moana Surfrider, a Westin Resort & Spa, in Waikiki Beach on Oahu, HI. Visit Moana Lani Spa; or host a wedding on our rooftop terrace, or a meeting in our 10,000sq ft of event space. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa

Address: 2365 Kalakaua Avenue, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-5041
Region: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu > Waikiki
Price Range: $430 - $731 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 791
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Starwood, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Moana Surfrider, a Westin Resort And Spa
Moana Surfrider, a Westin Hotel Honolulu
Westin Moana Surfrider
Moana Surfrider Westin Resort
Westin Honolulu
Honolulu Westin
Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa Hawaii/Honolulu
Hotel Style:
#9 Top resorts Hotel in Honolulu
#10 Spa Hotel in Honolulu
#13 Luxury Hotel in Honolulu
#15 On the Beach Hotel in Honolulu
#18 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
#22 Business Hotel in Honolulu
#31 Family Hotel in Honolulu
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa staff and other travellers.
89 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (89)

Questions? Get answers from Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Ask for a view of Diamondhead - SO WORTH IT!”
265kaits, 27 Apr 2017 | Read review
“There is a tower to this hotel with ocean and partial ocean views. We had full ocean, but were in the older part of the hotel; enjoyed it.”
efchapin, 26 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Ask for a court yard room ,view of the beach, able to relax in our room ,have a couple of drinks, listen to the music from the court yard”
  • Perfect location
nevillea458, 25 Apr 2017 | Read review
“We LOVED the ocean view room!”
Sulleysgirl58, 25 Apr 2017 | Read review
“If you can afford it, pay for an ocean view.”
traveler222Irvine, 24 Apr 2017 | Read review
5 of 5