We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa

Show Prices
#22 of 84 Hotels in Honolulu
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Professional photos
Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa
View Map
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}}}
Add Photo Write a Review

4,609 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa
See the most recent reviews
Showing 3,429: English reviews
Middletown
Reviewed 15 June 2013

The Moana Surfrider is by far in the best location. Walk out the back door and you are on the beautiful Waikiki beach. Walk out the front door and cross the street to the Market Place for plenty of shopping. Walk in either direction down the street for an abundance of food or shopping. We arrived early and our room...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank BluebirdNJ
MoanaSurfriderTeam, Guest Experience Team at Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Aloha, Thank you for sharing your experience with us. We are delighted to hear you enjoyed your Tower Wing guestroom here at “The First Lady of Waikiki.” Views of Waikiki Beach as seen from our Tower Wing are simply breathtaking and not to be missed. As you mentioned, we are located directly on the beach in the heart of Waikiki,...

Prosper, Texas
Reviewed 13 June 2013

As a million miler business traveller, I've come to develop high expectations; hence the reason I'm SPG Platinum. This is my first trip to Oahu and while for business, I brought my wife along as well. The check in staff was very courteous. I had booked a Banyan City View room and was told he was upgrading me to the...

 Report
Helpful?
5Thank McKinney_Couple
MoanaSurfriderTeam, Guest Experience Team at Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Aloha, Thank you for sharing with us and for being a loyal member of our Starwood Preferred Guest Program. We are sorry to hear of your concerns and we sincerely apologize for not meeting your expectations. While many of our guests prefer our intimately sized Banyan Wing guestrooms for they are charming and most representative of the Hawai’i of yesteryear,...

Northern California
Reviewed 11 June 2013

As experienced travelers, we were disappointed with the amenities in the room. We upgraded our room just for the larger bathroom, but it was tiny. The counter space was minimal for even two people. The room with a king-sized bed was large, but there was only one chair in the room, and no table with chairs to dine in the...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank letmebeme
MoanaSurfriderTeam, Guest Experience Team at Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Aloha, Thank you for sharing with us and for being our guest. We are sorry to hear of your concerns and we apologize for any inconveniences you encountered while staying with us. As you mentioned, one of the elevators in our Tower Wing is under renovation and will be ready for use by the end of June. Our WIFI is...

Perth, Australia
Reviewed 9 June 2013

Our experience of this hotel did not start well, our check in day was the day of an annual event on the main street of Waikiki and all roads surrounding the hotel were closed. We had driven down from the North Shore and had no idea this was happening, after countless diversions we had to ring the hotel and ask...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Yallingupkk
Moana S, Guest Experience Team at Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Aloha, Thank you for sharing with us and for being our guest. We are sorry to hear you encountered traffic on your way to the Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa, as a result of an event being held on Kalakaua Avenue. We apologize for not informing you of the event in advance. We are pleased to know you...

Sydney
Reviewed 8 June 2013

We travelled with 3 other couples to celebrate a special occasion. Every single one of us had great diffuclty and frustration at check-in; from the room not being ready (even by guaranteed 3pm), to be moved from original checked in room, to the front desk having no information of us travelling together (despite email evidence to the hotel which they...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank madkat16
MoanaSurfriderTeam, Guest Experience Team at Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Aloha, Thank you for sharing with us and for being our guest. We are sorry to hear you experienced difficulties while checking in and for that we sincerely apologize. However, we are pleased to know that you enjoyed your partial ocean view guestroom. Views of Waikiki Beach from our Tower Wing are breathtaking and not to be missed! We are...

Auckland Region, New Zealand
Reviewed 7 June 2013 via mobile

This place is amazing! You will spot allot of weddings come through for photos it's that beautiful. The beach is very nice and the water has such a nice blue color. The night life is great on this street and tons of great resturants close. We had two rooms, one in the old section which was really nice and then...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank krtnz
MoanaSurfriderTeam, Guest Experience Team at Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Aloha, Thank you for sharing with us and for being our guest. We are pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay here at “The First Lady of Waikiki” and we are happy to know you were able to experience guestrooms in both the historical Banyan Wing and our newly renovated Tower Wing. Many of our guests prefer our intimately sized...

Manila, Philippines
Reviewed 7 June 2013

Location The location of this hotel is beachfront and very central. Everything you need is a stone's throw away but this has a disadvantage. The lobby and beach areas are always crowded and full of people. If you want some quiet time, this is not the hotel for you. Bus stop is also a little far from the hotel and...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank redrose1001
MoanaSurfriderTeam, Guest Experience Team at Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Aloha, Thank you for sharing with us and for being our guest. As you mentioned, we are centrally located on the beach in Waikiki, providing our guests with easy access to all that Kalakaua Avenue has to offer. We aim to provide a relaxing haven in the heart of Waikiki remind our guests of a simpler time with services like...

Nashua, NH
Reviewed 7 June 2013

We first visited the Moana in the late nineties and loved it so much that now we always stay there a few nights before going on to the other islands. This time we brought friends who have never been to Hawaii and we were a little disappointed. I certainly don't need a lei greeting but our friends did and never...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank NHTina
Moana S, Guest Experience Team at Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Aloha, Thank you for sharing with us and for being our guest. We are sorry to hear of your concerns and we apologize for not meeting your expectations from the past. We value your feedback for it gives us the opportunity to improve upon our guests’ experience. Here at “The First Lady of Waikiki” we try to individualize our guests’...

Reviewed 6 June 2013

Right from the start we were given a room upgrade to the full ocean view which was mainly a view of the magnificent tree in the centre of the courtyard, but non the less a great view! This hotel is in the middle of all the action and in the heart of the shopping centre.great for late night walks and...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank seanola
MoanaSurfriderTeam, Guest Experience Team at Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Aloha, Thank you for such a wonderful review! We are thrilled to hear you had a magnificent stay here at “The First Lady of Waikiki.” Our credo is “First Lady, First Class” and we are delighted to know you were treated like royalty. If you haven’t before, please join us for Afternoon Tea on the Veranda for a truly charming...

Reviewed 4 June 2013

The hotel is about a 25-30 minute cab ride from the airport. The cab ride can by pricey so I would recommend booking a transportation service (if you don't mind making a couple stops but you will probably pay less--do your research). When arriving at the hotel I was immediately greeted and welcomed. Check-in took a few minutes but the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank JonnyBlaze777
MoanaSurfriderTeam, Guest Experience Team at Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Aloha, Thank you for sharing with us and for being our guest. As you mentioned, we are located on the beach in Waikiki which is about a 25 minute drive from Honolulu International Airport. There is a Starwood airport shuttle service which serves the four Starwood Properties in Waikiki and is run by Roberts Hawai’i. Reservations can be made online...

3,661 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (3098)
Viewed
View from Room (292)
Viewed
Dining (114)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (694)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (264)
Viewed
Room/Suite (427)
Viewed
Bathroom (88)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (4)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
0:15
Videos (3)
Viewed
Other (1211)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (508)
Viewed
Amenities (48)
Viewed
Banyan Classic City Room (109)
Viewed
Beach (38)
Viewed
Pool (22)
Viewed
Dining (93)
Viewed
Suite (19)
Viewed
The Hotel (161)
Viewed
Tower Premier Ocean Room (18)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (55)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (18)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (5)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (11)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (14)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Waikiki
The Modern Honolulu
The Modern Honolulu
#2 of 84 in Honolulu
3,509 reviews
Waikiki
Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Waikiki
Halekulani Hotel
Halekulani Hotel
#4 of 84 in Honolulu
2,349 reviews
Waikiki
Trump International Hotel Waikiki
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Beachfront
  • Spa
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
GreenLeadersSilver level
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Restaurant
  • Spa
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Welcome to the Moana Surfrider, a Westin Resort & Spa, in Waikiki Beach on Oahu, HI. Visit Moana Lani Spa; or host a wedding on our rooftop terrace, or a meeting in our 10,000sq ft of event space. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa

Address: 2365 Kalakaua Avenue, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-5041
Region: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu > Waikiki
Price Range: $456 - $911 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 791
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Starwood, HotelsforEveryone, Orbitz and Jetsetter so you can book your Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Moana Surfrider, a Westin Resort And Spa
Moana Surfrider, a Westin Hotel Honolulu
Westin Moana Surfrider
Moana Surfrider Westin Resort
Westin Honolulu
Honolulu Westin
Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa Hawaii/Honolulu
Hotel Style:
#8 Top resorts Hotel in Honolulu
#9 Spa Hotel in Honolulu
#12 Luxury Hotel in Honolulu
#13 On the Beach Hotel in Honolulu
#18 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
#22 Business Hotel in Honolulu
#31 Family Hotel in Honolulu
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa staff and other travellers.
67 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (67)

Questions? Get answers from Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Room 1465 partial view of the ocean, however can be loud due to the Duke restaurant live bands every night. We like music so did not mind”
 of 5 bubbles ssengthavy, 5 Dec 2016 | Read review
“get an oceanview if you want it to be extra special”
 of 5 bubbles 234paulap, 30 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Try to get a room with a view on the side away from the Outrigger Hotel.”
 of 5 bubbles SDLHK, 28 Nov 2016 | Read review
“A little bit more for ocean view, but it's worth it”
 of 5 bubbles noncorteccia, 25 Nov 2016 | Read review
“I think most of the rooms here would be more than acceptable.”
 of 5 bubbles PeterYensen, 22 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay