We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa

Show Prices
#23 of 84 Hotels in Honolulu
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Professional photos
Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

4,612 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa
See the most recent reviews
Showing 3,432: English reviews
Hawthorne, New Jersey
Reviewed 4 September 2013

some rooms, like ours had a less than great view, BUT this place reeks of class. top shelf service and attention. location is a bit congested (downtown honolulu (waikiki)) but a great great place. the beach bar has very good pub like food and the bar itself is fun. good attractions close by, like dukes, and a great view of...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank ken and karen r
Moana S, Guest Experience Team at Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Aloha, Mahalo for your inquiry and for being our guest. As you may know, we were the first hotel built in Waikiki and continue to convey a sense of old world charm in this modern day in age. We are located directly on Waikiki Beach with the ocean’s edge just a few steps from the hotel lobby. Many local attractions...

Dayton, Ohio
Reviewed 4 September 2013

You'll like EVERYTHING! Go just for the cocktails in the Banyon Courtyard. Great location~! Premier facility. The perfect stopover on your way to Kauai. Excellent hotel dining. Service and all Hotel amenities are first rate. No disappointments here.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank RCMills05
Moana S, Guest Experience Team at Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Aloha, So happy to hear you enjoyed the Beach Bar nestled underneath our iconic banyan tree. Our Banyan Courtyard has been a treasured spot for entertainers and visitors for over a hundred years and it is no wonder why. With shade from the canopy of leaves above and fresh ocean breezes, the ambiance and overall character is unparalleled. We offer...

South Jersey, NJ
Reviewed 4 September 2013

Food was really good and well prepared for breakfast. Don't miss the afternoon tea, it was relaxing and fun. The accommodations were very well kept and the room was very large. We had a pool and ocean view. The one negative is the chair situation for the beach. I have been to many beach resort areas and I can not...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Kevins2ndMom
Moana S, Guest Experience Team at Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Aloha, Thank you for taking the time to share with us. We are so happy to hear you enjoyed your time spent here at “The First Lady of Waikiki.” As you mentioned, we offer a daily Afternoon Tea service where guests can enjoy fine teas and pastries and relish in the elegant surroundings. Our tea service has been a tradition...

Santa Rosa
Reviewed 4 September 2013

The room was very small but quaint... quiet... but the nightlife was great! the grounds were to die for and the view... what can I say about the view... breathtaking!!! being able to have a cup of coffee on the beach, then swim with turtles... doesn't get any better...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Kelley M
Moana S, Guest Experience Team at Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Aloha, Thank you for sharing with us. We are delighted to hear you had a wonderful time here at the Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa. As you may know, we were the first hotel built in Waikiki and offer historical accommodations in our Banyan Wing that are most representative of “old Hawai’i.” Our historical guestrooms are intimately sized...

Reviewed 4 September 2013

The hotel is very central and closely located to shops. It's in the heart of Waikiki beach, the hotel is located on the beach. Service was great, rooms where very clean. The pool area is a bit small but with the beach right at our door step you don't need the pool.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Jouj77
Moana S, Guest Experience Team at Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Aloha, Thanks for sharing your thoughts with us. As you know, we are located directly on the beach in the heart of Waikiki with many great shops and restaurants on one side of the hotel and Waikiki Beach on the other. The Honolulu Zoo and the Waikiki Aquarium are both about a mile away and Diamond Head Crater is only...

Newburgh, Indiana
Reviewed 4 September 2013

My wife and I enjoyed 4 days at the Surfrider and it is a grand old hotel, the contrast of walking out the back onto the beach and walking out the front is amazing! The front leads to 24 hour non stop pace of traffic both vehicle and foot, the world market and more shops than can be imagined. The...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Drumming333
Moana S, Guest Experience Team at Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Aloha, Thanks for sharing your recent experience with us. Here at the Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa, we try to remain a calming oasis amongst our surroundings. As you mentioned, bustling Kalakaua Avenue is on one side of “The First Lady of Waikiki” while the calming waters of Waikiki are on the other. Many shops and restaurants are...

Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 September 2013

My mum and I stayed there in 2008 as part of our World Trip. As soon as we arrived we were treated like royalty. We were welcomed into the Hotel with beautiful Leis and refreshing drinks. The Hotel room was absolutely immaculate, and the view was spectacular overlooking the beach and the pool. The bed was so comfy is was...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Steph W
Vancouver, Canada
Reviewed 3 September 2013

The customer service was amazing and the hotel was beautiful. The ocean view rooms were stunning and very large with the most comforting bed ever! You can also rent out beach chairs on the prime beach location which can get very crowded. They also have a lovely terrace that I ate breakfast every morning while over looking the ocean.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank cmac791
Moana S, Guest Experience Team at Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Aloha, Thanks for sharing with us. We are so happy to hear how much you enjoyed your time spent here at the Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa. Customer service is of the utmost importance to us and we are pleased to hear you experienced amazing service. As you mentioned, we offer daily beach umbrella rentals where guests can...

Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 3 September 2013

This hotel was beautiful. The reviews I read prior to booking did not do it justice. Staff were friendly and helpful. The location was excellent, close to shopping and beach. Rooms in the tower wing were spacious and clean. My only criticism would be the check in process - expect to take luggage to room yourself. I suppose being such...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Nat354
Moana S, Guest Experiene Team at Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Aloha, Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts with us. We are delighted to hear how much you enjoyed your recent stay at “The First Lady of Waikiki.” We were the first hotel built in Waikiki and set the precedent for Hawaiian hospitality over a hundred years ago. We continue to convey a sense of old world...

Reviewed 2 September 2013

There's a lot going on with music and the beach and the location in the heart of Waikiki, but they mange to keep some calm areas. We had one of the noisier rooms on the street, 2nd floor but slept pretty well every night. Street commotion starts about 6:00 am, so they could use some double pane windows to reduce...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank troutmask69
Moana S, Guest Experience Team at Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Aloha, Mahalo for sharing with us and for being our guest. We are so sorry to hear you experienced slight noise disturbances while staying with us and we sincerely apologize for the discomfort. Waikiki has become a popular destination for many travelers, however we try to remain a calming haven for our guests. Our guestrooms are furnished with Westin Heavenly...

3,690 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (3127)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (713)
Viewed
View from Room (292)
Viewed
Dining (114)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (264)
Viewed
Room/Suite (427)
Viewed
Bathroom (88)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (4)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
0:15
Videos (3)
Viewed
Other (1221)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (508)
Viewed
Amenities (48)
Viewed
Banyan Classic City Room (109)
Viewed
Beach (38)
Viewed
Pool (22)
Viewed
Dining (93)
Viewed
Suite (19)
Viewed
The Hotel (161)
Viewed
Tower Premier Ocean Room (18)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (55)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (18)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (5)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (11)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (14)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Waikiki
The Modern Honolulu
The Modern Honolulu
#2 of 84 in Honolulu
3,515 reviews
Waikiki
Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Waikiki
Halekulani Hotel
Halekulani Hotel
#5 of 84 in Honolulu
2,350 reviews
Waikiki
Trump International Hotel Waikiki
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Beachfront
  • Spa
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
GreenLeadersSilver level
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Restaurant
  • Spa
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Welcome to the Moana Surfrider, a Westin Resort & Spa, in Waikiki Beach on Oahu, HI. Visit Moana Lani Spa; or host a wedding on our rooftop terrace, or a meeting in our 10,000sq ft of event space. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa

Address: 2365 Kalakaua Avenue, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-5041
Region: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu > Waikiki
Price Range: $427 - $899 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 791
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, HotelsforEveryone, Hotels.com, Priceline, Starwood, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Moana Surfrider, a Westin Resort And Spa
Moana Surfrider, a Westin Hotel Honolulu
Westin Moana Surfrider
Moana Surfrider Westin Resort
Westin Honolulu
Honolulu Westin
Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa Hawaii/Honolulu
Hotel Style:
#8 Top resorts Hotel in Honolulu
#9 Spa Hotel in Honolulu
#12 Luxury Hotel in Honolulu
#13 On the Beach Hotel in Honolulu
#18 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
#22 Business Hotel in Honolulu
#31 Family Hotel in Honolulu
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa staff and other travellers.
67 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (67)

Questions? Get answers from Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Room 1465 partial view of the ocean, however can be loud due to the Duke restaurant live bands every night. We like music so did not mind”
 of 5 bubbles ssengthavy, 5 Dec 2016 | Read review
“get an oceanview if you want it to be extra special”
 of 5 bubbles 234paulap, 30 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Try to get a room with a view on the side away from the Outrigger Hotel.”
 of 5 bubbles SDLHK, 28 Nov 2016 | Read review
“A little bit more for ocean view, but it's worth it”
 of 5 bubbles noncorteccia, 25 Nov 2016 | Read review
“I think most of the rooms here would be more than acceptable.”
 of 5 bubbles PeterYensen, 22 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay