We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa, Waikiki Beach

Save
Share
2365 Kalakaua Avenue, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-5041
Lowest prices for your stay
Hotel direct offer!Unlock Member Rates!
Expedia.com
Westin.com
Traveluro
USD 487
View deal
Hotels.com
Booking.com
Orbitz.com
View all 20 deals
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (4860)
360
Panoramas (4)
Videos (2)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitised in high-temperature wash
  • Face masks required for guests in public areas
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Floors marked for social distancing
  • Hand sanitiser available to guests & staff
  • Regularly sanitised high-traffic areas
Read more
Updated 13/04/21 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa, Waikiki Beach
Updated 13/04/21 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#36 of 93 in Honolulu
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travellers' Choice
GreenLeaders Silver level
Welcome to the Moana Surfrider, a Westin Resort & Spa, a Waikiki Beach a resort in Honolulu, Hawaii located in the heart of Waikiki near shopping, dining and entertainment. Visit Moana Lani Spa; or host a wedding on our rooftop terrace, or a meeting in our 10,000sq ft of event space. We offer a beautiful and amenity-filled oceanfront luxury setting right on Waikiki Beach.
Read more
Property amenities
Electric vehicle charging station
Pool
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Beach
Evening entertainment
Children's television networks
Highchairs available
Valet parking
Paid public parking nearby
Pool / beach towels
Outdoor pool
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Kids' meals
Outdoor dining area
Snack bar
Special diet menus
Wine / champagne
Poolside bar
Taxi service
Business Centre with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Spa
Couples massage
Facial treatments
Foot massage
Full body massage
Hand massage
Head massage
Makeup services
Manicure
Massage
Pedicure
Salon
Steam room
Waxing services
24-hour security
Baggage storage
Concierge
Convenience store
Currency exchange
Executive lounge access
Gift shop
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
Shops
Sun terrace
Sun umbrellas
24-hour check-in
24-hour front desk
Express check-in / check-out
Clothes dryer
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Washing machine
Shoeshine
Show more
Room features
Bathrobes
Air conditioning
Desk
Interconnected rooms available
Private balcony
Coffee / tea maker
Cable / satellite TV
Bidet
Safe
Seating area
Telephone
VIP room facilities
Wardrobe / wardrobe
Clothes rack
Iron
Laptop safe
Private bathrooms
Tile / marble floor
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
Radio
iPod docking station
Bath / shower
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Ocean view
City view
Landmark view
Pool view
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Classic
Romantic
Languages Spoken
English
Hotel links
Special Offer:Unlock Member Rates!
6504Reviews151Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 3,277
  • 1,775
  • 747
  • 361
  • 345
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
Leland R wrote a review Yesterday
Beverly Hills, California2 contributions
Location = amazing, Rooms = good, Restaurant = great, Team Members = make the whole experience superior. From Jasmine in Guest Service to every single person we encountered at the front desk, in the restaurants, housekeeping, pool staff, and bar staff; they made our honeymoon the most memorable experience of our lives. Thank you, everyone!
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022
Rooms
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Wendy P wrote a review 20 May
1 contribution
+1
We stayed 4 nights at the Moana Surfrider for our 24th anniversary before going onto Maui. What a wonderful place to stay! Our room had a huge veranda/balcony overlooking a beautiful ocean view. We left our sliding glass door open all night to fall asleep to the sound of waves crashing onto the beach! Breakfasts were amazing and loved the beautiful banyan tree all lit up at night. Right in the middle of all the shopping but can easily get away from the crowds by just coming through to the beach. Highly recommend!!
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022Trip type: Travelled
Helpful
Share
Response from Team Marriott, Guest Services / Front Office at Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa, Waikiki Beach
Responded 3 days ago
Aloha wendypV4324QE, Mahalo for choosing Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa, Waikiki Beach, to celebrate your 24th anniversary and for taking the time to share your excellent review. It is gratifying to know you loved our rejuvenating, historic hotel and your invigorating guestroom featuring scenic ocean views. We are also elated to read about your enriching breakfast experience and that our optimal beachfront location within walking distance of Honolulu's most beloved shopping worked well for you. Mahalo once more for recommending us to future guests, and we look forward to hosting you and your spouse again for another revitalizing stay. Mahalo, Guest Experience Team Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa moanasurfriderexperience@westin.com 808-922-3111
Read more
Stephanie H wrote a review 19 May
1 contribution
I come to hawaii once a month for work and have stayed at multiple hotels in Waikiki and the moana surfrider. It Is the only hotel where I feel at home. I’m only a gold member and the other Marriott’s have been so off putting as I’m not a titanium or ambassador member. Moana has always taken care of me and the staff has been phenomenal from the restaurant staff, house keeping, bell desk, valet to the towel stand. This is the only place I now stay and look forward to coming back every month
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022Trip type: Travelled
Helpful
Share
adrianconstant3 wrote a review 19 May
Fresno, California3 contributions3 helpful votes
+1
It's hard to describe the perfection of this hotel. The location is pure magic, saying it's right on the beach doesn't do it justice. The grounds are magical, the customers are pure class, the service is simply outstanding. A big shot out to Craig and the other guys at the pool bar. The rooms, the decor, just everything works to perfection. It's classy, old money, but doesn't feel stiff or dated. It's in the middle of all the best Waikiki has to offer. Highly, highly, highly recommended on one hand, on the other hand I am jealous and reluctant to give you this secret.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022Trip type: Travelled
Room Tip: Get a room with a balcony, it's worth it. But if you don't, you will still have an awesome time
See more room tips
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Team Marriott, Guest Services / Front Office at Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa, Waikiki Beach
Responded 3 days ago
Aloha adrianconstant3, Mahalo for the enlivening review of your stay at Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa, Waikiki Beach, and for recommending us to future travelers. Known as the "First Lady of Waikiki," our hotel opened in 1901, and we enjoy hearing from our guests about how much they love the historic architecture and rejuvenating accommodations. We focus on providing genuine and thoughtful service along with a seamless blend of Victorian elegance and contemporary comfort; we appreciate your acknowledgment of our efforts. We will certainly share your generous remarks with our associates, especially Craig, for the work that they are doing daily. It is also a pleasure to read your kind comments about our dynamic beachfront location and beautifully designed landscaping. We look forward to welcoming you again for another exceptional experience. Mahalo, Guest Experience Team Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa moanasurfriderexperience@westin.com 808-922-3111
Read more
Leesa J wrote a review 18 May
4 contributions1 helpful vote
My husband and I and our family and friends recently stayed at the Moana Surfrider for our wedding week in Honolulu. The location was great for everyone to be able to do their own thing when there were no planned activities, and the hotel lobby served as a great place for us to convene daily. I chose to stay here for the location, the penthouse suite (beautiful views of the ocean and Diamond Head), and the historical aspects of the main hotel building (in the hotel alone, I was able to get a great variety of wedding photos that looked as if I was at multiples venues). Everyone who worked at the Surfrider was very friendly and helpful. From the kind guy who helped check us in (I didn't get his name) to Hendrik Werner, the guest services manager, everyone tried to make sure we had a good experience. Keola Makaiau went out of his way to help me put the hotel rooms on my Marriott credit card after I made the mistake of not increasing my credit limit before leaving for the trip. He probably spend 30-45 minutes helping me, and was successful in getting my purchase on the desired card. It was obvious he is a real asset to the lobby staff not only for his knowledge, but his kind demeanor as well. I hosted my micro-wedding reception on the 6th floor garden/lanai area of the main building. Jillian Tamaru coordinated everything perfectly, and the event completely exceeded my expectations. Curtis Kamiya from Mango Season Weddings played the guitar and sang during the dinner and reception (he is a preferred vendor at the hotel...I highly recommend him). He and Jillian had worked together and were able to communicate about setup without any effort from my end. The space was perfect for our group of 17 and the food and service were excellent. Following my stay the the Surfrider, I even bought a $65 shirt at the gift shop so I can be reminded of my dream wedding week on a regular basis (I rarely buy $65 shirts). Thank you Moana Surfrider for giving me some wonderful memories that my family and I will cherish forever.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022
Rooms
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Traveler101 wrote a review 17 May
Sydney, Australia15 contributions1 helpful vote
We had two rooms at this beautiful resort right in the heart of Waikiki. We spent 4 nights here. The decor is absolutely stunning. Heritage timber floors, white clad walls with large windows overlooking the azure ocean with plantation shutters you can open to let the sea breeze in. The Banyan tree in the main courtyard on the beach side of the hotel is gorgeous. It offers shade and style. They light it in the evening and it is just beautiful. There is generally music in this area at night which I loved falling asleep to (this might bother some people). The pool was obviously built at the time of the hotel's construction as it is tiny in comparison to how many guests there were. We never got a pool chair so had to sit on a fence under the tree to supervise our four kids properly. It was fine as that was shadier anyway. Again, this could be problematic for some people. The food was good. The cafe near the pool was surprisingly nice and convenient for tea, pineapple dole whip, easy breakfast etc. The hotel doesn't have security stopping anyone from walking through the front doors or the from the beach into the bar/restaurant areas. This provides them with external customers for their food and beverage outlets but could be a security risk for guests. It also means hotel guests face competition in order to find a restaurant / cafe / bar seat. The High Tea looked special. I was too full to do it but would recommend it just for the view and the idea of High Tea.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022
Rooms
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: You have to get one in the heritage part of the hotel and facing the azure ocean
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from Team Marriott, Guest Services / Front Office at Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa, Waikiki Beach
Responded 3 days ago
Aloha ssH6799NS, Mahalo for taking the time to tell us about your stay at Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa, Waikiki Beach. We are glad you highlighted some of the excellent features of our rejuvenating, historic hotel and that you were pleased with our delicious food and optimal beachfront location. We also appreciate you mentioning our Surfrider Cafe and recommending Afternoon Tea at The Veranda to future guests. Having said that, we regret any inconvenience you experienced due to our pool being small and with the lack of pool chairs. We are unable to expand and place additional chairs due to property limitations. We are grateful for every comment that helps us advance our guest experience. We look forward to another opportunity to host you and your family again on your next visit to our beautiful island. Mahalo, Guest Experience Team Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa moanasurfriderexperience@westin.com 808-922-3111
Read more
Carl R wrote a review 16 May
Horseheads, NY, United States3 contributions
My wife and I spent last two days of our vacation here. Service, drinks, and food were all great. The view from our room was beautiful looking down on the beach. Hotel is also centrally located to stores and restaurants. I will definitely come again.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022Trip type: Travelled
Helpful
Share
capat wrote a review 13 May
California131 contributions57 helpful votes
Not great. Incredibly small pool with very few chairs to lounge. Guests are forced to line up at 6:30 AM to rush and grab chairs when the pool opens…not relaxing. Hotel definitely needs a better system to manage this fairly. They don’t enforce the 1 hour policy where people just leave towels thrown on empty chairs to claim them. Restaurant and bar are very overpriced. Rooms could use updating. On the plus side, Isaac at the towel desk is awesome. The housekeeping ladies were also very friendly and professional. That’s where the good news ends. TLDR: If you want a busy large hotel with a pool and food and drinks, this is your spot. If you want quiet adult relaxation, definitely look elsewhere.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022Trip type: Travelled
Room Tip: Skip the pool chair madness and just take a towel to the beach for an ocean swim instead.
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from Team Marriott, Guest Services / Front Office at Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa, Waikiki Beach
Responded 2 weeks ago
Aloha capat, Mahalo for evaluating your stay at our hotel. Our focus is on exceeding the expectations of our guests; therefore, we regret the inconvenience you experienced due to our pool being small and with the lack of pool chairs. We are unable to expand and place additional chairs due to property limitations. Furthermore, we are sorry that you felt our guestrooms needed updating. We work hard to maintain enhanced, refreshing accommodations, and we will share your valuable notes with the appropriate individuals responsible for our future modernization plans. On a positive note, we are glad to know you were pleased with our thoughtful associates, particularly our housekeeping team and Isaac. We are grateful for your patience and every comment that helps us strengthen and advance our guest experience. We hope you will give us another chance the next time you visit the Waikiki Beach area. Mahalo, Guest Experience Team Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa moanasurfriderexperience@westin.com 808-922-3111
Read more
robbiec1123 wrote a review 13 May
london31 contributions57 helpful votes
Went here for our honeymoon- beautiful hotel but a lot of improvements could be made. These were our negatives. We spent $4k to stay here for our honeymoon yet if you want a sunbed round the pool you have to get up early due to people leaving towels on them and disappearing until later in the day If you want a sunbed on the beach these are an extra $80 A DAY!! The ones which have four posts and a curtain attached are $200!! So for us even spending $4000 to stay at the hotel it seemed we were lower class and laid on the beach with sand blowing on us. One night we went to sit in the main bar area where the piano / music is played- with our coffees that we just bought at the hotel outside bar and was told the seats were only for people spending a two drink minimum- our coffees didn’t count - again we were made to feel like the poor lower class guests. The last other thing was breakfast. We had complimentary continental breakfast and the servers were very quick to point out it only included one drink and not lattes - again $4K spent to stay there and I can’t have a bit of steamed milk in my coffee. I just think that’s very mean and poor form. Maybe the managers making these rules should concentrate on the cleanliness as the restaurant could do with a dust. Things were way overpriced in the hotel which I would expect but $12 for a (non alcoholic) frozen kona coffee from the pool bar. TWELVE DOLLARS!! All in all nice hotel way overpriced
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022Trip type: Travelled
Helpful
Share
Response from Team Marriott, Guest Services / Front Office at Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa, Waikiki Beach
Responded 2 weeks ago
Aloha robbiec1123, Mahalo for choosing us to celebrate your honeymoon and for taking the time to share your review. We are glad to know you loved our rejuvenating, historic hotel and that you both had an overall pleasant stay with us. However, we are sorry for not meeting some of your expectations. Furthermore, we regret that you were disappointed with the cost of your visit and the inconvenience you endured at our pool, bar area, and restaurant. We are grateful for your patience and each of your comments as we continually strive to strengthen and advance our guest experience. We hope you and your spouse will reconsider staying with us again, as we would welcome an opportunity to show our commitment to enhanced hospitality. Mahalo, Guest Experience Team Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa moanasurfriderexperience@westin.com 808-922-3111
Read more
CMurphy128 wrote a review 12 May
Charleston, South Carolina20 contributions3 helpful votes
We stayed in the original building in the hotel with a direct beach front view of Waikiki! Would definitely recommend upgrading to beach view as it is very worth it! Room was small but sufficient. On site restaurant is good (a little expensive, but to be expected) Great location to shopping, food, and beaches! Staff was great!
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022
Rooms
Cleanliness
Service
Room Tip: Best views in the original building
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from Team Marriott, Guest Services / Front Office at Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa, Waikiki Beach
Responded 3 days ago
Aloha CMurphy128, Mahalo for your kind review of Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa, Waikiki Beach. We are happy to read you were pleased with our thoughtful associates and your guestroom featuring scenic beach views. It is also gratifying to know that you enjoyed our enhanced resort amenities and unbeatable beachfront location, just steps from the breathtaking shores of Waikiki beach and within walking distance of Honolulu's most beloved shopping, dining, and entertainment attractions. We appreciate your feedback and look forward to seeing you again soon. Mahalo, Guest Experience Team Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa moanasurfriderexperience@westin.com 808-922-3111
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
USD 449 - USD 562 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
moana surfrider, a westin hotel honolulu, moana surfrider, a westin resort and spa, westin moana surfrider, moana surfrider westin resort, westin honolulu, honolulu westin
LOCATION
United StatesHawaiiOahuHonoluluWaikiki
NUMBER OF ROOMS
791
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa, Waikiki Beach
Which popular attractions are close to Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa, Waikiki Beach?
Nearby attractions include Saint Augustine by-the-Sea (0.5 km), Mai Tai Bar at Royal Hawaiian Hotel (0.2 km), and Rock-A-Hula (0.4 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa, Waikiki Beach?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include a pool, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
Which room amenities are available at Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa, Waikiki Beach?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa, Waikiki Beach?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and a poolside bar during their stay.
Is parking available at Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa, Waikiki Beach?
Yes, paid public parking nearby, secured parking, and valet parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa, Waikiki Beach?
Conveniently located restaurants include STRIPSTEAK Waikiki, Island Vintage Shave Ice, and Paia Fish Market.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa, Waikiki Beach?
Yes, guests have access to a pool and a fitness centre during their stay.
Are any cleaning services offered at Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa, Waikiki Beach?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa, Waikiki Beach offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business centre, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Are there any historical sites close to Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa, Waikiki Beach?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Experience Nutridge (4.4 km), Iolani Palace (4.7 km), and Shangri La (3.9 km).
Does Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa, Waikiki Beach have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the harbour view available here.