We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Aston Waikiki Sunset

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Aston Waikiki Sunset
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,353 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 991: English reviews
Start your review of Aston Waikiki Sunset
 Click to rate
Clearlake
Reviewed 1 week ago

Waikiki is so expensive, but this hotel was less than a lot of the others, but still within walking distance of Waikiki. Room was spacious and clean. Full kitchen was nice, and we enjoyed the lanai with our peekaboo ocean view. Only issue was the AC had a short cycle (turn on and run for a few mins, turn off...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank mauilover2006
AA H, General Manager at Aston Waikiki Sunset, responded to this review

Thank you for your 5 star review! We are so glad you enjoyed our great location, your room accommodations, full kitchen and lanai view. We're sorry to hear your AC was not running properly and will share your review with our management for future improvements. It will be a pleasure to welcome you again in the future! Aloha and mahalo.

Delmar, Maryland
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We found that this was a great place to stay. we stayed 7 days . We were on the the upper floor and the view was great Diamond Head and Waikiki Beach. It is so close to everything we did not need a car. The staff were great, Jen at the front desk really help us with places to have...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank laurel f
HM S, General Manager at Aston Waikiki Sunset, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, Laurel. We're so glad to hear you enjoyed your room-with-a-view and received warm service from our staff. We'll be happy to share your kind words with Jen at the front desk, and are thrilled to know that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you again in the future. Aloha and a hui hou!

Providence, Rhode Island
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I'm unsure who previous guests dealt with. All staff were courteous and polite during our month long stay. Yes the building could use sprucing. (They were steam cleaning hall carpets while we were here). But its not dirty at all. It was the perfect vacation! Location is great! View was to die for! Kitchen was super convenient, too. We were...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank waterfreak2017
HM S, General Manager at Aston Waikiki Sunset, responded to this review

Aloha and thank you for your review! We're so happy to hear you had a wonderful experience during your stay with us and that you received friendly service from our excellent staff as well as enjoyed your room, view, and location. We look forward to welcoming you again soon. Mahalo!

Harker Heights, Texas
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

This place was perfect for a month long stay. Having a full kitchen is always a plus as it gets old eating out everyday. The rooms were clean and the staff extremely friendly. I will consider this place if returning.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Thomas P
DougOkada, Manager at Aston Waikiki Sunset, responded to this review

Aloha Thomas P, Thank you so much for your positive comments and scores on our friendly service, full kitchen and your overall experience with us! Many our guests take advantage of the cooking food on their own instead of always eating out every day. Not only does it save money but some of our guests have food allergies which having...

Orlando, Florida
Reviewed 15 February 2017

The rooms by the elevators have a lovely view on the upper floors but are extremely noisy and it is all night long, It is ignorable if you are a heavy sleeper but we switched as we were there for a long time. The upper floors present wonderful views all around and we had views of the fireworks on New...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank PeteyDOrlando
DougOkada, Manager at Aston Waikiki Sunset, responded to this review

Aloha PeteyDOrlando, Mahalo for taking the time to share with our readers about your stay with us. I'm very happy to hear that you and your family enjoyed the location and serviced you received. I’m sorry to hear that your original room was too noisy but we are so glad that we could move you to another room that you...

Reviewed 14 February 2017 via mobile

Very old, outdated & needs a general facelift in all areas..especially the pool. The rooms felt like you were stepping back in time to the late 70's. Dosent look at all like the pics on the Internet. Kitchen was good..bathrooms lousy. Small unusable balcony. If you can afford it..stay in something newer.. View to Diamond Head was great being on...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Pauline T
DougOkada, Manager at Aston Waikiki Sunset, responded to this review

Aloha Pauline T, Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your stay. I do want to apologize on our part regarding your thoughts on our public area. We are in discussions with the Building Condominium Association on a lobby and public area renovation to enhance the property. I'm happy to hear that you enjoyed your view...

Las Vegas, Nevada
Reviewed 8 February 2017

I always stay here whenever I go back to Honolulu.. Yes its not the resort type of place with fancy amenities but why break your bank on your room when you come to Hawaii for paradise and all the islands have to offer.. I love this place because it feels just like your own condo.... it has a bedroom, living...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Selena N
DougOkada, Manager at Aston Waikiki Sunset, responded to this review

Aloha Selena N, Mahalo for your kind words regarding your recent stay with us. I'm very happy to hear that you enjoyed our accommodations, location and service. Yes, our property is very spacious especially if you are traveling with family or a larger group. We are planning renovations to our lobby and public area to enhance our property but we...

Reviewed 7 February 2017 via mobile

The front desk service was so unfriendly and rude. They need tranning for customer service. Also they are very late to orgarnaize. It makes long line to wait by someone who want checkin/out They never answer the front phone from room. Dirty room. I felt that sand while I stayed. Their cleanning condition was not good. Too old fashioned condo...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank JW P
DougOkada, Manager at Aston Waikiki Sunset, responded to this review

Aloha JW P, As a guest, we value your feedback regarding your recent experience with us. We regret to learn of your disappointing experience and sincerely apologize for the underwhelming stay. We were not aware that you were stuck in the elevator and sincerely apologize for your experience. We want to improve our services and for all our guests. Thank...

Reviewed 2 February 2017 via mobile

My husband turned 50 and to celebrate I booked a surprise trip for the family in Hawaii. The Aston is an older style building with 38 levels, it was clean comfortable and well located. If you what luxury this is NOT the place. If you what value for your hard earned money STAY here.Yes I would happily stay there again.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Sue R
DougOkada, Manager at Aston Waikiki Sunset, responded to this review

Aloha Sue R, Mahalo for your positive comments regarding your recent stay with us. I'm very happy to hear that you enjoyed your visit and Happy Belated 50th Birthday to your husband. We look forward to having another opportunity of accommodating you and your family during your next visit to our beautiful island or celebrating another special occasion. Mahalo!

Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 30 January 2017

The only good thing about this hotel was the view from our room and Shaun the concierge. The other staff were miserable and not helpful at all. If they were asked a question the response was " I don't know sorry". The carpet in the room was disgusting and smelt. The hotel is in need of a good clean. Will...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank teambatten
DougOkada, Manager at Aston Waikiki Sunset, responded to this review

Aloha teambatten, Thank you for sharing your experience with us. We regret to learn of your disappointing experience and sincerely apologize that we failed to meet your expectations. We appreciate you taking the time to provide feedback, as it allows our Management team to review and improve the hotel for our future guests. Warmest Aloha. Mahalo!

767 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (731)
Viewed
Dining (19)
Viewed
View from Room (122)
Viewed
Room/Suite (184)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (75)
Viewed
Bathroom (26)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (18)
Viewed
1:54
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (286)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (36)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (11)
Viewed
Room/Suite (19)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Hilton Waikiki Beach
#24 of 84 in Honolulu
4,099 reviews
Waikiki
Aston Waikiki Circle Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Waikiki
Pacific Beach Hotel
Pacific Beach Hotel
#47 of 84 in Honolulu
3,164 reviews
Park Shore Waikiki
#21 of 84 in Honolulu
1,289 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Tennis Court
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Microwave
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Paid Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Paid Internet
Services
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Enjoy spectacular views of Diamond Head, the blue Pacific, or the Honolulu city lights. Well-suited to families and centrally located in a quiet residential neighborhood just over one block from famous Waikiki beach, this resort offers relaxed island-style living in spacious one and two-bedroom suites with complete kitchens and private lanais. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Aston Waikiki Sunset

Address: 229 Paoakalani Ave, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-3796
Region: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu
Price Range: $271 - $404 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Aston Waikiki Sunset 3*
Number of rooms: 435
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Aston Waikiki Sunset reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aston Waikiki Sunset Hotel Honolulu
Resort Quest Waikiki Sunset
Waikiki Sunset Hotel
Aston Waikiki Sunset Hawaii/Honolulu
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Aston Waikiki Sunset staff and other travellers.
26 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (26)

Questions? Get answers from Aston Waikiki Sunset staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Upper floors are very quiet the elevators can be slow at check-in time. Ask for a room at the end of the hallway.”
 of 5 bubbles laurelf538, 28 Feb 2017 | Read review
“front rooms are brighter and not as windy”
 of 5 bubbles waterfreak2017, 27 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Upper floors, Higher up-Better views.”
 of 5 bubbles PeteyDOrlando, 14 Feb 2017 | Read review
“ocean view makes your mornings every more happier”
 of 5 bubbles selenan2017, 7 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Protect your personal belongings, do not leave out where there is temptation”
 of 5 bubbles locwell, 13 Jan 2017 | Read review
5 of 5