We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

Holiday Surf Hotel

2303 Ala Wai Blvd, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-2692
avatar-imageavatar-imageavatar-image
Traveller (118)
Room & Suite (26)
Dining (8)

View prices for your travel dates

Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.

About

#77 of 91 hotels in Honolulu
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value

Finding an ideal budget friendly hotel in Honolulu does not have to be difficult. Welcome to Holiday Surf Hotel, a nice option for travellers like you.

Holiday Surf Hotel offers guests an array of room amenities including a kitchenette, a refrigerator, and air conditioning, and getting online is possible, as free wifi is available.

The hotel offers a concierge, sun umbrellas, and beach chairs, to make your visit even more pleasant. Guests arriving by vehicle have access to paid private parking available on-site.

Close to some of Honolulu's most popular landmarks, such as Statue of Duke Kahanamoku (0.3 mi) and Waikiki Beach Walk (0.3 mi), Holiday Surf Hotel is a great destination for tourists.

Honolulu has plenty of Chinese restaurants. So when you’re here, be sure to check out popular spots like P.F. Chang's, Yauatcha Waikiki, and Fook Yuen Seafood Restaurant, which are serving up some great dishes.

Should time allow, Hale Koa: Iolani Barracks is a popular castle that is relatively easy to get to.

Holiday Surf Hotel puts the best of Honolulu at your fingertips, making your stay both relaxing and enjoyable.

Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Paid private parking on-site
Free internet
Wine / champagne
Tennis court offsite
Water park offsite
Strollers
Baggage storage
Concierge
Car park
Wifi
Vending machine
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
Sun loungers / beach chairs
Sun umbrellas
Laundry service
Washing machine
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Safe
Bottled water
Coffee / tea maker
Kitchenette
Bath / shower
Hair dryer
Iron
Microwave
Refrigerator
Show more
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
2.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Centrally Located
Languages Spoken
English, Filipino
207Reviews5Q+A37Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 37
  • 67
  • 43
  • 20
  • 40
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Sort by:
Most Recent
avatar-image
Sabrina A wrote a review Aug 2023
1 contribution
It is the second time my husband and I go back to the Holiday Surf hotel! I went in 2021 and now again from August 2 to August 22, 2023. There is air conditioning in the room accessible elevators, very good security with the locking of the outside doors as of 9 PM and most importantly, excellent service.! Rooms are nice and clean, staff is friendly, and Patrick the owner is extremely helpful. I will be going back again the next time I go to Hawaii! Excellent pricing for the lication. 10 minute walk to Waikiki beach, main strip and allll the restaurants!
Read more
Date of stay: August 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
VisitorZYX wrote a review Jan 2023
2 contributions
Although the kitchen appliances were older, everything was quite clean and in proper working order, and we made good use of the oven and stove. We live in a large city and weren't bothered much by the kids revving engines on Ala Wai Blvd, but this might be an issue for some. Sound-proof windows could help. We got along fine with the manager, who provided us with a regular supply of clean, fresh towels and lent us beach gear, which we appreciated.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2023
Value
Location
Service
Room Tip: Better views of canal from 5th and 6th floor, quieter on southwest corner.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Kasia Kosekca wrote a review Aug 2022
11 contributions1 helpful vote
We were very excited about our trip to Hawaii. Unfortunately, we chose the wrong place to stay. The island is beautiful but every time we came back to this hotel we got angry. The rooms weren’t clean, the air- conditioning was out of order and was fixing 3 days. We paid for breakfast, but food was so awful that we had to eat out. The owner is rally unpleasant man who doesn’t accept any comments and when we told him about food or dirty room he wated us to leave his place!
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022
Rooms
Cleanliness
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Patrick Chun, General Manager at Holiday Surf Hotel
Responded 23 Oct 2023
We're sorry that you were angry during your entire visit to our fair island, but your comments lead us to believe you have mistaken us for somewhere else. We can't confirm whether you were actually our guest but our rooms are reported as being very clean by the majority of our reviews and if we had something that was reported out of service we'd move you if we couldn't fix it. You could not have paid us for breakfast even if you wanted to, since we don't offer breakfast. Our rooms come with its own kitchen, so anything eaten here are prepared by yourself or purchased elsewhere. Mahalo from the state of Hawaii!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Patrycja C wrote a review Aug 2022
3 contributions3 helpful votes
This hotel in a very bad condition. We got really distasteful breakfast and the owner is a rude man e cares only how to make tourist pay more for his poor service – that’s all I can say abut this place. I would never choose it again as there are a lot of nice and cheaper hotels around.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Patrick Chun, General Manager at Holiday Surf Hotel
Responded 23 Oct 2023
Our sympathies that you didn't enjoy your visit in Hawaii, but it seems that you have confused us with somewhere else. What stands out in your review the most is that we're not a B&B and we have never provided breakfast so it's unlikely that anything in your review actually pertains to us. Our rooms have full kitchens so anything you eat here you would have been prepared by yourself or purchased elsewhere so we are sorry that you did not find your own meal palatable. Mahalo from the state of Hawaii!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Sarah Reyna wrote a review May 2021
Los Angeles, California7 contributions4 helpful votes
Amazing staff!! Great view of the mountains and water off the canal with a large mini kitchen and lots of space. Big closet and big shower. We were two sisters and my 7 yr old niece. They lent us everything we could possibly need during our stay! For both the beach and for the room. Chairs, umbrellas, towels, laundry, dishwashing . Would come back ! Again, great staff, so accommodating and kind.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Jerris M wrote a review Jan 2020
1 contribution2 helpful votes
Our room was on the 5th floor, great view from patio. Front office staff, very specially the manager was extremely accomodating. House keeping staff very pleasent and we had a cleaned up room every day of our stay. Great location. The rates were very reasonable .We stayed 6 days on 2 occations during our 2 week stay in Oahu. We were sad to leave, but look forward to returing and staying at the Holiday Surf Hotel any day we return ti the Islands.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2019
Value
Location
Service
Room Tip: The upper floors are great, and quiet with a great view of the canal amongst other interesting...
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Teresa L wrote a review Jan 2020
2 contributions2 helpful votes
I took a weekend vacation by myself and next time will take the family and would stay again. Upgraded room at no cost, very clean, great room service. Helped me with directions and trolley information. Even called for shuttle service for me to get me back to the airport. Highly recommend this hotel. Great view of the canal right in front. 5 stars from me
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Laurie R wrote a review Sept 2019
Wellington, New Zealand19 contributions39 helpful votes
I was supposed to stay at HS Apartments but when dropping my bags off at Holiday Surf Hotel the Saturday receptionist said i could stay at either as both properties were handled from there and they would have a room ready earlier, so far so good she even booked my airport shuttle for the following Friday, i thought it was a pity they had five or six receptionists as only three had the slightest bit of interest in getting out of their chair and taking two steps to the desk to talk, with the young girl saying "i cant hear you" and "i don't understand what you're talking about" when i was trying to explain the note and where it was at the desk regarding my shuttle pick up time. After a couple of days i asked if the maintenance man could check my room as neither televisions nor USB port didn't work, on the forth day i saw him downstairs and asked him myself and he followed me to the room then and there, he got one going to a fashion with vertical lines running through it but the cable was at fault and remote had leaking batteries in the bedroom and USB port didn't work. I'm not sure of the "white noise" but did get a lot of road noise and i was on top floor, you could even hear pedestrians, over six days room was never vacuumed once and forgotten totally one day. I have since sent two emails to the hotel asking what the extra charge is showing on my bank statement added by them but after two weeks still no response. BTW a room safe would have been nice, and A/C was very loud in rm 603.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2019
Value
Cleanliness
Service
Room Tip: I certainly wouldn't stay here again, after four visits this was the worst hotel.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Daisy D wrote a review May 2019
10 contributions11 helpful votes
Excellent value very clean hotel. Excellent service. Tyey will store luggage free on departure date. Convenient location 2 blocks from beach and all restaraunts and shopping. Large room ours was painted like a sky w clouds beautiful. Parking underground
Read more
Date of stay: April 2019Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Michele K wrote a review Jan 2019
Duncan, Canada1 contribution
Although this property is rated as a 2 or 3 star hotel, our experience was definitely a 5. An older hotel, the staff and inside accommodations were far beyond our expectations. From check in to check out, they went above and beyond to make us comfortable and feel at home. Highly recommend this property for anyone that would like to make their stay less expensive than the traditional prices in Waikiki. We will stay with Walter, Patrick and the team there for all future stays in Waikiki.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2018
Rooms
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Previous
123456
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Honolulu area.
PRICE RANGE
AU$309 - AU$735 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
holiday surf honolulu
LOCATION
United StatesHawaiiOahuHonoluluWaikiki
NUMBER OF ROOMS
34
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

HOLIDAY SURF HOTEL: 2024 Prices & Reviews (Honolulu, HI) - Photos of Hotel - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Holiday Surf Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to Holiday Surf Hotel?
Nearby attractions include International Market Place (0.3 km), Waikiki Sunset Cruise with Live DJ (0.4 km), and Waikiki Beach Walk (0.4 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Holiday Surf Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include laundry service, free internet access, and a concierge.
Which room amenities are available at Holiday Surf Hotel?
Top room amenities include a kitchenette, air conditioning, and a refrigerator.
Is parking available at Holiday Surf Hotel?
Yes, a parking garage and paid private parking on-site are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Holiday Surf Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include Ramen Akatsuki, Tempura Kiki, and STRIPSTEAK Waikiki.
Are any cleaning services offered at Holiday Surf Hotel?
Yes, laundry service and a washing machine are offered to guests.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Holiday Surf Hotel?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and Filipino.
Are there any historical sites close to Holiday Surf Hotel?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Iolani Palace (4.5 km), Shangri La (4.1 km), and US Army Museum of Hawaii (0.9 km).