We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Stay Hotel Waikiki

2424 Koa Ave, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-6200
Special Price
Pay Now & Save: 50%
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
1 room, 2 adults, 0 children
1 room, 2 adults, 0 children
More options
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Show Prices
Close 
  • Statue of Duke Kahanamoku
    0.1 km
  • 3 star hotel
  • Free Wifi
Reviewed 5 days ago
Good hotel for the price
Stayed here with my wife for 4 nights to start off our week long... more
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel"},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

739 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 655: English reviews
Honolulu, Hawaii
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Our stay was horrible. The Wifi simply didn't work and when we called the front desk about it they said just wait a while and if we didn't connect then they could refund our amenities. We called again the next morning when it still didn't work and they gave us a password to a different network that also didn't work....

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Kristin W
Carolyn P, General Manager at Stay Hotel Waikiki, responded to this review

Aloha Kristin W, Thank you for sharing your thoughts about your stay on multiple review channels such as Google + where I previously addressed the concerns you highlighted in your review here. To reiterate, while I am very sorry that we did not meet your expectations in both form and function, I am grateful that we will be moving towards...

Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Room clean and airy. Stayed one night and it was absolutely fine. Staff very friendly and helpful. Asked for an early check in and got in to room 3 hrs early. Thank you! Shops and restaurants all around great location

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kate J
Carolyn P, General Manager at Stay Hotel Waikiki, responded to this review

Aloha Kate J, Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. I am happy to hear that you had an enjoyable experience all around, and I hope that we have the pleasure of seeing you again in the near future. Mahalo nui loa, Carolyn Pinho General Manager Stay Hotel Waikiki

Calgary, Alberta
Reviewed 5 days ago NEWvia mobile

Stayed here with my wife for 4 nights to start off our week long honeymoon in Honolulu. We were given a room on the 4th floor which didn't have a balcony. Not a huge issue since we didn't really spend a lot of time in the room. Overall the room was OK. It was older and could use a renovation,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank sabad66
Carolyn P, General Manager at Stay Hotel Waikiki, responded to this review

Aloha Sabad66, Thank you for taking the time to share your review of our property, and congratulations to you and your wife on your recent nuptials! We are honored that you chose us as a base camp for your island honeymoon. I am so very happy to hear that you enjoyed your time, and I hope that we have the...

Reviewed 5 days ago NEWvia mobile

Room was clean, very basic, pictures are deceiving. The biggest issue is how loud it was. Street noise was horrible and began at 5 am. Wouldn't stay here again. The staff at desk, however were great, the stars are for them. I only stayed 1 night so I made it work.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Becky B
Carolyn P, General Manager at Stay Hotel Waikiki, responded to this review

Aloha Becky B, Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts. While I am very sorry to hear that we did not meet your expectations, I am happy to know that you enjoyed the hospitality of our staff. Thank you again for your feedback; any and all is always welcome. Mahalo nui loa, Carolyn Pinho General Manager Stay...

Portland, Oregon
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

When I travel to Hawaii, I never like to spend much on the hotel because I'm literally never there except for sleeping. This hotel has a great front desk staff and a lost of options like mats, chairs and umbrellas you can check out and bring to the beach with you. The rooms are basic...nothing fancy. But the beds/pillows are...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Taylor V
Carolyn P, General Manager at Stay Hotel Waikiki, responded to this review

Aloha Taylor, Thank you for taking the time to share your review. It's refreshing to hear you say that you used your time on island to enjoy the best that it has to offer, which is how a truly successful and memorable visit to Hawai'i should be. I am happy to hear that you enjoyed the hospitality of our team...

Montreal, Canada
Reviewed 5 days ago NEWvia mobile

We have stayed at Stay Hotel in Waikiki beach for 6 nights . The hotel has a good location, 2 steps from the beach and from the strip on Waikiki beach. A lot of stores near the hotel, very good coffee available 24 hours in the lobby, beach towel, other accessories for the beach. Some problems with the internet but...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank NicoSP14
Carolyn P, General Manager at Stay Hotel Waikiki, responded to this review

Aloha NicoSP14, Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. While I am sorry that you experienced some intermittent connectivity issues with our wifi, I am happy to report that in the coming weeks, with our system upgrade, we should see an end to the spottiness. I am always happy to hear that our Front Desk team share...

Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Perfectly located right by Waikiki beach . Rooms were clean, beds comfortable and staff helpful and efficient . We were a Family of six, and with the money we paid were happy with the hotel. What we saved by staying here instead of the more expensive hotels we were able to do lots of activities , swimming (cage) with the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tracy B
Carolyn P, General Manager at Stay Hotel Waikiki, responded to this review

Aloha Tracy B, Thank you for taking the time to review your stay. I am so happy to hear that you found the best of what to see and do on O'ahu and that you chose our hotel to be your clean, comfortable, and friendly base camp. I am excited to share that we'll be upgrading our wifi system in...

Perth, Australia
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

1. Front desk staff weren't friendly or helpful. One staff member could not read the local bus timetable or even point us in the direction of the closest supermarket. 2. The rooms are nothing like the photos at all. 3. There were no windows, only shutters which meant that the room was constantly noisy and it was impossible to sleep...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank SteveMaask
Carolyn P, General Manager at Stay Hotel Waikiki, responded to this review

Aloha SteveMaask, Thank you for taking the time to share your review. We have a fresh team in place, and they are excited about refining their knowledge base so that they may be able to provide our guests with top level customer service. Thank you for your patience as we get to that point. We are looking forward to updating...

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

The hotel room is not like the pic. Needs updating and minor repairs. Staff was nice. Rm 808 has very loud. Sounds penetrated the wall. Not sure what is was and we were not near an elevator. The room was clean even though it lack in appearances. The shower head needed cleaning from hard water. Our flight got in late...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sandra H
Carolyn P, General Manager at Stay Hotel Waikiki, responded to this review

Aloha Sandra H, Thank you for taking the time to share your review and for choosing our hotel for your short stay on island. I appreciate you letting us know where we can make important improvements to our unit, and I will be sure to share your feedback with our maintenance team in order to make this happen. We are...

Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

To those of you who have submitted bad reviews, I regret not reading them sooner. I experienced all 5 of the major complaints from previous reviewers. First, you will not be acquiring that room you think you paid for when you book the hotel, the reality does not imitate the pictures on the website. When I asked the staff, they...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Butsi
Carolyn P, General Manager at Stay Hotel Waikiki, responded to this review

Aloha Butsi, Thank you for sharing your thoughts about your stay. As a seasoned traveler, it is refreshing to know that you did your research in advance of your visit to our property and therefore knew from our reviews and my responses to them that you were aware that we are in a period of significant transition. While we have...

259 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (238)
Viewed
Room/Suite (66)
Viewed
Bathroom (26)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (39)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
View from Room (12)
Viewed
Other (88)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (21)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (10)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Aqua Ohia Waikiki
#70 of 84 in Honolulu
281 reviews
Waikiki
Waikiki Prince
Waikiki Prince
#36 of 84 in Honolulu
741 reviews
Waikiki
OHANA Waikiki East Hotel
OHANA Waikiki East Hotel
#41 of 84 in Honolulu
1,663 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Shoreline Hotel Waikiki
#18 of 84 in Honolulu
1,279 reviews
Vive Hotel Waikiki
#8 of 84 in Honolulu
1,960 reviews
Waikiki
Waikiki Resort Hotel
Waikiki Resort Hotel
#37 of 84 in Honolulu
1,436 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Breakfast included
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Breakfast included
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Located in the heart of Waikiki Beach, Stay Hotel Waikiki is within a block of the ocean and the International Market Place. Also nearby are shopping on Kalakaua Avenue, the Honolulu Zoo and Diamond Head. We offer a 24-hour business center with free use of our business center computers. In addition, Stay Hotel Waikiki provides complimentary wireless Internet access. Some rooms include balconies with views. All guestrooms feature flat-panel televisions with cable channels. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Stay Hotel Waikiki

Address: 2424 Koa Ave, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-6200
Region: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu
Price Range: $176 - $262 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Stay Hotel Waikiki 3*
Number of rooms: 68
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, HostelWorld, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Stay Hotel Waikiki reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stay Waikiki Hotel Honolulu
Stay Hotel Waikiki Hawaii/Honolulu
Hotel Style:
#30 On the Beach Hotel in Honolulu
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Stay Hotel Waikiki staff and other travellers.
11 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (11)

Questions? Get answers from Stay Hotel Waikiki staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Save money by checking out beach towels, mats and things like umbrellas from front desk.”
 of 5 bubbles taylorv2017, 19 Jan 2017 | Read review
“All rooms appear to face other buildings and roof tops. I don't believe there is a good view from any room.”
 of 5 bubbles tracymarsha, 2 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Better to get a room on the floors above 4.”
  • Tub not caucked correctly. Tile painted by white paint.
  • air conditioner above bed. Window faces street. Noise hotel behind.
  • When you walk in this is the bed. Only 1 side table. Power switch not working. Window facing str
  • light and usable power switch on light. Does not turn on from wall switch.
  • Sink was never cleaned the 1 week visit. Still had paint on the sides.
  • picture showing wall with closet
 of 5 bubbles randyr638, 23 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Try to get a room on the 6th floor or above, and the largest room available. Worth upgrading.”
 of 5 bubbles dmvalleza, 21 Oct 2016 | Read review
“The higher the room floor, the softer the outside street noise is.”
 of 5 bubbles Doctabunk, 19 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5