We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Surfjack Hotel & Swim Club

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
The Surfjack Hotel & Swim Club
View Map
{"widget":{"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"name":"ibex_photo_carousel"},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

342 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 310: English reviews
Start your review of The Surfjack Hotel & Swim Club
 Click to rate
Reviewed yesterday NEW

Surfjack isn't the largest hotel and it doesn't have beach views but its staff have a heart of gold and the pool is gorgeous and I couldn't rate it highly enough. From the moment we arrived to be greeted like old friends, settled into our room in minutes, given advice on getting around town, when to go and what to...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Audent
Vancouver
HOTEL’S FAVOURITE REVIEW
Reviewed 15 March 2017

I did a last minute booking for a stopover on the way to New Zealand from Canada, and was really just looking for a reasonable place to sleep for a couple of nights, near the heart of things. The Surfjack well exceeded our expectations. We had a couple of one-bedroom suites which were roomy, airy, light and beautifully decorated. We...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank FairviewVancouver
About Hotel's Favourite Review
AA H, General Manager at The Surfjack Hotel & Swim Club, responded to this review

Aloha and thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience. We're beyond thrilled to hear we exceeded your expectations and that you and your family enjoyed our spacious and comfortable accommodations. We're pleased to know that you received excellent service from our incredible staff and we'll be sure to share your compliments with them. We truly appreciate...

sydney
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

If you're looking for an alternative to the generic corporate hotels at Waikiki and one with a little style and character then Surf Jack is easily your best (only) option. The renovated hotel has been done exceptionally well. Our bungalow suite room couldn't have been better designed and with great style. The bed was amazing and I haven't slept so...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank mrrplanner
AA H, General Manager at The Surfjack Hotel & Swim Club, responded to this review

Aloha! Thank you so much for sharing your review. We are so thrilled to hear you had a wonderful vacation and enjoyed our ideal location, laid back island atmosphere, dining options, and especially our comfortable beds! We are very sorry to hear about this misplacement of your chromecast and the inconvenience and disappointment this caused you. We do hope to...

Miami Beach, Florida
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

I tend to take stellar reviews with a grain of salt. I had been given the name of Surfjack by colleagues who had stayed there a couple months before, and after reading all the reviews I booked two nights starting a 10 day Hawaii vacation. To put it mildly, this hotel is amazing! From the moment I walked in after...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
1Thank mickimicki
AA H, General Manager at The Surfjack Hotel & Swim Club, responded to this review

Aloha and thank you for your review! We are so thrilled to hear your vacation stay here at The Surfjack was fabulous from beginning to end, and that you enjoyed your accommodations, our hotel amenities, dining options, and welcoming staff. You are welcome at our island oasis any time! Mahalo.

Vancouver
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

This was our first visit to Honolulu and we were a large party with 4 rooms. When planning the trip, we had the typical concerns of first time tourists and spent many hours looking through reviews and pictures of most other Waikiki hotels. In the end, we chose the Surfjack due to a combination of location/room quality/price, and we were...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Fukui123
AA H, General Manager at The Surfjack Hotel & Swim Club, responded to this review

Aloha! Thank you so much for your wonderful review. It makes us happy to learn you enjoyed your stay here at The Surfjack. We're thrilled to hear our ideal location, comfortable rooms, stellar hotel amenities, and most importantly our friendly staff helped to make your vacation memorable from beginning to end. We can't wait to welcome you on your next...

Los Angeles, California
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

My husband and I stayed here for 3 nights in early April, and enjoyed every minute of it. We usually stay at one of the bigger luxury hotels (Royal Hawaiian, Kahala Resort, The Modern), but thought we'd give SurfJack a try. It's now our go-to, and will definitely be back. The small property was charming, and very "un-corporate" - little...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Princessdreaa
AA H, General Manager at The Surfjack Hotel & Swim Club, responded to this review

Thank you for sharing your wonderful review! We are absolutely thrilled to hear The Surfjack has become your go-to vacation spot and that you enjoyed our island oasis. It makes us very happy to hear our staff took great care of you, and that you also enjoyed your comfortable accommodations and a delicious meal at Mahina & Sun's! We would...

Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

The pool area is so inviting as the central focal point to the hotel entry. For the pricing the accommodation is charming and the bed linen provides the perfect support for a long sleep to revive you from jet lag. The staff were warm, friendly and made me feel totally comfortable as I was travelling on my own for my...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank M Ruth M
AA H, General Manager at The Surfjack Hotel & Swim Club, responded to this review

Aloha! Thank you very much for your 5 star review. It is thrilling to hear you enjoyed vacation with us at The Surfjack and that we could be our island oasis home for a relaxing vacation. We will also be happy to pass your kind words along to Dexter, Sal and Robbie for their exceptional service, and we can't wait...

Canberra, Australia
Reviewed 5 days ago NEWvia mobile

If you want to have a really relaxing, amazing holiday with all the comforts of home plus more - go no further than the Surf Jack in Wakaii. Huge thanks to Dexter, Robbie, Sue, Sara, Jo Ann & all the staff for a fantastic holiday. We had a 3 bedroom apartment & nothing was too much effort. The hotel is...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Justine R
AA H, General Manager at The Surfjack Hotel & Swim Club, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, Justine! We are so happy to hear that your stay was a wonderful experience, and that staff like Dexter, Robbie, Sue, Sara, and Jo Ann helped to make you feel right at home. We will be ready and waiting to welcome you on your next Waikiki vacation! Aloha and a hui hou.

Dorchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

We had a fantastic stay at the Surfjack which exceeded our expectations. The staff had a great attitude - friendly, welcoming and helpful. We loved the hotel's relaxed atmosphere, great décor, clean rooms, lovely pool area, excellent coffee, great bar and restaurant, good music.... We enjoyed it so much we returned at the end of our trip to spend our...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Karen B
AA H, General Manager at The Surfjack Hotel & Swim Club, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind review, Karen! We are so happy to hear your vacation was a wonderful experience and that our corner of paradise was an island oasis for you. It's great to know that our staff took great care of you, and we can't wait to give you another warm welcome sometime soon. Aloha and mahalo!

Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

We had an incredible 5 night stay at the Surfjack Hotel. We stayed in a one bedroom suite and it was absolutely perfect for our little family. The staff were friendly, helpful and went above and beyond to make our stay fabulous. The room amenities were excellent, plenty of space, comfortable beds and one of the best bathrooms/showers we have...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank melissafB796KQ
AA H, General Manager at The Surfjack Hotel & Swim Club, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, Melissa! WE are so happy to hear your 5 night vacation was a wonderful experience and that our hotel amenities and friendly staff helped you to feel right at home here at The Surfjack. It will be a pleasure to welcome you again sometime. Aloha and mahalo!

309 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (265)
Viewed
Bathroom (15)
Viewed
Room/Suite (33)
Viewed
View from Room (15)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (22)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (34)
Viewed
Dining (17)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Other (127)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (44)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (41)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Waikiki
The Modern Honolulu
The Modern Honolulu
#4 of 84 in Honolulu
3,790 reviews
Waikiki
Trump International Hotel Waikiki
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Waikiki
Vive Hotel Waikiki
Vive Hotel Waikiki
#13 of 84 in Honolulu
2,176 reviews
Waikiki
Halekulani Hotel
Halekulani Hotel
#7 of 84 in Honolulu
2,459 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
  • Free Internet
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Room Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
An authentic Waikiki experience awaits you at this vibrant new hotel located in the center of the action. With handcrafted design elements, surf-culture throwback & modern touches, you'll feel the energy of Waikiki at the Surfjack Hotel & Swim Club. The Surfjack is home to stylish apparel shop, Olive & Oliver, and Mahina & Suns, renowned chef Ed Kenney's newest eatery. Guests also gather at the Swim Club - our outdoor pool and sun deck area where we share cultural programs and unique events as you sip on a cocktail (or two) and maybe jump into the pool because the moment was oh, so right. The Surfjack Hotel & Swim Club offers renovated bungalow style guest rooms, in addition to spacious one, two, and three-bedroom suites. Each charming guest room includes air-conditioning, a refrigerator, The Indigenous Soap Company® Hand Soap and a private balcony. The feel of open space and the handcrafted style in decor creates a sense of curiosity and serves to inspire adventure. The Surfjack is situated in the heart of Waikiki and offers easy access to prime shopping such as world famous International Market Place, dining and nightlife, and is located just three easy blocks to Waikiki beach. From morning surf sessions to sunset catamaran cruising - it really is an endless summer. For the moments in-between sand & sun, take a short drive to the art and culture communities of Kaka'ako, Downtown Honolulu and Chinatown for a true urban-Honolulu experience. Join us and immerse yourself in the ebb and flow of the Surfjack, a swell little spot in Waikiki. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Surfjack Hotel & Swim Club

Address: 412 Lewers Street, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815 (Formerly Hokele Suites Waikiki)
Region: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu > Waikiki
Price Range: $290 - $451 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Surfjack Hotel & Swim Club 3.5*
Number of rooms: 112
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, HotelsforEveryone, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Surfjack Hotel & Swim Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castle Hokele Suites Waikiki Hotel Honolulu
Castle Hokele Hotel Waikiki
Castle Hokele Resort Waikiki
Hokele Suites Waikiki
The Surfjack Hotel & Swim Club Hawaii/Honolulu
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Honolulu
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Surfjack Hotel & Swim Club staff and other travellers.
21 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (21)

Questions? Get answers from The Surfjack Hotel & Swim Club staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“The non-waikiki facing side which we were on seemed much quieter”
mrrplanner, 27 Apr 2017 | Read review
“low floors will have balcony adjacent to parking garage”
Fukui123, 26 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Excellent value”
mruthm, 24 Apr 2017 | Read review
“I think all the rooms probably have some sort of view of that pool but you might want to ask for a good view...”
marthalena, 17 Apr 2017 | Read review
“1-bedroom suites are great for couple and 1 other as rooms have two separate lockable entrances into bathroom”
Richtraveller24, 15 Apr 2017 | Read review
5 of 5