We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

White Sands Hotel

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
White Sands Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

653 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 548: English reviews
Start your review of White Sands Hotel
 Click to rate
Bethel, Alaska
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

stayed here in April, staff was very friendly. room was clean, no bugs. only wifi in lobby or around the pool. No elevators limited parking. coffee maker toaster microwave and a few cooking supplies available in the room. dvd rental is available in the hotel. vending machines also available.

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Eskimo_99559
Coromandel, New Zealand
HOTEL’S FAVOURITE REVIEW
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

NO COCKROACHES! We stayed here for 8 nights and didn't spot one little beasty of any decription at all..We had lunch in the garden with a Brazilian Cardinal though.. Don't be fooled this is a Budget hotel,but it's got a good front desk staff & atmosphere.. A Tropical Internal garden surrounds the pool and offers a bit of privacy to...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Phil P
About Hotel's Favourite Review
Speers Point, Australia
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Four of us stayed for 2 nights before our cruise. 1 room was not ready til 4.45pm. Check in was 3pm. Rooms were OK. Bathroom was very old & rough. Bed was comfortable. The Staff were the highlight of this motel. All were very nice. You get what you pay for. It was cheap, it did us for 2 nights.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Michelle E
Honolulu
Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

The hotel is in a good location and has a pool and jacuzzi. Also they are pet friendly with a fee. The staff is very nice but the rooms are terrible!! The throw pillows were filthy and hole in the walls had been patched but not painted. Mold in the shower and carpets were filthy. I made it one night...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Scott G
AA H, General Manager at White Sands Hotel, responded to this review

Aloha Scott and thank you for sharing your review. We are pleased to know you enjoyed our ideal location and that you received excellent service from our friendly and helpful staff. We are very disappointed and embarrassed to hear about the state in which you found your room, and apologize for your discomfort and inconvenience. This is not the standard...

Reviewed 20 March 2017

This hotel is in great location and very centrally located, close to shops and restaurants and only about 6-7 min walk to Waikiki Beach.The staff are are very friendly but the room we had (and I'm pretty sure it is representative of them all) was really pretty dirty, the stove top especially around he switches was caked in old cooking...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank sandmaitken
AA H, General Manager at White Sands Hotel, responded to this review

Aloha and thank you for taking the time to share your review. We're delighted to hear you enjoyed our ideal location and received excellent service from our friendly and helpful staff. We are very sorry to hear that your overall stay was less than exceptional, and apologize for the state in which you found your room. We are dedicated to...

West Jordan, Utah
Reviewed 18 March 2017 via mobile

This is not even worthy of 1 star. It was in a sketchy part of town, a bar right next door where the language was only swear words, it smelled like vomit. The the rooms were old, dirty and hot. Our shuttle driver asked us if we picked this hotel? We said no it was part of a package and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank evansmaza
AA H, General Manager at White Sands Hotel, responded to this review

Aloha and thank you for taking the time to share your review. We are very sorry to hear that your stay was less than satisfactory, and apologize for the state in which you found your room. We are dedicated to a high standard of cleanliness for our guests and are embarrassed to hear that this was not your experience. We...

Lucenec
Reviewed 17 March 2017

The hotel craves for refurbishing! we had to switch the room because the first was very smelly (probably former smoking room). The wifi is available in lobby only. Parking is convenient and for good price. it is definitely a budget hotel, with very friendly staff and kitchen amenities.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank marian l
AA H, General Manager at White Sands Hotel, responded to this review

Aloha Marian, and thank you for sharing your review. We're delighted to hear you received excellent service from our friendly and attentive staff and that you enjoyed our amenities. We appreciate your feedback as we are always striving to improve the guest experience. Mahalo for staying with us and we hope to welcome you back again soon.

Hong Kong
Reviewed 12 March 2017

This is a two star hotel. It is good value for the money. I got a senior discount on the Internet and the rate was $125 with all taxes for a room with a kitchenette. That alone was worth $20 per person per night. This is an Aqua run property so the things they could control - like the really...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank annelisec
AA H, General Manager at White Sands Hotel, responded to this review

Aloha and thank you very much for sharing your review. We're thrilled to hear you had a wonderful experience with us and we're delighted to know you enjoyed our comfortable accommodations and good vibe. We appreciate your kind words and valuable feedback and hope to welcome you back again soon. Mahalo!

Reviewed 9 March 2017 via mobile

This hotel looked great in the pictures. We were unpleasantly surprised when we got here. It is old and needs maintenance. Also, there are quite a few shady characters hanging around the street in front and coming and going from the backside of the complex. On the plus side, it had everything we needed and everything in our room worked...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Dan D
AA H, General Manager at White Sands Hotel, responded to this review

Aloha Dan and thank you for sharing your recent experience. We're pleased to hear you enjoyed your first time in Hawaii, but are disappointed to hear about the aspects of your stay that were less than exceptional. We have shared your valuable feedback with our leadership team for review. We hope to welcome you back for an improved experience soon....

Reviewed 21 February 2017 via mobile

So contrary to the date I indicated, I actually came here in 2015 on a school trip. The stay was amazing, forgo a view and fancy necessities we didn't need and it was great, use of the pool and spa were great and it was close enough to everything that it wasn't a struggle, but far enough so that it...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Krystal W

428 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (317)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (48)
Viewed
View from Room (25)
Viewed
Bathroom (26)
Viewed
Room/Suite (51)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (40)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Other (124)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (88)
Viewed
Amenities (4)
Viewed
Pool (14)
Viewed
Studio with City Views (23)
Viewed
Studio with Pool Views (19)
Viewed
The Hotel (28)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (23)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (15)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (5)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
0.1 km away
Aqua Ohia Waikiki
Aqua Ohia Waikiki
#70 of 84 in Honolulu
450 reviews
0.9 km away
Ewa Hotel
Ewa Hotel
#68 of 84 in Honolulu
452 reviews
0.2 km away
Aqua Aloha Surf Waikiki
Aqua Aloha Surf Waikiki
#64 of 84 in Honolulu
1,605 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 km away
Aqua Waikiki Pearl
Aqua Waikiki Pearl
#73 of 84 in Honolulu
1,166 reviews
0.7 km away
Waikiki Gateway Hotel
Waikiki Gateway Hotel
#59 of 84 in Honolulu
64 reviews
1.3 km away
Aqua Palms Waikiki
Aqua Palms Waikiki
#56 of 84 in Honolulu
1,864 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Paid Internet
Services
  • Breakfast Available
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
This quaint low-rise hotel is your home away from home located just 1 1/2 blocks to Waikiki Beach, less than a block to shopping, dining and the best Waikiki activities. The lovely central courtyard features a swimming pool with sundeck and barbeque grill. All rooms offer lanai/balconies open to city or pool views and most rooms include kitchenette facilities with stove-top, microwave and refrigerator. With our daily convenience fee for all stays White Sands Hotel allows guests to enjoy many hotel services and activities without having to incur miscellaneous charges. These amenities include DVDNow (Unlimited movies & PS3 games), Waikiki Shuttle (Complimentary Waikiki Shuttle Service), Daily Newspaper, In Room Coffee, In Room Safe, and Local & Toll-Free Calls. Come experience quintessential Hawaiian hospitality! ... more   less 

Additional Information about White Sands Hotel

Address: 431 Nohonani St., Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-2622 (Formerly Celebrity Resorts Waikiki)
Region: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu
Price Range: $159 - $252 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — White Sands Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 93
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, HotelsforEveryone, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your White Sands Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
White Sands Hotel Hawaii/Honolulu
Hotel Style:
#37 Business Hotel in Honolulu
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from White Sands Hotel staff and other travellers.
20 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (20)

Questions? Get answers from White Sands Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“3rd floor will have quieter rooms,”
Eskimo_99559, 24 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Room #108 Quiet and Private,whilst seeing all the activity poolside”
449philp, 14 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Ask for a room away from street”
349michellee, 10 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Poolside may be a bit quieter and you might just get the wifi there”
sandmaitken, 19 Mar 2017 | Read review
“try to ask for pool view and lower levels (as no lift available)”
marianl821, 17 Mar 2017 | Read review
5 of 5