We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Luana Waikiki Hotel & Suites

Show Prices
#31 of 84 Hotels in Honolulu
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Luana Waikiki Hotel & Suites
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,548 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 1,333: English reviews
Start your review of Luana Waikiki Hotel & Suites
 Click to rate
New York
Reviewed yesterday NEW

My daughter booked an Airbnb at this hotel...not sure if certain people own suites w/in the hotel...must be. Anyway, it is a super location, nice pool, and we got the room for $99 a night during spring break. LOVED IT!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ms. Margaret G
HOTEL’S FAVOURITE REVIEW
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We are a family of 4 with 2 adults and 2 children. We stayed for 3 weeks in November, and were beyond comfortable in this unit. Everything we could possibly need was found in the unit; pots, pans, utensils, cups, beach towels and chairs, and more. We absolutely loved the location of the hotel, and were only a 10 minute...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Al0haL0ve
About Hotel's Favourite Review
AquaAston H, General Manager at Luana Waikiki Hotel & Suites, responded to this review

Aloha and thank you for sharing your recent experience. We're thrilled you enjoyed our ideal location, beautiful views from the lanai and received excellent service from our staff. We appreciate your kind words and recommendation. We look forward to welcoming you again soon. Mahalo!

Dunstable, Massachusetts, United States
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

We stayed at the Luana for 5 nights in March 2017. The hotel is right next to Derussy Park which extends all the way to the beach and just a short walk away from all of the shopping and dining establishments. The hotel is clean and all of the folks were very nice. I have only two complaints: the elevators...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Robert N
AA H, General Manager at Luana Waikiki Hotel & Suites, responded to this review

Aloha Robert, and thank you for sharing your review. We are delighted to hear you received exceptional service from our friendly and helpful staff and that you enjoyed our clean accommodations, ideal location and had a wonderful stay. Please accept our sincere apology for the inconvenience you experienced during your time with us. We appreciate your valuable feedback and we...

Minneapolis, Minnesota
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

The Luana's rooms need help. There was mold in the bathrooms, and the door didn't shut without a lot of effort. 1 of the 3 elevators was down, and the 2nd was being closed the next day for "emergency repairs." I don't think the pool heaters were working, because it was freezing (and that says a lot from a family...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kristi S
AA H, General Manager at Luana Waikiki Hotel & Suites, responded to this review

Aloha and thank you for sharing your review, Kristi. We are delighted to hear you received exceptional service from our friendly and helpful staff. Please accept our sincere apology for any inconvenience you experienced during your time with us. We are dedicated to a high standard of comfort and cleanliness for our guests and are disappointed and embarrassed to hear...

Southport, Australia
Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

The review published is from 2016 not 2017. We were disappointed this time and although we liked it a year ago. ....this was not the case is 2017. The lifts are still are big problem, and the room that I had booked was not what we walked into....I ordered 2 doubles. To the Manager's credit she fixed the problem in...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Joan G
AA H, General Manager at Luana Waikiki Hotel & Suites, responded to this review

Aloha Joan and thank you for sharing your review. We are disappointed to hear your stay with us this year was not as enjoyable as your previous experience. Please accept our apology for any inconvenience you experienced during your time with us, and we will take your experience into account for further improvement. However, we are happy to know your...

Mesa, Arizona
Reviewed 1 week ago

My room overlooked the Fort DeRussy Park with a partial ocean view. The hotel is a short walk from the beach, along a bus route, and had plenty of stores and shops, from ABC to high end, within walking distance. The room was clean and quiet. The front desk provided beach towels and beach chairs. On the one day we...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Debbie L
AA H, General Manager at Luana Waikiki Hotel & Suites, responded to this review

Aloha and thank you very much for sharing your review, Debbie. We are so happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us! We are delighted to know you enjoyed our comfortable accommodations, ideal location and beautiful views. We appreciate you taking the time to share the details of your wonderful experience with us and we're so glad you would...

Hawkesbury, New South Wales, Australia
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

This was our second stay at the Luana. Had a fabulous room with great views of the ocean & Fort Derussey. The staff are extremely helpful & friendly. Our only suggestion would be to have a clothes airer in the room for drying clothing that cannot be put in dryers. Location is great... far enough away from the fastness of...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Fiona M
AA H, General Manager at Luana Waikiki Hotel & Suites, responded to this review

Thank you very much for sharing your recent experience, Fiona. We are so happy you returned for another visit with us and that you had a fabulous time. We are pleased to hear you enjoyed our ideal location, wonderful ocean views and that you received excellent service from our friendly and helpful staff. We appreciate your valuable feedback and will...

Greater London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stayed here for 6 nights in February and it was our first time in Hawaii and Wakiki. ( what a beautiful Island) All in all a nice hotel, although I couldn't use the Air con as it was just a bit too noisy to sleep with it on. We had a corner room on the 9th floor with a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Steve_&_Nikki
AA H, General Manager at Luana Waikiki Hotel & Suites, responded to this review

Aloha Steven and Nikki, we appreciate you taking the time to share the details of your recent experience. We're delighted to hear you enjoyed your first time in Hawaii and had a wonderful stay with us. We're thrilled you enjoyed our comfortable accommodations and received excellent service from our friendly and helpful staff. We appreciate your valuable feedback as we...

West Hollywood, California
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

On the plus side, most of the staff were incredibly nice and warm. Sadly though, on the negative: broken elevator, broken vending machine, broken sofa bed. Noise from repair work being down. Restaurant permanently closed. Snack shop under construction. Pool not heated. Air conditioners loud. Everything about hotel was very dated and sadly depressing. Wish we'd moved to another hotel.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Susan M
AA H, General Manager at Luana Waikiki Hotel & Suites, responded to this review

Aloha Susan, and thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience. We are delighted to hear you were warmly welcomed by our friendly staff. We appreciate your feedback, and are very sorry that your recent accommodations were less than exceptional. We will be sure to share your review with our leadership team for careful consideration. We hope...

Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Coming from Hilo we found this hotel to be noisy in comparison. We had traffic noise and a very loud air conditioner. Having said that the room was very nice, we were on the 11th floor with partial views of the ocean, great view from the balcony.The staff were excellent and very friendly.Love the free drinks and cheese happy hour.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Susan G
AA H, General Manager at Luana Waikiki Hotel & Suites, responded to this review

Aloha Susan and thank you for sharing your review. We're delighted you enjoyed your stay wish us. We're very happy to hear you were warmly welcomed by our friendly staff and enjoyed wonderful ocean views from your balcony. We appreciate your valuable feedback and will be sure to share it with our team as we are always striving to improve...

907 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (703)
Viewed
View from Room (127)
Viewed
Room/Suite (176)
Viewed
Bathroom (13)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (102)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (37)
Viewed
Dining (10)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (237)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (166)
Viewed
Amenities (20)
Viewed
Grill area (5)
Viewed
Pool (9)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Standard Room with City View (38)
Viewed
Studio with Kitchenette (29)
Viewed
Studio with Kitchenette and Partial Ocean View (24)
Viewed
The Hotel (34)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (38)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (18)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Aqua Oasis
#19 of 84 in Honolulu
509 reviews
Pagoda Hotel
#65 of 84 in Honolulu
483 reviews
Aqua Palms Waikiki
#54 of 84 in Honolulu
1,853 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Park Shore Waikiki
#22 of 84 in Honolulu
1,298 reviews
Waikiki
Aston Waikiki Circle Hotel
Aqua Aloha Surf Waikiki
#63 of 84 in Honolulu
1,594 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Room Service
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Suites
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Microwave
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Paid Wifi
Services
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Overlooking serene Fort DeRussy Park, Luana Waikiki Hotel & Suites is a boutique hotel located just a short stroll to Waikiki Beach, world-class shopping, and international dining at the Waikiki Gateway. Choose from a variety of exceptionally comfortable accommodations with Hawaiian style decor, including studios with kitchenettes and spacious ocean view suites with full kitchens. Take advantage of our yoga classes on Tues, Thur, Sat & Sun, cool folding & cruise bikes to explore Oahu, and beach chairs & towels. Come see what sets the Luana Waikiki Hotel & Suites apart from other Waikiki hotels! With our daily hospitality fee, Luana Waikiki Hotel & Suites allows guests to enjoy many hotel services and activities without having to incur miscellaneous charges. These amenities include DVDNow (Unlimited movies & PS3 games), Waikiki shuttle (complimentary Waikiki shuttle service), daily newspaper, in room coffee, in room safe, local & toll-free calls, and water in lobby. Enjoy the manager's reception on Mon, Wed & Friday from 5p-6p which features wine, cheese, and craft beer service, and live Hawaiian entertainment. You'll also enjoy the heated swimming pool, BBQ area & fitness center. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Luana Waikiki Hotel & Suites

Address: 2045 Kalakaua Avenue, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-5118
Region: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu
Price Range: $227 - $344 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Luana Waikiki Hotel & Suites 3.5*
Number of rooms: 220
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Luana Waikiki Hotel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Outrigger Luana Waikiki Hotel Honolulu
Outrigger Hotel Honolulu
Outrigger Hotel Luana Waikiki
Outrigger Honolulu
Honolulu Outrigger
Luana Waikiki Hotel & Suites Hawaii/Honolulu
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Honolulu
#10 Family Hotel in Honolulu
#13 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
#19 On the Beach Hotel in Honolulu
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Luana Waikiki Hotel & Suites staff and other travellers.
57 questions
Ask a question
Mandan, North Dakota
Melbourne, Australia
over a year ago

See all questions (57)

Questions? Get answers from Luana Waikiki Hotel & Suites staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“look on airbnb to book a room here”
 of 5 bubbles msmargaretg, 29 Mar 2017 | Read review
“I do not have this knowledge our room looked out over machinery and works.”
 of 5 bubbles 283joang, 23 Mar 2017 | Read review
“go to another hotel”
 of 5 bubbles Y713OSsusanm, 12 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Don't bother if elevators aren't working!!!”
 of 5 bubbles Triper2010, 21 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Elevator can be slow, maybe a lower floor so you can take the stairs and also a room facing the beach will be more quiet(away from road)”
 of 5 bubbles Emilie1234, 13 Feb 2017 | Read review
5 of 5