We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Holiday Inn Resort Waikiki Beachcomber

Show Prices
#30 of 84 Hotels in Honolulu
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Professional photos
Holiday Inn Resort Waikiki Beachcomber
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

2,526 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 1,994: English reviews
Streator, Illinois
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Not that anyone goes from the cold Midwest to Honolulu in January to sit in their room, but this was not a room you would want to linger in. We arrived late at night and despite completing an online upgrade request form that was emailed to me prior to arriving, we were given a standard room on the third floor...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank KSMcruiser
Newcastle, Australia
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Has undergone a bit of a makeover since last stay. Rooms are much fresher. The reason this hotel gets such a high rating is because of its location in the main drag - Kalakaua Avenue. Next to Macy’s. Across from Cheesecake Factory. In the centre of street for shopping. Managed to get a slightly earlier check in which was great....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Nathalie E
El Cajon, California
Reviewed 1 week ago

James was quite the expert, setting up our zipline adventure at climb works and answering any questions we had regarding the local area (which were many and varied). His jovial demeanor and refreshing honesty put us immediately at ease. Our zipline adventure was fantastic, the driving route he suggested was filled with breathtaking views. We greatly appreciated James's help throughout...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank aceshot16
Grande Prairie, Canada
Reviewed 1 week ago

You will be happy to pick this hotel it is in the heart of all the action. Easy to not have a car. Restaurants all really close. Across from beach and Macy downstairs in cause you forgot something. We where so happy with it. Beach towel fresh each day.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank leonab405
Boston, Massachusetts
Reviewed 1 week ago

Spent two nights here over Thanksgiving as part of a cruise package. Our room was on the second floor and the lanai was at roof level with an alley view. Those are my only complaints. The room was clean and comfortable and the front desk staff were helpful enough. The location was EXCELLENT! Macy's was on the ground floor and...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank HeavenlyRN
Guest Service M... B, Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Waikiki Beachcomber, responded to this review

Aloha HeavenlyRN, We appreciate you taking the time to post a review of your stay. So sorry about the alley view in the standard category. We really hope you can come back for a visit because we'd love to give you a better view. Very glad to hear that you enjoyed our great location and was able to take in...

Warrenville
Reviewed 1 week ago

Although our rating is very good because of the facility, this review will focus on one negative aspect related to management. Two years ago one daughter stayed here on her honeymoon and had a very good experience. We came to watch our other daughter run the Marathon and were staying with some friends on the island, but wanted to be...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sharon G
Alan N, General Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Waikiki Beachcomber, responded to this review

Aloha, Thank you for sharing your recent stay with us. Please accept our sincere apology for the mishap regarding your reservation. It sounds as it was regarding the resort fee as this was implemented on March 2016. I'm glad everything was resolved and you were able to enjoy your room and the view of all those Marathon runners. I hope...

Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 1 week ago

Well we opted for a sea view, and we had been granted with a city view much more than a sea view, consider we could also select partial sea view when booking we do not know really what is the difference. Anyway it was really tacky such is Waikiki to be honest. But the worst was making us paying for...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Chevreuil7777
Guest Service M... B, Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Waikiki Beachcomber, responded to this review

Aloha and thank you for sharing your review. We were all very sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your stay with us. Our front desk staff do try very hard to accommodate our guests in finding a room best suited for them, and our Aroma Caffe and WIFI usually receive great comments. I hope we will have the...

Byron Bay, Australia
Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed a week in the hotel with our kids (10, 4). Th room was a great size with everything we needed to make us comfortable. We got a partial view room and we could see so the surf easily. The kids loved the pool area and the walk to the beach was super easy. Shopping was in the building...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Kristie F
Guest Service M... B, General Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Waikiki Beachcomber, responded to this review

Aloha Kristie F, It's so great to hear you and your family had a comfortable stay here. Thank you for taking the time to rate our property and provide such positive feedback. We always hope for our guests to have an enjoyable vacation so it's refreshing to know your family had a nice time. Our pool is a great place...

Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We've stayed here previously so knew what to expect. Calling this property a Resort is a misnomer but that didn't bother me as I wasn't looming for resort facilities, it's a good place to soak up the Waikiki vibe. We stay here because it is centrally located opposite the Royal Hawaiian Center, a convenient trolley ride to Ala Moana shops,...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank GeniAus
Guest Service M... B, General Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Waikiki Beachcomber, responded to this review

Aloha GeniAus, Thank you so much for choosing to stay here again at the beautiful Holiday Inn Resort Waikiki Beachcomber. We really appreciate our loyal guests to provide us such great feedback and comments from your experience. As you know, our property is very popular for its location, convenient trolley access and mostly for warm greeting and service from our...

Grande Prairie, Canada
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Great location across street to beach access. Lots of good restaurants nearby Rooms nicely kept and clean Elevators were annoying as they were slow and often waited long time...good thing was on holidays and not in rush Will be nice when Maui brewers restaurant opens Always lots of clean towels in pool area and they allow you to take them...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank rodb987
Guest Service M... B, Assistant to the Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Waikiki Beachcomber, responded to this review

Aloha rodb987, Thank you for taking the time to provide us your feedback. We are happy you enjoyed the convenience of our hotel's great location and amenities. So many of our guests comment about our location and we couldn't agree more that we are right in the heart of Waikiki. The Beachcomber has been around for many years and we...

1,507 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (1128)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (68)
Viewed
Dining (27)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (121)
Viewed
Room/Suite (170)
Viewed
View from Room (232)
Viewed
Bathroom (39)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
0:48
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (469)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (196)
Viewed
Amenities (25)
Viewed
Deluxe Ocean and Pool View Room (40)
Viewed
Deluxe Ocean View Room (34)
Viewed
Pool (19)
Viewed
Dining (26)
Viewed
Suite (33)
Viewed
The Hotel (19)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (183)
Viewed
Room/Suite (42)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (41)
Viewed
Dining (16)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (10)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Other (62)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Waikiki
Aston Waikiki Circle Hotel
Aston Waikiki Circle Hotel
#34 of 84 in Honolulu
986 reviews
Aqua Oasis
#16 of 84 in Honolulu
477 reviews
Waikiki
OHANA Waikiki East Hotel
OHANA Waikiki East Hotel
#41 of 84 in Honolulu
1,657 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pagoda Hotel
#65 of 84 in Honolulu
472 reviews
Waikiki
Aqua Pacific Monarch
Aqua Pacific Monarch
#42 of 84 in Honolulu
387 reviews
Waikiki
Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Spa
GreenPartner Learn More
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Spa
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
  • Paid Wifi
Services
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Holiday Inn Resort Waikiki Beachcomber is a 496-room hotel conveniently located in the heart of Waikiki, just 300 steps to world famous Waikiki Beach. It is home to the Magic of Polynesia show, the one and only Jimmy Buffett's Restaurant & Bar, and Macy's Waikiki department store. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Resort Waikiki Beachcomber

Address: 2300 Kalakaua Avenue, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-5049 (Formerly Ohana Waikiki Beachcomber)
Region: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu > Waikiki
Price Range: $299 - $430 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Holiday Inn Resort Waikiki Beachcomber 3.5*
Number of rooms: 496
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, IHG and Travelocity so you can book your Holiday Inn Resort Waikiki Beachcomber reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Waikiki Beachcomber Hotel Honolulu
Ohana Waikiki Beachcomber Honolulu
Waikiki Beachcomber
Holiday Inn Resort Waikiki Beachcomber Hawaii/Honolulu
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in Honolulu
#12 Spa Hotel in Honolulu
#12 Family Hotel in Honolulu
#21 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Holiday Inn Resort Waikiki Beachcomber staff and other travellers.
58 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (58)

Questions? Get answers from Holiday Inn Resort Waikiki Beachcomber staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Ask for a higher floor with a view”
 of 5 bubbles KSMcruiser, 17 Jan 2017 | Read review
“South facing higher floors have better ocean views and less city noise.”
 of 5 bubbles aceshot16, 10 Jan 2017 | Read review
“The higher floors you can see the ocean”
 of 5 bubbles leonab405, 10 Jan 2017 | Read review
“I would definitely pay a little more to stay on a higher floor to get a good view.”
 of 5 bubbles HeavenlyRN, 9 Jan 2017 | Read review
“do not go there”
 of 5 bubbles Chevreuil7777, 8 Jan 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay