We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Hotel Viking

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Professional photos
Hotel Viking
Hotel Viking
Panoramas (4)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,815 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Hotel Viking
See the most recent reviews
Showing 1,762: English reviews
Newport, Rhode Island
Reviewed 1 week ago NEWvia mobile

My fiancé and I were SO excited to stay at Hotel Viking. We were visiting for my birthday but also checking the hotel for our upcoming Rosecliff wedding as an option for our wedding suite and guests. Boy did our thoughts change quickly! First, we got a junior suite, which was smaller than we imagined, but had a disgustingly dirty...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank ardita11
HotelVikingRI, General Manager at Hotel Viking, responded to this review

Thank you for sharing your perspective with us. It is very disappointing to read that your stay was not enjoyable and that we let you down when it mattered the most. Please know that we take your concerns seriously and we will share your comments with our housekeeping team. We understand your frustrations about the technology in your room as...

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

The location is great. I've attended fabulous parties/functions at this hotel before & as an events place it's a great venue. As a hotel it's completely lackluster & has always disappointed. I've stayed over 3 times so far. The rooms are cute, but too small. We arrived during a snowstorm & right away felt cold air in the room which...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank pennwoman
HotelVikingRI, General Manager at Hotel Viking, responded to this review

We appreciate you sharing your experience with us. We are glad that you consider our hotel to be wonderful to host events. However, it is truly disappointing to read that you did not have a good time here and we apologize that we fell short of meeting your expectations. Comfort is the most important aspect of a stay, so we...

East Brunswick, New Jersey
Reviewed 1 week ago

Second stay on the Winter Getaway rate. Great location and breakfast is wonderful!! Location is 2 blocks up the hill from the Waterfront area. Its close enough to get downtown easily but far enough to escape all the noise and crowds. Staff is always professional and helpful. Breakfast on some rates is included and it is top notch.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank lacinap1323
HotelVikingRI, General Manager at Hotel Viking, responded to this review

It is always nice to welcome back a returning guest! We are glad that you found great value in our hotel package and that you had a relaxing time here. What a wonderful compliment it is to learn that you consider our breakfast to be top-quality. We are delighted that we satisfied your taste buds with a delicious meal and...

Waltham, Massachusetts
Reviewed 1 week ago

I traveled to the Hotel Viking the 26th and 27th of December thinking it would be a quiet time. I was wrong. The hotel was hosting a group of families for a hockey tournament which made the property feel like a playground. I've stayed at the hotel before and I was happy with my stay but this time didn't live...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jeffrey M
HotelVikingRI, General Manager at Hotel Viking, responded to this review

It was our pleasure to welcome you back to The Hotel Viking. We are pleased that you loved the beauty of our hotel and our amazing team. However, we sincerely apologize that we did not meet all of your expectations this time. We understand your frustrations in regards to the noise and it is disappointing to read that you did...

Boston, Massachusetts
Reviewed 1 week ago

This was my fourth trip to the Hotel Viking. There were some subtle renovations since I was last there so it it appears a little more modernized. I preferred the older historic look. The pool was closing on January 2 nd for renovations. I enjoy the close proximity to the downtown historic district. It is very clean, the staff and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank travelingwoman45
HotelVikingRI, General Manager at Hotel Viking, responded to this review

When a guest recommends our hotel, it is a great compliment to us! It was our pleasure to welcome you back to our hotel and we are glad that you enjoyed our central location. However, it is disappointing to read that you were not fully impressed by our renovations. We will certainly share your comments with our team as we...

Belgrade, Serbia
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

The only downside in our experience was a too small room! Everything else is to be recommended. Pleasent staff, helpful, easy check-in/procedure. Great roof top bar that welcomed us with good live music in sunset.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank drIR
HotelVikingRI, General Manager at Hotel Viking, responded to this review

We are delighted that you loved the historic charm of our property! It is so nice that you enjoyed our on-site bar, Top of Newport, as it is a great place to have some fresh drinks while listening to spectacular live music. Please know that our staff is always available to assist as they would have relocated your accommodations based...

Paramus, New Jersey
Reviewed 1 week ago

The location of this hotel is perfect. You can walk to Thames, the water and feel a part of the residential community. We were pleasantly greeted by the doormen and valet who stored our luggage while we waited for our room to be ready. We got there a little early and a room wasn't ready but they checked us in...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank rhskreynoso
HotelVikingRI, General Manager at Hotel Viking, responded to this review

Whenever a guest recommends our hotel, it is such a wonderful compliment to us! We are glad that you had a smooth check-in and that our staff made helpful suggestions about what to explore in the area. Our goal is to create a relaxing experience, and we are pleased that you felt at home here. As you mentioned, our property...

Bourne, Massachusetts
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

This was a nice holiday close to shopping etc. Indoor pool was being painted. Front desk staff was very helpful and bellmen were courteous. Ashley in reservations was very nice and very helpful. Beds were comfortable l, nice tvs-flat screens

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Hebbsville
HotelVikingRI, General Manager at Hotel Viking, responded to this review

It is wonderful that you had such a nice time at our hotel! We are pleased to hear that you received friendly service from our staff and that Ashley made a great impression on you. Your compliments will certainly be shared with her along with the other members of our team. We really appreciate your incredible review of our hotel...

whitehouse station, NJ
Reviewed 1 week ago

Despite being advertised as an Historic Hotel, the Viking might just as well have been a down-at-the-heels Holiday Inn. Any pretense at historical interior had been ruined by insertion of a fluorescent-lit check-in desk. The rooms were accessed via a long, dingy corridor and, at least during our stay, the property seemed to have been rented-out to a boy's hockey...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank frogsleap18
HotelVikingRI, General Manager at Hotel Viking, responded to this review

We truly are disappointed to read that everything was not as you hoped for at our hotel. We sincerely apologize for any inconveniences that you encountered as we never want any of our guests to not feel satisfied with their stay. Your satisfaction is important to us, and we regret that you did not have a relaxing time. We really...

Groton, Connecticut
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Our 4th visit. 2 night stay in December. Hotel Viking and the Town of Newport are all dressed up for Christmas, so festive! We always get the package that includes breakfast. Great Deal, you don't have to leave the hotel. Breakfast is served in a beautiful, cozy sun room. everything on the breakfast menu is included, delicious! Michele is a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ConnecticutDivegirl
HotelVikingRI, General Manager at Hotel Viking, responded to this review

It was our pleasure to welcome you back to The Hotel Viking! It is the most festive time of the year, and we are glad that you got to experience it all. We are delighted to hear that you found great value in our hotel package and that our breakfast was a highlight of your stay. We will certainly share...

857 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (431)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (87)
Viewed
Room/Suite (142)
Viewed
View from Room (8)
Viewed
Bathroom (31)
Viewed
Dining (13)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (5)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (144)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (333)
Viewed
Amenities (73)
Viewed
Estate King Room (46)
Viewed
Indoor Pool (PRE-RENOVATION) (22)
Viewed
Newport King Room (68)
Viewed
Newport Standard Queen Room (45)
Viewed
Restaurants and Bars (PRE-RENOVATION) (38)
Viewed
The Hotel (41)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (93)
Viewed
Room/Suite (21)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (12)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (16)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Other (36)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newport hotels
0.8 km away
Newport Marriott
Newport Marriott
#3 of 21 in Newport
505 reviews
0.6 km away
Newport Harbor Hotel & Marina
1.5 km away
Hyatt Regency Newport
Hyatt Regency Newport
#10 of 21 in Newport
1,495 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 km away
The Chanler at Cliff Walk
0.3 km away
The Vanderbilt Grace
The Vanderbilt Grace
#4 of 21 in Newport
592 reviews
0.3 km away
Mill Street Inn
Mill Street Inn
#6 of 21 in Newport
548 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
GreenLeadersBronze level
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Paid Wifi
Services
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Combining our iconic Newport landmark with local focused events and exceptional service, a new era of hospitality awaits you at the Hotel Viking. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Hotel Viking

Address: 1 Bellevue Ave., Newport, RI 02840-3205
Region: United States > Rhode Island > Newport
Price Range: $151 - $780 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Viking 4*
Number of rooms: 209
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Groupon, Travelocity, Orbitz and Jetsetter so you can book your Hotel Viking reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Viking Hotel Newport Ri
Hotel Viking Newport
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Newport
#4 Luxury Hotel in Newport
#4 Spa Hotel in Newport
#5 Business Hotel in Newport
#5 Family Hotel in Newport
#6 Romantic Hotel in Newport
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Hotel Viking staff and other travellers.
15 questions
Ask a question
Rindge, New Hampshire
over a year ago
North Dartmouth, Massachusetts
20 days ago
Port Jefferson, New York
Charlotte, North Carolina
9 months ago

See all questions (15)

Questions? Get answers from Hotel Viking staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Marble House Suite was wonderful!”
 of 5 bubbles RichG235, 18 Jan 2017 | Read review
“We went budget friendly, and opted for a room with a queen bed. The room was very small, but had all the basics.”
 of 5 bubbles telulla311, 16 Jan 2017 | Read review
“as it is on old hotel all rooms are a little different . But well decorated”
 of 5 bubbles Dude197, 16 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Advise a 2nd floor room to avoid overhead noise.”
 of 5 bubbles frogsleap18, 7 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Courtyard view is Christmas festive.”
 of 5 bubbles ConnecticutDivegirl, 5 Jan 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay