We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Black Duck Inn

Certificate of Excellence
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Newport
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Show Prices
Management photos
Black Duck Inn
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

126 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Black Duck Inn
See the most recent reviews
Showing 124: English reviews
Boston, Massachusetts
Reviewed 6 April 2017

We stayed in 2 bedroom suite Pinot Noir which was large and comfortable. However it was a bit dark and unfortunately the overhead light needed a new bulb but maintenance wasn't around til after the weekend. There was also a slight "bathroom " smell in the room. Despite these complaints I enjoyed our stay. Breakfast was good but wish there...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank romavf1
blues966029, Manager at Black Duck Inn, responded to this review

Our staff is actually concerned about service and we think that is a good thing, though we are sorry if that was overwhelming for you. The housekeeping door sign provided states "Privacy No Service Today" so your room was not overlooked, We hope that the minor issues can be overlooked and you consider us for a future stay, and thank...

Hartford CT
Reviewed 1 April 2017

I haven't stayed at a B and B before and didn't know exactly what to expect. The inn is right in the middle of downtown with a bunch of restaurants and things to do within walking distance. The room was clean, looked like it had been recently painted and the bathroom looked new. The bed and linens were clean and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Wiggum218
blues966029, Manager at Black Duck Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your lovely review! We are glad to hear that the B and B experience worked so well for you. Remember to call us next time to find out about the best rates.

Pembroke, Massachusetts
Reviewed 12 March 2017

Room was very clean, Breakfest was out standing on both days. Internet service was very weak, could not get contacted in the room. TV was too small for the room, could not see it from the Bed (even with my glasses on) and only had one chair to watch it.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank kenbB9253DL
blues966029, Manager at Black Duck Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. Yes, the internet is weak and we hope to get WIFI extenders before season begins to remedy this issue. Glad you had a good breakfast and the room was clean! We hope that you were satisfied enough to return.

Wolfeboro nh, United States
Reviewed 11 March 2017

We had a lovely stay at the Black Duck Inn. The jacuzzi tub in the room was wonderful. The chef for breakfast was accommodating for our dietary needs. It was a short walk to downtown. We would definitely stay here again.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Peter S
blues966029, Manager at Black Duck Inn, responded to this review

What a great review! Thank you for choosing us and hope to see you sooner rather than later.

Groveland, Massachusetts
Reviewed 8 March 2017

We were upgraded to a suite - LOVELY! As the weather was rainy and windy, we didn't do much sightseeing, so snuggling by the fire, enjoying the whirlpool and having the time to relax in such a nicely appointed, clean room made our stay very enjoyable. Delicious breakfasts! Gracious hostesses! We will be back!

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank laurelpuchalski
blues966029, Manager at Black Duck Inn, responded to this review

YAY! So glad you had a relaxing snuggly time. Looking forward to seeing you again.

Whitestone, New York
Reviewed 8 March 2017

Clean in with a friendly kitchen staff . Walk to town for shops and restaurants .and waterfront. Only thing I missed was not having coffee available in the morning prior to 8:30 am as we are early risers .

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Carol V
blues966029, Manager at Black Duck Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. Please keep an eye out for repeat guest email specials.

Boston, Massachusetts
Reviewed 22 February 2017

Lovely area, quaint old house, nice room, fabulous breakfast with friendly wait staff. Loved the informational binders that were available for review. All 3 properties were a .2 of a mile walk to the center of town.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank vickic269
blues966029, Manager at Black Duck Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your nice feedback! We hope that you consider a another visit.

Southington, Connecticut
Reviewed 22 February 2017

Staff was very pleasant and accommodating, off-street parking available, extremely short walk to downtown Thames Street. Our room had a king size bed, sitting area and jacuzzi. Definitely would stay there again.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank JaynesTwins
blues966029, Manager at Black Duck Inn, responded to this review

What a nice review! Thank you and keep your eye out for email specials for repeat guests.

JERSEY CITY
Reviewed 22 February 2017

I had an awesome time in RI... Can't wait to return in warmer weather so we can fully enjoy the restaurants and shops. A lot of the shops and restaurants were closed for winter break. If you like seafood there are so many options!

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank sweetjohnson26
blues966029, Manager at Black Duck Inn, responded to this review

Newport is a big seafood town. Please call us for the best rate if you return. Thank you for staying with us.

Danvers, Massachusetts
Reviewed 20 February 2017

We came on a living social deal on Winter Festival weekend. checking in up the hill from the Duck was a pleasure and an indication of how the weekend would go. I wish I got her name but she was helpful in suggesting a place to park since we had 2 cars and parking is tight for guests in their...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Paul S
blues966029, Manager at Black Duck Inn, responded to this review

Glad to hear that you would stay with us again! Please be on the lookout for our specials for repeat guests.

19 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (6)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (13)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Other (7)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newport hotels
0.3 km away
Newport Harbor Hotel & Marina
0.4 km away
Hotel Viking
Hotel Viking
#4 of 21 in Newport
1,952 reviews
0.6 km away
Newport Marriott
Newport Marriott
#3 of 21 in Newport
582 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
Mill Street Inn
Mill Street Inn
#8 of 21 in Newport
562 reviews
0.0 km away
Almondy Inn
Almondy Inn
#13 of 95 in Newport
330 reviews
0.3 km away
America's Cup Inn
America's Cup Inn
#23 of 95 in Newport
204 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Black Duck Inn is a unique and modern inn with updated amenities. This charming inn provides the luxuries of a hotel while maintaining the quaintness of a bed and breakfast. Black Duck Inn is our closest inn the Thames Street! ... more   less 

Additional Information about Black Duck Inn

Address: 29 Pelham St, Newport, RI 02840-3018
Region: United States > Rhode Island > Newport
Price Range: $132 - $467 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 7
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Black Duck Inn staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from Black Duck Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“We were a very nice room with fireplace and Jacuzzi tub.”
147kevinb, 30 Apr 2017 | Read review
“some rooms have a sitting area and some don't . We thought our room had one but it did not . Nice to have for down time ”
carolv380, 8 Mar 2017 | Read review
“The pinot noir suite unlike the others on the second floor does not have a Jacuzzi tub.”
B3016SHpauls, 20 Feb 2017 | Read review
“We stayed in the Champagne Room which had a king sized bed, Jacuzzi tub, and gas fireplace. A lovely up grade!”
nancyhL1645SE, 8 Feb 2017 | Read review
“We stayed in the 2 bedroom unit. Very nice for 2 couples or 2 friends”
spierce77, 24 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5