We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Black Duck Inn

Certificate of Excellence
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Newport
07/05/2017 08/05/2017
Show Prices
Management photos
Black Duck Inn
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

123 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 121: English reviews
Start your review of Black Duck Inn
 Click to rate
Bretton Woods, New Hampshire
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Stayed with hubby for a 2 night deal that included wine and chocolates (Hersey kisses). Location was great; walk right out the door to Thames with the shops and eating options, short drive to the mansions and Cliff Walk. Room was fine; bathroom good size, no complaints about our bed (Chardonnay room). No noise from being on the first floor...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank BEGWIB
blues966029, Front Office Manager at Black Duck Inn, responded to this review

Thank you! So glad you enjoyed your stay and look forward to your return. Keep an eye on your email for upcoming discounts.

Amesbury, Massachusetts
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

The biggest plus for this spot is the location…a block from the waterfront! The B&B is in the historic downtown, in a nice, vintage house. The management was very pleasant and attentive, breakfast was nicely done by personable chefs and the dining area was comfortable. The place does have a “’90’s” feel that could use with a bit of freshening...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ragtop_rider
blues966029, Manager at Black Duck Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for you review. We agree and have updates planned for fall 2017 for this house. When one has three inns they all get a turn, one at a time. Next time try the Newport Blues Inn and check out the updated look we just finished and try the new mattresses that house got in fall 2016. We hope...

Winsted, Connecticut
Reviewed 1 week ago

This B & B is beautiful and the staff was so friendly and helpful. We arrived late and our information w/ the key was right where they told us. The room was very nice. We enjoyed the fireplace and the huge Jacuzzi tub in our room. If we ever stay over in Newport again, I would definitely stay here again!

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank amandawB4777ML
blues966029, Manager at Black Duck Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for you lovely review! We look forward to seeing you again. Keep your eye out for email specials.

Medford, New York
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The location was great, close to the shops and restaurants. The greeting from the innkeeper at this location was somewhat unfriendly when she arrived. Asked a question regarding a sports bar in the area and she acted like we were bothering her. They had a sign posted stating breakfast was served from 8:30 - 10 AM. They started to serve...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank bdrwax
blues966029, Manager at Black Duck Inn, responded to this review

Gee, sorry you felt our response was unfriendly, We suggested a popular bar and you said you had already been to lunch there. Yes, sometimes everyone comes at once to breakfast and there can be a wait, our sincere apologies.

Downingtown, Pennsylvania
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Great location Breakfast were good and the staff was very friendly over all house was clean. Bed was comfortable but I was disappointed in the room. Our room was the resting room and it needed some TLC. The carpet was stained and in my opinion should be replaced. The bathroom had mold in the shower and the heating vent on...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank lindagQ1267BM
blues966029, Manager at Black Duck Inn, responded to this review

We are sorry you were disappointed in your room. Please give us a call and let us know who you are and we will set you up with a return visit on us.( New flooring has already been ordered and is due to go in in the near future)

Bethpage
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I stayed in the meritage room, it was clean and nice.the fireplace was electric, which was a disappointment. The breakfast was good and the girls who serve it were very friendly . The inn is very close to town which was great. You can walk and don't need your car. It is a nice place.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank christinebailey65
blues966029, Manager at Black Duck Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your nice review. We hope to see you again soon.

Glenville, New York
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I purchased this getaway on a site that had a deal. We were supposed to be in a deluxe room but all that was left was a standard, which was fine for us. The only complaint is the deal I purchased was suppose to come with a free bottle of wine and box of chocolates. Neither were in our room...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank carapatch22
blues966029, Front Office Manager at Black Duck Inn, responded to this review

We are so glad you enjoyed your stay and do apologize that we forgot to provide your wine and chocolate. Please stop in the next time you are in town and we will provide you with both. Watch your email for upcoming specials.

Boston, Massachusetts
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We stayed in 2 bedroom suite Pinot Noir which was large and comfortable. However it was a bit dark and unfortunately the overhead light needed a new bulb but maintenance wasn't around til after the weekend. There was also a slight "bathroom " smell in the room. Despite these complaints I enjoyed our stay. Breakfast was good but wish there...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank romavf1
blues966029, Manager at Black Duck Inn, responded to this review

Our staff is actually concerned about service and we think that is a good thing, though we are sorry if that was overwhelming for you. The housekeeping door sign provided states "Privacy No Service Today" so your room was not overlooked, We hope that the minor issues can be overlooked and you consider us for a future stay, and thank...

Hartford CT
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I haven't stayed at a B and B before and didn't know exactly what to expect. The inn is right in the middle of downtown with a bunch of restaurants and things to do within walking distance. The room was clean, looked like it had been recently painted and the bathroom looked new. The bed and linens were clean and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Wiggum218
blues966029, Manager at Black Duck Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your lovely review! We are glad to hear that the B and B experience worked so well for you. Remember to call us next time to find out about the best rates.

Pembroke, Massachusetts
Reviewed 12 March 2017

Room was very clean, Breakfest was out standing on both days. Internet service was very weak, could not get contacted in the room. TV was too small for the room, could not see it from the Bed (even with my glasses on) and only had one chair to watch it.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank kenbB9253DL
blues966029, Manager at Black Duck Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. Yes, the internet is weak and we hope to get WIFI extenders before season begins to remedy this issue. Glad you had a good breakfast and the room was clean! We hope that you were satisfied enough to return.

19 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (6)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (13)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Other (7)
07/05/2017 08/05/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newport hotels
0.3 km away
Newport Harbor Hotel & Marina
0.4 km away
Hotel Viking
Hotel Viking
#4 of 21 in Newport
1,924 reviews
0.6 km away
Newport Marriott
Newport Marriott
#3 of 21 in Newport
558 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
Mill Street Inn
Mill Street Inn
#9 of 21 in Newport
557 reviews
0.0 km away
Almondy Inn
Almondy Inn
#13 of 95 in Newport
327 reviews
0.3 km away
America's Cup Inn
America's Cup Inn
#24 of 95 in Newport
202 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Black Duck Inn is a unique and modern inn with updated amenities. This charming inn provides the luxuries of a hotel while maintaining the quaintness of a bed and breakfast. Black Duck Inn is our closest inn the Thames Street! ... more   less 

Additional Information about Black Duck Inn

Address: 29 Pelham St, Newport, RI 02840-3018
Region: United States > Rhode Island > Newport
Price Range: $131 - $463 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 7
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Black Duck Inn staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from Black Duck Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“some rooms have a sitting area and some don't . We thought our room had one but it did not . Nice to have for down time ”
carolv380, 8 Mar 2017 | Read review
“The pinot noir suite unlike the others on the second floor does not have a Jacuzzi tub.”
B3016SHpauls, 20 Feb 2017 | Read review
“We stayed in the Champagne Room which had a king sized bed, Jacuzzi tub, and gas fireplace. A lovely up grade!”
nancyhL1645SE, 8 Feb 2017 | Read review
“We stayed in the 2 bedroom unit. Very nice for 2 couples or 2 friends”
spierce77, 24 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Second floor is quieter during breakfast hours.”
EricaH24, 27 Jul 2016 | Read review
5 of 5