We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Marshall Slocum Inn

Booking.comUSD 202*
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Lock in the lowest price from our partners
View Deal
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Professional photos
Marshall Slocum Inn
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

456 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Marshall Slocum Inn
See the most recent reviews
Showing 419: English reviews
Atlanta, Georgia
Reviewed 3 November 2016

My husband and I LOVED this place. Such a gem... Wonderful location -- walking distance to downtown Newport, yet away from the noise of those bars and restaurants. Delicious, made-to-order breakfast available daily! The innkeeper & staff were so friendly and helpful.. We'd stay here again in a heartbeat!

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sarah K
marshallslocuminn, General Manager at Marshall Slocum Inn, responded to this review

Thank you Sarah for the amazing review. We appreciate all of the positive comments and we're happy to know you love our inn. We are looking forward to the next time you stay with us.

Lakeland, Florida
Reviewed 31 October 2016

The innkeepers, Mark and Dana, are fantastic hosts and we cannot wait to come back. Our weekend was quiet and relaxing and Mark was incredibly helpful. We enjoyed waking up to the smell of coffee and a delicious breakfast each day.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank anonymousE8356DW
Los Angeles, CA
Reviewed 29 October 2016

Young couple owner of 12 years figured it out. The staff really cares about the details, and that is what makes this place pretty special. Like heated coffee cups, extensive menu for breakfast and really well done, with every slice of fruit and dish carefully and skillfully made. Free wifi, clean rooms, plenty of off-street parking. No TV but an...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jeffonthebeach
marshallslocuminn, General Manager at Marshall Slocum Inn, responded to this review

Thank you Jeff for the wonderful review and taking the time. Our entire staff is overjoyed to know that you appreciated our hospitality, and the vibe that we all bring to the inn. We hope to see you again, and enjoy another stay with us.

Dorchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 20 October 2016

Lovely room in classic New England property an easy walk to downtown restaurants. Shower room, however, was tiny. Good standard of breakfast, eaten communally with other guests, although in good weather there is the option of eating outside as a couple.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank John E
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Reviewed 15 October 2016

A quaint house very close to the town centre. Nice Old England room. No tea or coffee facilities in the room but available 24 hours. He even has a “Brit Kettle” available as he knows we like boiling water to make tea! Mark Spring was a fantastic host and the only chef I saw during our 19 day New England...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jeant0708
Burton upon Trent, United Kingdom
Reviewed 13 October 2016

The hotel has a lot of character and is a delight to visit. Stayed for two nights in Sept. Nice greeting from Mark and very helpful with the various sights to see. Although, the room was a little tired, (only due to the age of the building), it did have a nice charm. It's a bit of a walk back...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Burtonram
Langhorne, Pennsylvania
Reviewed 12 October 2016

A last minute weekend getaway really exceeded our expectations. Beautiful inn, walking distance to everything yet tucked away in a quiet neighborhood. Very welcoming. Delicious breakfasts. The owner was always available to answer questions and give advice. Loved it! Hope to get back there.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Bradcoup
marshallslocuminn, General Manager at Marshall Slocum Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for great review and enjoying your anniversary getaway with us. We hope to have another opportunity to host you again in the future.

Hoboken, New Jersey
Reviewed 12 October 2016

Loved it. Conveniently located, beautiful (and big) well-appointee rooms, and freshly prepared breakfast each morning. We will definitely come back the next time that we're in Newport and look forward to our trip.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank juliamcveigh24
marshallslocuminn, General Manager at Marshall Slocum Inn, responded to this review

Thank you Julia for the wonderful review. We appreciate the compliments of the room and breakfast. We are looking forward to seeing you on your next trip to Newport.

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 10 October 2016

Pleasant room with washbasin, separate shower and toilet, comfortable bed and very good for our 2 night stay in Newport. Excellent location within easy walking distance of restaurants. We drove to various mansions as we were fitting in five but we could have walked. Breakfast was good - pleased to be able to choose simple egg dishes as some of...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Judy S
marshallslocuminn, Owner at Marshall Slocum Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind review Judy, we look forward to seeing you again.

Basking Ridge, New Jersey
Reviewed 10 October 2016 via mobile

We spent one night in the apartment For a girls' weekend. PROS: extremely clean rooms and bathroom, comfortable king sized bed and sofa bed, delicious breakfast, on site parking in rear, friendly staff. The pictures posted on the website are accurate. CONS: the apartment was located next door to the B&B house which we did not know. Poor lighting leading...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank mjpteach
marshallslocuminn, Owner at Marshall Slocum Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. Below is a description of the Apartment from our website: The Apartment $155-$349 Located next to the main Inn, the Great Little Apartment features a King bed, Day bed, Sofa Bed, Living Room w/ Flat Screen TV/DVD,Bath w/Shower, Deck, Private Entrance. Children are welcome. Additional $50/$35 per night for each additional adult/child. Maximum Occupancy: 4....

195 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (172)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (42)
Viewed
Dining (25)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (29)
Viewed
Bathroom (12)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (61)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (23)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Other (7)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newport hotels
0.3 km away
Hotel Viking
Hotel Viking
#4 of 21 in Newport
1,950 reviews
0.8 km away
Newport Harbor Hotel & Marina
0.8 km away
Newport Marriott
Newport Marriott
#3 of 21 in Newport
578 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 km away
The Chanler at Cliff Walk
0.5 km away
The Attwater
The Attwater
#9 of 21 in Newport
381 reviews
0.5 km away
Mill Street Inn
Mill Street Inn
#8 of 21 in Newport
560 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Located in the historic Top of the Hill district and just minutes away from Newport Harbor, the mansions and beaches, the Marshall Slocum Guest House is a five room bed and breakfast that has been meticulously preserved to its original 1855 charm. Join us for exquisite breakfasts, wonderful lobster dinners and five star service while touring the beautiful city of Newport. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Marshall Slocum Inn

Address: 29 Kay St, Newport, RI 02840 (Formerly Marshall Slocum Guest House)
Region: United States > Rhode Island > Newport
Price Range: $219 - $392 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Marshall Slocum Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and HotelsClick so you can book your Marshall Slocum Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marshall Slocum Guest House Hotel Newport
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Marshall Slocum Inn staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Astoria, New York, United States
over a year ago

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Marshall Slocum Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Dont bother asking the manager for advice”
P961SNalina, 11 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Chose the library room”
ltsatch, 7 Apr 2017 | Read review
“I peaked in a room or two that where empty and they all looked great!”
tdivona, 2 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Some visitors do not understand the etiquette staying in a guest house, thus noise can be a surprise to some.”
410deanc, 21 Mar 2017 | Read review
“There are no elevators, but our room was on the top floor and the clerk offered to carry our bags (which we didn't need)”
hawkt1959, 16 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Booking.com
USD 202* /night
View Deal
TripAdvisorUSD 202
PricelineUSD 202
Expedia.com
View all 9 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates