We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Wyndham Newport Onshore

Show Prices
#15 of 21 Hotels in Newport
GreenLeadersSilver level
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Wyndham Newport Onshore
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

130 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Wyndham Newport Onshore
See the most recent reviews
Showing 129: English reviews
Bethany Beach
Reviewed 11 October 2015

We are timeshare owners, so this was a timeshare exchange. We had a 2 bedroom unit, which was nice and private. The kitchen was stocked with everything that one would need to cook on the premises. We chose to eat out most of the time. The unit had 2 different balconies, this was great because we could follow the sun....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Trvl4Funb455
Tyler V, Manager at Wyndham Newport Onshore, responded to this review

I am sorry you had to spend even a minute of your vacation dealing with any inconveniences. I know there is a certain level of satisfaction expected when staying at our properties. Please rest assured we will have our housekeeping and maintenance staff address these concerns moving forward to avoid any future occurrences of this nature. Thank you for making...

greensboro, north carolina
Reviewed 30 September 2015

We loved our week @ the Wyndham Newport Onshore! The Newport Boat show made it very crowded the first 2 days but after that the town emptied out and touring and restaurant reservations were easy. Only problem we had at the resort was the parking assigned to us and our guests--someone was parked in one of our assigned spots and...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank bgesse
Tyler V, Manager at Wyndham Newport Onshore, responded to this review

We apologize for any frustrations with the parking situation. We know that this part of the vacation process should be convenient and within close proximity to your room. Our goal is to make each part of the vacation experience satisfactory. Your feedback will allow us to continue improving

Winchester, MA
Reviewed 25 September 2015

The location is perfect. They have a pool overlooking the boats. The Inn is a short walk to town. The bathroom was huge but needs a lot of work. It is outdated and needs repairs. The bedroom and living room with pull out couch are large. The kitchen is fully equipped and even has a blender. The t.v. in the...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank L D
Jill C, Manager at Wyndham Newport Onshore, responded to this review

I am sorry to hear you experienced some difficulties with maintenance during your stay. This is certainly not our Wyndham standard. In November we will be renovating each deck (and deck ceiling) in one building and will be doing the remaining buildings each fall to be completed in 2017. Thank you for your comments! We strive to provide top of...

Hingham, Massachusetts
Reviewed 15 September 2015 via mobile

We have a timeshare week at Newport on Shore and have enjoyed our time there! Unfortunately this year we found the unit in need of some maintenance and repair. The refrigerator was not working properly and not keeping food cold at all.After four people trying to fix it ,they were successful ! This took place the first two days of...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Anne1186
Jill C, Manager at Wyndham Newport Onshore, responded to this review

I am sorry to hear you experienced some difficulties with the maintenance of your unit (and specifically the refrigerator) during your stay. This is certainly not our Wyndham standard and I will have our maintenance team look into these issues to eliminate any future occurrences. We strive to provide top of the line accommodations for all of our owners and...

Bradley Beach, New Jersey
Reviewed 13 September 2015 via mobile

Great place to stay with fantastic views of the harbor. It's not a hotel. No maid service, no room service, no food available. IT IS a timeshare suite you rent as if you were just getting a room, but you end up with 2 bedrooms, 2 bathrooms, a small living room with fireplace, a small dining area, a small kitchen,...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Philip F
Jill C, Manager at Wyndham Newport Onshore, responded to this review

Thank you for the kind words, we will share these with our staff. We are glad to hear you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to your next visit!

New York City, New York
Reviewed 2 September 2015

We were fortunate to be able to rent this condo last minute on a summer weekend. The front desk staff was very pleasant and friendly and the office had some drinks and snacks available on Friday afternoon when we checked in. Our unit was very clean and well stocked. We had 2 decks, one overlooking the harbor. There was a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank rapunzelNewYork
Jill C, Manager at Wyndham Newport Onshore, responded to this review

Thank you for the kind words! We will share these with our staff. We are glad to hear you enjoyed your stay! Again, thank you for reaching out and we look forward to your next visit.

Townsend, Massachusetts
Reviewed 25 August 2015

we have been owners at the Onshore since 1995. We will be back again next week. We have seen this resort go through many changes, not all good, but the one thing that has been consistant is the quality of the staff. They really do their best to deliver 110% for the guests and work hard to overcome the the...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank TravelerJimA
Jill C, Manager at Wyndham Newport Onshore, responded to this review

Thank you for the kind words regarding service, we will definitely share these with our staff. Please know the current board at Newport Onshore is very much interested in updating as much as financially possible to the resort each year. The unit owners were not invoiced for the Marina upgrade. We are very pleased to say that we are in...

Hopkinton, Massachusetts
Reviewed 1 August 2015

Pros: great location; very roomy 2 bdr unit; good shower; decent bed; decent value Cons: terrible wifi; too many lounge hogs at the "communal" pool; condo needed better ventilation, with signs of moisture damage in bathroom; terrible lighting. Would I go back? Yes LOL. Overall value was better than what you normally get in Newport during Folk Festival weekend.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank SuzanneLynus
Jill C, Manager at Wyndham Newport Onshore, responded to this review

Thank you for this great feedback! It will allow us to continue to enhance the vacation experience at our resort. We are sorry to hear that your internet needs were not met. We are currently working to improve this feature, however this may take some time. Please visit us again in the future!

Miami, Florida
Reviewed 28 July 2015

I have been spending 3 weeks in July at Newport Onshore for over 23 years, so I am very familiar with the property. This year I was really disappointed in the miserable Wifi service that is provided to guests. Last year the Wifi was decent, not great. This year it was horrible - basically it did not work. We talked...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Carolina1776
Jill C, Manager at Wyndham Newport Onshore, responded to this review

We are sorry to hear that your internet needs were not met. As you know we have many properties which house a large amount of guests and their wireless devices. We are currently working to improve this feature, however this may take some time. We apologize for the inconvenience this caused you and thank you for your valuable feedback as...

Massachusetts
Reviewed 20 July 2015

Great location in heart of Newport. Right on the marina with great water views. You have to take it for what it is - a small resort in a fantastic location. Don't expect a large Marriott resort complex in Newport, there just aren't any. But for downtown Newport RI, it was great. Especially compared to the other Wyndham timeshares in...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank Crystal D
Jill C, Manager at Wyndham Newport Onshore, responded to this review

Thank you for the kind words! We will share these with our staff. We are happy to hear you enjoyed your stay and hope that you will visit us again! Again, thank you for reaching out.

121 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (101)
Viewed
View from Room (18)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (22)
Viewed
Bathroom (9)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (12)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Other (31)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (20)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Other (10)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newport hotels
0.6 km away
Newport Harbor Hotel & Marina
0.9 km away
Newport Marriott
Newport Marriott
#3 of 21 in Newport
540 reviews
0.7 km away
Hotel Viking
Hotel Viking
#4 of 21 in Newport
1,887 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 km away
Gurney's Newport Resort & Marina
0.2 km away
Forty 1⁰ North
Forty 1⁰ North
#9 of 21 in Newport
549 reviews
0.2 km away
Newport Bay Club & Hotel
Newport Bay Club & Hotel
#12 of 21 in Newport
247 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
GreenLeadersSilver level
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Suites
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Microwave
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Concierge

Additional Information about Wyndham Newport Onshore

Address: 405 Thames St, Newport, RI 02840-6603 (Formerly Fairfield Newport at Newport Onshore)
Region: United States > Rhode Island > Newport
Price Range: $196 - $724 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Wyndham Newport Onshore 3*
Number of rooms: 62
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelClick, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Wyndham Newport Onshore reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wyndham Newport Onshore Hotel Newport
Newport Onshore
Newport Wyndham
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Newport
#2 Best Value Hotel in Newport
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Newport
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Wyndham Newport Onshore staff and other travellers.
6 questions
Ask a question
Holland, Massachusetts
Beacon Falls, Connecticut
7 months ago

See all questions (6)

Questions? Get answers from Wyndham Newport Onshore staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Two bedrooms have two decks”
 of 5 bubbles 453paulg, 12 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Ask for a room with parking in an open space not between pillars”
 of 5 bubbles Jean293, 25 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Try for an upper floor corner room for better views”
 of 5 bubbles WayneR516, 14 Oct 2016 | Read review
“You can get wifi free for up to 4 devices, after that you have to pay.”
 of 5 bubbles bdevine29, 27 Jun 2016 | Read review
“all units have a great view of the harbor, easy access to all restaurants”
 of 5 bubbles derynoski, 15 Jun 2016 | Read review
5 of 5