We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Motel 6 Newport

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Professional photos
Motel 6 Newport
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

161 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Motel 6 Newport
See the most recent reviews
Showing 136: English reviews
Hamden
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 March 2015 via mobile

The absolute worst stay ever! We have stayed here many times over the years and enjoyed the attention Ajit gave us. This time he was not here and it was evident. The room was not clean and the obnoxious behavior of some of the guests was unacceptable. I mentioned this at checkout, found out Ajit was no longer there and... More 

Helpful?
7 Thank Natalie B
East Providence, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 November 2014

- The front desk customer service experience was not very hospitable. I guess I shouldn't expect enthusiastic people but someone who at least made eye contact and goes through the check in process with at least half a smile would've been nice. He seemed like he didn't want to be there and we were bothering him. - He didn't tell... More 

Helpful?
6 Thank GRW247
6Team, Brand Experience Team member at Motel 6 Newport, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. Our staff aims to provide the highest level of hospitality to our guests through our gustomer service, but with your experinece we have fallen short and would like to apologize for the service issues you describe. We are committed to delivering a clean, comfortable room and apologize for... More 

Travellers are raving about these Newport hotels

Hillsborough, New Jersey
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 October 2014

My husband son (4yrs) and I made reservations for one night on our way up to Maine. A quick stop in Newport so we didn't want to spend an arm and a leg. Seemed like the Motel 6 would be perfect.... well..... let me start by saying the staff was really friendly! This is a pet friendly hotel and it... More 

Helpful?
4 Thank FJScozz
Pa.
Level Contributor
28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 September 2014

If you are looking for Newport Elegance, this is not for you! If you enjoy a sparsly furnished, but very clean overnight room for under 50.00 , this is the place you want. We advanced booked with Priceline and got a room for 2 for 49.00 per night! We would stay there again. Our visit to Newport only lasted 2... More 

Helpful?
3 Thank 4038
Frazer
Level Contributor
28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 September 2014

My wife and I started our New England trip in Newport. We were not looking for opulence; just a decent, inexpensive ($47 in 10/13) night's sleep. It's convenient: only a few minutes outside of town. We would definitely return.

Helpful?
1 Thank Bruce M
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2014

I came to Newport for one night, but then subsequently extended my stay by three more. When paying for the extension, I specifically asked if the rate was going to be the same $59.99/night, and was told yes by the desk clerk. However at check out that turned out not to be the case, and they had already billed my... More 

Helpful?
4 Thank BigDog84
Allentown PA
Level Contributor
79 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2014

I didn't actually stay here. I did reserve a room. I spent 5 minutes talking to my husband about how we get out of this place. Fortunately, they refunded our money and we went to another hotel. You do get what you pay for and this hotel was about $70 per night. No shampoo, conditioner, hairdryer, closet...much of what I... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Doreen G
6Team, Brand Experience Team member at Motel 6 Newport, responded to this review

Poodle_Mommy, Thank you for posting your review. At Motel 6 we pride ourselves on giving our guests confidence in quality and comfort and we are sorry that due to the absence of amenities expected you did not have a pleasant experience with us. Please contact Guest Relations at 1-855-787-9864 so that we have a record of your visit, can further... More 

Milan, Italy
Level Contributor
33 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2014 via mobile

There was a dog barking loud in a room next to ours. Someone left the dog in the room and spent the night out, crazy. Very noisy motel. I was able to hear all the guests coming in at all different time of the night. I do not recommend! Please avoid this motel.

Helpful?
2 Thank ESSE L
New York City
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2014

I have one word to describe this motel: Yuck! The motel reeks of cigarette smoke and does not offer basic amenities in the room like a hair dryer or shampoo and conditioner. You have to buy the shampoo and conditioner in a vending machine. We booked a non-smoking room and were told upon check-in that the motel only had a... More 

Helpful?
3 Thank LL002
Collegeville, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2014

My daughter and her husband had reservations at this hotel for her sisters wedding. 2nd floor was filthy at 4:24PM with laundry carts all down the hall and bags off trash from rooms everywhere. Laundry room door was open and totally filthy. We proceeded to room and even after a guarentee 3pm check in the room had not been touched.... More 

Helpful?
7 Thank Suslonbuc

49 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (22)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (17)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (27)
Viewed
Other (27)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newport
0.6 km away
Mainstay Hotel & Conference Center
2.4 km away
Quality Inn & Suites Middletown - Newport
3.7 km away
Comfort Inn Middletown
Comfort Inn Middletown
#13 of 17 in Middletown
203 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 km away
Bay Willows Inn
Bay Willows Inn
#10 of 17 in Middletown
47 reviews
1.8 km away
The Carriage House Inn, an Ascend Collection hotel
3.4 km away
Newport Ambassador Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Smoking rooms available
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
Services
  • Free Parking

Additional Information about Motel 6 Newport

Address: 249 JT Connell Hwy., Newport, RI 02840
Region: United States > Rhode Island > Newport
Price Range: $73 - $154 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Motel 6 Newport 2*
Number of rooms: 79
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Odigeo, Motel-6 and Travelocity so you can book your Motel 6 Newport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Motel 6 Newport Hotel Newport
Motel Six Newport
Newport Motel Six
Newport Motel 6
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Motel 6 Newport staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
over a year ago

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Motel 6 Newport staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Don't stay here”
 of 5 bubbles MattF339, 14 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Bring ear plugs...”
 of 5 bubbles janmV4718WW, 20 Sep 2016 | Read review
“The roadside rooms are more noisy.”
 of 5 bubbles blueeyegrandmother, 5 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Don't book a room here”
 of 5 bubbles joharavhf, 21 Aug 2016 | Read review
“No elevator”
  • Room; nice and clean
 of 5 bubbles jonw127, 3 Aug 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay