We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Cliffside Inn

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Newport
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Management photos
Cliffside Inn
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,040 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Cliffside Inn
See the most recent reviews
Showing 1,026: English reviews
Joisy
Reviewed 3 October 2014 via mobile

What a lovely place. Stayed in carriage house and one of the best places we've ever stayed. From outside its very simple looking w faux garage door. Step inside to a 2 person jacuzzi big bathroom soft pillow top 4 poster canopy bed. Window bench fire place. Run by friendly prof people. Breakfast was home made granola yogurt fruits warm...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank June R
Cliffsideinn, Owner at Cliffside Inn, responded to this review

We are so glad you were able to have a last minute get away with us. The Carriage House indeed is a unique space. It is the only room that was built completely by us, so we have a special attachment to it. Even though you were only able to be with us for a short visit, we are so...

Warfield, Berkshire
Reviewed 2 October 2014

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Cliffside Inn in June. Bill and Nancy made us really welcome and served up fabulous breakfasts each morning, which we were lucky enough to enjoy in the sunshine on the lovely wraparound porch. The location of the Cliffside Inn is absolutely perfect just minutes away from the famous Cliff Walk/Mansion Houses. We stayed...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tinaarena
Cliffsideinn, Owner at Cliffside Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I hope you are all settled in back in the UK. We are having an absolutely brilliant fall here too - although we did catch a few rainy days this week. We are so glad that you enjoyed your time with us and hope if you make it back to...

Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Reviewed 2 October 2014

My husband and I stayed in The Beatrice Suite for a special Birthday Weekend. I couldn't fault the Inn, the staff or the owners. It was an experience to remember. Breakfast's and wine afternoon's a special experience also. Monica & Denis, from Melbourne Australia

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Monica C
Cliffsideinn, Owner at Cliffside Inn, responded to this review

MJ and Denis, We really appreciate you coming to the Cliffside Inn for Denis' "big" birthday! I personally really enjoyed speaking with both of you. I hope you were able to get back to Australia ok. The Hong Kong protests are still going on and they have stopped tour packages. Hmmm, luckily there is trip insurance. I do hope if...

Coventry, Rhode Island, United States
Reviewed 1 October 2014

My spouse and I were celebrating our Anniversary at the Cliffside Inn. It more than met our expectations. From the warm greeting by the staff to the wonderfully appointed rooms and delicious food attention was paid to all the details. The Cliffside is charming, comfortable and very will maintained. I look forward to returning and would definitely recommend to family...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Linda M
Cliffsideinn, Owner at Cliffside Inn, responded to this review

Thank you so much for choosing the Cliffside Inn for your 50th (!!!) wedding anniversary. We are so happy that you enjoyed your stay and had a lovely anniversary. Even though Coventry isn't very far, it is nice to be able to get away somewhere special to celebrate. Thank you for all of your lovely comments. Best, Nancy and Bill

Chisinau, Moldova
Reviewed 28 September 2014

I stayed in the Victorian room, everything was beautiful and super clean, breakfast is fantastic, especially if you sit on the porch and enjoy the view. The staff is friendly and helpful and the owners are very nice people.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Vlad M
Cliffsideinn, Owner at Cliffside Inn, responded to this review

Vlad, Thank you so much for your kind review. You were a pleasure to have with us and we will miss you. It was so great to see Newport thorough your eyes (and your camera lens). I hope you will send us some of those wonderful pictures you took. I'm glad to hear you are considering coming back to Newport...

New York City, New York
Reviewed 26 September 2014

We had the good fortune to book a two day stay at Cliffside Inn for our 30th Anniversary and we could not have been more delighted with the experience. The accommodations were clean and updated and spacious. The Innkeepers (Nancy and Bill) and their entire staff could not have been more gracious and helpful. We particularly enjoyed the wonderful breakfast...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Lanning B
Cliffsideinn, Owner at Cliffside Inn, responded to this review

It was our pleasure to host the two of you for your 30th wedding anniversary. We truly enjoyed having you here and getting to know you both. I really did think you might spend the entire first day on the front porch (which would have been fine) but I'm glad you got out to enjoy some of Newport as well....

Bethel, Connecticut
Reviewed 25 September 2014

My husband and I stayed here in September 2014 in the beautiful Garden Suite for our 10 year anniversary. The suite was beautiful and cozy, the Inn itself was impeccably maintained and exuded character, the breakfasts were delicious and the staff was wonderful (Bill and Nancy, the innkeepers, are fantastic). We've stayed at many luxury resorts and I can say,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank SASlaughter
Cliffsideinn, Owner at Cliffside Inn, responded to this review

Thank you so very much. Our wonderful guests make it such a pleasure to be in this business and the two of you rank at the top. It was great to have you with us and watch you enjoy your time in Newport and at the inn. We are really happy that you chose us for your 10th anniversary. Looking...

Staten Island, New York
Reviewed 24 September 2014

Staff was very helpful and friendly, beautiful décor and great location, just steps from Cliffside walk. My wife and I would go for early stroll along the Cliffside walk, to return to a delicious breakfast, a great way to start the day. After a day of great activities (sailing, mansion tours etc) we were welcomed with a nice selection of...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ed A
Cliffsideinn, Owner at Cliffside Inn, responded to this review

Thank you! We are so glad you enjoyed your time at the Cliffside Inn and in the St. George's Suite. That shower is really something. I'm happy you were able to enjoy the inn and the fire pit. I just love sitting out there at night with a good glass of wine. We look forward to seeing you again the...

Woodcliff Lake, New Jersey
Reviewed 22 September 2014

My husband and I recently stayed for a few nights at the Cliffside Inn. We have stayed at numerous inns in the past and The Cliffside Inn is definitely at the top of the list. The accommodations were beautiful and the breakfasts delicious. Since we had great weather we enjoyed relaxing on the porch especially at the 5:00 wine and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Peg K
Cliffsideinn, Owner at Cliffside Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review the Cliffside Inn. We loved having you both here and are so glad that you enjoyed Beatrice's Room. It is such a special room with the double bay windows and the views. We are glad you were able to take a quick mid-week break and hope you'll find sometime again soon to...

Goffstown, New Hampshire
Reviewed 21 September 2014

We have been to Cliffside Inn for our anniversary on two prior visits. The towels are soft, beds very comfortable, view and location ideal for this area. Our breakfast was excellent. Our only disappointment came because the website showed tea being offered and the day only offered wine and appetizers. Everything turned out fine, it was just unfortunate that we...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Team-Riel
Cliffsideinn, Owner at Cliffside Inn, responded to this review

Thank you so much for coming back to us after 13 years! We are glad that you were overall satisfied with your stay and that you will be coming back for a future visit. We are sorry about the confusion with the tea. We offer tea seasonally on Wednesday's during the winter. However, it appears that our website is missing...

494 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (471)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (102)
Viewed
Room/Suite (107)
Viewed
Bathroom (22)
Viewed
Dining (35)
Viewed
View from Room (6)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
1:31
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (195)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (23)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newport hotels
1.1 km away
Hotel Viking
Hotel Viking
#6 of 21 in Newport
1,819 reviews
0.3 km away
The Chanler at Cliff Walk
1.8 km away
Newport Marriott
Newport Marriott
#3 of 21 in Newport
507 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 km away
Newport Harbor Hotel & Marina
1.4 km away
The Vanderbilt Grace
The Vanderbilt Grace
#5 of 21 in Newport
592 reviews
1.3 km away
Francis Malbone House Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Enjoy the best of Newport in a romantic and serene coastal setting at this romantic Rhode Island inn, just steps from the historic Cliff Walk and Easton's Beach. Each of the beautifully appointed guest rooms and suites in our restored 19th century Victorian mansion, offer all of the amenities of a luxury hotel while retaining the unique charm and character of a New England country inn. Our Newport, RI bed and breakfast has earned an international reputation for gracious hospitality, epicurean delights, attentive service and special touches - making it one of Newport's most sought after destinations. Welcome to the Cliffside Inn - a AAA four diamond and Select Registry property. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Cliffside Inn

Address: 2 Seaview Ave, Newport, RI 02840
Region: United States > Rhode Island > Newport
Price Range: $248 - $663 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 16
Also Known As:
Cliffside Hotel Newport
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Cliffside Inn staff and other travellers.
4 questions
Ask a question
over a year ago
Massachusetts
over a year ago
Norwalk, Connecticut

See all questions (4)

Questions? Get answers from Cliffside Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“We loved the Garden Suite, but the circular staircase may be difficult for some folks.”
 of 5 bubbles Karla617, 11 Jan 2017 | Read review
“The Hydrangea suite was perfect, and offered an ocean view from the patio.”
 of 5 bubbles Mattster34, 9 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Cliffs was in the Cottage. Great suite but all travelers I met seemed happy with their rooms.”
 of 5 bubbles Bindu2004, 5 Jan 2017 | Read review
“The cottage suites are well worth the price and value!”
 of 5 bubbles 654andye, 2 Jan 2017 | Read review
“the sun room has a very nice water view”
 of 5 bubbles lcampane2016, 24 Dec 2016 | Read review
5 of 5