We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Mimslyn Inn

Expedia.comUSD 156*
View Deal
#1 of 9 Hotels in Luray
Certificate of Excellence
07/05/2017 08/05/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
USD 160*
USD 156*
USD 160*
USD 156*
USD 160*
USD 156*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Professional photos
The Mimslyn Inn
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

935 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Start your review of The Mimslyn Inn
 Click to rate
Reviewed 1 week ago

Great location and beautiful cottage. However, some of the staff are unprofessional and rude. They have a disdained look on their face when I checked in and were not on top of their duty. I'm not sure if it's because they get used to serving U.S. customers and not someone overseas. They asked for a $250 deposit even though I...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Cholda T
Sarah H, Guest Relations Manager at The Mimslyn Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for being our guest and thank you for providing us with feedback on your experience. I am sorry to hear that you did not experience the Vintage Southern Hospitality for which we are typically known. As is the case with most hotels here, we do charge an authorization hold to each guest’s credit card upon check-in. This hold...

Baltimore, Maryland
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We did a 2 day stay over spring break to Luray Caverns with the Kids. We could not have picked a better place to stay. The Mimslyn is a historic hotel, so don't expect the boxy decor of today’s chain hotels. This hotel was well appointed all around. We enjoyed the fireplace in the lobby, the winding staircase, the upper...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank oliverpeat
Sarah H, Guest Relations Manager at The Mimslyn Inn, responded to this review

It is a pleasure to read that your family's recent stay with us at The Mimslyn Inn exceeded your expectations. We are so pleased to know that you enjoyed an excellent stay and we were more than happy to be able to help retrieve your wife's earring from the sink! Thank you for taking the time to share your positive...

California's Wine Coast Country, California
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

For our purposes this was the best choice in the area. We visited the Luray Caverns, New Market Battlefield, etc. We were not interested in a motel chain experience. We stayed in a suite here so we'd have more room. The beds were very comfortable, the bathroom was spacious, the food in The Speakeasy was quite good. The hotel was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Hulagirl36
Sarah H, Guest Relations Manager at The Mimslyn Inn, responded to this review

We are delighted to know that you enjoyed your stay at The Mimslyn Inn in one of our spacious suites. Thank you for your comments on our comfortable beds, convenient location, great dining options, and friendly staff. We are glad to know that you were pleased with your decision to stay with us at The Mimslyn Inn and we look...

Arlington, Virginia, United States
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We had a nice stay here. The decor is a little outdated, but the location in the little downtown can't be beat and the staff was great. Great porch to enjoy when the weather is nice. Breakfast muffins were stale and coffee was terrible (no in-room coffee maker) but since it was free, can't complain too much.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Erin T
Sarah H, Guest Relations Manager at The Mimslyn Inn, responded to this review

It was a pleasure having you as our guests and we are glad to know that you enjoyed your time with us. Thank you for your comments on our convenient location, friendly staff and spacious front porch. We apologize for any disappointment you encountered with our morning coffee service and look forward to exceeding your expectations on your next stay!

Washington DC, District of Columbia
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Stayed last weekend and had a dinner at Circa '31. Restaurant Manager and server were very attentive. Great service. Food was delicious. Of course, our room was so comfortable. Mimslyn Inn is such a gem.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Thelma L
Sarah H, Guest Relations Manager at The Mimslyn Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for brightening our day with your kind compliments regarding your recent stay with us. We are delighted to know that you were comfortable in your guest room and that you had the opportunity to enjoy dining with us at Circa '31. We look forward to your next visit and hope to always exceed your expectations.

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

The Mimslyn Inn was beautiful, comfortable and clean with great restaurants, but the courteous, helpful staff is what truly sets this gem apart. A trip to Gennarro's Pizza across the street is must for those with kids. Thanks for a great stay!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tom D
Sarah H, Guest Relations Manager at The Mimslyn Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for brightening our day with your lovely review of your recent stay with us at The Mimslyn Inn! It was a pleasure having you as our guests and we are delighted to know that you found our Inn to be beautiful, clean and comfortable. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon!

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Staff and facilities are great and very well kept. The brunch, which is only 17 dollars a person and includes and mimosa, is not however that delicious. The omelet station and the bacon were my favorite and the entrees served during brunch consisted of a a lot of over cooked fish and chicken. The ambiance and the staff overall is...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Shayna C
Sarah H, Guest Relations Manager at The Mimslyn Inn, responded to this review

While we appreciate your compliments on our location, ambiance, staff and facilities, we are sorry to hear that the brunch offerings that day failed to meet your expectations or our own high standards. As noted in other reviews, we are typically known for our delicious food and I apologize if the selections that day failed to meet the high standards...

Virginia
Reviewed 15 March 2017

As a near local, I've been to the Mimslyn for Sunday brunch and a "quick bite" at the downstairs "Speak Easy" restaurant (both were delightful experiences) I have a soft spot for historic/restored hotels and always wanted to check out the Mimslyn. Our stay was a special week-end celebration and noted this when I reserved online. We decided to splurge...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank lv2travelVirginia
Sarah H, Guest Relations Manager at The Mimslyn Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for being our guest and thank you for your candid feedback regarding your experience. We are glad to know that you found our accommodations and ambience to be exceptional; however, we are mindful to take your feedback regarding our service to heart to ensure a superior experience for future guests. We strive to provide each of our guests...

Reviewed 7 March 2017

My husband and I stayed at the Mimslyn Inn for a wedding. Our room was beautifully furnished, just like the pictures online. The space in each room runs small, due to it being historic property. We had breakfast at the restaurant on-site - the food and service was wonderful!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Robin S
Sarah H, Guest Relations Manager at The Mimslyn Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for being our guests and thank you for your 5-bubble review of your experience. It was an honor to host the wedding and we are delighted to know that you enjoyed your time with us. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon and hope to always exceed your expectations.

Severna Park, Maryland
Reviewed 1 March 2017

It is advertised as a luxury hotel, and perhaps in Luray it is. From our perspective the only thing luxury was the room rate. To be fair it is an historic inn (1930's) with a lot of character, antiques grand entrance and lobby. We chose the lowest price rooms, perhaps that is where we went wrong? Too much furniture for...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank dennis w
Sarah H, Guest Relations Manager at The Mimslyn Inn, responded to this review

We are sorry to hear that your stay at our Historic Inn failed to meet your expectations. As noted in our room descriptions, our Historic Rooms are modest sized guest rooms with maximized living space and efficient furniture arrangement. We do offer more spacious suites for guests who prefer a larger area. It is never easy to hear that a...

370 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (293)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (109)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (45)
Viewed
View from Room (12)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (4)
Viewed
Dining (19)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (97)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (77)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (29)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (20)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (20)
07/05/2017 08/05/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Luray
0.2 km away
Hotel Laurance
Hotel Laurance
#3 of 9 in Luray
31 reviews
0.2 km away
BEST WESTERN Intown Luray
2.2 km away
The Cardinal Inn
The Cardinal Inn
#4 of 9 in Luray
130 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 km away
Days Inn Luray Shenandoah
23.3 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites Woodstock
23.4 km away
Holiday Inn Express Woodstock / Shenandoah Valley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Food & drink at the hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Hot Tub
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Concierge
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
This refined Georgian Revival inn is only 3 minutes to the Luray Caverns, gardens and museum, and 10.6 miles from the Thornton Gap Entrance of Shenandoah National Park. Each of the 45 rooms has been individually decorated with relaxing color schemes, beautiful fabrics, rich patterns, classic furnishings and modern amenities. Pillow-top bedding provides exceptional comfort. Large windows with natural light illuminate most rooms, allowing the vivid landscape of the outdoors to be seen. In addition to a fine-dining restaurant, Circa '31 and meeting facilities, the inn has a fitness center, a spa and an art deco-inspired cocktail bar known as The Speakeasy. There are also gardens, a gift shop and an art gallery. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Mimslyn Inn

Address: 401 W Main St, Luray, VA 22835-1024
Region: United States > Virginia > Luray
Price Range: $177 - $383 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Mimslyn Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Mimslyn Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Mimslyn Hotel Luray
Mimslyn Hotel Luray
Mimslyn Inn
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Mimslyn Inn staff and other travellers.
15 questions
Ask a question
2 months ago
Sarah H Strasburg, Virginia Property representative
Helpful answer
1
Vote
Not as helpful

Thank you for your inquiry! Our cottages do have all the comforts of home, including televisions. We hope to see you soon!

2 months ago
Bon Air
cathy20162016 Luray, Virginia Reviewed this property
Helpful answer
1
Vote
Not as helpful

The mountains surround the town and the Mimslyn is on a hill... so I would think that everything has a view!

over a year ago
Rockville, Maryland
10 months ago
Jimsims Property representative
Helpful answer
1
Vote
Not as helpful

Greetings,

We are about 45 minutes to the Inn Please keep in mind the roads are mountainous.

Jim Sims

10 months ago
Monroe, New Jersey
11 months ago
moosaki MARTINSBURG Reviewed this property
Helpful answer
1
Vote
Not as helpful

Look on their FB page or Christian Assam's. They were brig placed when we stopped over. They are modules with pillared verandas.

11 months ago
3 months ago
wolfie212 Somerdale, New Jersey Reviewed this property
Helpful answer
0
Votes
Not as helpful

When I visited the hotel no children were present. Mimslyn has a quiet and relaxing atmosphere.

2 months ago

See all questions (15)

Questions? Get answers from The Mimslyn Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Ask the front desk to help you start the wood burning fireplace on the upper level terrace for ultimate night time enjoyment!!”
oliverpeat, 12 Apr 2017 | Read review
“We chose a corner room suite on an upper floor. Large, sunny. Very comfortable.”
Hulagirl36, 12 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Did not stay for overnight lodging, only meals...public area rooms are classically furnished.”
lanceb565, 15 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Rooms on the South are quieter”
srbphoto, 23 Jan 2017 | Read review
“visit website to see room samples”
859seand, 14 Jan 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Expedia.com
USD 156* /night
View Deal
Orbitz.comUSD 156
TravelocityUSD 156
TripAdvisorUSD 156
View all 8 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates