We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Earthbox Inn & Spa

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Earthbox Inn & Spa
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

588 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Earthbox Inn & Spa
See the most recent reviews
Showing 582: English reviews
Reviewed 7 October 2016

We have now been to the Earthbox 3 times and we enjoyed our stay every time. The people at the Front desk were super nice and accommodating. The soaps and shampoos are to die for. We love the pool and hot tub area. It is great for the kids and we like the Hot tub. Loved that pets are welcome....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Santina L
EarthboxLaura, Manager at Earthbox Inn & Spa, responded to this review

Hi Santina, Thank you so much for your visit and your lovely review. We are so happy you love our place and can't wait to have you back soon. Sincerely, Steffi Wehner Customer Service Manager

Whidbey Island, Washington
Reviewed 3 October 2016

We love reserving this hotel when our son and his kids come to Friday Harbor. They gave us early check in and let us stay after check out to swim in the pool. The rooms are clean and very nicely decorated. Love the lobby and the complimentary of herbal tea. This is THE place to stay in Friday Harbor!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Alohagirl1017
EarthboxLaura, Manager at Earthbox Inn & Spa, responded to this review

Hi Alohagirl1017, Thank you for letting us host your lovely family. We are so happy you love our place and can't wait for their next visit. Sincerely, Steffi Wehner Customer Service Manager

slo
Reviewed 30 September 2016

The staff was very helpful. We had a "Sun Place Room" which has a balcony. It needs some attention. The top rail was very wobbly. Although I was made aware that it overlooked a field, that was not the whole truth. It overlooked a field, the back of the post office with all the postal vehicles, and some industrial works...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 001Slo
EarthboxLaura, Manager at Earthbox Inn & Spa, responded to this review

Hi 001Slo, Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a detailed review about your stay. We appreciate your feedback and will look into your suggested improvements. Thank you for your visit. Please come back soon. Sincerely, Steffi Wehner Customer Service Manager

Gardena, California
Reviewed 29 September 2016

The Inn had plenty of parking, updated room decor and great smelling soaps. The front desk was really helpful and pool/ jacuzzi area was indoors. We enjoyed the pool, the great weather and the short walks to the city to eat and shop. Although we didnt take advantage of the spa, it was inviting. Very relaxing island. Spent alot of...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank michelleota
EarthboxLaura, Manager at Earthbox Inn & Spa, responded to this review

Hi Michelleota, Thank you so much for your visit and your sweet review. We are so happy you had a great time and can't wait for your next visit. Sincerely, Steffi Wehner Customer Service Manager

Reviewed 21 September 2016

What a lovely little spot in a cute town. The staff was friendly, the rooms were clean and updated, and it was very quiet. Matter of fact, the whole town is pretty quiet. This is a great spot to get away and relax for a few days. I was so glad when they were able to hold onto my luggage...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Brittany R
EarthboxLaura, Manager at Earthbox Inn & Spa, responded to this review

Hi Brittany, Thank you so much for your visit and your sweet review. We loved having you and are so happy you appreciate our little island and town as much as we do. Come back soon, yes? Sincerely, Steffi Wehner Customer Service Manager

Reviewed 20 September 2016 via mobile

Upon arrival, office staff was friendly and helpful. Got to the room and it smelled musty. There were hairs on the bathroom walls and the bathroom fan didn't work. There were stains on the bed skirt and the ceiling looked to have water damage in the far corner above the patio doors. And the bed frame seemed to be broken....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank gtennis84
EarthboxLaura, Manager at Earthbox Inn & Spa, responded to this review

Hi Gtennis84, Thank you so much for taking the time to let us know about your visit. We very much appreciate you pointing out what you loved and where we need improvement. We can't wait for your next visit and a chance to "wow" you. Sincerely, Steffi Wehner Customer Service Manager

Cheyenne, WY
Reviewed 18 September 2016

Interesting option for your Friday Harbor stay if you know what you're getting. Pros: Great location on the main drag, close to many attractions, restaurants, and stores (We did not have a car). Clean rooms with good amenities. Very friendly and helpful staff. Free bikes. Nice indoor pool. Spa in a neighboring house where we enjoyed excellent massages. Cons: This...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Crude
EarthboxLaura, Manager at Earthbox Inn & Spa, responded to this review

Hi Crude, Thank you so much for your visit and your nice review. We loved having you and can't wait to show you what's new next time. Sincerely, Steffi Wehner Customer Service Manager

Vancouver, Washington
Reviewed 17 September 2016

The fella at the desk was welcoming. The room was calming and clean. The bathroom was small but there was plenty of hot water. We didn't get a massage or use any other amenities. It was expensive for what it was.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Scott W
EarthboxLaura, Manager at Earthbox Inn & Spa, responded to this review

Hi Scott W, Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your visit. Yes, life on an island is much more expensive than on the mainland. Just think that everything from towel to mattress, from coffee to gas needs to be shipped or flown over. In addition wages, taxes and utilities, especially water, cost so much more....

Reviewed 15 September 2016 via mobile

Had an amazing vacation on the islands. The Earthbox inn itself was just okay. It was very expensive for what we got though. Uncomfortable beds and tiny bathroom. Needed an iron and ironing board so I asked if they could bring one to the room but they never did. We did have massages at the spa that were simply amazing!...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank johnnysmommy31601
EarthboxLaura, Manager at Earthbox Inn & Spa, responded to this review

Hi Johnnysmommy31601, Thank you so much for taking the time to let us know about your stay. We are thrilled, you loved our spa services. We are so sorry you found our Inn just okay. Please know that being on the island is more expensive than staying on the mainland. Just think everything, from pillow to nail, from coffee to...

Reviewed 14 September 2016 via mobile

Made an early bird reservation and got a 25% discount for our room. Sea Place room. Arrived early morning and were able to access our room right away. Persons at front desk most helpful, got us on a whale watching trip last minute and went out of their way to get us spa treatments scheduled for the next morning. Room...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Teresa O
EarthboxLaura, Manager at Earthbox Inn & Spa, responded to this review

Hi Teresa, Thank you so much for your visit and your wonderful review. We loved having you and can't wait for next time. Sincerely, Steffi Wehner Customer Service Manager

257 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (62)
Viewed
Room/Suite (12)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (22)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (20)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (176)
Viewed
Amenities (24)
Viewed
Earth Place (21)
Viewed
Pool (12)
Viewed
Sea Place (26)
Viewed
Sky Place (25)
Viewed
Sun Place (26)
Viewed
The Hotel (17)
Viewed
Water Place (25)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (19)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (4)
Viewed
Other (14)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Friday Harbor hotels
0.4 km away
The Island Inn at 123 West
The Island Inn at 123 West
#3 of 10 in Friday Harbor
330 reviews
0.9 km away
Discovery Inn
Discovery Inn
#2 of 10 in Friday Harbor
408 reviews
0.3 km away
Friday Harbor Suites
Friday Harbor Suites
#9 of 10 in Friday Harbor
127 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 km away
Tucker House Inn
Tucker House Inn
#4 of 10 in Friday Harbor
485 reviews
0.4 km away
Friday Harbor House
Friday Harbor House
#5 of 10 in Friday Harbor
468 reviews
0.3 km away
Bird Rock Hotel
Bird Rock Hotel
#8 of 10 in Friday Harbor
342 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Spa
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
GreenLeadersSilver level
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Spa
  • Hot Tub
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Microwave
Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Concierge
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Earthbox Inn & Spa is a delightful blend of cool resort motel and classic vintage motor inn with an indoor pool, full-service spa, stylishly renovated rooms, free wifi, free parking and complimentary bicycles. Centrally located in downtown Friday Harbor, only 4 blocks from the Washington State Ferry. Also enjoy the many outdoor area attractions including kayaking, biking, hiking, and wildlife/whale tours. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Earthbox Inn & Spa

Address: 410 Spring St, Friday Harbor, San Juan Island, WA 98250-7230 (Formerly Elements Hotel & Spa)
Region: United States > Washington > San Juan Islands > San Juan Island > Friday Harbor
Price Range: $223 - $351 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Earthbox Inn & Spa 2.5*
Number of rooms: 72
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Earthbox Inn & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Earthbox Motel And Spa
Earthbox Hotel Friday Harbor
Earthbox Motel Friday Harbor
Earthbox Inn & Spa San Juan Island/Friday Harbor, WA
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Friday Harbor
#5 Family Hotel in Friday Harbor
#6 Romantic Hotel in Friday Harbor
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Earthbox Inn & Spa staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Earthbox Inn & Spa staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Call or email the front desk with your request--they are very responsive.”
 of 5 bubbles J2930JNjimw, 30 Jan 2017 | Read review
“The Earth room by the pool was very spacious - more like a suite.”
 of 5 bubbles Zonadl, 17 Oct 2016 | Read review
“The rooms with AC might be needed during heat of summer.”
 of 5 bubbles Crude, 17 Sep 2016 | Read review
“We had a quiet room at the end of one of the buildings. I can imagine it might be louder by the coffee bar but not sure.”
 of 5 bubbles W_on_the_Road, 6 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Very popular location: book early if you want a particularly sized room.”
 of 5 bubbles charlesh155, 28 Aug 2016 | Read review
5 of 5