We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites San Antonio-Downtown Market Area

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Professional photos
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites San Antonio-Downtown Market Area
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

232 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites San Antonio-Downtown Market Area
See the most recent reviews
Showing 224: English reviews
Austin, Texas
Reviewed 24 March 2015

We stayed at this hotel march 17-20. Very nice hotel renovated rooms are nice. Only thing we did not have hot water and the balcony door did not lock. If the fix theses thing I would stay again. Good location and good for families.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank andrewnymets
Arlene U, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites San Antonio-Downtown Market Area, responded to this review

Thank you for choosing our hotel (the Holiday Inn & Suites Alamo} thank you for taking the time to share your experience. It makes us smile when we hear our Guests had a good stay and provide feed back. Thank you again and we look forward to seeing you in the near future

McAllen, Texas
Reviewed 4 March 2015 via mobile

Okay, so I'm a IHG member and used my points to stay here. I was on a budget and had never been asked to put a deposit on their Holiday Inn properties before, so I wasn't expecting that. It was like, I find a way to pay or they were not going to let me stay. Breakfast was decent, and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank herheartsdelight
Arlene U, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites San Antonio-Downtown Market Area, responded to this review

Thank you for choosing our hotel. Please accept our apologies for the issues you encountered upon check-in. Most Holiday Inn & Suites these days require a credit card for incidentals upon check-in. We do appreciate your feedback and will work on the areas where we have opportunities for improvements.

Reviewed 1 March 2015 via mobile

The place was clean and the bed was comfortable. Breakfast was pretty good. The location was ok with a number of food options nearby. My main disappointment was with the fact that I wanted to take a quick dip in the hot tub, but it was out of order, but would be fixed "soon". By the end of the week,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank common123
Arlene U, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites San Antonio-Downtown Market Area, responded to this review

Thank you for choosing our hotel (the Holiday Inn & Suites Alamo} thank you for taking the time to share your experience. It makes us smile when we hear our Guests had a good stay and provide feed back. Thank you again and we look forward to seeing you in the near future.

Cleveland, Ohio
Reviewed 26 February 2015

We drove counrty cleveland to phoenix & back, santa fe, grand canyon, zion, bryce, las vegas, carlsbad & this hotel the worst, dilapidated, coffee pot leaked, faucet stuck on shower, poor layout of room, bathroom small, muffins/biscuits stale for breakfast.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Mary Lou S
Arlene U, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites San Antonio-Downtown Market Area, responded to this review

Thank you for choosing our hotel during your time in San Antonio. Guest satisfaction is our priority and I am disappointed that you were not happy with your stay. I appreciate your feedback, it gives us an opportunity to retrain on customer service and communicating better with our guest. If you're in our city again, please reconsider staying with us...

Rockport, Texas, USA
Reviewed 21 February 2015

We selected this hotel because of the price and the location within walking distance of the King William District, River Walk, and Market Square. The hotel check in was very fast and we were surprised at the size of our room. When I checked out I asked why the 2 bed room reserved also included an adjoining room with a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank portbaymike
Arlene U, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites San Antonio-Downtown Market Area, responded to this review

We appreciate you choosing our hotel (the Holiday Inn Express Alamo) on your recent visit to our city. Customer Service is our #1 priority and when we receive feed back such as yours, it makes our DAY! Thank you for taking the time to share your experience!

Reviewed 12 February 2015

The management and staff are very courteous and accommodating. All staff we encountered, including maintenance and hospitality greeted us. Ruben was especially warm and personable as was our bartender this evening.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Sara B
Arlene U, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites San Antonio-Downtown Market Area, responded to this review

We appreciate you choosing our hotel (the Holiday Inn Express Alamo) on your recent visit to our city. Customer Service is our #1 priority and when we receive feed back such as yours, it makes our DAY! Thank you for taking the time to share your experience!

McAlester, Oklahoma
Reviewed 28 January 2015

Nice and clean. Staff very helpful. Daughter is in a wheelchair and while the handicapped rooms weren't available they made sure to put us on the first floor and the room was large enough for her to maneuver around in with no problem. With the exception of the last day we were very pleased with the breakfast etc. The motel...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MDilts
Arlene U, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites San Antonio-Downtown Market Area, responded to this review

We appreciate you choosing our hotel (the Holiday Inn Express Seaworld) on your recent visit to our city. Customer Service is our #1 priority and when we receive feed back such as yours, it makes our DAY! Thank you for taking the time to share your experience!

Charlestown, Rhode Island
Reviewed 6 December 2014

My wife and I were given bad directions to find the hotel. Being sick and tired we were extremely frustrated on being lost. But Zoe Obregon on the hotel staff was very helpful and patient in helping us find the hotel. Once at the hotel she was always there to help us out during our stay. The room was exceedingly...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Steve W
Arlene U, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites San Antonio-Downtown Market Area, responded to this review

We appreciate you choosing our hotel (the Holiday Inn Express Alamo) on your recent visit to our city. Customer Service is our #1 priority and when we receive feed back such as yours, it makes our DAY! Thank you for taking the time to share your experience!

Midland, Texas
Reviewed 29 November 2014 via mobile

This hotel is awful. I'm here now. I've been in 3 rooms in 48 hrs. First rooms had leaking ceilings. The restaurant manager is RUDE!! last night my son had an accident. I stripped the sheets. I came back to my room, my son got in bed and they pulled the sheets back on the bed!!! Our room keys kept...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Ashlee F
Arlene U, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites San Antonio-Downtown Market Area, responded to this review

Thank you for choosing our hotel during your time in San Antonio. Guest satisfaction is our priority and I am disappointed that you were not happy with your stay. I appreciate your feedback, it gives us an opportunity to retrain on customer service and communicating better with our guest. If you're in our city again, please reconsider staying with us...

Santa Rosa, New Mexico
Reviewed 12 November 2014

Room was very clean we stayed in 115. The A/C was too loud. The parking lot is big but we are across the street from the bar in the back. We drove up late and a bunch of drunks were arguing and walking around the lot. It is pointless to have a 'security' camera with weirdos like this hanging around....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank BertaGSoliz
Arlene U, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites San Antonio-Downtown Market Area, responded to this review

Thank you for choosing our hotel during your time in San Antonio. Guest satisfaction is our priority and I am disappointed that you were not happy with your stay. I appreciate your feedback, it gives us an opportunity to retrain on customer service and communicating better with our guest. If you're in our city again, please reconsider staying with us...

281 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (40)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
View from Room (7)
Viewed
Other (14)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (205)
Viewed
Amenities (15)
Viewed
Pool (17)
Viewed
Dining (13)
Viewed
Standard King Room (43)
Viewed
Standard Room (47)
Viewed
The Hotel (22)
Viewed
Whirlpool Suite (48)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (36)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (14)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (5)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Antonio hotels
Avenida Guadalupe
Holiday Inn San Antonio Downtown
Holiday Inn San Antonio Downtown
#128 of 357 in San Antonio
629 reviews
Avenida Guadalupe
Fairfield Inn & Suites San Antonio Downtown/Market Square
BEST WESTERN Alamo Suites
#89 of 357 in San Antonio
423 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Avenida Guadalupe
Candlewood Suites San Antonio Downtown
Candlewood Suites San Antonio Do...
#123 of 357 in San Antonio
84 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Breakfast
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Restaurant
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Restaurant
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
  • Breakfast Available
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Holiday Inn Express San Antonio Downtown Market Area welcomes you. Located in the heart of downtown San Antonio, our all suite hotel has recently been renovated and is just a few miles from The Alamo, the downtown market district and the scenic River Walk, offering convenient access to the San Antonio International Airport. Our hotel is perfect for your next San Antonio vacation. This San Antonio hotel in the downtown market district provides easy access to area attractions including Sea World of Texas, the San Antonio Zoo, Six Flags Fiesta Texas and Splashtown Water Park. Many popular shopping destinations are also nearby, such as the Rivercenter Mall, El Mercado Market Square and the North Star Mall. Other area attractions not far from our hotel in San Antonio include the Alamodome, the San Antonio Convention Center and the AT&T Center, home of the San Antonio Spurs.Business travelers will enjoy a stay at our newly renovated hotel in downtown San Antonio due to its close proximity to companies such as Tesoro, Xerox, Washington Mutual, IBC, Toyota and SBC. Our San Antonio hotel is just 15 miles from the San Antonio International Airport.During your stay at our San Antonio hotel, enjoy the 24-hour fitness center, heated, outdoor pool, relaxing whirlpool and complimentary hot breakfast bar. Check out the discount rates on our quality San Antonio hotel rooms by the River Walk and start planning your visit today. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites San Antonio-Downtown Market Area

Address: 102 El Paso St, San Antonio, TX 78204-3101
Region: United States > Texas > San Antonio
Price Range: $126 - $243 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites San Antonio-Downtown Market Area 2.5*
Number of rooms: 65
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, IHG, Travelocity, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites San Antonio-Downtown Market Area reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites San Antonio-Downtown Market Area
Holiday Inn San Antonio
Holiday Inn Express San Antonio
San Antonio Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites San Antonio-Downtown Market Area Texas
Hotel Style:
#73 Romantic Hotel in San Antonio
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites San Antonio-Downtown Market Area staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Stay at the front of the hotel, there is a club behind the hotel with loud music.”
 of 5 bubbles V2989IMwendyc, 28 Sep 2016 | Read review
“get the suite...”
 of 5 bubbles ICULOOKIN4_info, 26 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Ask for a room that does not overlook the pool. I found it noisy.”
 of 5 bubbles moink813, 21 Jul 2016 | Read review
“No where near pool if it's warm outside!”
 of 5 bubbles 610MelissaP610, 5 Jul 2016 | Read review
“Fourth floor had a view of downtown skyline, all rooms were quiet.”
 of 5 bubbles 832meredithh, 25 Apr 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay