We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites San Antonio-Downtown Market Area

HIExpress.comUSD 116*
View Deal
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Lock in the lowest price from our partners
View Deal
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Professional photos
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites San Antonio-Downtown Market Area
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

242 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 234: English reviews
Start your review of Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites San Antonio-Downtown Market Area
 Click to rate
Los Angeles, California
Reviewed 1 week ago

We absolutely loved this hotel! We stayed in a suite that has the 2 king beds and pull out sofa. It was perfect! Extremely clean and well kept, perfect for a family with kids. Beds were super comfortable. Plenty of room. Would definitely return. Only part we didn't like was the location, at night it doesn't seem very safe. Especially...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank fcortes84
Management response:

Thank you kindly for your feedback. We value each and every guest. We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with high hopes you will come back and visit us again. Have a great day. Letticia C General Manager

Buffalo, Texas
HOTEL’S FAVOURITE REVIEW
Reviewed 3 March 2017

We stayed here last night and everything was excellent. I was a bit concerned about staying here after reading several negative reviews. We arrived around 3pm and had not problem checking in. The hotel was clean and well kept. We stayed on the first floor in a king suite. We had a nice size two room space divided by a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Paul D
About Hotel's Favourite Review
Management response:

Thank you so much for your review of our hotel. I am pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. It's something our staff takes great pride in, so we value your feedback. We hope you will visit us again. Sincerely, Letticia H General Manager

Las Cruces, New Mexico
Reviewed 13 April 2017 via mobile

Checked into motel and tv in room was completly shattered and unusable... when we went to report to front desk the girl said well were booked and the only room left has a cracked window.. the room was filthy i ended having to clean the shower myself just so my son could bathe... there was pieces of crumpled paper holding...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank M8712GVjessicas
Management response:

Thank you for your feedback. We value each and every guest. We apologize sincerely with the issues you encountered. We will make sure to take care of the issues and hope you will come back and visit to reassure this Hotel is the place you are looking for. Have a great day. Letticia H General Manager

Reviewed 16 March 2017 via mobile

Let me start by saying I'm a glass half full type of girl and don't normally leave negative comments on my reviews unless they are warranted. So, there's that. We visited this hotel for the UIL boys state basketball tournament. First impression upon pulling into the parking lot was, where is the parking lot? Not near enough parking for all...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Summerh15
Management response:

Thank you kindly for your feedback. We value each and every guest. We sincerely apologize for the issues you have encountered. I will make sure to take this into training and make sure our employees work a little harder at meeting expectations. However, I do hope in the near future you will come back and visit us again to ensure...

Baton Rouge, Louisiana
Reviewed 2 March 2017

We just had a night to stay. Arrived early, they let us check in an hour before normal. We found our room to be surprisingly nice. It was a suite, so it had two TV's a couch, a Kurig, two nice queen beds. Nice breakfast area with great breakfast choices. Downside was the end we were on was right next...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Cheese_head_in_La
Management response:

Thank you so much for your review of our hotel. I am pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. It's something our staff takes great pride in, so we value your feedback. We hope you will visit us again. Sincerely, Letticia H General Manager

Denton, TX
Reviewed 10 February 2017

Just a quick overnight turnaround. I'm delighted that It wasn't any longer! Let's see, let me count the misses: 1) Location - awful. In a destination city like SA lodging moves further and further away from the destination until it gets so remote that it's built in a deteriorating commercial/industrial area. Somehow the HEI found a small plot of dirt...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tupelo010835
Management response:

Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent visit at our hotel and please accept our sincerest apologies for the disturbance you have experienced during your stay due to the room conditions. Rest assured that these issues will be looked into. We value your comments and welcome the opportunity to serve you again. Sincerely, Letticia H General Manag

Charlotte, North Carolina
Reviewed 6 February 2017

We only stayed here one night but and we had no issues or anything to complain about. The location is not great, when you are at the hotel you are inside, not the area to take a jog up the street or within walking distance to a bunch of places to eat. Lock your car and make sure you take...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Alison R
Management response:

Thank you so much for your review of our hotel. I am pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. It's something our staff takes great pride in, so we value your feedback. We hope you will visit us again. Sincerely, Letticia H General Manager

McAlester, Oklahoma
Reviewed 1 February 2017

This is the 3rd year in a row that we have stayed at this hotel. Last year we had problems with the phone in our room not working. This year same exact room and the phone still doesn't work! This is a handicap room and you would think they would realize that a non-working phone in that particular room causes...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank MDilts
Management response:

Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent visit at our hotel and please accept our sincerest apologies for the disturbance you have experienced during your stay due to the room conditions. Rest assured that these issues will be looked into. We value your comments and welcome the opportunity to serve you again. Sincerely, Letticia H General Manager

Reviewed 4 January 2017 via mobile

Overall the hotel was OK. I reserved a suite for one night which had 2 queen beds. The room was nice and roomy. My only complaint was the AC. It did not cool enough. Had to put the AC to it's coldest temp which I believe was 60° but even then it struggled to keep the room comfortable. Spent the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Rene P
Management response:

Thank you so much for your review of our hotel. I am pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. It's something our staff takes great pride in, so we value your feedback. We hope you will visit us again. Sincerely, Letticia H General Manager

Reviewed 22 December 2016

I travel regularly for work and have chosen to stay at a Holiday Inn Express while traveling for the past year and a half. This location has been going downhill despite receiving a renovation. After waking up one morning during my most recent trip. I realized that behind one of the pillows on my bed, the headboard had dried blood...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank landmein
Management response:

Thank you for your feedback. We value each and every guest. We do apologize for the inconvenience we may have caused, although, the headboard was not dried blood. We took caution that day when we spoke and it appeared to be makeup. We hope in the near future you will give us a chance to make things right. Happy Holidays...

282 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (41)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
View from Room (7)
Viewed
Other (14)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (205)
Viewed
Amenities (15)
Viewed
Pool (17)
Viewed
Dining (13)
Viewed
Standard King Room (43)
Viewed
Standard Room (47)
Viewed
The Hotel (22)
Viewed
Whirlpool Suite (48)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (36)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (14)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (5)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Antonio hotels
Avenida Guadalupe
Holiday Inn San Antonio Downtown
Holiday Inn San Antonio Downtown
#123 of 354 in San Antonio
700 reviews
Avenida Guadalupe
Fairfield Inn & Suites San Antonio Downtown/Market Square
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Avenida Guadalupe
Residence Inn San Antonio Downtown/Market Square
Avenida Guadalupe
Courtyard San Antonio Downtown/Market Square
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Microwave
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Breakfast included
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Holiday Inn Express San Antonio Downtown Market Area welcomes you. Located in the heart of downtown San Antonio, our all suite hotel has recently been renovated and is just a few miles from The Alamo, the downtown market district and the scenic River Walk, offering convenient access to the San Antonio International Airport. Our hotel is perfect for your next San Antonio vacation. This San Antonio hotel in the downtown market district provides easy access to area attractions including Sea World of Texas, the San Antonio Zoo, Six Flags Fiesta Texas and Splashtown Water Park. Many popular shopping destinations are also nearby, such as the Rivercenter Mall, El Mercado Market Square and the North Star Mall. Other area attractions not far from our hotel in San Antonio include the Alamodome, the San Antonio Convention Center and the AT&T Center, home of the San Antonio Spurs.Business travelers will enjoy a stay at our newly renovated hotel in downtown San Antonio due to its close proximity to companies such as Tesoro, Xerox, Washington Mutual, IBC, Toyota and SBC. Our San Antonio hotel is just 15 miles from the San Antonio International Airport.During your stay at our San Antonio hotel, enjoy the 24-hour fitness center, heated, outdoor pool, relaxing whirlpool and complimentary hot breakfast bar. Check out the discount rates on our quality San Antonio hotel rooms by the River Walk and start planning your visit today. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites San Antonio-Downtown Market Area

Address: 102 El Paso St, San Antonio, TX 78204-3101
Region: United States > Texas > San Antonio
Price Range: $126 - $267 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites San Antonio-Downtown Market Area 2.5*
Number of rooms: 65
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick and Hotel.de so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites San Antonio-Downtown Market Area reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites San Antonio-Downtown Market Area
Holiday Inn San Antonio
Holiday Inn Express San Antonio
San Antonio Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites San Antonio-Downtown Market Area Texas
Hotel Style:
#73 Romantic Hotel in San Antonio
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites San Antonio-Downtown Market Area staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Ask for a room on the pool side to avoid road noise”
377pauld377, 3 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Lowered number rooms away from interstate.”
Cheese_head_in_La, 1 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Stay at the front of the hotel, there is a club behind the hotel with loud music.”
V2989IMwendyc, 28 Sep 2016 | Read review
“get the suite...”
ICULOOKIN4_info, 26 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Ask for a room that does not overlook the pool. I found it noisy.”
moink813, 21 Jul 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
HIExpress.com
USD 116* /night
View Deal
Hotwire.comUSD 116
TravelocityUSD 116
PricelineUSD 115
View all 11 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates