We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Salem Inn

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
The Salem Inn
View Map
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}}}
Add Photo Write a Review

625 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
  • More
Showing 610: English reviews
Start your review of The Salem Inn
 Click to rate
White Plains, New York
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We booked Friday and Saturday to enjoy some R and R. The Inn itself is convenient to get to, clean, and comfortable. The stay was so much more enjoyable because of the enthusiasm of John, our greeter, and Deanna, our breakfast hostess. Our room had a comfortable bed, plenty of pillows, a fireplace for ambience and a jacuzzi tub. The...

Thank Doibergers
Melissa D, Front Desk Reservations at The Salem Inn, responded to this review

Dear Doibergers Thank You so much for your very kind review. We will be sure to pass along your kind comments to Johnny & DeeAnne. They will be so pleased. It is so great to hear we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back again. Take Care The Salem Inn Staff

Holland Patent, New York
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

My room was in the front of the main building on the second floor. The rooms have been newly redone. It was a lovely room with a large comfortable bed, a sitting area, and a working fireplace with a Duraflame log so I enjoyed a cozy fire one evening. There were 2 large windows overlooking the street in the room...

Thank Kathleen H
Melissa D, Front Desk Reservations at The Salem Inn, responded to this review

Dear Kathleen H Thank You for your very kind review. Your beautiful description of our Inn is greatly appreciated. We had just recently completed a remodel process in the room you stayed in. We love the finished product and are so pleased you enjoyed it as well! We have chosen these particular shower dispensers in all of our showers as...

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

The service was great and the hotel had the genuine New England feel and look. The women that attended to the breakfast were always smiling and Johnny at the front desk was a life saver! He called the cab and was so positive!

Thank Sabrina F
Melissa D, Front Desk Reservations at The Salem Inn, responded to this review

Dear Sabrina F Thank You for your recent stay at The Salem Inn. Our Inn consist of three historic, charming properties. The main building The Captain West House ( where you stayed) was built in 1834. Our Curwen House was built in 1854. Our Peabody House was built in 1874. Through our recent remodel process we have preserved our genuine,...

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Amazing hospitality the room was gorgeous the whirl pool tub eased my back pain the cleaning lady was phenomenal they gave you water softening hers smelled amazing complimentary breakfast the food was great the kitchen staff do kind and friendly in definitely going back

Thank trina7830
Melissa D, Front Desk Reservations at The Salem Inn, responded to this review

Dear trina7830 Happy 20th wedding anniversary! Thank You so much for the five star recommendation. Our whirlpool suites are in very high demand, our guests love to relax after a long day of seeing all the wonderful sights Salem has to offer. Our staff consistently strives to meet our very high standards here at The Salem Inn. We are so...

Martinsburg, West Virginia
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The room was okay, but my family and I were forced to leave early due to bad weather. We checked out before check out time, and I know they do not offer refunds, but they also would not offer a voucher to come back in the future. They obviously do not care about the safety of the guests from out...

Thank Mia F
Melissa D, Front Desk Reservations at The Salem Inn, responded to this review

Dear Mia F When you chose to check out a day early on Saturday we were at full capacity and unable to resell your room. You left after our housekeeping staff had departed for the day. The safety of our guests is of utmost importance to us here at The Salem Inn. Due to the predicted snow that was posted...

Irving, Texas
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

The location was probably the best attribute of the Salem Inn. Did the establishment exude charm, not really. The standard room looked just that, standard. The bed was not that comfortable, I woke up during the night due to bed sores. The reception was very friendly. The breakfast was continental and included an omelette. They are very pet friendly, but...

Thank Erica K
Melissa D, Front Desk Reservations at The Salem Inn, responded to this review

Dear Erika K I would like to thank you for taking the time to write a review of your recent stay at The Salem Inn. It is feedback such as yours that we are able to maintain and indeed, where necessary, improve upon the service that we provide to our valued guests. I want to apologize that your sleep was...

Reviewed 5 weeks ago

I had a very nice stay the the Salem Inn. The room was spacious and clean and the bathrooms were clearly recently updated. I loved the bed--super comfy-- and got a great night's sleep. The location can't be beat.

Thank Susan M
Melissa D, Front Desk Reservations at The Salem Inn, responded to this review

Dear Susan M We are very pleased you enjoyed your stay with us here at The Salem Inn. You are correct we have recently finished a renovation process in our main building. The finished product of our rooms exceeded our expectations and we are very happy you enjoyed it as well. Our guests love the fact they can park their...

Reviewed 14 March 2017 via mobile

Reserved a room here to enjoy a last minute getaway with the girlfriend. What a great friendly staffed establishment! We arrived late night. They had a key waiting for us. The staff was beyond helpful and very very friendly. The room was great, nice and clean. Only issue we had was that we couldn't get the ac working. But come...

Thank Dave M
Melissa D, Front Desk Reservations at The Salem Inn, responded to this review

Dear Dave M Thank You so very much for your very kind review of our Inn. Our Inn has recently gone through a renovation process, we are so happy you love the glass showers as much as we do! Most of our staff has been with The Salem Inn for many, many years. Our staff strive everyday to make sure...

Madison, Connecticut
Reviewed 11 February 2017

Very nice large room and bathroom, furnishings simple but new. Location is good for walking to nearby sights, shopping, restaurants. This is a historic hotel, with the main (West) building built in mid 1800s. I love old hotels and always seek them out when travelling, so it is disappointing that the only "common" areas are the small lobby/check-in area and...

Thank Amy J
Melissa D, Front Desk Reservations at The Salem Inn, responded to this review

Dear Amy J Thank You for your recent stay with us in our Captain West House. The West house was built in 1834 by sea captain Nathaniel West. It is the largest of our three homes and reflects the fine craftsmanship of the federal period. We apologize for your disappointment in the location of our common area. We have a...

Reviewed 23 January 2017 via mobile

This is a shout out to D rocking the gourmet food and service. Non stop laughs. That is one quality human being. Between the relaxing environment and Miss Lady's hospitality, it was a feel-good experience. Would definitely recommend 👍

Thank Thomas F
Melissa D, Front Desk Reservations at The Salem Inn, responded to this review

Dearest Thomas F Thank You so very much for your very kind review. DeeAnne has worked at The Salem Inn for many, many years and absolutely loves what she does everyday! We will most definitely pass this very kind review along to her. We do hope you will join us again very soon. The Salem Inn Staff

288 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

All Traveller Photos (263)
Room/Suite (88)
Hotel & Grounds (59)
Dining (12)
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Bathroom (16)
View from Room (5)
Videos (1)
Other (81)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

All Management Photos (25)
Room/Suite (13)
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Bathroom (2)
Dining (1)
Other (5)


  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Three elegantly restored historic homes in heart of downtown Salem. Just a few minute's walk to restaurants, attractions, museums and waterfront. We offer forty charming, unique guest rooms with private baths. Family Suites with kitchenettes are perfect for families or extended stays. Complimentary breakfast (including an omelet bar), sherry night cap, free wi-fi, and YMCA passes available. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Salem Inn

Address: 7 Summer St, Salem, MA 01970-3315
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Salem
Price Range: $285 - $351 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Salem Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity and Cheap Tickets so you can book your The Salem Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Salem Hotel Salem
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Salem Inn staff and other travellers.
5 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (5)

Questions? Get answers from The Salem Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Street noise from trucks-bring earplugs”
AmyJ977, 11 Feb 2017 | Read review
“First Floor, and Yellow house has the best parking”
LadyBourdain, 18 Jan 2017 | Read review
“There is a lot of street noise in the front rooms”
aegerbrick, 5 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Room 12 (family suite) is on the first floor near the courtyard in the back.”
TNoble7734, 31 Oct 2016 | Read review
“We were in a front room by the road, the traffic was a little noisy, but the rooms were very quiet from other people staying”
mjgayhardt, 23 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5