We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Salem Inn

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Salem Inn
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel"},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

617 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 602: English reviews
Start your review of Salem Inn
 Click to rate
Madison, Connecticut
Reviewed 1 week ago

Very nice large room and bathroom, furnishings simple but new. Location is good for walking to nearby sights, shopping, restaurants. This is a historic hotel, with the main (West) building built in mid 1800s. I love old hotels and always seek them out when travelling, so it is disappointing that the only "common" areas are the small lobby/check-in area and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Amy J
Melissa D, Front Desk Reservations at Salem Inn, responded to this review

Dear Amy J Thank You for your recent stay with us in our Captain West House. The West house was built in 1834 by sea captain Nathaniel West. It is the largest of our three homes and reflects the fine craftsmanship of the federal period. We apologize for your disappointment in the location of our common area. We have a...

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

This is a shout out to D rocking the gourmet food and service. Non stop laughs. That is one quality human being. Between the relaxing environment and Miss Lady's hospitality, it was a feel-good experience. Would definitely recommend 👍

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Thomas F
Melissa D, Front Desk Reservations at Salem Inn, responded to this review

Dearest Thomas F Thank You so very much for your very kind review. DeeAnne has worked at The Salem Inn for many, many years and absolutely loves what she does everyday! We will most definitely pass this very kind review along to her. We do hope you will join us again very soon. The Salem Inn Staff

Portland, Maine
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

Depending on what you need, this Hotel/Inn could work for you! We stayed in a seperate house around the corner, so after checking in we were able to Park and leave our car all weekend. The Houses are all centrally located, it was fall but we walked all over town and saw all the witch muesems, shopping, restaurants, etc. No...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank LadyBourdain
Melissa D, Front Desk Reservations at Salem Inn, responded to this review

Dear LadyBourdain Thank You for taking the time to write a review about our Inn, we greatly appreciate the feedback/ comments we receive from our guests. Breakfast is located in our property with the most space, which is our Captain West House. We offer fresh made omelette's that has been apart of our breakfast menu since March of 2016, in...

West Rutland, Vermont
Reviewed 3 January 2017 via mobile

When we booked the room at the Salem Inn we expected a higher end historic hotel. The location was fantastic and close to everything but the hotel itself is lacking. First, there wasn't anyone around when we arrived and our key was under the mat with a map with directions to our hotel which incidentally was not where we picked...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Magik01301
Melissa D, Front Desk Reservations at Salem Inn, responded to this review

Dear Magik01301 We are sorry to hear that you were very disappointed with your stay at our Inn. Our front desk is operational between the hours of 8:00AM- 10:00PM. After 10:00PM we have a late check in process that has been in place for 30 years. We also have a resident Innkeeper who lives onsite, shall our guests need assistance...

Reviewed 1 January 2017 via mobile

I took my mom on a haunted B&B tour for her 60th birthday. This hotel was not my original first choice but I feel that it was fate that brought us here. We had one of the best experiences of our lives. No hauntings but great times! The restaurant staff made our stay and were easily some of the greatest...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sarah P
Melissa D, Front Desk Reservations at Salem Inn, responded to this review

Dear Sarah P Thank You so much for your very kind review. Happy birthday to your mom! We are so delighted you chose our Inn for this wonderful occasion. We can not wait to welcome you both back very soon. All the best to you and Happy New Year! The Salem Inn Staff

Middletown, Connecticut
Reviewed 11 December 2016 via mobile

The centrally located hotel had a bed and breakfast feel with large rooms filled with antique furniture. The room we had was equipped with a fireplace although they do not allow a fire until November. Another inconvenience was parking at Main building where check-in is located. There was ample parking at the building we stayed at and the breakfast was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kris D
Melissa D, Front Desk Reservations at Salem Inn, responded to this review

Dear Kris D Thank You for your review of our Inn. We are very pleased you enjoyed our breakfast. The fireplaces are in service in November. This is the time of year when they are inspected and cleaned for the start of our Winter season. We look forward to welcoming you back, perhaps you could come in the Winter and...

Greenville, New York
Reviewed 14 November 2016

Stayed in room 51 of The West House which had a queen bed and fireplace. Location was fantastic you could walk to everything. Maid service was friendly and so was the front desk. Breakfast was good and they even made fresh omelets. The staff at the breakfast and wine and cheese hour were very nice(loved Deana). I would recommend also...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank marvin2621
Melissa D, Front Desk Reservations at Salem Inn, responded to this review

Dear marvin2621 Thank You for your review of our Inn. We will be sure to let DeeAnne know how much you enjoyed wine & cheese hour, as well as breakfast. Our guests really enjoy their time with DeeAnne. Wine & cheese hour was a recent addition to our Inn and is very popular with our guests. We look forward to...

San Marcos, Texas, United States
Reviewed 10 November 2016

The Salem Inn was a beautiful and historic place to stay in Salem! We Stayed at the West House which is literally across the street from the Witch House. Everyone on staff that we came into contact with was very friendly and helpful. In the morning, the offered a free breakfast which ended up being one of the best breakfasts...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jamie W
Melissa D, Front Desk Reservations at Salem Inn, responded to this review

Dearest Jamie W Thank You for your kind words. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay and our wonderful breakfast. Our location is ideal for everything Salem has to offer, we are within walking distance to downtown and most attractions. We hope to see you again. The Salem Inn Staff

Reviewed 6 November 2016

I cannot say enough great things about The Salem Inn. Having planned this visit for over a year, my friends and I stayed here this Halloween for 4 nights from the 28th-1st. We stayed in the West House in Room 18 which is the Oversized Family Suite (enough to sleep 6) and was lucky enough to score street parking RIGHT...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Adam S
Melissa D, Front Desk Reservations at Salem Inn, responded to this review

Dearest Adam S Thank You so very much for the 5 star rating and your wonderful, kind review. It is greatly appreciated by our entire staff! We strive everyday to make sure our guests stay is as wonderful and lovely as yours was. We can not wait to welcome you back very soon. All The Best; The Salem Inn Staff

Gettysburg, Pennsylvania
Reviewed 5 November 2016

The room was very clean but a little shabby. The border was falling off of the wall. The bed was comfortable and overall pleasant. it is definitely and old home but we were expecting that. The coffe was substandard compared to the coffee at breakfast. It would've been nice to have to go cups downstairs.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank aegerbrick
Melissa D, Front Desk Reservations at Salem Inn, responded to this review

Dear aegerbrick Thank You for taking the time to write a review of our Inn. We are happy to hear you enjoyed breakfast and wine & cheese hour with DeeAnn and Liliana. Our Inn was built in 1834, and still has it's historic charm. Please come back again soon and request a newly renovated room, perhaps with a fireplace. Winter...

284 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (259)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (59)
Viewed
Room/Suite (87)
Viewed
Dining (12)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (16)
Viewed
View from Room (5)
Viewed
1:11
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (78)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (25)
Viewed
Room/Suite (13)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (5)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Salem
0.7 km away
Salem Waterfront Hotel & Suites
0.7 km away
Hawthorne Hotel
Hawthorne Hotel
#1 of 2 in Salem
1,882 reviews
4.8 km away
Boston Marriott Peabody
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.9 km away
SpringHill Suites Boston Peabody
8.2 km away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Boston-Peabody
0.2 km away
The Merchant
The Merchant
#2 of 9 in Salem
144 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Three elegantly restored historic homes in heart of downtown Salem. Just a few minute's walk to restaurants, attractions, museums and waterfront. We offer forty charming, unique guest rooms with private baths. Family Suites with kitchenettes are perfect for families or extended stays. Complimentary breakfast (including an omelet bar), sherry night cap, free wi-fi, and YMCA passes available. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Salem Inn

Address: 7 Summer Street, Salem, MA 01970
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Salem
Price Range: $219 - $306 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Salem Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Salem Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Salem Hotel Salem
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Salem Inn staff and other travellers.
5 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (5)

Questions? Get answers from Salem Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Street noise from trucks-bring earplugs”
 of 5 bubbles AmyJ977, 11 Feb 2017 | Read review
“First Floor, and Yellow house has the best parking”
 of 5 bubbles LadyBourdain, 18 Jan 2017 | Read review
“There is a lot of street noise in the front rooms”
 of 5 bubbles aegerbrick, 5 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Room 12 (family suite) is on the first floor near the courtyard in the back.”
 of 5 bubbles TNoble7734, 31 Oct 2016 | Read review
“We were in a front room by the road, the traffic was a little noisy, but the rooms were very quiet from other people staying”
 of 5 bubbles mjgayhardt, 23 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5