We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Historic Calumet Inn

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Professional photos
Historic Calumet Inn
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

138 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 137: English reviews
Eagan, Minnesota
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Seriously ....! I went to this hotel a week ago . And let me tell you that, the history of this hotel alone is worth the stay . Guy at the front desk which btw was actually the owner (Chad I think) was very helpful, polite and jovial. Once in there I start looking at the cool stuff around ,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jefe2016
Laramie
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

This is a really funky old hotel that we loved! The stone wall and stairs are spectacular. The room was very funky with a slanted floor, hot and cold water that barely mixed a 60's kitchen unit (no pots, pans or dishes supplied) We immediately felt like family and throughly enjoyed our stay. If you are looking for a renovated...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Andrea B
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Reviewed 21 September 2016

I enjoyed a stay at the Calumet Inn on a mother/daughter trip to visit Pipestone. We stayed in one of the historic rooms on the second floor with two queen beds. It was bigger than many rooms I have stayed in at chain hotels and was very clean. I was told that the rooms on the upper floors are later...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Valerie W
Historic_Calumet_Inn, Manager at Historic Calumet Inn, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your review. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay and hope that you return to enjoy our establishment once again. We are striving to return the hotel to it's past beauty and hope everyone has the chance to experience it first hand and follow our progress.

Minneapolis, United States
Reviewed 20 September 2016

Liked the idea of a historic old hotel, rather than a chain. Unfortunately, this one is a little too historic and old. We had one of the 'historic' rooms - a street-facing room on the 2nd floor (other rooms are more modern, supposedly). The room WAS 'historic' - high ceilings, antique furniture (not in very good condition) and old-fashioned bathroom...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Jeff A
Historic_Calumet_Inn, Manager at Historic Calumet Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. I apologize for the noise of the trains, our rooms towards the opposite side of the building do not have the problem that a few of the limited rooms on the front do. We are currently updating our rooms to create a better experience for our guests. We have recently...

California
Reviewed 24 August 2016

If you're looking for a "Holiday Inn Express" type experience keep on trucking. If you are looking for something a bit out of the ordinary you will find the Calumet Inn a wonderfully unique stop over. We stayed in the "Belleweather Plantation" room on the third floor - each floor of the hotel having its own theme. As other reviews...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank gow2014
Orange City, Iowa
Reviewed 16 August 2016

Went to Pipestone. MN to see the Pipestone National Monument, which everyone should see (beautiful and serene; an educational and historic experience). We saw the Calumet Inn online and thought an old, updated hotel would be perfect for our visit. We have stayed in several restored, historic hotels in the past and were impressed with the care and vision others...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank Goofballhusband
St. Cloud
Reviewed 10 August 2016 via mobile

We were on our way home from Rapid City and found this place for the night. It was a place to sleep. We were disappointed that pipestone doesn't have any bar and grill places to have a drink or burger at. We went to the pub on the street. That was nothing to be desired. Scary worker. Then we walked...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank sarah r
Omaha, Nebraska, United States
Reviewed 1 August 2016

The good: It's got lots of character, especially in a small town like Pipestone. Everyone was really nice and accommodating. The shower products were good quality. They allow pets. The not so good: The walls are pretty thin so you hear all the creaks and sounds from the outside, the hotel is old (which give it character in a way)...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank Sirenaenelmar
Minneapolis
Reviewed 30 July 2016

A lovely hotel - not a modern place with all the bells and whistles, but lots of small town charm, grace and comfort, including free wifi, free breakfast and an in-room kitchenette. Very quiet, lovely toiletries, and a gracious front desk staff.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Robin G
Kansas City, Missouri
Reviewed 13 July 2016

I love historic buildings and hotels which is why I chose this hotel. Disappointed that I could not rent one of the antique rooms because my dog was with me but that's ok. The room I was given was on the third floor, it was ok but definitely needed updating and repairs. Hole in the closet doors, very worn furniture,...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Rhonda P

87 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (38)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (16)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Other (7)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (49)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Dining (19)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Other (18)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Pipestone hotels
1.2 km away
Crossings by GrandStay Pipestone
1.1 km away
Americas Best Value Inn - Pipestone
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Breakfast
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Kitchenette
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Microwave
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Breakfast
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Discover the jewel of the MN prairie land! Once the grandest hotel in SW Minnesota, the Historic Calumet Inn is a splendid place to dine, relax and have a restful night. Come see why we are a favorite for vacationers, business professionals, tour groups, honeymooners and retreats! 36 Guest rooms, 2 restaurants, 2 bars, 1 great experience! ... more   less 

Additional Information about Historic Calumet Inn

Address: 104 West Main, Pipestone, MN 56164
Region: United States > Minnesota > Pipestone
Price Range: $94 - $130 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Historic Calumet Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Historic Calumet Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Historic Calumet Hotel Pipestone
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Historic Calumet Inn staff and other travellers.
4 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (4)

Questions? Get answers from Historic Calumet Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Some rooms have clawfoot tubs. If you have mobility or balance issues you may want to reserve a room with an more easy access shower.”
 of 5 bubbles 332valeriew, 20 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Check room carefully before accepting it. "Historic' rooms MAY be worth the slight extra price.”
 of 5 bubbles jeffaF1418HA, 19 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Ask for a street view, so you do not have the rooftops of other businesses.”
 of 5 bubbles KELittle, 13 Oct 2015 | Read review
“we should have asked to look at rooms. Ours was very very old, not updated at all.”
 of 5 bubbles kkwboulder, 5 Oct 2015 | Read review
“Again drive the extra miles to find something else on SD or MN”
 of 5 bubbles Dendoo, 25 Aug 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay