Hotel Albuquerque at Old Town
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

Hotel Albuquerque at Old Town

800 Rio Grande Blvd NW, Albuquerque, NM 87104-2007
Lobby in the evening
Traveller (797)
A Sunday morning surprise as I opened the room curtains
Room & Suite (435)
QBar Lounge at the Hotel Albuquerque at Old Town
Dining (87)

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all

About

4.5
#1 of 150 hotels in Albuquerque
4.6 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.4 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.2 of 5 bubbles
Value
The Hotel Albuquerque offers New Mexican hospitality in with Albuquerque sophistication. Adorned with a historic touch of contemporary furnishings inside its territorial-style exterior, the hotel is a one-of-a-kind experience. Comfort is melded with New Mexican elegance in every one of the 188 guest rooms. The hotel offers restaurants, bars and social venues on the property to satisfy the hungry, the high-class, and the ultra-chic. As a landmark to the city, the hotel sits quaintly in the historic Old Town area, where guests can conveniently walk to several attractions, parks, museums, and shops. After one experience at the Hotel Albuquerque, you’ll feel like calling Albuquerque your home."Hotels supporting cultural causes."
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Parking
Wifi
Pool
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Business Centre with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Baggage storage
Hot bath
Outdoor pool
Heated pool
Coffee shop
Restaurant
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Chapel / shrine
Concierge
Convenience store
Gift shop
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
Sun terrace
ATM on site
24-hour front desk
Express check-in / check-out
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Ironing service
Room features
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Interconnected rooms available
Private balcony
Room service
Safe
Coffee / tea maker
Flatscreen TV
VIP room facilities
Iron
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
4.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Classic
Family
Languages Spoken
English, Spanish

Location

800 Rio Grande Blvd NW, Albuquerque, NM 87104-2007
2,613Reviews14Q+A100Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 1,519
  • 683
  • 236
  • 101
  • 77
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
diangeltravel wrote a review Sept 2020
Phoenix, Arizona1,166 contribution122 helpful votes
+1
4.0 of 5 bubbles
We only spent one night at this hotel, it was a little confusing at first, like getting to the front desk we had to pass by the restaurant that is inside. The employee working that night was very nice and welcoming, we asked for a room as high as they had, we got it at the 9th floor. Although the hotel is a little old, it was very clean and nice in the room. The room was sealed and you could tell they put extra effort to clean it especially during this pandemic. I would stay again there if I visited Albuquerque again in the future.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Kelsey H, Social Media Coordinator at Hotel Albuquerque at Old Town
Responded 26 Sept 2020
Thank you for your thorough review! We appreciate your support! We are delighted to hear that you experienced welcoming service and enjoyed the cleanliness of your room. We hope you will come back for another visit and let us earn that final star from you!
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
bppiatek wrote a review Apr 2021
Los Angeles, California82 contributions4 helpful votes
+1
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We recently stayed at Hotel Albuquerque as Covid-19 restrictions are easing up. Although everyone is still masked up and precautions and limitations are in effect, you can see in the eyes of the staff that they are very pleased to see us.

The rooms are pretty large, the beds comfortable with new mattresses and the entire hotel is spotless. The hotel restaurant has limited hours due to COVID-19 restrictions, but there is a new restaurant facility across the street with 20+ small entrepreneurs creating fresh hand made foods.

We met a flamenco artist who was onsite for a photo shoot. She will be performing at the hotel’s Flamenco room when restrictions are lifted again. The hotel’s owner is a supporter of the Arts in NM.

The grounds are ready again for events or just for strolling about. See photos.

This hotel is by far our favorite retreat in NM and is our ‘go-to’ destination in Albuquerque.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Kelsey H, Social Media Coordinator at Hotel Albuquerque at Old Town
Responded 10 Apr 2021
Thank you so much for your incredibly kind review! We are thrilled that you enjoyed many aspects of your stay with us and we loved hearing some wonderful details of your stay! We appreciate your support and we hope to care for you again soon!
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Donna wrote a review Feb 2020
4 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
The most remarkable thing about our stay at Hotel Albuquerque at Old Town was the staff. Everyone from housekeeping to valet to random employees we meet in the hallway was personable, friendly, smiled and asked our stay was. They all asked if there was anything they we needed or they could do to improve our stay. The lady cleaning the windows made extra sure that the windows were clean all while opening the door for employees and guest with a smile.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Kelsey H, Social Media Coordinator at Hotel Albuquerque at Old Town
Responded 29 Feb 2020
Thank you so much for taking the time to share this kind review about your experience with us. It means so much to hear that our team had such a positive impact on your stay and that you experienced such wonderful care from so many of our team members. It was such a pleasure caring for you and we would love to do it again in the future!
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Chelsea B wrote a review July 2021
10 contributions4 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
The hotel was fine. We were travel during COVID so they had some different protocols in place but they didn't offer housekeeping unless requested which was never mentioned when we booked or upon checking in. There are no breakfast options on site but it's reasonably priced and location is nice and easy to walk to several things.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2021
3.0 of 5 bubblesValue
3.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Kelsey H, Social Media Coordinator at Hotel Albuquerque at Old Town
Responded 24 July 2021
Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. We are so glad that you enjoyed our location and price, but we apologize for the lack of housekeeping due to Covid and that this was not communicated to you before your arrived. We appreciate your understanding and support and we hope you can return again when we are fully back up and running.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
zagated wrote a review Apr 2021
NYC33 contributions45 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We had booked at a hotel right on Route 66 and it was just too loud and crowded. They kindly let us cancel our reservation, and we were lucky to get into Hotel Albuquerque, Old Town. Michael at the front desk helped us get a lovely room at a good promotional rate. Large, clean room with balcony and we have an alcove with an additional desk. Wifi is fine. Rooms have fridges, not microwaves but they will actually microwave something for you at the reception desk! We were delighted to see the gorgeous, large heated swimming pool is open 7AM to 7PM now. The shops and restaurants in the hotel are still closed for Covid, but there is plenty to eat just outside and the Old Town location is perfect. Quiet, clean, tranquil spot with gardens and fountains, highly recommended.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2021
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Room Tip: higher rooms perhaps better
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Kelsey H, Social Media Coordinator at Hotel Albuquerque at Old Town
Responded 12 Apr 2021
Thank you for your review! We appreciate your support. We are thrilled to hear that you were able to book a room with us easily. We love to hear that you enjoyed so many aspects of your stay. We hope to care for you again in the future!
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
AmberRae wrote a review June 2021
6 contributions5 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
Hotel Albuquerque is a no frills average hotel. However for the price we were very pleased. There’s nothing over the top or phenomenal. I expected it to maybe look a little more high end as the lobby is so beautiful but they are just basic hotel rooms. It is very safe, clean, and convenient for tourists. As many others have said (and I heard other guests complain about at the check in desk) the parking fee is unnecessary. For the price I would expect private parking, a deck, or a parking sticker at least. While I felt cars were safe in the lot because of the area, anyone can park here. So the fact I as a guest of the hotel had to pay an extra fee where anyone else just visiting the area can park for free, irritates me. The hotel should revisit this. Many evenings when Sawmill or Old Town area are busy it was really difficult to find a parking spot closest to the hotel entrance. I could not imagine how busy the lot would be during the balloon festival or other busier times. If you’re not going to provide private spaces for your guests, then do not charge the parking fee.
The bathrooms could use some updating. While everything is clean, the fixtures are very out of date. I’m not too picky as I wasn’t spending much time in the hotel, but these could use some updating for ease of use and efficiency. We were on the fourth floor and our water in the sink and shower got extremely and dangerously hot. To not burn yourself taking a shower you had to barely turn the faucet on, making for little water pressure. This could really be a liability the hotel needs to look into.
The staff was very friendly and helpful. Some of the best customer service I’ve received in hotels. All in all I would stay here again for the price and cleanliness. The management just needs to consider a few updates and review the parking amenities.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Kelsey H, Social Media Coordinator at Hotel Albuquerque at Old Town
Responded 29 June 2021
Thank you for all of the great feedback about your experience! We appreciate you going into such detail and highlighting what you felt to be our strengths and weaknesses. We are thrilled to hear that we provided some of the best customer service that you have received at a hotel and that you enjoyed our cleanliness and value. We are always looking to improve and several of your points will be very helpful to share with our team to ensure that they are addressed in a timely manner. We appreciate your honesty and support and we hope to care for you again soon!
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Tom W wrote a review Sept 2021
13 contributions3 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
Having never been to Albuquerque before, my pre-trip research indicated that Hotel Albuquerque had a longstanding reputation as one of the finest hotels in the city. That reputation was perhaps deserved in 1981, but it's 2021 and this hotel is way past its prime.

They charge a very premium price (more than $400/night after fees and taxes in my case), comparable to what I paid for a suite at the Waldorf-Astoria in NYC four years ago, but the Hotel Albuquerque is closer to a Motel 6 in quality. The room was very dated, with worn-out carpeting, rust stains in the tub, and thin towels. The "balcony" didn't have a chair; it was little more than a small perch you could stand on for some fresh air. More importantly, the room lacked soundproofing. Not only was the DJ from the outdoor wedding reception (in the courtyard just outside my room) much louder than the TV in my room, the shouting from the drunken attendees continued well past midnight. The next night, the barking dog in an adjacent room and the constant slamming of the doors woke me up every hour or so. I went there to relax, but left exhausted.

I will add that the hotel staff was very friendly and cheerful, with two exceptions. When I complained about the noise and asked for a different room on my first night, the woman at front desk declined and said they were 95% full. Upon checkout a different woman at the front desk asked how my stay was. I said "It wasn't very good," to which she replied "That's too bad" and went about her business. Why bother asking if you don't care? But again, the other staff was wonderful even if the hotel itself was awful.

In summary, I would not recommend this hotel.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021
1.0 of 5 bubblesValue
2.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Kelsey Harney, Other at Hotel Albuquerque at Old Town
Responded 1 Oct 2021
We are deeply sorry that your experience with us did not meet your expectations. We apologize that your experience was not as restful as we would have desired and that the room seemed outdated. We never desire for a guest to be disturbed by other guests and we make every effort to provide the best care that we can for all reservations. We apologize that due to a full house we were unable to assist you further and move you to another room. We hope you can forgive us as we are very sincerely sorry for the disturbance you experienced. We will work with our team to see how we can better handle situations such as this moving forward as we are committed to improving. We again are very sorry for your experience but we hope you can give us another chance to make it up to you in the future.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Mariam Tresch wrote a review Sept 2020
1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
My friends and I stayed at Hotel Albuquerque for several nights and our experience was excellent. The location of the hotel is right in the middle Old Town. Plenty of places to eat that are walking distance. They also have a great indoor/ outdoor restaurant on site that have AMAZING margaritas and food. They have a beautiful outdoor pool and seating area.Not to mention I was amazed to see all the staff members enforcing and abiding by the social distancing restrictions and everyone wearing makes and gloves, It really made us feel safe and comfortable. I recommend this hotel to anyone and everyone who is looking for an enjoyable get away, great food and incredible hospitality.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Kelsey H, Social Media Coordinator at Hotel Albuquerque at Old Town
Responded 10 Sept 2020
Thank you for your five-star review, Mariam! We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed yummy food and great service during your stay with us! We appreciate your support and hope to care for you again soon!
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Kimberly wrote a review May 2021
1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Let me start by saying it was nice to just relax in a beautiful room. The hotel staff were all kind and very helpful. I am also being completely honest, when I tell you that I have never slept so well...like EVER!! The mattress, pillows and even the comforter were 100٪ I felt like I was sleeping on a cloud and forgot where I was when I woke up. I did not want to leave my room when it was time to see the local attractions. I will be back our next time we are in town! ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐
Read more
Date of stay: May 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Kelsey H, Social Media Coordinator at Hotel Albuquerque at Old Town
Responded 16 May 2021
We are elated to hear that you enjoyed your relaxing stay with us! We appreciate your support and look forward to your next visit!
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Susan W wrote a review Jan 2023
3 contributions
3.0 of 5 bubbles
The hotel has a great location -close to Old Town and several good museums. It is a classic New Mexico style and lovely to look at inside. The parking is abundant and convenient. The front desk and bell staff were friendly and helpful. The gift shop is quite appealing.

The room was spacious, but unfortunately had no place to sit. The water in the shower was tepid at best – barely tolerable. The room was spotless at the beginning but was not made up once during our four-day stay – no one even replenished the toilet paper or emptied the trash.

The restaurant was so bad that it rates a separate review. Unfortunately, being there in December it was a bit cold to venture outside to look for someplace more acceptable.

All in all, it did not fit my concept of a “luxury hotel.”
Read more
Date of stay: December 2022
3.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
3.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Kelsey Harney, Other at Hotel Albuquerque at Old Town
Responded 3 Jan 2023
We are deeply sorry to hear that your stay with us was not the best. We truly appreciate you going into such detail and sharing what you felt to be our strengths and weaknesses. We sincerely apologize for the issues you encountered with us, but we will share your concerns with our staff and we are committed to improving. We would love another opportunity to impress you.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Answer from Spajen
Colorado Springs, Colorado29 contributions21 helpful votes
Did you book the room through your work email? Why would he be harassing you? Otherwise I don’t know how to answer your question. I would handle what needs to be handled and if necessary go above him with a corporate manager?
renee asked a question Dec 2018
Germantown, Tennessee4 contributions
Did your Junior Suite have a bathtub or only a shower ? Thanks in advance.
Answer from luxurytax
Los Angeles, California21 contributions4 helpful votes
Bathtub
Donaji R asked a question May 2018
Santa Fe, New Mexico18 contributions5 helpful votes
Is the pool heated?
Answer from Sherry H
26 contributions6 helpful votes
No, I don’t think so.
myra142 asked a question Aug 2017
Napa Valley, California1 contribution1 helpful vote
can we get a fridge in our room as my husband is diabetic with insulin
Answer from Columbo
Columbus, Wisconsin306 contributions91 helpful votes
I would suggest you call ahead. Most hotels will accommodate if you give them a heads up.
Michael L wrote a tip 11 June
3 contributions
2.0 of 5 bubbles
"Avoid this hotel, stay near an interstate highway if you find your best Albuquerque. This city’s old town is smaller than Messilla’s."
Read full review
Corine M wrote a tip 8 June
1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"No free breakfast "
Read full review
Veronica M wrote a tip 3 June
Albuquerque, New Mexico49 contributions28 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
"Was very close to Old town and Sawmill restaurants "
Read full review
Mellissa B wrote a tip May 2024
1 contribution
1.0 of 5 bubbles
"Stay at Hotel Chaco next door. It’s $70 more a night but it’s immaculately clean, smells good, has beautiful updated rooms and kind service."
Read full review
Ba wrote a tip Apr 2024
New York City, New York6 contributions
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"Have a Silver Coin Margarita"
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Albuquerque area.
PRICE RANGE
AU$342 - AU$465 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
at old town albuquerque, at old town hotel albuquerque, hotel albuquerque old town
LOCATION
United StatesNew MexicoAlbuquerque
NUMBER OF ROOMS
188
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

Hotel Albuquerque at Old Town - 2024 Prices & Reviews (NM) - Photos of Hotel - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Hotel Albuquerque at Old Town
Which popular attractions are close to Hotel Albuquerque at Old Town?
Nearby attractions include Albuquerque Museum (0.3 km), New Mexico Museum of Natural History and Science (0.4 km), and San Felipe de Neri Church (0.4 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Hotel Albuquerque at Old Town?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include a pool, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
What food & drink options are available at Hotel Albuquerque at Old Town?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Hotel Albuquerque at Old Town?
Yes, parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Hotel Albuquerque at Old Town?
Conveniently located restaurants include High Noon Restaurant & Saloon, D. H. LESCOMBES WINERY & BISTRO, and Seasons Rotisserie & Grill.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Hotel Albuquerque at Old Town?
Yes, guests have access to a pool and a fitness centre during their stay.
Are any cleaning services offered at Hotel Albuquerque at Old Town?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does Hotel Albuquerque at Old Town offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business centre, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Hotel Albuquerque at Old Town?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and Spanish.
Are there any historical sites close to Hotel Albuquerque at Old Town?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Petroglyph National Monument (7.5 km), West Mesa (4.3 km), and The Whittlesey House (3.4 km).
Does Hotel Albuquerque at Old Town have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the mountain view available here.
All Albuquerque HotelsAlbuquerque Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in AlbuquerqueHotels near Hotel Albuquerque at Old Town
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsHoliday RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesRental Cars