We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Hotel RL By Red Lion Salt Lake City

Show Prices
GreenLeadersBronze level
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Hotel RL By Red Lion Salt Lake City
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

737 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Hotel RL By Red Lion Salt Lake City
See the most recent reviews
Showing 671: English reviews
Reviewed 16 July 2015 via mobile

I usually stay at another downtown hotel but the entire city was 90%+ booked this week. Red lion was close and priced right so I checked in for a 4-night stay. Front desk staff customer service was poor. Elevator dirty and stinky. Room was ok but I noticed a couple small flying bugs. Went to sleep. Morning was a nightmare....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jesse W
RLHSaltLake S, General Manager at Hotel RL By Red Lion Salt Lake City, responded to this review

Dear Jesse W, My apologies for the issues you experienced during your stay! To say that I am disappointed in the poor quality of your experience is an understatement. We are using your comments as a training tool for our team to improve and ensure our staff does its utmost to address problems and deliver the product and service our...

New York City, New York
Reviewed 12 July 2015 via mobile

I read the very mixed reviews and came here with some trepidation. On the positive side : The rooms in the Tower wing were clean. The location is close to public transportation. On the negative side: WiFi was been a problem. It doesn't always work. The staff by the front desk smile when they talk to you but don't really...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank marc s
RLHSaltLake S, General Manager at Hotel RL By Red Lion Salt Lake City, responded to this review

Dear marc s, I am pleased that your room was clean and our location convenient for your needs. The engineering team is investigating the durability and overall performance of our wireless internet system to ensure it is a positive experience for our guests. My apologies that the front desk staff was not more attentive during your interactions at the desk...

Welling, United Kingdom
Reviewed 12 July 2015

we had both good and bad service. The young lads who took our luggage and served us at breakfast were great, the rest were disinterested and hotel seems confused. If you look on the website there are 2 food menus and wine on offer. When you get there it is very different. Only one menu exists (Harry's) for both bar...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank hammeretteWelling
RLHSaltLake S, General Manager at Hotel RL By Red Lion Salt Lake City, responded to this review

Dear hammeretteWelling, While I am pleased to hear that some of our staff took good care of you upon arrival, it is obvious that we have some room for improvement in the restaurant and lounge. Our leadership team is reviewing our content and verbiage regarding hours of operations, state liquor laws, etc. to ensure that we comply with these rules...

Bristol, United Kingdom
Reviewed 12 July 2015

Checked in, given a room who's location was good but it wasn't made up. Back to reception to inform them ( house keeping couldn't possible change their schedule and sort the room out for an arrived guest) and request a quiet room. Arrived at room right by ice machine thumping away. Back to reception again and third time lucky, but...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Baboonarms
RLHSaltLake S, General Manager at Hotel RL By Red Lion Salt Lake City, responded to this review

Dear Baboonarms, Wow! My apologies for the many shortcomings you experienced. While we are not perfect, I am shocked and disappointed by the numerous failures of our team to get your stay turned around. We value all of our guests, but obviously, we failed to convey this sentiment to you and your party. Thank you for taking the time to...

Utah
Reviewed 5 July 2015 via mobile

My stay here was ok for a quick night uptown. The rooms were fairly nice. I didn't get to see much of the premises due to it being so quick but they do have free parking and a quaint little diner below. They also have free wifi. I liked how they had a small counter besides the bathroom that was...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank blackstetz
RLHSaltLake S, General Manager at Hotel RL By Red Lion Salt Lake City, responded to this review

Dear blackstetz, Thank you for your feedback! We look forward to seeing you during your next trip to Salt Lake. Paul

Denver, Colorado
Reviewed 3 July 2015 via mobile

My husband has stayed here in the past and even he was shocked how much its gone downhill. During our 4 day stay and 2 rooms we experienced the following. Rude clerk upon check in, blood on shower curtain and back of door/door jam, broken/gross toilet lid, non working air for 2days of 100+, non working microwave, no hot water...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Letsgonow65
RLHSaltLake S, General Manager at Hotel RL By Red Lion Salt Lake City, responded to this review

Dear Letsgonow65, I am disappointed to hear that a member of our staff was rude and that there were serious housekeeping deficiencies in your room. We are in the business of providing clean rooms and friendly service, but obviously failed in both regards. I will personally share your comments with our team to ensure that we learn from these mistakes...

Los Angeles, California
Reviewed 27 June 2015

If you find the hotel rooms for a deal then its just awesome. I was in mid of my long journey and found this hotel comfy. Its so close to the downtown and Indian restaurant was nearby. Close to all nice landmarks in Saltlake City

 Report
Helpful?
Thank crdebata
RLHSaltLake S, General Manager at Hotel RL By Red Lion Salt Lake City, responded to this review

Dear crdebata, Thank you for your comments! We think our hotel provides a great value to guests and I am glad to read that you agree! Thank you for your business! Paul

Colorado Springs, Colorado
Reviewed 24 June 2015

We booked two nights in a tower room with a king bed. Upon arrival we were told all tower rooms as well as all king bed rooms were given away due to them being busy. In fact to even get our room, some lady would have to be kicked out of her reservation to get us our non-tower room with...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank RachelSMsRC
RLHSaltLake S, General Manager at Hotel RL By Red Lion Salt Lake City, responded to this review

Dear RachelSMsRC, Thank you for your comments regarding your recent stay with the Red Lion Hotel Salt Lake City. While I am disappointed that we were unable to honor the room type reserved, I was quite pleased to see that the team did their utmost to make up for this inconvenience. Our housekeeping department has taken great strides in improving...

Saint Ignatius, Montana
Reviewed 21 June 2015 via mobile

This is sad, I sure hope the other guests that stayed here are not served this old lettuce in their lunch. It would be nice to be served fresh foods like other privileged persons get. I'm sure that the Royalty that is here right now is being served fresh salad.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank gigiy931
RLHSaltLake S, General Manager at Hotel RL By Red Lion Salt Lake City, responded to this review

Dear gigy931, I am appalled that you were served old lettuce! We pride ourselves on serving fresh, nutritious food to all guests! Please rest assured that your experience and comments will be shared with our culinary and serving team to ensure future patrons enjoy a fresh, delicious meal. Thank you for your feedback. Paul

Reviewed 19 June 2015

I had the misfortune of checking in at the same time 25 women from the Miss Utah pageant were checking in. I arrive at 1:30 thinking I could get into my room early (check in time was 3pm) but it was actually 4:30 before I got into my room because the rooms were not clean. The front desk didn't offer...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank mskenney
RLHSaltLake S, General Manager at Hotel RL By Red Lion Salt Lake City, responded to this review

Dear mskenney, My apologies for the delay in getting you into a clean room upon check in. I appreciate your comment regarding the friendliness of the staff, but it sounds like we still have room for improvement. I agree that the bathrooms are dated and am excited that they will be completely renovated in the near future! Thank you for...

128 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (109)
Viewed
Room/Suite (21)
Viewed
Bathroom (9)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
View from Room (8)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (8)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (57)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (19)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (8)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Salt Lake City hotels
0.2 km away
Comfort Inn Downtown
Comfort Inn Downtown
#47 of 75 in Salt Lake City
225 reviews
0.2 km away
Metropolitan Inn
Metropolitan Inn
#50 of 75 in Salt Lake City
217 reviews
0.8 km away
Peery Hotel
Peery Hotel
#48 of 75 in Salt Lake City
450 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
Sheraton Salt Lake City Hotel
Sheraton Salt Lake City Hotel
#24 of 75 in Salt Lake City
865 reviews
0.3 km away
Hilton Garden Inn Salt Lake City Downtown
0.3 km away
Little America Hotel
Little America Hotel
#11 of 75 in Salt Lake City
1,695 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
GreenLeadersBronze level
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Pool
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Airport Transportation
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Situated in the heart of Utah's state capitol, our downtown Salt Lake City hotel is ideal for groups of urban adventurers or intrepid solo travelers-anyone looking to experience the area like an SLC native. Welcome to the brand new Hotel RL Salt Lake City. Guests can make themselves at home with our great on-site amenities and satisfy their wanderlust with the sights and sounds of the city. Grab a cup of artisanal coffee from the on-site Victrola Coffee Roasters and help yourself to a free bike rental for an eco-friendly way to explore nearby attractions. Uniquely positioned near Temple Square, our hotel in Salt Lake City offers unrivaled access to this thriving city. Discover the Mormon Tabernacle Choir, check out the views from the Ensign Peak Hiking Trail, or learn about the cosmos at Clark Planetarium. In the evening you can catch a show at the Living Stage, our recently launched on-site venue featuring local artists and performers. Sit back and swap stories with other guests while you enjoy the laid-back atmosphere. These unique facilities, along with our prime location and comfortable accommodations, make Hotel RL an ideal starting point for your Salt Lake City adventure. THE LIVING STAGE From lectures to performances to hands-on demonstrations, the Living Stage at Hotel RL invites people from all walks of life to share their knowledge and passion for community awareness, health, creativity, and innovation. Designed to ignite conversations and promote a deeper understanding of the world around us, The Living Stage incorporates authors, artists, musicians, community leaders, local start-ups and more. PROJECT WAKE-UP-CALL We believe everyone deserves to sleep with a roof over his or her head. That's why we started Project Wake Up Call, a philanthropic initiative to help end homelessness one new hotel opening at a time. Learn more about Project Wake Up Call and our Salt Lake City partner: The Road Home. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Hotel RL By Red Lion Salt Lake City

Address: 161 W 600 S, Salt Lake City, UT 84101-2702
Region: United States > Utah > Salt Lake City
Price Range: $124 - $345 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel RL By Red Lion Salt Lake City 3*
Number of rooms: 394
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets and Priceline so you can book your Hotel RL By Red Lion Salt Lake City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Lion Salt Lake City
Salt Lake City Red Lion
Hotel RL By Red Lion Salt Lake City Utah
Hotel Style:
#7 Green Hotel in Salt Lake City
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Hotel RL By Red Lion Salt Lake City staff and other travellers.
6 questions
Ask a question
Kansas City, Missouri
SLC
9 months ago
Durango, Colorado

See all questions (6)

Questions? Get answers from Hotel RL By Red Lion Salt Lake City staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Ask for a non- connecting room!”
 of 5 bubbles royalbluedolphingirl, 19 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Stay somewhere else if you can.”
 of 5 bubbles 755shawns, 15 Mar 2017 | Read review
“ask for renovated room”
  • Bathroom vent
 of 5 bubbles TJAMROCK, 6 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Ask for a newly renovated room”
 of 5 bubbles gleon1011, 2 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Ask for the most updated room available.”
 of 5 bubbles chachi69, 30 Jan 2017 | Read review
5 of 5